No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club’s news - Part 10

He is a ticking time bomb. If they start losing next year i wouldn't be surprised if he goes of his rocker on the field
Even when he was playing well for the cats this year I was glad we didn't go after him.

Give me solid citizens like Battle and Barrass over talented flogs like Smith any day of the week thanks very much.

It will get very interesting once the Cats taper off. The claws will be out for any player not doing the team thing.

I still think there will be a Mad Monday at footy clubs. Just much more private. On a player’s farm, no phones / cameras etc.

Boys will be boys after all.
Official Mad Monday or not, there will be one.
And plenty of farms for Geelong players amirite

He is a ticking time bomb. If they start losing next year i wouldn't be surprised if he goes of his rocker on the field
I reckon I called this after his first public incident in the preseason. Just wait until Danger, Stewart and Cameron retire. Who from their playing group is going to be able to command enough respect to keep him in line? Those guys have barely managed it this year.

It will be interesting to see if Geelong have any luck tempering this, particularly if their performances start to fall off. Characters like Smith get less endearing the worse a team is performing.

Especially with Danger nearing the end. Not sure there is an obvious choice for captain after him who will have the gravitas to be able to curtail BS if he starts going off script. Hopefully we are all in for a grab the popcorn and settle in experience.

Absolutely iconic to the game. Having ground level seats at the GF i literally just thought on Sat what a spectacle it makes it, and now it's gone.
I recall the first GF bounce the previous year being recalled. Massive anti climax.

Who cares, it's one of the quirks that makes the game unique. What next, make the ball round so everyone knows where it's going to bounce. Possibly get rid of the behind posts so we only have goals no points. I'm not going to lose sleep over it, but it's a feature of the game, and now it's lost, so traditionalists have every right to be pissed.

I was speaking to a friend who has close connections at the Western Bulldogs and he was told by a doctor who had previously worked at an AFL club, that the AFL had met with Glol and had approved Sniff being prescribed anti anxiety medication for his cocaine addiction. It follows Sniff will not be tested for drugs due to mental health issues.

It is unbelievable that Sniff avoided a sanction for his “Caro has never looked better” comment. He’s a low life campaigner of the highest order and I’ll have no sympathy if he self destructs. Given the Mad Monday sanctions handed down to GWS players, it’s further proof that the AFL has zero credibility. It would be great if the AFL was incensed by the Glol players mockingly highlighting the club’s salary cap rorting and reopened their investigation.

5 on the bench but no change to the interchange cap

Wonder how coaches will use that.

• Will they go 2 rucks and just rotate them on field (this would kill the 2nd forward, back up ruck role)
  • use 5th sub as an impact/burst player
I can see the fifth person being an extra mid/runner through the middle.

Allows mids to go harder at the ball and not tire as much as the game progresses. Also will allow to teams to put more defensive pressure on.

Especially with Danger nearing the end. Not sure there is an obvious choice for captain after him who will have the gravitas to be able to curtail BS if he starts going off script. Hopefully we are all in for a grab the popcorn and settle in experience.
Once a flog always a flog.

It's going to be great fun watching him cause all kinds of headaches to the Cats.

I'm counting down the days till he goes totally of the rails in the preseason and the old "Mental Health" defence is rolled out (again) in his defence.

So the Lions who have just won back to back premierships are going to bring in Oscar Allan and Sam Draper.

The clubs they are leaving are going to get
Eagles Pick 2
Bombers probably pick 7.

Then as the Eagles don't want to lose the Oscar Allan compensation by picking up Starcevich as a free agent they are going to do a trade with the Lions and to facilitate that trade the AFL has given them a pick out of thin air which now goes to the Lions.

So the Lions are the winners here.

They will then get Annable with the pick from the eagles and their own first rounder and be free to take Cooper Hodge (Thank god the Lions were there or poor Cooper may never have known about the sport of Aussie Rules) and whoever else is in their academy next year.

Surely the AFL should have just given the Eagles pick 2 for being historically bad and then washed away the compensation for Allan and Starcevich

What a joke.

Allows mids to go harder at the ball and not tire as much as the game progresses. Also will allow to teams to put more defensive pressure on.
Could also be a boon for the pure utility type like Harry who can play multiple lines.

I agree the most obvious choice is for the extra mid though.

It will be a mini arms race with teams stacking their midfield rotations.

nup, the fifth person will be Reeves. Change in sub and ruck rule will see him a lock next year.

Geelong have now cancelled future mad Monday's

"future post season events will not continue in this current form" just means they'll revert to doing what most other clubs do and not ****ing invite the media along to play with them.

Idiots

Who cares, it's one of the quirks that makes the game unique. What next, make the ball round so everyone knows where it's going to bounce. Possibly get rid of the behind posts so we only have goals no points. I'm not going to lose sleep over it, but it's a feature of the game, and now it's lost, so traditionalists have every right to be pissed.
That's fair enough. No drama with your opinion.

I think of all the changes to the game it's the one of least concern to me. It's just another opportunity for the umpires to show their incompetance ;)

It will be interesting to see if Geelong have any luck tempering this, particularly if their performances start to fall off. Characters like Smith get less endearing the worse a team is performing.
There may already have been an oblique reference to this by C Scott at his post-GF presser.

Could also be a boon for the pure utility type like Harry who can play multiple lines.

I agree the most obvious choice is for the extra mid though.

It will be a mini arms race with teams stacking their midfield rotations.
I think it will favour the more explosive player but less fit players rather than the pure endurance types.

I was speaking to a friend who has close connections at the Western Bulldogs and he was told by a doctor who had previously worked at an AFL club, that the AFL had met with Glol and had approved Sniff being prescribed anti anxiety medication for his cocaine addiction. It follows Sniff will not be tested for drugs due to mental health issues.

It is unbelievable that Sniff avoided a sanction for his “Caro has never looked better” comment. He’s a low life campaigner of the highest order and I’ll have no sympathy if he self destructs. Given the Mad Monday sanctions handed down to GWS players, it’s further proof that the AFL has zero credibility. It would be great if the AFL was incensed by the Glol players mockingly highlighting the club’s salary cap rorting and reopened their investigation.
Interesting, but not surprising, and in fairness to Smith it's pretty piss poor for any doctor to be breaking patient doctor confidentiality here.

Melbourne are playing some 2D chess right here.

Out go Petracca, Oliver, May and McVee.

They changed their mind on Wade Derksen.

Only incoming is 33 yr old Brody Mihocek so far.

Bottom 2 with WCE next season.

How long until Kysaiah Pickett decides he's changed his mind and wants out?......

Disturbing Stephen King GIF

Stephen king is all like..

What does this mean? That the players can continue with homophobia and misogyny as long as it's behind closed doors....

Just to be clear if my son and his mates acted in this way (not that they do) they'd all cop a blasting from myself and their parents.

Are you only referencing the Geelong players here?

What misogyny was involved exactly? Dressing up as Caroline Wilson?

I dressed up as Sydney Sweeney for mine this year and my kids had a big laugh at seeing their Dad in a Wig and a bra. That was about as controversial as that gets IMO.

As for the 'homophobia', there is zero issue with the custome as far as I'm concerned. Was it a comment he left on his Instragram that was the problem though? (I haven't read it).

'Boys will be boys' has been hijacked a bit. When used as legitimate examples of misogyny/homophobia etc I can understand, but if we're saying that literally just dressing up as a football identity who happens to be female is 'misogyny' then I think we've gone WAY too far.

Are you only referencing the Geelong players here?

What misogyny was involved exactly? Dressing up as Caroline Wilson?

I dressed up as Sydney Sweeney for mine this year and my kids had a big laugh at seeing their Dad in a Wig and a bra. That was about as controversial as that gets IMO.

As for the 'homophobia', there is zero issue with the custome as far as I'm concerned. Was it a comment he left on his Instragram that was the problem though? (I haven't read it).

'Boys will be boys' has been hijacked a bit. When used as legitimate examples of misogyny/homophobia etc I can understand, but if we're saying that literally just dressing up as a football identity who happens to be female is 'misogyny' then I think we've gone WAY too far.
It's all to do with Smith's instagram posts which have now been deleted.

No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club’s news - Part 10