Player Watch #12: Jy Simpkin [Part II] - staying at North in 2026 + won't feature in leadership group as Larkey set to be named captain

• Thread starter Thread starter giantroo

Clarko is obsessed with ball control when most teams are embracing speed and chaos. He needs to start rating running higher or we will continue to get destroyed between the arcs.
He needs to be sat down and made to listen to Crocker for a week as he fully embraces analytics and has modified the team style to reflect, and in his own words stay ahead of, emerging trends.

Jy was walking laps last Monday with PC and Urq openly talking down about Clarko to the other two.

The general public could clearly hear it.

No doubt Clarko called him out on his bullshit and hurt his feelings and Jy wanted to run at the end of last season.

Watch for the race card to be played in 10-15 years when he runs out of money.

Clarko is obsessed with ball control when most teams are embracing speed and chaos. He needs to start rating running higher or we will continue to get destroyed between the arcs.
Remember he was interested in whirlwind and fast movement two years ago. That seemed to blow up in our faces with our high turnovers and poor defence. I could be wrong, but I think our strategy and development is being staged. Maybe if we hadn’t been so terrible in the years prior to his arrival we could have embraced more wholeheartedly and worn the initial losses better, but our team lacked so much confidence, fumbled and gave up running, gave up games. I think he’s needed to build slower, and try to get some foundations, confidence, synergy into the playing group. I think Clarko also called out at one time just how few games his best players had actually played together. Get games into the group and minimise the damage. It’s pretty unsexy but I think it’s something they’ve decided it’s necessary to do to move forwards.

Jy was walking laps last Monday with PC and Urq openly talking down about Clarko to the other two.
If this is true, not doubting you, but PC should sling tackle him head first into the ground next full contact training drill. **** that campaigner. Ruin his career, get him off our cap and send him to the concussion board. We might get out of this cheap as a club.

Jy is an interesting case. We all know he can play. But how is the whole failed 'get me out of here' episode going to affect him? Clearly he won't be captain. Does he lift and prove his quality, maybe increasing his price to move at end of 2026? Does he sook all year? Does he bite the bullet and do what he is paid (extremely well) to do - play great forty for the club? I just don't know how to read him tbh.

Good post mate, I think we are the big winners. A self absorbed Cpt, who's not a leader, won't be a leader soon enough.

He can play football, and proved that in our last game against the Crows. Was fantastic on the wing. Is also handy up forward.
It will be a fine day when's he's not good enough to get a game, fwiw I think he'll have a very solid year. The troops won't cop him sulking, and he's proud enough to ensure he does his bit.

His mental issues last season while being real were all his doing.
And very avoidable.
Haven't any sympathy for Jy.

If you were running the club, we'd probably miss the season as a result of a season-long boot camp in Gaza involving 'team building exercises'
Simpkin might be able to hit a target in Gaza …. though tbf, everything seems a target over there 🤔🤷‍♂️🤫

Good post mate, I think we are the big winners. A self absorbed Cpt, who's not a leader, won't be a leader soon enough.

He can play football, and proved that in our last game against the Crows. Was fantastic on the wing. Is also handy up forward.
It will be a fine day when's he's not good enough to get a game, fwiw I think he'll have a very solid year. The troops won't cop him sulking, and he's proud enough to ensure he does his bit.

And very avoidable.

Have heard the younger guys aren’t happy with his movements and the narrative that was used in that he had a hard year off field didn’t stack up for them.

Particular player said he wouldn’t vote for him as a leader

Not surprising.

Those defending him to the hilt in here missed the obvious sign of this.

Viney and the club do not come out as angrily and aggressively as they did in public opposition of Jy if he was “openly” battling private mental health issues, with the club, as he has stated.

Unless we think Viney and Clarko are total assholes…

Have heard the younger guys aren’t happy with his movements and the narrative that was used in that he had a hard year off field didn’t stack up for them.

Particular player said he wouldn’t vote for him as a leader
Rightfully so.

Bloke has zero leadership credentials.

Cheap shots on field regularly.

Momentum sapping turnovers.

Got the ‘good bloke’ vote.

Then tries to bail with four years left on a deal, gets a massive humbling when no one wants him and plays the ‘I was struggling off field’ card.

And very avoidable.

1000012310.jpg

Coaches didn't see it that way mate.

Dont sign the deal, dont pitch to the minions underneath your leadership a dream, dont talk about 1 club mentality and loyalty, dont use words that you have no intention of backing up. Questions the integrity of him. Dont put your hand up for captaincy when Happy Meal had his hand up at the same time.

He is employed full time and committed to the NMFC work place. He chose that. He chose a heavy front ended contract and have security at North until he entered his twilight years.

You sign a deal, you live with your choices. Jy did not sign a long term deal because the club needed it.. He signed the deal because the offer was far larger and more lucrative than anyone else would offer. He is a selfish arsehat that only thinks of himself. Typical ****in vegan

I disagree with the vegan mention but reckon you're pretty spot on with the other parts.

Jy was hardly a reigning Brownlow medallist when he signed the mega-deal. Whilst I'm sure other clubs would've entertained him circa 2020-21 it wasn't like we got wind of any big approach a la swans for Larkey. He signed because it was a very good deal well ahead of his league benchmarked output.

And yeh nobody forced him to accept the captaincy. Just like in the non-football workforce, if you don't want to be the one doing the extra hours, taking more responsibility and setting the standard for commitment - don't take on a leadership position. Pretty easy to say no.

Rightfully so.

Bloke has zero leadership credentials.

Cheap shots on field regularly.

Momentum sapping turnovers.

Got the ‘good bloke’ vote.

Then tries to bail with four years left on a deal, gets a massive humbling when no one wants him and plays the ‘I was struggling off field’ card.

I suspect our players have **** all idea of what a good leader looks like. Red flag was when Magoo was voted in.

Take the responsibility off the players until they earn it back. Time for the coaches to take charge.

I suspect our players have **** all idea of what a good leader looks like. Red flag was when Magoo was voted in.

Take the responsibility off the players until they earn it back. Time for the coaches to take charge.
I think the selection process should be a weighted split between the Coaches, Players and the esteemed BF faithful.

Coaches have a 50% say, players have 48% and BF Brains Trust is 2%.

So for my 2 cents (%) it’s Larkey Capt and Sheezel and X as his loyal lieutenants for 2026.

I think the selection process should be a weighted split between the Coaches, Players and the esteemed BF faithful.

Coaches have a 50% say, players have 48% and BF Brains Trust is 2%.

So for my 2 cents (%) it’s Larkey Capt and Sheezel and X as his loyal lieutenants for 2026.

Bollocks....100% BF...

View attachment 2488165

Coaches didn't see it that way mate.

Oh didn't realise you had to get coaches votes to have played well.

I'll check and report back, nope couldn't see Taylor, Mahony, Teakles, Stephenson, Spicer, Payne, Scott, Turner, Fisher, Marley, Ford, Bergman etc in the votes either.

You don't need coaches votes to have played well or contributed to the game

Oh didn't realise you had to get coaches votes to have played well.

I'll check and report back, nope couldn't see Taylor, Mahony, Teakles, Stephenson, Spicer, Payne, Scott, Turner, Fisher, Marley, Ford, Bergman etc in the votes either.

You don't need coaches votes to have played well or contributed to the game
I reckon they're a fair subjective validator of a 'fantastic' game though mate.

Simpkin stayed because the club held him to his contract, similar to Tristan Xerri being held to his contract after he asked for a trade in 2021.

Has Xerri been forgiven/forgotten?

Xerri is a North supporter. He doesn't need to be forgiven, that was us under utilising him. He is home.

There is a difference, but both are understandable. Both Jy and X had uncertain futures at the club so looked around at their options. Jy may have been voted captain by the players, but the coach clearly doesn't rate him as a leader. Having complained about our lack of leadership at the end of 2024, Clarko brought in some new ones. Jy was pushed out of the midfield by a bloke who can't run because he supposedly provides the leadership that Jy lacks. Predictably, outside of stoppages, Parker sucked in this role and we got smashed in transition week after week. It was a pretty big slap in the face for Jy, and hardly surprising that he would question what his long-term position at the club was and look around at his options. Those crying about this need a bit of perspective.
Parker is the bigger body, that's what we were after. Jy can puff his chest out all he wants, he's just not that player. Never was and never will be.

If this is true, not doubting you, but PC should sling tackle him head first into the ground next full contact training drill. **** that campaigner. Ruin his career, get him off our cap and send him to the concussion board. We might get out of this cheap as a club.

PC seemed uncomfortable with the interaction if that's any consolation.

No doubt Clarko called him out on his bullshit and hurt his feelings and Jy wanted to run at the end of last season.

I never thought white supremacy would come into the conversation, but there you have it

That’s so ****en disappointing (Jy’s behaviour and you being a racist campaigner)