Port Adelaide v Richmond. AFL Round 4, 2019

• Thread starter Thread starter Chief

Nah, he was trying. Just didn't see him doing anything which warranted the high praise from Brown and Riewoldt.

Next week, he'll probably play a better game without getting the rewards on the scoreboard and those genius commentators won't even mention him
Think he's kicked 16 for the season so far. Excellent start by him coming across. He has been a consistent source of goals each week.

Sounds like you have been torn apart

Sounds like your supporter base has got ahead of itself. 1 flag in my lifetime and not enough finals wins for me to need my toes to count. Evidently we've had more success than you since 1997. You're currently sitting in 14th and one of your supporters has already claimed the flag. Your 2 wins have been against us (either we're good or we're shit, make up your mind) and ****ing Carlton. You're the hardest done by club, yet you have the same free kick differential as us (-10). You're a BOG average club crowing like you're the best ever, simultaneously saying we're shit for losing to you, but you're great for beating us, that you're playing the kids, while we have 4 players with 16 games between them.

Great win by the Tigers. Best H&A win in a loooong time. Love seeing some of the young guys step up to AFL. Stack and Ross have been awesome.

"Salty" ???? Chief should really add that word to the swear filter. It's so overused on these boards that it's lost its meaning.

Yes, Lynch kicked 6 goals, we can all see that. But I also went into detail why 4 of those goals were not the result of Lynch's good play - they were absolute gifted goals (from the umps and teammates) and he was the lucky guy in the right place.
Feel free to post the highlights of Lynch's 10 possession tour de force.

The commentators should've been waxing lyrical about Dylan Grimes's' effort, but that moron J Brown gets a big stiffy for the KPFs
LMAO at people who judge forwards by the number of goals kicked and don't evaluate what they actually did in the game.

Disclaimer: I don't mind the Tiges and I like Lynch... Good player. I bloody wish we had him (but I'm not salty he signed with Richmond)

So how many of Jason Dunstalls goals were not a ‘result of his good play’ or ‘gifted goals from umps and teammates’ or being ‘the lucky guy in the right place’ and not a reflection of ‘what he actually did in the game’ or Hudson etc etc.
Point is if Port had a forward capable of kicking 6.2 from 10 possessions - they win!!
As for getting a free for a push in the back - he’s playing in front...
As for being the lucky guy in the right place - it’s called positioning...
As for his possessions - 6 of them were contested. 6 of them were from marks (3 contested).
He iced the game with his last goal - beat 2 defenders and kicked straight from just inside the 50 metre arc.
Geez I’d settle for a forward target that kicks 6 goals every week - wouldn't give a flying f**k if he only got 10 possessions either.
It’s more than luck - give credit where it is due.

As for using the word "salty" I thought it was more polite than calling you a moron or a d**khead - but there you go.

the mistake was the player who shoved Lynch in the back well after he kicked the goal. The umpire didnt do that, he was only required to make a judgement on the consequences
Free kick was definitely there and umpire was correct. I don’t agree with the rule myself as feel the free should be taken from the centre as that is where the ball goes after a goal. However that’s on the rule makers and not the umpires.

Quality over quantity dickhead. Your soft ***** lost the unlosable tonight (EMBARRASSING) & you blame the umps. After being 12-4 last year & missing the 8 last year (need I say it again) It's what we all expect from you now.

I'm not sure what argument you are trying make. Does missing your 4 best players (we're missing some as well btw) make your team a bunch of emaciated lepers? Are you saying your team minus 4 players is so shit that it should be embarrassing losing to you?

So how many of Jason Dunstalls goals were not a ‘result of his good play’ or ‘gifted goals from umps and teammates’ or being ‘the lucky guy in the right place’ and not a reflection of ‘what he actually did in the game’ or Hudson etc etc.
Point is if Port had a forward capable of kicking 6.2 from 10 possessions - they win!!
As for getting a free for a push in the back - he’s playing in front...
As for being the lucky guy in the right place - it’s called positioning...
As for his possessions - 6 of them were contested. 6 of them were from marks (3 contested).
He iced the game with his last goal - beat 2 defenders and kicked straight from just inside the 50 metre arc.
Geez I’d settle for a forward target that kicks 6 goals every week. It’s more than luck - give credit where it is due.
Mate, I would not have posted like I did if Lynch had led out, taken six chest marks and drilled six set shots from 45m. I was simply commenting on the good fortune he had to be the man inside fifty when the Richmond kids busted Port's zone twice and fed him the ball on the fast break and then received two additional birthday presents from the umpires with the 12 pointer and the 50m penalty.

It's not a big call to say that 4 of those second half goals were gimmies that anyone could've kicked.

The Tigers fans getting stuck into me for having this sensible non-controversial opinion are probably the same people who pour cold water on one of Alex Rance's opponents who happens to get lucky and kick a few cheapies on their way to kicking a bag of six.

Big Footy makes me laugh. It's impossible to discuss anything without a horde of crying babies getting their noses out of joint.

I agree with this. Martin hadn't been playing great not Cotchin but more than this the WHOLE team had been way down. Tonight was the first game of the result season that they showed real intention right from the first bounce. Previously they looked lost and second rate. Tonight they played with a confidence and heart and belief that has been missing especially down back and through the midfield.

Even had Richmond lost I would have been very pleased with this performance and was looking to the Sydney game as the one to launch the season for us.
It's like Port in Round 1, it gave 4 kids a chance. They shined.

Its not all doom and gloom when players miss. Especially when structurally the team still remains intact. So Lynch was still a focal point for instance.

Last year when Ryder or Dixon went down we were absolutely ****ed as we had no backup. This year Lycett had masked Dixon, as Ryder plays more fwd, however he clearly isn't a permanent fwd so its costing us. Too often we were out marked instead of bringing it to ground. That killed us.

Sounds like your supporter base has got ahead of itself. 1 flag in my lifetime and not enough finals wins for me to need my toes to count. Evidently we've had more success than you since 1997. You're currently sitting in 14th and one of your supporters has already claimed the flag. Your 2 wins have been against us (either we're good or we're shit, make up your mind) and ******* Carlton. You're the hardest done by club, yet you have the same free kick differential as us (-10). You're a BOG average club crowing like you're the best ever, simultaneously saying we're shit for losing to you, but you're great for beating us, that you're playing the kids, while we have 4 players with 16 games between them.

It’s just a game mate. Relax. You melting all over the place.

Sent from my iPad using righteous Bhodi manpower

Mate, I would not have posted like I did if Lynch had led out, taken six chest marks and drilled six set shots from 45m. I was simply commenting on the good fortune he had to be the man inside fifty when the Richmond kids busted Port's zone twice and fed him the ball on the fast break and then received two additional birthday presents from the umpires with the 12 pointer and the 50m penalty.

It's not a big call to say that 4 of those second half goals were gimmies that anyone could've kicked.

I couldn't..

Still concerned about contested possessions, would like to win that stat for a start, getting well beaten there

Only 10 behind while missing our two best midfielders isnt that bad imo

Richmond fans crawling out of the woodwork after the last fortnight. Pet memberships up this week for sure.

I’m confused. We apparently have been everywhere for the last couple of years (common consensus), but we also got spanked last week. I think your a little slow. It’s the reason your troll attempt is Z grade standard. Try harder please.

No we can’t win interstate with above mentioned players

#iseewhatyoudidthere

"Salty" ???? Chief should really add that word to the swear filter. It's so overused on these boards that it's lost its meaning.

Yes, Lynch kicked 6 goals, we can all see that. But I also went into detail why 4 of those goals were not the result of Lynch's good play - they were absolute gifted goals (from the umps and teammates) and he was the lucky guy in the right place.
Feel free to post the highlights of Lynch's 10 possession tour de force.

The commentators should've been waxing lyrical about Dylan Grimes's' effort, but that moron J Brown gets a big stiffy for the KPFs
LMAO at people who judge forwards by the number of goals kicked and don't evaluate what they actually did in the game.

Disclaimer: I don't mind the Tiges and I like Lynch... Good player. I bloody wish we had him (but I'm not salty he signed with Richmond)
You do realise lynch was the most kicked to target in the match? You also do realise he often was competing against 2-3 opponents? And of course you’d also realise of these contests how many he brought to ground for our small forwards to capitalise on?
Lynch doesn’t play and we lose tonight simple as that.

I'm not sure what argument you are trying make. Does missing your 4 best players (we're missing some as well btw) make your team a bunch of emaciated lepers? Are you saying your team minus 4 players is so shit that it should be embarrassing losing to you?

Not at all, but a huge percentage of your fans on here thought it was in the bag. This is what makes the win so satisfying.

As for missing 4 players, lets have a look at what those 4 players have achieved between them..... 8 B&F's, 2 Brownlows, 3 Coleman's, a Norm Smith (plus a NS runner up Houli) and a staggering 13 All Australians. That's a bit of qualty out of the side and Port couldn't capitalise.

That's gotta be hard to suck up dear boy.

Let's see. There was the double goal that hasn't been paid in a decade that was wrong.
- there was the non play on call when Lynch was 4 steps off his line and then doubling down on the mistake by paying 50
- there was the weak as piss free paid to Nankervis while he was allowed to drag our rucks down every contest in the 1st half.

so 3 goals gifted thus far.

- Ryder got pushed in the back twice dead in front of goal, you got weak as piss free kicks 2-3 times deep in your defensive 50 in the last quarter whenever it looked like we might score.
- there was the non 50m paid 60m out when 2 Richmond players were standing over the mark, when it was paid to our disadvantage 5 minutes earlier with Westhoff being hit 60m downfield lace out. Less was paid against us last week.
- there was the non 50m penalty when Nankervis cleaned up Boak late in a marking contest in the middle of the ground in the 1st half which would have resulted in a shot on goal.
- the only reason we got any frees is because Richmond is the scraggiest bunch of ********s, highlighted by McIntosh deliberately trying to dislocate Wine's good shoulder in the 1st 5 minutes of the game and then sooking it up to the umpire when Rockliff came in to fly the flag.

As far as the inbred comment, at least our fans haven't spat on our own team you fair weather supporting bunch of losers.
You seem upset, you ok?

I’m confused. We apparently have been everywhere for the last couple of years (common consensus), but we also got spanked last week. I think your a little slow. It’s the reason your troll attempt is Z grade standard. Try harder please.

Geez CB17 can't follow some of these posters' and their pitiful troll attempts.
"Corkintheocean"? - should be "Turdinthepool" with quality stuff like that.:p