2002 AFL odds!

If anyone is interested, here are the betting odds so far for the 2002 AFL season.

PREMIERSHIP ODDS

ADELAIDE - $26
BRISBANE - $3.30
CARLTON - $13
COLLINGWOOD - $23
ESSENDON - $3.50
FREMANTLE - $51
GEELONG - $51
HAWTHORN - $10
KANGAROOS - $26
MELBOURNE - $26
PORT ADELAIDE - $10
RICHMOND - $16
ST KILDA - $51
SYDNEY - $23
WESTCOAST - $71
WEST BULLDOGS - $51

Melbourne at $26 is a ripoff. I think Sydney and Collingwood are good bets at $23. Carlton at $13 is a joke, along with Hawthorn at $10. How could you put Geelong and St.Kilda on $51 with the Bulldogs?

FINAL 8

ADELAIDE - $1.90
BRISBANE - $1.08
CARLTON - $1.40
COLLINGWOOD - $1.90
ESSENDON - $1.10
FREMANTLE - $3.20
GEELONG - $3.30
HAWTHORN - $1.33
KANGAROOS - $1.85
MELBOURNE - $2.20
PORT ADELAIDE - $1.33
RICHMOND - $1.45
ST KILDA - $3.15
SYDNEY - $1.70
WESTCOAST - $3.85
WEST BULLDOGS - $2.65

Best bets here are chucking $50 on the swans, $30 on the Pies and $20 on the Dockers!

BROWNLOW MEDAL

(Adelaide) A.Mcleoud - $13
(Brisbane) M.Voss - $12
(Carlton) B.Ratten - $21
(Collingwood) N.Buckley - $13
(Collingwood) T.Lockyer - $301 @ Xies surprise packet
(Essendon) J.Hird - $21
(Fremantle) P.Bell - $71
(Geelong) B.Graham - $71 @ Xies 3rd surprise packet
(Hawthorn) S.Crawford - $31
(Hawthorn) L.Hodge - $501
(Kangaroos) B.Harvey - $35
(Kangaroos) S.Grant - $81 @ Xies 2nd surprise packet
(Melbourne) J.White - $51
(Port Adelaide) J.Francou - $41
(Port.Adelaide) M.Primus - $51 @ Xies brownlow tip
(Richmond) B.Ottens - $51
(Richmond) M.Richardson - $51
(St.Kilda) R.Harvey - $41
(St.Kilda) L.Hayes - $501 ????? (injured still) ?
(Sydney) M.Oloughin - $71
(Sydney) T.Lockett - $1001
(Westcoast) B.Cousins - $17
(West Bulldogs) S.West - $26
(West Bulldogs) L.Darcy - $31

Thats the lot folks!

Originally posted by X_box_X
If anyone is interested, here are the betting odds so far for the 2002 AFL season.

PREMIERSHIP ODDS

ADELAIDE - $26
BRISBANE - $3.30
CARLTON - $13
COLLINGWOOD - $23
ESSENDON - $3.50
FREMANTLE - $51
GEELONG - $51
HAWTHORN - $10
KANGAROOS - $26
MELBOURNE - $26
PORT ADELAIDE - $10
RICHMOND - $16
ST KILDA - $51
SYDNEY - $23
WESTCOAST - $71
WEST BULLDOGS - $51

Melbourne at $26 is a ripoff. I think Sydney and Collingwood are good bets at $23. Carlton at $13 is a joke, along with Hawthorn at $10. How could you put Geelong and St.Kilda on $51 with the Bulldogs?

FINAL 8

ADELAIDE - $1.90
BRISBANE - $1.08
CARLTON - $1.40
COLLINGWOOD - $1.90
ESSENDON - $1.10
FREMANTLE - $3.20
GEELONG - $3.30
HAWTHORN - $1.33
KANGAROOS - $1.85
MELBOURNE - $2.20
PORT ADELAIDE - $1.33
RICHMOND - $1.45
ST KILDA - $3.15
SYDNEY - $1.70
WESTCOAST - $3.85
WEST BULLDOGS - $2.65

Best bets here are chucking $50 on the swans, $30 on the Pies and $20 on the Dockers!

BROWNLOW MEDAL

(Adelaide) A.Mcleoud - $13
(Brisbane) M.Voss - $12
(Carlton) B.Ratten - $21
(Collingwood) N.Buckley - $13
(Collingwood) T.Lockyer - $301 @ Xies surprise packet
(Essendon) J.Hird - $21
(Fremantle) P.Bell - $71
(Geelong) B.Graham - $71 @ Xies 3rd surprise packet
(Hawthorn) S.Crawford - $31
(Hawthorn) L.Hodge - $501
(Kangaroos) B.Harvey - $35
(Kangaroos) S.Grant - $81 @ Xies 2nd surprise packet
(Melbourne) J.White - $51
(Port Adelaide) J.Francou - $41
(Port.Adelaide) M.Primus - $51 @ Xies brownlow tip
(Richmond) B.Ottens - $51
(Richmond) M.Richardson - $51
(St.Kilda) R.Harvey - $41
(St.Kilda) L.Hayes - $501 ????? (injured still) ?
(Sydney) M.Oloughin - $71
(Sydney) T.Lockett - $1001
(Westcoast) B.Cousins - $17
(West Bulldogs) S.West - $26
(West Bulldogs) L.Darcy - $31

Thats the lot folks!
I have already put money on S.West.Xie after the 99 season my mate put money on the dees to make the 2000 granny and he won an absolute bucket load.

I like the odds of Shannon Grant at $81 and Peter Bell at $71. Westy at $26 and Grant at $61 are also good bets. But I have already made my bet, Kingsley at $401, bargain at twice the price.
And I agree with Dogboy anyone who takes the odds of $51 on Freo, St Kilda or Geelong for the flag ahead of the Dogs would have to be off their nut

I'll say it again your a #$\@#!%& idiot XBOX..

Would you like another stab at St Kilda?.. Or are you just jealous we've got more members, financial stability or a better playing list than you... C'mon give up.. $50 says St Kilda make the 8.. Probably wont but we're certainly not coming behind the WB..

Originally posted by Vaul Darkhour

Would you like another stab at St Kilda?.. Or are you just jealous we've got more members, financial stability or a better playing list than you... C'mon give up.. $50 says St Kilda make the 8.. Probably wont but we're certainly not coming behind the WB..

Imagine if your posts made no sense what so ever! :rolleyes:
what exactly are you trying to say? :confused:
And for you to call me an idiot, makes me laugh! *laughs*

Even though Brisbane won the flag, I cant beleive they are actually premiership favourites for 2002 with the bookies.

Essendon should be premiership favourites.

The Bombers present the best value at $3.50. Think about it. A The best team in the comp, virtually guaranteed the flag if we have a decent run with injury is paying 350%!!

Get on the Bombers. You're wasting your money with these other teams. We may not be 100% certainties, but at $3.50 we are WAY over the odds.

Originally posted by Vaul Darkhour

Certainly not coming behind the Bulldogs???
I mean why would you, theres no chance

How many wins this year, 3??? Whats that, 5 or so in 2 years???
How many wins did we get, was it 7 more???
Add to that the fact that our list is far far superior to yours and our players are not gutless and mentally weak.
And the fact that in recent history we nearly always finish ahead of you.

And why would a Dogs fan be jealous of you??? I mean your history is even worse then ours. And if you seriously think you have a better playing list then us why do we always finish higher??? But I suspose you now have the master coach........ again.

I really feel sorry for about half a dozen St Kilda players. The blokes that don't give up easily every week and capitulate, pretty much the same players who have done it for the last ten years. Please don't ever accuse a Dogs fan of being jealous of the rabble that is St Kilda.

Apart from my share of the Kingsley bet Im betting on Grant at $61. He's one of the top players in the AFL and has polled well in the past

Shannon Grant at $81 is good value at well

I also heard Stephen Powell was at a few hundred to 1 so I'll probably put a bet on him as well

I'll also have a couple of hundred on StKilda for the flag :rolleyes:

Originally posted by Stegelator
I've already put my money on Essendon for Premiership Buckley for the Brownlow

I reckon Essendon are due for a bad trot for a couple of seasons and Buckley will never win the Brownlow while he "chats" the umpies.

Reckon Andie McLeod will finally win the Brownlow and Brisbane will play Carlton in the GF. Brisbane will just scrape home. Voss will win the Norm Smith.

Another predicton: Gary Ayres will not have his 4th year option taken up and Neil Craig will be appointed Crows coach from 2003.

Enough predicting - my head hurts !!

Originally Posted by Dan26
Even though Brisbane won the flag, I cant beleive they are actually premiership favourites for 2002 with the bookies.

Essendon should be premiership favourites.

The Bombers present the best value at $3.50. Think about it. A The best team in the comp, virtually guaranteed the flag if we have a decent run with injury is paying 350%!!

Get on the Bombers. You're wasting your money with these other teams. We may not be 100% certainties, but at $3.50 we are WAY over the odds.
It's quite simple Dan. Brisbane hold the premiership cup, and they beat your mob to do it.. no what if's, buts or maybe's. They deserve outright favourtism. You obviously still haven't accepted defeat. Face it, you lost - comfortably.:eek:

Originally posted by SwOOsh
It's quite simple Dan. Brisbane hold the premiership cup, and they beat your mob to do it.. no what if's, buts or maybe's. They deserve outright favourtism. You obviously still haven't accepted defeat. Face it, you lost - comfortably.:eek:

Yes, they hold the premiership cup. Thanks for telling me, otherwise I wouldn't have known. :rolleyes:

I don't think Brisbane deserve outright favouritism. Favouritism shouldn't be based on the outcome of two hours of footy on September 29th. You've got to analyse it a bit more deeply than that! There is more to a season than 2 hours of footy.

As for accepting defeat, I accepeted it the moment the siren went. I was rapt to see Brisbane win a flag. Good on 'em. I wish it wasn't over the Bombers, but on the whole I was happy to see the Lions win a premiership. It was good for football.

However as for the "odds" next year, Essendon should be favourites. We still have the strongest playing list, there will be no premiership hangover (because we didn't win the premiership) and I still believe we are the logical choice for the flag, if you had to name one team.

At $3.50, we are over the odds. I wouldn't put my money on Brisbane - no way in the world.

In my view, Brisbane deserve to be the outright favourites for next season.

Forget narrow-vision views on who has the better list - way too easily coloured by individuals views on their own teams players.

Go on the results - Brisban are the premiers, and have won their past 12 games on the trot or something. They have they best form bar none.

Next in line would be Port & Essendon, then a list of six other teams - these have shown form enough to be considered as flag chances next year. Forget the rest - too much improvement required, though some of them could well make the finals.

All IMO.

$71 for the premiership....at the very least you would think WC would be equal at $51 with Freo, Geelong, Saint and Bulldogs. Those four teams have no more of a chance than we do of winning the thing.

Cuz 4th favourite for the brownlow.

Get on Sydney, Collingwood and/or Hawthorn for the flag.
Get on Melbourne, Freo, Collingwood and/or Sydney for the 8.
You can't go wrong.

Brownlow betting is impossible to pick, so dont bother.

Who has the better list between Brisbane and Essendon? - give me Brisbane's any time. The best midfield in the league, one of the best CHF's (who's still developing), solid defence, and a great coach. Brisbane are on the way up.

Are people actually arguing over who is the best team based on the tote? The odds reflect the chance of winning offset by the weight of betting.

Therefore, Brisbane's odds reflect one of two scenarios:

1) Brisbane are a better side than the Bombers and deserve the lowest odds.

2) Bombers supporters are all tightwads and haven't backed their side to win as much as the loyal Brissie fans.

So which is it?

2002 AFL odds!