AFLW Geelong Cats 2019 AFLW Team Megathread

• Thread starter Thread starter The rabbi

Some great news out of the AFLW regarding player contracts etc:
I like most of that post but the idea of Bris in particular, losing up to another 8 players after the reaming they've recently had in player movement, does not impress me.

Its not fair but how should they do it... its going to affect Freo as well.. a lot more clubs to share the load in Vic. (Personally I think they should only be able to access Melb players ... as there is the ability to nominate in draft to only be Melb etc)

I wonder if theres a bit more to the "raiding" of Brisbane & Freo, with the them being able to lose up to 8 where it may be split that they can lose a maximum of 4 to their new intrastate club, and then 4 to the other clubs something like:
- WCE can have access to 4 Freo players and then GC, Richmond & St Kilda have a combined access to a max of 4
- GC can have access to 4 Brisbane players, then WCE, Richmond & St Kilda have a combined access to a max of 4

These new rules look like they could significantly weaken Freo (along with the already reeling Lions).

So, given the Craas are looking strong already, they now look to be in the box seat to be very formidable by the time season 2020 rolls around.

Finally found an article that clarifies the number of hours players are contracted to clubs for:

In its media release announcing the new CBA, the AFL highlighted the new payment structure was a collective 72.5% increase – which sounds very impressive – and recognises the minimum 20 weeks (plus another two weeks for finals) of work that players put in. This includes 13 hours of training during a 10-week pre-season and 10 hours every week during the season, plus games.

So both numbers I've seen are correct, it just depends on the situation - they have more hours at the club pre-season than in season. Hopefully that is looked at in future years, so that if players & clubs are happy with longer contact hours they are able to do so

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2...wage-rise-illustrates-tough-battle-women-face

These new rules look like they could significantly weaken Freo (along with the already reeling Lions).

So, given the Craas are looking strong already, they now look to be in the box seat to be very formidable by the time season 2020 rolls around.

AFL have a massive problem with the comp now, Adelaide are so far ahead of the rest that I can’t see the Grand Final being anything other than a farce.

Brisbane’s best 2 players have walked in the first three years

Next years results are going to be so one sided the comp is going g to really start to hurt.

I think we were already aware that Erin wouldn't be available for the VFLW season, but does this indicate our first confirmed list change ahead of the next AFLW season?

Thanks to Dr Hoare for her efforts in the blue & white (VFLW & AFLW), and I wish her all the best ahead of her studies

I think we were already aware that Erin wouldn't be available for the VFLW season, but does this indicate our first confirmed list change ahead of the next AFLW season?

Thanks to Dr Hoare for her efforts in the blue & white (VFLW & AFLW), and I wish her all the best ahead of her studies

She'll be missed, has the kind of height and ability you can really structure things around - sad to see her go, but completely understand and admire her decision to concentrate on her studies and career.

All the best Dr Erin!

I work with a friend of Maddy Boyd and she was telling me apparently Maddy has been told the AFLW players can't play VFLW as well, so it sounds like it won't just be Erin missing from the VFLW this season.

Directive from the league or club and do they mean they can't play at all or just for the same club across both summer & winter as that sucks

Because we have had more than a few of our VFLW team backing up from AFLW season before but that was when they were signed with different AFLW teams: Rocky, Mithen, Teague, Hoare, and no doubt others

Directive from the league or club and do they mean they can't play at all or just for the same club across both summer & winter as that sucks

Because we have had more than a few of our VFLW team backing up from AFLW season before but that was when they were signed with different AFLW teams: Rocky, Mithen, Teague, Hoare, and no doubt others

Not sure where the directive came from. Seems strange though as like you said, there have been AFLW players playing in previous seasons. Maybe they want those who have played more than 1 season of AFLW to have a break, as they'd have essentially been playing footy non-stop for 18 months plus.

I can understand the need for a break, that's obviously one reason why the VFLW season doesn't start until May - but if the league directive (from either AFL or VFL) is AFLW players can't play consecutive seasons, they may find themselves with a few problems.

The fact the AFLW season is/has been 7 games + 2 weeks of finals is a max of 9 games.

The VFLW season is 14 games per club, plus a proper 4 week finals series.

Not hard to work out which league is taking the players more seriously - not sure many players are going to be happy if they are restricted in how many games they play per year.

I can understand the need for a break, that's obviously one reason why the VFLW season doesn't start until May - but if the league directive (from either AFL or VFL) is AFLW players can't play consecutive seasons, they may find themselves with a few problems.

The fact the AFLW season is/has been 7 games + 2 weeks of finals is a max of 9 games.

The VFLW season is 14 games per club, plus a proper 4 week finals series.

Not hard to work out which league is taking the players more seriously - not sure many players are going to be happy if they are restricted in how many games they play per year.

I suspect you have nailed a logical reason for the AFL wanting to protect the alpha comp. It probably does not want a defacto AFLW playing under the banner of VFLW in a more real styled comp.

Really the AFL will have to think about what the schedule is for the girls GF.

I think I like the idea of giving it some exposure on the Sat night... let the men play thru the day and clear the night for the girls... but no matter what .. they will have to think about it

This afternoon is free until 4.30pm. Would've been a perfect time to have it.

Few things have confirmed that my positive thoughts on womens football , and that they are closer to right than wrong after reading the views of this redundant fossil ..

https://www.heraldsun.com.au/entert...c/news-story/c15c79c45ca116b3197e5831c42330c6

Former Carlton Football Club president John Elliott has stuck the boots into AFLW, declaring it “pathetic” as the league’s showcase Grand Final is fought out in Adelaide on Sunday.
And making his dismissive comments even more astonishing Carlton, the club he helmed for two decades, is vying for the premiership cup, taking on the Adelaide Crows.

“I know, the sheilas are playing,” Elliott said when asked if he knew Carlton was in the Grand Final.

“I won’t watch it. I don’t care. I think the women’s football is pathetic.”..

https://www.heraldsun.com.au/entert...c/news-story/c15c79c45ca116b3197e5831c42330c6

All are entitled to their views..and no one is forcing anyone to watch ..however here lies a lesson imo.. instead of getting all upity and being insulted ... let all hear the views of guys like this anachronistic relic , those whos views are really seeing things thorough the cobwebed eyes of this cave dweller. Have another smoke and and fosters mate.. He was a figure of derision back when Rubbery Figures had a laugh at his expense ... these days.. who needs puppets..

Few things have confirmed that my positive thoughts on womens football , and that they are closer to right than wrong after reading the views of this redundant fossil ..

Former Carlton Football Club president John Elliott has stuck the boots into AFLW, declaring it “pathetic” as the league’s showcase Grand Final is fought out in Adelaide on Sunday.
And making his dismissive comments even more astonishing Carlton, the club he helmed for two decades, is vying for the premiership cup, taking on the Adelaide Crows.

“I know, the sheilas are playing,” Elliott said when asked if he knew Carlton was in the Grand Final.

“I won’t watch it. I don’t care. I think the women’s football is pathetic.”..

All are entitled to their views..and no one is forcing anyone to watch ..however here lies a lesson imo.. instead of getting all upity and being insulted ... let all hear the views of guys like this anachronistic relic , those whos views are really seeing things thorough the cobwebed eyes of this cave dweller. Have another smoke and and fosters mate.. He was a figure of derision back when Rubbery Figures had a laugh at his expense ... these days.. who needs puppets..

beautifully articulated Turbo.

not sure why anyone would go to Elliott for an opinion on anything, ever; the guy is a buffoon and a crook.

beautifully articulated Turbo.

not sure why anyone would go to Elliott for an opinion on anything, ever; the guy is a buffoon and a crook.

Thanks mate... the girls dont need to get too political .. they have pole position in the race of right .. and they will stay that way ..as long as they dont turn off the moderates ( that what id consider myself). Unfortuately I listed to 774 yesterday while walking the dogs and it made me grimace.. the girls were just stoking the fire talking about the Bob Murphy article where he called AFL ..AFLM. I feel I could let my son play afl now etc as its more caring sharing... Now if you want to put some people off side ... start pumping stuff like this... because it feeds into the fears that the girls comp will change the mens game.

Just let it grow .. its doesnt need DDT to make it grow. I know some get impatient on both sides of the argument. Struth .. know wonder the middle east is a mess.. politics is just so emotional at its core.. and if you push too hard.. you will get negative feedback and turn off the power base where the money comes from.

On the GF... why has CH7 got more a focus than Fox... What the .. Get your stuff together Footy Channel. They are talking about competitive balance and the potential Crows dominance ... some good points...

And have you heard any news... on our list ?

Thanks mate... the girls dont need to get too political .. they have pole position in the race of right .. and they will stay that way ..as long as they dont turn off the moderates ( that what id consider myself). Unfortuately I listed to 774 yesterday while walking the dogs and it made me grimace.. the girls were just stoking the fire talking about the Bob Murphy article where he called AFL ..AFLM. I feel I could let my son play afl now etc as its more caring sharing... Now if you want to put some people off side ... start pumping stuff like this... because it feeds into the fears that the girls comp will change the mens game.

Just let it grow .. its doesnt need DDT to make it grow. I know some get impatient on both sides of the argument. Struth .. know wonder the middle east is a mess.. politics is just so emotional at its core.. and if you push too hard.. you will get negative feedback and turn off the power base where the money comes from.

On the GF... why has CH7 got more a focus than Fox... What the .. Get your stuff together Footy Channel. They are talking about competitive balance and the potential Crows dominance ... some good points...

And have you heard any news... on our list ?

no, only what cats_09 posted regarding Dr Erin Hoare ... haven't been paying as close attention as I had previously though I gotta admit - I get less and less engaged every year in the off-season (talking men's here, but looks like it'll apply to the women as well) - these days I just tend to keep half an eye on list changes and then come Rd1 see what we've got to work with ...

in saying that I am pretty interested to see how the club chooses to further shape the AFLW list, so I'll probably end up contradicting everything I just wrote