Autopsy AFL 2026 Round 8 - Pies v Hawks Thurs April 30th 7:30pm AEST (MCG)

• Thread starter Thread starter Wosh

Who will win and by how much?

• Pies by a goal or less

Votes: 2 2.5%
  • Pies by 7 - 20

Votes: 7 8.6%
  • Pies by a lot

Votes: 1 1.2%
  • Hawks by a goal or less

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Hawks by 7- 20

Votes: 25 30.9%
  • Hawks by a lot

Votes: 44 54.3%
  • Draw

Votes: 2 2.5%

Credit to the Pies whose accuracy was amazing. They pressured us all night.

One of those games where you win just about everything but the stat that counts. Bad kicking is bad footy.

Hawthorn should have toweled Collingwood up based on stats.
Maybe some stat expert can recall Collingwood kicked 3 behind's for a game.
Both teams and supporters can delve into it analyze it over and over..
The result remains the same..
Amazes me but IF?

Do you seriously think after coming off 42 touches and being an absolute weapon that you’re resting him for a huge game against Hawthorn if the games record wasn’t coming up?

Yeah mate….. Treat yourself like an idiot but not other people.

He plays last night, you win. You stay in the finals hunt.
If Pendles played last night, he would have injured himself. Playing a 38 year old off a 5 day break is asking for him to pull a calf.

Do you seriously think after coming off 42 touches and being an absolute weapon that you’re resting him for a huge game against Hawthorn if the games record wasn’t coming up?

Yeah mate….. Treat yourself like an idiot but not other people.

He plays last night, you win. You stay in the finals hunt.

So what’s the excuse for resting Howe, does he have a record coming up?

But I do find it hilarious that after we drew against the top side, a game we were expected to get thumped in, you reckon it’s the difference between finals or not?

After Sydney we play 8 straight bottom sides…

Until Rd 23, our only 2 tough games in that period are Gold Coast and Adelaide away…

So if Pendles is the difference between beating the top team or drawing, then I reckon we shouldn’t have any issue winning 8-9 of those 11 games…

There's an obsession at Collingwood with individuals and the esteem they are held in. Mostly it's just fan service because they have a supporter base that are very easily soothed with that sort of stuff.

BnF voting structure changes, player management, gameplan etc - a fair bit of it is influenced by putting a champion veteran or the next great Collingwood player in the spotlight, with the most accolades and attention.

This is nauseating "big club" stuff gone wrong. On the one hand milking engagement and ultimately more $$$ from their supporters makes sense, but it shouldn't be at the expense of giving them the best chance of team success.
Spot on.
So what’s the excuse for resting Howe, does he have a record coming up?

But I do find it hilarious that after we drew against the top side, a game we were expected to get thumped in, you reckon it’s the difference between finals or not?

After Sydney we play 8 straight bottom sides…

Until Rd 23, our only 2 tough games in that period are Gold Coast and Adelaide away…

So if Pendles is the difference between beating the top team or drawing, then I reckon we shouldn’t have any issue winning 8-9 of those 11 games…
Collingwood aren’t bad at all. Pendlebury is such a good player still. Not picking one of your best players against Hawthorn is absolutely mind boggling. It’s not team orientated. Beating hawthorn would give your team a huge morale boost.

It’s making it about the individual which Collingwood do very well.

Hawthorn had an expected score of +38 points. The Hawks have had several games where the expected margin was significantly closer, including Easter Monday. Being that much more accurate than your opponent is not a template.
It's becoming a big problem now the fact we are leaving so many points out there. Our percentage should be much higher and it could come back to bite us later in the year. Either we are not doing enough on the track to fix it or there's some mental demons starting to build up. Either way we need to come up with a solution because it got a bit embarrassing Thursday night when they were slotting them from everywhere and we couldn't hit the side of a barn door on some shots.

Ironically, the draw with the Pies now means our percentage doesn't matter.