2008 Draft - What do the Swans Need?

• Thread starter Thread starter RUNVS

This is very early but what type of players do you think the Swans need to draft this year. I think this is a extremely important draft and if the Swans management get it wrong in afew years time the Swans will be in the bottom 4 in the competition.

Here is what i think

Pick 1 - Big Full Forward who can kick a bagload of goals each game (Barry Hall replacement)
Pick 2 - Defender (leo Barry replacement)
Pick 3 - Another tall Forward (replacement for O'Loughlin)

I really do think that we need to find replacements for Barry Hall, Michael O'Loughlin and Leo Barry as soon as possible as im willing to bet that at the end of 2009 all 3 will retire). If Paul Roos drafts more midfielders i think i will scream.

What do you all think?

Our Priorities according to SS

1. Jack Ziebell (Murray Bushrangers)
Bottom aged but if he were to be a month younger would go no.1 in 2009, still will be a Top 25 pick. Perfect fit for the Swans, can play forward, back, on-ball, wing or floating around all in one. Has been likened to Goddard by many who've seen him play but more pontential for a KP (when at full forward he plays like Alistair Lynch). A sensational kick and mark, very strong body and a good centre of gravity, the boy can bloody play - I've seen it. In the company of the likes of John Longmire being one of the only players to ever play Ovens + Murray at the age of 15. Superstar in the making.

2. Michael Hurley (Northern Knights)
Has very good numbers for a KP backman, much like a Sam Fisher or a Craig Bolton as he is a creator as well as a stopper averaging 18 possesions in TAC Cup games last year, but his telling statistic is rebound 50s with more than 6 in seven of his games last season. Not a Darren Glass or Matthew Scarlett, but is capable against the powerhouse forwards as well as around the ground.

3. Tom Lynch (Sandringham)
Out for the whole season last year with a knee reco, but has shown a lot of promise prior to that, tearing apart the APS competition in Melbourne as a sixteen year old. Tall, athletic and a smart footballer to go with it, he reads the play extremely well for a KP player. Probably better in attack than defence after his reco, could take recovery time and may slow him down not being used to that sort of setback at his young age.

This is very early but what type of players do you think the Swans need to draft this year. I think this is a extremely important draft and if the Swans management get it wrong in afew years time the Swans will be in the bottom 4 in the competition.

Here is what i think

Pick 1 - Big Full Forward who can kick a bagload of goals each game (Barry Hall replacement)
Pick 2 - Defender (leo Barry replacement)
Pick 3 - Another tall Forward (replacement for O'Loughlin)

I really do think that we need to find replacements for Barry Hall, Michael O'Loughlin and Leo Barry as soon as possible as im willing to bet that at the end of 2009 all 3 will retire). If Paul Roos drafts more midfielders i think i will scream.

What do you all think?

Tall quick backman, they don't even need to be massive or 200 cm, just around Scarletts height or Harleys.

I just watched the Vic Metro vs Western Australia and i think Chris Yarran would be a great pickup for the Swans as he looks like a great replacement for Michael O'Loughlin and there is a chance he will still be available when the Swans first draft pick comes around.

Don't think Yarran's quite as tall as MickyO, is he? I thought he was around the 180cm mark.

He's also highly likely to be gone by the time the Swans get to pick. Many "experts" are suggesting he's a potential top 5 pick.

Don't think Yarran's quite as tall as MickyO, is he? I thought he was around the 180cm mark.

He's also highly likely to be gone by the time the Swans get to pick. Many "experts" are suggesting he's a potential top 5 pick.

He is shorter than Micky O but watching him play today he moved quite abit like O'Loughlin. The way he shakes of opponents is almost identical to O'Loughlin.

Need an enigmatic player to compliment the disciplined defense.

Would love a Dale Thomas type.
I think Vesz fits the description quite nicely.

Aaron Cornelious from Tassie would be a ripper pick. Key forward with GREAT hands, about 192cm?
Hasn't had a great carnival but did well yesterday. I am no expert on the others in the draft but most are saying could go anywhere between 8 - 25.

I think Vesz fits the description quite nicely.

I suspect Vez will start his senior career in the forward line, playing a role not unlike Nick Davis has done over recent years. But long term I reckon the club will want him playing in the midfield. His work and vision in traffic are too good to be "wasted" in the forward line.

His work and vision in traffic are too good to be "wasted" in the forward line.

You could apply a similar argument to Jarred Moore, and he has spent most of his senior career in the forward line for the same reason.

Our Priorities according to SS

1. Jack Ziebell (Murray Bushrangers)
Bottom aged but if he were to be a month younger would go no.1 in 2009, still will be a Top 25 pick. Perfect fit for the Swans, can play forward, back, on-ball, wing or floating around all in one. Has been likened to Goddard by many who've seen him play but more pontential for a KP (when at full forward he plays like Alistair Lynch). A sensational kick and mark, very strong body and a good centre of gravity, the boy can bloody play - I've seen it. In the company of the likes of John Longmire being one of the only players to ever play Ovens + Murray at the age of 15. Superstar in the making.
Yeah good player would probobly go around our first pick fantastic kick of the footy which is what our recruiters like to see and a very developed body for a bottom aged player.
2. Michael Hurley (Northern Knights)
Has very good numbers for a KP backman, much like a Sam Fisher or a Craig Bolton as he is a creator as well as a stopper averaging 18 possesions in TAC Cup games last year, but his telling statistic is rebound 50s with more than 6 in seven of his games last season. Not a Darren Glass or Matthew Scarlett, but is capable against the powerhouse forwards as well as around the ground.
Doubt he will last until out first choice but if he does I would be devistated if we didn't pick him absolute gun for Vic Metro two years in a row at Full Back and can be quite a useful forward on occasions with the Knights as well lacks a yard of pace but makes up for it with a tremendous kick and reads the game exceptionaly well.
3. Tom Lynch (Sandringham)
Out for the whole season last year with a knee reco, but has shown a lot of promise prior to that, tearing apart the APS competition in Melbourne as a sixteen year old. Tall, athletic and a smart footballer to go with it, he reads the play extremely well for a KP player. Probably better in attack than defence after his reco, could take recovery time and may slow him down not being used to that sort of setback at his young age.
Not quite as familiar with Lynch saw him play for the first time yesterday and wasn't very impressed he did kick one very nice goal but that was about it. Would like to see more of him especially since he is coming of the injury last year.

I got this from the drafting board. Its a prediction for the top 10 draft choices in 2008.

1. West Coast - Nicholas Naitanui
2. Melbourne - Jack Watts
3. Fremantle - Daniel Rich
4. Port Adeliade - Hamish Hartlett
5. Richmond - Michael Hurley
6. Essendon - Chris Yarran
7. Carlton - Shaun McKernan
8. North Melbourne - Jack Ziebal
9. St Kilda - Nick Suban
10. Brisbane - David Zaharakis

Obviously this isnt 100% correct but assuming it is what players do the Swans have a realistic chance of getting (remember that the Swans first Round pick will probably be between picks 12 and 14).

The problem with being consistantly in the top 8 is we never get the chance to get some really talented young players as all of the best are gone by the time its the Swans turn to use their first round pick.

I got this from the drafting board. Its a prediction for the top 10 draft choices in 2008.

1. West Coast - Nicholas Naitanui
2. Melbourne - Jack Watts
3. Fremantle - Daniel Rich
4. Port Adeliade - Hamish Hartlett
5. Richmond - Michael Hurley
6. Essendon - Chris Yarran
7. Carlton - Shaun McKernan
8. North Melbourne - Jack Ziebal
9. St Kilda - Nick Suban
10. Brisbane - David Zaharakis

Obviously this isnt 100% correct but assuming it is what players do the Swans have a realistic chance of getting (remember that the Swans first Round pick will probably be between picks 12 and 14).

The problem with being consistantly in the top 8 is we never get the chance to get some really talented young players as all of the best are gone by the time its the Swans turn to use their first round pick.
I dont think he will quite go top 10 but Zakka is another one who the swans might look at. He has tremendous pace and uses the ball really well would really compliment our tough hard in and under youngsters like Jack, Bird & Moore.

The thing is the Swans dont need midfielders as we currently have a million of them. The biggest concern at the moment is finding replacements for Leo Barry, Michael O'Loughlin and Barry Hall as all will be retiring within the next few years and we dont have replacements for any of them.

Here is a summary of a player who i think would be perfect for the Swans (though it would be nice if he grew another 3 or 4 centimeters). He sounds like a Barry Hall replacement to me.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=479578

Lewis Johnston – 192cm, 87kg – North Adelaide.
Bottom aged tall forward who starred in a couple of games for SA. Playing CHF or FF he took numerous contested marks in a few of the games and kicked for goal well. Kicks mainly left foot but does have a right side. His pace is ok and he works well on his leads and does lead to the right spots on the ground, works the angles well on his leads and is not just a straight up leading player.
Needs to work on stopping his opponent running off up the ground and getting involved and he also gave away some silly free kicks at times during the champ series.
Prediction – pick 8 to 30.

Jordan Lilse 196cm, 87 kg from Oakleigh Chargers and Carey Grammar, can play CHF and CHB, played for VM in the championships. Very promising player and is Captain for Carey Grammar's team also.

Also later draft rounds Riley Milne 192cm, 78 kg as listed, but would be bigger than that now, plays CHB for the Murray Bushrangers and VC and has a great defender mentality.

Would probaly prefer Sidebottom from the Murray Bushrangers and VC for the wow-X factor, as Ziebell is more of a steady, reliable type, just think we need some wow factor at this time.

IMO this is the best 20 players of the upcoming draft. We're looking at picks 10-14.

1. Nick Natinaui
2. Jack Watts
3. Daniel Rich
4. Michael Hurley
5. Steele Sidebotton
6. Ayce Cordy (But will go F/S)
7. Chris Yarran
8. Jack Ziebell
9. Hamish Hartlett
10. Shaun McKernan
11. Mitch Robinson
12. Jackson Trengove
13. Tyrone Vickery
14. Aaron Cornelius
15. Stephen Hill
16. Tom Lynch
17. Tom Swift
18. Nick Suban
19. Jordan Lisle
20. Michael Walters

It would be sensational if Ziebell got far enough down for us to pick him up, but other prospects that would be great for us in that bracket would be Shaun McKernan and Tyrone Vickery. Both very big boys who can play as both ruckmen, KP backmen and KP forwards depending on where they get settled.

Also it would be handy to snag a Dalziell later on :p

Most of all what the Swans need is some luck. The trade might now be more scientific than years ago, but it's still something of a crapshoot. Need to keep our better players fit and just hope a small handful of the really young guys (the ones to be picked up and those we haven't seen much of yet) really find something and step up.