Collingwood are anything but shoe-ins, are they in trouble?

Hasn’t stopped Geelong.

What we did that Collingwood hasn’t is when we were winning the Premiership we drafted a bunch of players and traded for young blokes and got games into them right away.

That 2022 Premiership side has almost had half the list flipped over in 3 years.
The guys who outside of Jez who contribute most are Bailey Smith, Max Holmes, Gryan Miers, Zach Guthrie, Ollie Dempsey, Tom Atkins, Shannon Neale, Shaun Mannagh, Lawson Humphries, Brad Close, Tyson Stengle, Sam DeKoning etc.

Very different from 2022 side where we relied on Mark Blicavs, Cam Guthrie, Patty Dangerfield, Tom Stewart, Joel Selwood, Tom Hawkins, Zach Tuohy etc to win us games.
Pies on the other hand just kept bringing in older blokes without stocking up the youth.

What we did that Collingwood hasn’t is when we were winning the Premiership we drafted a bunch of players and traded for young blokes and got games into them right away.

That 2022 Premiership side has almost had half the list flipped over in 3 years.
The guys who outside of Jez who contribute most are Baz, Holmes, Miers, Zach Guthrie, Neale, Mannagh, Close, Stengle, SDK etc.

Very different from 2022 side where we relied on Blicavs, Danger, Stewart, Selwood, Tomahawk to win us games etc.
Pies on the other hand just kept bringing in older blokes without stocking up the youth.
If we didn't change paths, both in terms of selection policy and recruiting policy, we'd be f***ed too. Thankfully Hocking forced that change.

There comes a point where you're putting too much on the credit card, and the Pies are a long way down that road now.

If we didn't change paths, both in terms of selection policy and recruiting policy, we'd be f**ked too. Thankfully Hocking forced that change.

There comes a point where you're putting too much on the credit card, and the Pies are a long way down that road now.

Soo glad we did too, getting to see the young fellas like O’Sullivan, Humphries, Dempsey etc step into the side and have important roles has been awesome to watch.

I look at Collingwood and all I see is Naicos, literally who is the other young guys who are integral to their side? Bobby Hill and Beau McReery who potentially both want out?
It’s scary how far they’ve gone leaning into the older blokes thing, we did it with an eye on a list turnover….they just doubled down with Schultz and Houston and Perryman.

Are the Pies imploding? Plenty of reports that there are some disgruntled players who feel they aren't being fairly compensated while the Pies splash cash on B graders like Perryman and Silvagni.
Silvagni reportedly being offered around 650k is hardly splashing the cash. Perryman on 900k is well and truly overs, and Dan the man not earning his keep either doesn't help

they're really starting to feel like the swans of last year

i reckon they'll get a little bump in the last couple of weeks of the reg season/first final(s) before getting absolutely clobbered in the prelims or GF

Collingwood are also one of a very few teams over the last 18 years who continually challenge for premierships so they obviously get something right.

Daicos, Hill, McCreery, Long break into the best 22 and you can expect a couple more to do so between now and of next year.

It's clubs like Carlton who are the concern. They have no history of popping up for any consistent period of time in the modern era.

You could say the same about West Coast that you do about Collingwood and look at where we are now.

Collingwood's list is even way more over the hill than ours was and they keep trading away first rounders to bring in middling players.

Yes, they have Naicos but what if another club, such as Tasmania, comes in with an offer he can't refuse? It's not impossible, considering he himself has mentioned it without ruling it out.

Be interesting to see if a number of players request trades out this year due to the supposed unrest around contracts. Even then, most are well into their 30s, so won't return any significant draft picks.

You could say the same about West Coast that you do about Collingwood and look at where we are now.

Collingwood's list is even way more over the hill than ours was and they keep trading away first rounders to bring in middling players.

Yes, they have Naicos but what if another club, such as Tasmania, comes in with an offer he can't refuse? It's not impossible, considering he himself has mentioned it without ruling it out.

Be interesting to see if a number of players request trades out this year due to the supposed unrest around contracts. Even then, most are well into their 30s, so won't return any significant draft picks.
Are Tasmania even coming in? Not sure about that at the moment.

West Coast's decline will forever be looked at as a blueprint into how one can sabotage it's own club.
Collingwood aren't in that scenario and it won't come to it either.
Some of those ludicrous contracts handed out to players who were in their late 20's was telling.

Factor in the impact of COVID-19 which hit West Coast harder than anyone else, it was a perfect storm.

Tassie are still a watch at this stage.
Nothing set in concrete as of yet.

How are Collingwood going to avoid a tumble to the bottom?

Their 30+ players don't have much currency and they don't have much coming through.

They probably won't fall as badly as WCE but there's nothing coming through from below and they have a bad draft hand.

Absolutely. Sickening to watch. Sad for the integrity of the comp. The sooner Geelong and Collingwood are out of it this year, the sooner we will have fair umpiring.

As opposed to when Richmond was winning?
Tell me which club would benefit the AFL more and make more money by winning?

A Big 4 MCG tenant or everyone else?

They want Richmond to do well, just like they do Carlton just like they do Essendon just like they do Collingwood.

You don’t get to play the underdog, you’re a big club going through a rebuild 🙃

Absolutely. Sickening to watch. Sad for the integrity of the comp. The sooner Geelong and Collingwood are out of it this year, the sooner we will have fair umpiring.

Sure, Collingwood are 9th for free kick differential, a long way behind Hawthorn, Carlton, Essendon, Brisbane and Geelong.

But yeah continue the false myth that Collingwood is looked after…

Will not be surprised to see Collingwood under the blowtorch all week and then beat Adelaide next week. Crows have a Sunday afternoon game in Perth, will win that in a landslide and then a short turnaround for a Saturday night game against Collingwood. Have this this story play out time and time again.

Their VFL team is pretty strong. This means they have the depth building at that level.
It's not always a viable factor to success but it's certainly a contributing one.

The one area they have been susceptible is in the key defender position. I'm actually surprised they were able to win the flag a few years ago with only Moore as the legitimatize A grade tall. They've bucked the trend again this season so they would be in need of a quality young defender at seasons end.

They certainly need a better defender to pair with Moore. He's struggling very badly.

Then there's the KPF situation. If Mihocek books it end of the year, they're relying on McStay as their main KPF, unless they Bring a young Howes in. That issue could be solved if they bring in King end of next year via FA.

If all these supposedly disgruntled players move on then they'll have some money to play with but there's not much out there on the market this year.

Are the Pies imploding? Plenty of reports that there are some disgruntled players who feel they aren't being fairly compensated while the Pies splash cash on B graders like Perryman and Silvagni.

View attachment 2389394

McCreery liking this hit piece on the Pies list management.

What would possess an AFL player to do that, I don't know... unless he did a "Well Done" Angus Taylor and meant to do it from a burner account.

Animated GIF

McRae "I'd like to apologise to the Collingwood Army".

FMD.
This guy has turned into an absolute tool.
Always was one. He just had people bluffed for a while.

You can go back a few years and say the same thing about their list when it was Kreuger, Johnson and Cox up front.

And do you really believe the names being mentioned who are disgruntled will just throw their arms up in the air and say "bye, bye, I'm out of here" 😂

It would probably work out better for the club if that was the case as they would reap in a handful of assets to play with over the coming drafts.
Even if they stay, they're another year older, which is fine for McCreery but the others are post-30 and have no obvious replacements on the list currently(Elliott, Mihocek, Cameron) and at this point, there's not anything out there they can look to trade for, or bring in via free agency, for next year.

If those players go, they won't get too much in return, due to age.

Feels like Pies have arrived at a point that many footy fans thought they would be at the start of the season - looking old and top heavy. Daicos covers up a lot of cracks on that list. Not sure what has changed in the last 5 weeks and not easy to see how they bounce.
Probably mostly their list being older. Even though 35 isn't that old, the average 25 year old is still going to be fitter, run longer. The leadership of Pendles, Sidey, Moore, Crisp, even Daicoses etc has taken them far, but after a certain point the age thing does catch up with them.

Its why Novak Djokovic struggles in 5 setters against Alcaraz and Sinner, generally (though did beat him in this year's AO), whereas has dominated him in 3 setters. Doesn't have the legs/puff to match them.

I expect they will come out firing after the pre finals bye, but if they slip out of top 4 it'll be tough.

I've said it before - Craig McRae has to be considered one of the best coaches in the history of the game. The Collingwood list is that ordinary, what he's achieved with that group is exceptional.

Next year will be the test to determine whether we have a 4-5 rebuild still in a good position just not the last month tho.
Kind always feel we are 2 years away from a flag.
Still make finals this year.
Re set and refresh next year and become alot younger.
Time for some retirements its time.
Say at 2pm on the flag clock so in its twilight with the list.
Need another off season and go to the draft.
Need another preseason with the kids.
Got all of off season to sort ourselves out.
Got the Pies going again next year.
This years like 2024 just won more games.
Case of building on depth look to the needs of the list.
Re model list.