Play Nice Bye Bye Brad [v4.0] - IT'S HAPPENING!!!

• Thread starter Thread starter Mav

I find it funny that he talks about how we are being hurt by the new rules.

You had a whole preaseaon to work on your structures and the new rules you ****stick.
Wait, did he actually say that? Wasn't he one of two coaches that directly advised the rules of the game panel? How can he not be prepared for them?

Because he is out of his depth.

He has one mindset and not one ounce of flexibility or creativity.

He has a game plan and will stick with it regardless of the cattle or how it stacks up against opposition.

I think the term, is one trick pony. The problem is all the other coaches in the league, have not only seen the trick, but know how it’s done.

Can you imagine if the supporters are disillusioned with the steaming pile of crap he has implemented, how the players feel about having to try and execute it each week?

I get the distinct feeling the players aren’t buying into the game plan at all and are second guessing themselves.

It’d be close to epidemic proportions. I feel exactly the same.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

On game day Brad Scott sits one out, on his own, without anyone beside him, says it all.

I’m done.

Not sure why our teams over the last decade play without awareness of tempo. Don’t give me the leadership on the ground thing.

Sorry. It is a bad as it seems.

I just want change. And hope. And change. I don’t think we can win a premiership with this style of game plan.

The 3 areas that scream ....I didn't see that coming so I didn't prep for it ....from Brad are

. 6, 6, 6 rule (..I didn't really think it would matter that much...)

. The loss of Waite (..I thought Wood and JZ could cover him...)

. The over abundance of inside mids (...I have always thought the more the better in that area....)

As someone has said here - he has basically given up the ghost, should never have ever been extended and now just relies on spin and North's lack of media attention to get him by.

He knows we can't afford to pay him in full out so he's never getting sacked.

He'll be planning his media career post North atm - once he has that sorted I suspect he will say to North 'I happy to leave with a negotiated settlement' which will be toward the end of this year.

He and us will accept a settlement around 400k for 2020 as keeping him on would cost us a lot more than that in lost revenue through crowd numbers and memberships.

On game day Brad Scott sits one out, on his own, without anyone beside him, says it all.

I’m done.

Not sure why our teams over the last decade play without awareness of tempo. Don’t give me the leadership on the ground thing.

Sorry. It is a bad as it seems.

I just want change. And hope. And change. I don’t think we can win a premiership with this style of game plan.

I just want to see growth and development, something that hasn’t happened for 10 years.

Yes we played a couple of prelims, but how long has it been since we were considered a guenuine flag threat.

You can only bullshit people for so long before they get over your shit.

I get the feeling that a lot of people associated with the club are over the bullshit.

That Never Beaten campaign is looking like an utter embarrassment.

Even people that follow your club are writing you off Brad. The campaign should be changed to Never felt so Beaten.

I find it funny that he talks about how we are being hurt by the new rules.

You had a whole preaseaon to work on your structures and the new rules you ****stick.

Is this so ******* stupid that he is only now realising that his game plan is a steaming pile of shit?

The drunk bloke at the pub could see it was ****** in the two JLT performances.

The real aberration is when Brad Scott actually out coaches someone. More often than not him and his match committed hamstring us at the selection table, with his blind faith that players out of form will come good.

The kids beating the door down languish in the VFL waiting for Brad to pull the trigger weeks later than he should. By then they might have lost form or become disillusioned.

Unfortunately like Brad, I don’t think the club has a Plan B and we are stuck watching a clueless idiot turn us into a rabble.

What has he really taught our team to do in ten years.

They can’t defend one on one
They can’t hit a target
They can’t lock the ball inside 50
They can’t stop quick centre clearances
Got no idea at kick outs

He’s trained us to be lazy slow squibs that can’t do the basic skills

Mediocrity starts from the top and is thriving at the club - it’s rewarded with games , leadership roles, multi year contract extensions

Just shut the doors if that’s what we have become - I’m over it.

Been a Member for 36 years and I can honestly say I’ve never felt as flat about my club as I do right now.

I really don’t want to go to another game whilst Scott is still at the helm.

From someone who couldn’t wait till our next game I’m now Meh about attending and that hurts.

We need change NOW!

The 3 areas that scream ....I didn't see that coming so I didn't prep for it ....from Brad are

. 6, 6, 6 rule (..I didn't really think it would matter that much...)

. The loss of Waite (..I thought Wood and JZ could cover him...)

. The over abundance of inside mids (...I have always thought the more the better in that area....)

As someone has said here - he has basically given up the ghost, should never have ever been extended and now just relies on spin and North's lack of media attention to get him by.

He knows we can't afford to pay him in full out so he's never getting sacked.

He'll be planning his media career post North atm - once he has that sorted I suspect he will say to North 'I happy to leave with a negotiated settlement' which will be toward the end of this year.

He and us will accept a settlement around 400k for 2020 as keeping him on would cost us a lot more than that in lost revenue through crowd numbers and memberships.
I think a lot of posters on here think I am a B Scott supporter not actually true .I am a NMFC supporter and if that means replacing B.Scott I would have no issue with it. Anything that improves our great club. That is and always will be my only concern .

The weirdest thing for me is how do we explain the first half of last year? We played genuinely entertaining, 4 quarter high effort football for most of it. It was the most enjoyable stretch of footy I can remember in Brad's tenure. It seemed like as the year went on we went back to conservative ways, played more experienced players, and reverted to the old ways. So far 2019 is same old problems.

It isn't all bad - LDU, McKay, Bailey Scott and now TT are getting games. Polec is playing exactly how we would habe hoped. Hall was good for a lot of the game. These are things we would have been happy with at the start of the year.

But how have we gone back to such a low pressure team which is easy to score against? All that surprising good stuff from last year, where did you go? Come back!

I think this is the watershed year for Brad, it has to be. We either show new tricks, and soon, or it's time.

If I never watched todays game you wouldn't even know we lost judging by the presser.

Literally had no concern whatsoever, and again, shifts the blame to not the players this time, but the rules. What the **** does Brad know that we don't that causes us concern and him not? Does he even know he's playing against Hawthorn next week, with a better coach and a better team than the Lions?

Also, his insistence on Jack Ziebell being a midfielder is just ridiculous to me, he was played in that position for a year out of necessity due to our lack of midfielders, now we have heaps and suddenly Ziebs is needed in the middle again. WHY. HE WASN'T THAT GOOD IN THE MIDFIELD.

Been a Member for 36 years and I can honestly say I’ve never felt as flat about my club as I do right now.

I really don’t want to go to another game whilst Scott is still at the helm.

From someone who couldn’t wait till our next game I’m now Meh about attending and that hurts.

We need change NOW!

I wasn't at the game as I live in WA, but noted a distinct drop in supporters at Dockers game last weekend. I note someone else in here said there was little enthusiasm from North fans at game today.
I must say I got less upset watching than I normally do today, I kinda figure it's going to be a long year and no point getting too invested in it (which is normally my nature).
Reminds me of the NBA game I went to last year, my first at Madison Square Gardens, which I was really pumped for. The Knicks are horrible and were playing and they led for most of the night, but it was more like a funeral than a basketball game. The crowd was so quiet, and it was definitely like they totally expected to lose, which they did. The fans were there but they spent the whole game waiting for the collapse, which duly came. You could tell they felt like there was no hope, so why get excited.

It was a very suspect campaign.

Reminds me of when Thomas Gifford spruiked that he "accidentally" caught a 127lb blue marlin using Catchit on a hand-line off the pier at Queenscliff while trawling for squid. Catchit sales went through the roof to the extent that the Dept of Wildlife & Fisheries began a scare-mongering campaign which demanded that the manufacturer (Procter & Gamble) change the formula. I'll never forget it. Bloody laughable.

Now the emotion has subsided (a bit), I’m slightly conflicted by this. I’ve always liked Brad Scott. He seems like a good guy and I have no doubt whatsoever that he has fully committed himself to NMFC and given the job his best efforts. I find any personal attacks on him as distasteful and insensitive. He has served the club to the best of his ability.

But….

On day the day Dean Laidley gave away his coaching job in June 2009, what would have been the brief for the incoming coach, if it was anticipated he’d still have the job ten years later? I’d break it down into three areas

Results: Premierships, wins, losses, finals. Numerical stuff. Easy to measure. Premierships: Zero. Grand Finals: Zero. Top 4 finishes: Zero. Finals series: 4 out of 9. Finals wins: 4 out of 8. Finals series with a win: 2 out of the 4. Overall W/L record: just over 50%. No coach in the history of the game has stayed at the one club for as long without making a Grand Final.

Not disastrous but not overwhelmingly good. But over the course of nine years, it’s long way short of a pass.

Performances: How does NMFC play? Game plans, structures, processes, systems. What will NMFC look like when they go out in any game regardless of wins and losses?

It’s a fail. In the early days it was “run, gun and have some fun” then with Petrie, Waite and Brown it was the “triple towers.” Are we a contested ball team? Are we based on forward pressure? Elite midfield? Handball/uncontested possession? Pure defence? Who knows? It changes every year. It seems reactive. Sometimes it seems so abstract it can’t be defined.

Culture: What’s the mindset? What level of accountability is there? What does it look like when the game plan gets beaten and effort is all that’s left? Is it evident that everyone is on a path to be the best they can be? B-graders becoming A-graders? A steely eyed resolve to be “never beaten.”? High performance, professional, elite? Class players come in but make no difference. What does this side stand for?

This is hard to tell as you can only pick a culture by being part of it. But from the outside, it’s a fail. How does Shaun Atley go nearly ten years without ever being dropped? Luke McDonald brings up 100 in a couple of weeks, but his spot is never is questioned. Yet, Paul Ahern is on the outside for no apparent reason. The strengths of the North culture seem to be all off field – no pokies, the Hub, AFLW – all strong causes. But for me and my kids, boring members in Aisle 34 Row P, it’s not helping as we watch as a side who we thought we were ahead of inevitably ream past us. Do my kids say every Monday, “Yeah, we lost to Brisbane and Freo, but we have a top notch social inclusion program?”

So in three areas, Brad Scott has not achieved a definitive tick in any area at any stage. Even as we were making Preliminary Finals, we had to play them in Sydney and Perth because we'd blow leads to bottom teams (Brisbane 2014) and get hammered by cellar dwellers (Gold Coast 2015) costing us a crack at Top 4. And two games into a new year and you’ll be lucky to find a NMFC fan optimistic about any success in the 2019 season. We’re jaded. We’ve heard it all before and we have 20 weeks to go. Aside from the inevitability of today’s capitulation, was the ambivalence from the fans. Was it a NMFC home game against an interstate opponent? I couldn’t tell. We’re over it. We want change. Enough’s enough. We want some stimulus to make footy exciting again.

Thank you Brad for your efforts. You are a Shinboner. But like many Shinboners of the past, your efforts and intentions weren’t enough to achieve what we wanted to achieve. Those Shinboners have a revered part of our history and eventually, so will you. But it’s time to move on. This club needs an injection of energy and new ideas and unfortunately, this requires a new voice.

My 13 year old and I were reasonably positive at the game today. She noted that our best players were Polec, Hall and Pittard. “They’re all from other clubs Dad!” I whispered under my breath that Brad hasn’t had a chance to f$&& them up yet.