19 greatest individual games by Crows

• Thread starter Thread starter crowman86

Top 5 in order, 6-19 in no particular order.

1. 1997 AFL Grand Final
2. 1998 AFL Grand Final
3. 2005 SF - the Dream Showdown
4. 1997 PF - the come from nowhere win over Western Bulldogs
5. Round 4 2001 v Carlton, Visy Park

6. Second Showdown 2007
7. Showdown II 1997
8. First Showdown 2000
9. First Showdown 2008
10. Round 11 2009 v Essendon, Etihad Stadium - football purists dream and we kick 21.4
11. 1998 SF v Sydney, SCG - great win in the wet
12. Round 1 1991 - the first game and first big win over Hawthorn
13. Round 15 2009 v Fremantle, AAMI Stadium - big win and we keep Fremantle to 1.7 for the match
14. Round 10 2006 v Essendon, AAMI Stadium - McLeod's 250th, 139 point win, only time we've kicked 30 goals in a game.
15. Round 2 2005 v Collingwood, Etihad Stadium - Andrew McLeod kicks a goal from nowhere to steal the game
16. Round 17 1997 v Richmond, AAMI Stadium - 137 point win, the end of Robert Walls' coaching career (and he's still bitter towards the Crows to this day because of it)
17. 1998 PF - a ritualistic mauling of the Western Bulldogs after the heartstopper of 1997
18. Round 5 1997 v Western Bulldogs, Visy Park. No one expected us to win after the Showdown 1 debacle and we won by 50 points
19. Round 22 1998 v West Coast, Subiaco. Our first win against West Coast in Perth guarantees a 1998 finals berth, and the rest is history.

Top 5 in order, 6-19 in no particular order.

1. 1997 AFL Grand Final
2. 1998 AFL Grand Final
3. 2005 SF - the Dream Showdown
4. 1997 PF - the come from nowhere win over Western Bulldogs
5. Round 4 2001 v Carlton, Visy Park

Which individual players though?

I reckon Hodges 13 mark, 11 goal performance against Grand Finallist Geelong in R23 1992 would be up there. 3rd highest goals in a game by a Crow behind Modras 2 13 goal games.

Modras 13 goal performance in R1 was better than his game against Richmond the previous year in my opinion, and also should be in there. What a start to the season.

His 10 against North Melbourne that year should also be included. 10 goals, mark of the year and pretty much single handedly won it for the Crows. one of the best matches ever played.

I reckon Hodges 13 mark, 11 goal performance against Grand Finallist Geelong in R23 1992 would be up there. 3rd highest goals in a game by a Crow behind Modras 2 13 goal games.

Modras 13 goal performance in R1 was better than his game against Richmond the previous year in my opinion, and also should be in there. What a start to the season.

His 10 against North Melbourne that year should also be included. 10 goals, mark of the year and pretty much single handedly won the Crows won of the best matches ever played.

You are right Macca :thumbsu:

We over here tend to forget how good Hodges was.

Quiz: How many possessions did Roo get in that R4 01 game against Carlton...

Would have to be the greatest possession/impact ratio on a game ever. Apparently the maggots didn't feel the same way about his game we did. They didn't think it was the greatest individual performance by a Crows player that day, let alone of all time.

Quiz #2: Who got the 3 Brownlow votes that day?

Nigel Smart

One out of left field and one that doesn't readily come to mind - probably because we lost! - is Darren Jarman's game versus Hawthorn in Tassie in 2001. He was playing off the half back flank at the time. The newspaper "The Age" had introduced a system a couple of seasons previously whereby players weren't judged solely on disposals but how effective each of those disposals were. Jarman scored the highest mark ever to that stage and IRC didn't have a "clanger" all day.
As people have also mentioned "that game"of Roos versus Carlton was something extraordinary. Carlton were white hot favourites in that match and Roo came out and said a big "Get ****ed" to that!:D I'd love to know what the odds for that game were.

Porps against Sydney last year - bung shoulder and all.

Roo in his 250th I think against the Hawks - 35 or so touches and 3 goals and picked up the votes.

I'll always remember McLeods BOG effort against us at KP in 98.

I've seen players playing at a superior level to all others on the field a fair few times over the years, but very few would surpass his performance in that game.

To say he did he did as he pleased from the first bounce to the final siren would be a gross understatement.

One out of left field and one that doesn't readily come to mind - probably because we lost! - is Darren Jarman's game versus Hawthorn in Tassie in 2001. He was playing off the half back flank at the time. The newspaper "The Age" had introduced a system a couple of seasons previously whereby players weren't judged solely on disposals but how effective each of those disposals were. Jarman scored the highest mark ever to that stage and IRC didn't have a "clanger" all day.

Remember this, was picking up touches at will

Roo in his 300th game v North was outstanding had something like 41 disposals and dominated the whole game

there are the high profile ones, DJ's 97 GF, Macca's 98 Prelim, that game by Roo at OO in 2001 (which I think was our first win for the year IIRC, I remember Dipper shitting himself in the crowd thinking he was going to get hit by lightning :D) Everytime Mods kicked 10 or more, but for pure footballing genius given the player and the conditions;

Shaun Rehn in that absmal weather in that home game in 98 against the Hawks, stood a kick behind play and took 9 marks, got 31 possessions (most on the ground) and his usual 30+ hit outs plus what he didn't mark he changed how Hawthorn played, like a centre who changes a shot because he is in the key. Had midfielder stats in one of the worst days for football you will see. Sublime. Umpires should have given him the 2 and 1 votes as well.

except Caven wasn't actually especially good in that game.

his performance has long disappeared into myth.

rubbish. look at the job he was given. Carey in 98 was the best player in the league and had beaten us off his own boot just a few weeks earlier. After a shaky start Caven out-bodied him magnificently in that match - bent the rules without breaking them and provided important run as well. one of the best individual performances of that match - right up there with McLeod and Hart IMO.

Even though this is not ONE player, I loved the Jarman brothers efforts against Fitzroy in 1996?

In Melbourne, and they kicked a bag between them. Anyone have their stats for that game?

This thread has brought back some nice memories. Gee how can you narrow it down to just 19 when you think about all the brilliant games that Roo, Macca, DJ, Rehn, Mods, Goody etc have played between them?

One of my favourites was Peter Vardy's 7.6 against Port in 98. Should have kicked straighter but for a 5'11 player to have 13 shots on goal is just remarkable.

Even though this is not ONE player, I loved the Jarman brothers efforts against Fitzroy in 1996?

In Melbourne, and they kicked a bag between them. Anyone have their stats for that game?
That was a beauty; the brothers Jarman tormenting their old mentor Mick Nunan. Fudd kicked 8, Newton 6.

I remember that, all day long they had outscored Fitzroy between themselves.

Andrew: 10 kicks 6 handballs 7 marks 6.0
Darren: 16 kicks 5 handballs 4 marks 8.1

What I didn't realise about that game is we didn't have a goal to quarter time... so all this damage in 3 quarters of footy :eek:

Brownlow votes for this game:
3: Martin Pike (24 possessions)
2: Chris Johnson (24 possessions)
1: Kym Koster (31 possessions)

In a 5 goal win... Where one guy has kicked 8 and another 6... riiiight...

His 10 against North Melbourne that year should also be included. 10 goals, mark of the year and pretty much single handedly won it for the Crows. one of the best matches ever played.

Geez M19, seriously, step away from the dark side. Go towards the light! Its not right a Power supporter knowing so much...and talking so sensibly, about the crows.:thumbsu: