Dave The Man

Collingwood Magpies - Alan Didak 2009 Player Sponsor
Storm,Victory,Blue Jays
This was a very intresting week because we were all so close of winning the flag in the GF.

We traded for Woewodin only 2 season removed after winning the Brownlow, Story goes that GF Day someone in the Dees came to us and said Shane was up for trade and they we were the team they where willing to trade Shane too. We obsively agreed because we must of thought that shane would take us over the top next year.

What was that trade?

They Other trade was Adikins for Williams,

That was a really funny trade neither done much before that but I remember Adkins having some very good games and looked good and we traded for a MaCaffer like Medium Forward. Williams did have some good early games but turned out to be VFL Player.

Bit different to Hines way where he likes to keep picks or get more picks, The only big trade he has done was 2 years ago trading Pick 14 for Wood but That was a very weak draft acccording to Hine/

Your thoughts of the 2002 trade week?

Williams is probably the softest player I've ever seen play for the Pies. Made Lonie look well 'ard.

He wasnt always, he was flying until he had two ribs broken and punctured a lung in the round 12 loss to hawthorn.

After that he wouldnt go near a pack or fly for a mark to save himself, the injury (and it was painful) seemed to get to him

Williams starred in the first three weeks of 2003, he was close to amazing. Probably trailed Bucks as our best in that Rich-Carl-Geel patch, as well as the Wizard Cup.

Then was roughed up by the Scotts in round four, belted by Barry Hall in round six, and returned after only a week, and then in round 12 was cannoned into by Mark Graham which punctured his lung. After that, he never once reached his best, bar a burst of magic midway through that hideous night against Carlton in round 22, 2004 vs Teague when we lost by a point. Was blessed with a 'great aerobic capacity'.

I didn't think of Williams as a soft player, at least not initially, but he had a HUGE dose of the Damien Adkins/Stephen Paterson/Ryan Cook/Alan Toovey style headless chook running disease. When he got the ball, he was just as likely to spray the ball out on the full while running flat out, as get it within 5m of a teammate. Drove me insane, he did.

And he ran with his head down, without looking up, hunch-like.

Soz, Willo, if you read this. :p

Chipper had method to his madness. He was awesome. Round five, 2000, vs WB at Colonial, says it all.

The trade for Woewodin was smart, our window was open and we were only a couple of players shy of a flag.. when he kicked the first goal of the Grand Final I thought to myself this is it

But the truth is Rocca cost us that premiership by getting himself suspended and the Woewodin trade would have been viewed very differently if we had got up that day

Not quite, S@11.

We had a 2006-model Woewodin, in Heath Scotland. Not as good, obviously, but it was another genuine ruckman/fast midfielder we needed at the time. In hindsight. Was a terrific boost for the club/playing group at the time, though.

And he ran with his head down, without looking up, hunch-like.

Soz, Willo, if you read this. :p

Chipper had method to his madness. He was awesome. Round five, 2000, vs WB at Colonial, says it all.
Chipper was everywhere that night, and that infernal doggy doggy doggy woof woof woof thing:rolleyes:

The weirdest running style had to of been Crazy John himself Matty Lokan (he was more then handy in 03) but my o my did he run with a funny style

Not quite, S@11.

We had a 2006-model Woewodin, in Heath Scotland. Not as good, obviously, but it was another genuine ruckman/fast midfielder we needed at the time. In hindsight. Was a terrific boost for the club/playing group at the time, though.

No GF team is perfect, even Hawthorn would have loved another Key Backman.. I still believe we had Brisbane's measure with Rocca

Without him all they had to do was double team Tarrant and our structure collapsed like dominoes.. Scotland was irrelevant

No GF team is perfect, even Hawthorn would have loved another Key Backman.. I still believe we had Brisbane's measure with Rocca

Without him all they had to do was double team Tarrant and our structure collapsed like dominoes.. Scotland was irrelevant
So a Bit like what happend to Cloke before Dawes came in then

Granted, and I do agree re Rocca/2003, but the Lions did have one of those days. You're right, though, would have changed everything. The lead up, the structure, the lot.

Agree re Scotland, but it was the structure of the forward line. Kinnear, Walker. The horror.

I think we would have been certainties had Jason Cloke not gotten suspended for the 2002 GF. Rocca in 2003 would have made a huge difference, but we did get completely obliterated.

Williams wasn't soft - He just had no idea how to get his hands on the ball. You can't pull out of a contest if you're nowhere near it.

He had amazingly low possession numbers in some of our games given his experience level and his elite level fitness.

IMO, just a guy with talent, but no footy nous.

I think we would have been certainties had Jason Cloke not gotten suspended for the 2002 GF.

Clokey wasn't the missing link that day. Would have been handy, but was not the difference, considering how well our defenders played (Presti vs Brown, Wakes vs Lynch, Clement vs Voss when forward). McGough was the missing link. If Molloy didn't play, which is harsh, but his toe was broken, and McGough did, in the wet, I reckon things may have changed.

But we should have won. Luck didn't shine on us.

Clokey wasn't the missing link that day. Would have been handy, but was not the difference, considering how well our defenders played (Presti vs Brown, Wakes vs Lynch, Clement vs Voss when forward). McGough was the missing link. If Molloy didn't play, which is harsh, but his toe was broken, and McGough did, in the wet, I reckon things may have changed.

But we should have won. Luck didn't shine on us.
The Missing Link was a Goal Ump who was not Blind;)

If one of the othertwo field umpires pulled their fingers out of their rear ends and consulted the goal umpire saying they saw it was a clear goal (like everyone else) then we wouldnt have had this issue

The trade for Woewodin was smart, our window was open and we were only a couple of players shy of a flag.. when he kicked the first goal of the Grand Final I thought to myself this is it

But the truth is Rocca cost us that premiership by getting himself suspended and the Woewodin trade would have been viewed very differently if we had got up that day

It's true.

Chipper's run against the Bulldogs was one of my favourite memories from those years. The audacity of the kid!

Would've been my favourite goal of all time.