2010 Draft - What Do We Need?

• Thread starter Thread starter RUNVS

I know that the 2010 Draft will be quite limited compared to previous drafts due to the Gold Coast but after watching the past 8 or so games i think its important that the Swans get this draft right as we have a few holes in our side which need fixing.

Defence - I'm reasonably happy with defence as Bolton still has many years left and guys like LRT, Grundy, Richards and Reid are quite young as well. Mattner, Shaw, Kennelly and Malceski won't be retiring anytime soon either.

Midfield - Now i think we have a few issues here as we are still quite slow. Kirk will be retiring at the end of the year so we will need someone like McNeil to step up and take his place. I think we need a bit more pace in the midfield so i would like to see us pick up another speady midfielder.

Forward - Our forward line isn't good at the moment. I hope Goodes turns into a good forward and i hope White, TDL and Johnston can as well but there are no guarantee's. Without Bradshaw in the team we are terrible up forward. I would like to see us pick up either a tall or a small forward but whoever we pick up needs to have strong hands and provide a real target up forward.

Key positions players and speed.

This.

It seems that is what we have been saying after every season for a while now. Finally last year we addressed some of those issues picking up Jetta, Rohan, Reid.

Specifically, i would love us to get another big backman to groom with Reid and get a genuine quick, crumbing forward pocket in the mould of what Carlton have in Betts or Garlett or Yarran. Would allow us stop playing midfielders like Jude, JPK, Hanners, Bird in the forward line.

This.

It seems that is what we have been saying after every season for a while now. Finally last year we addressed some of those issues picking up Jetta, Rohan, Reid.

Specifically, i would love us to get another big backman to groom with Reid and get a genuine quick, crumbing forward pocket in the mould of what Carlton have in Betts or Garlett or Yarran. Would allow us stop playing midfielders like Jude, JPK, Hanners, Bird in the forward line.

Lewis Jetta? Gary Rohan?

Seriously though, Midfield and tall attacking options need to be looked at extensively as well as a couple of quick wingers. A good HBF to step in and help our aging core there would be a big help as well

I agree with pace through the midfield. This is why I'd like to see Rohan turned into a midfielder. He needs to build up the tank and work on some things, but I think he could be good in that role.

With regards to the forward line, we just sorta have to hope that TDL, White, Johnston and Veszpremi can carry us into the future. If they can't we're stuffed for a few years. Personally, I'd like to see Roos bite the bullet and play that group in a few games this year. Especially while Bradshaw is out. Maybe against Geelong or something where we're going to get smashed anyway.

Lewis Jetta? Gary Rohan?

Seriously though, Midfield and tall attacking options need to be looked at extensively as well as a couple of quick wingers. A good HBF to step in and help our aging core there would be a big help as well

Neither Rohan or Jetta are or will be crumbers of the Carlton trio mould.

Jetta is more of a wingman (one of the areas you suggested) and Rohan, aside from being very verstaile, is about 6'2' and will only get stronger. His position will not be a crumbing forward 3 years from now, that's for sure. Rohan's best position may well be on a wing as well. Or playing a Goddard role from HB. Or playing at CHF if and when his body fills out. Who knows what this kid is going to be? But it won't be a crumber.

role.
With regards to the forward line, we just sorta have to hope that TDL, White, Johnston and Veszpremi can carry us into the future. If they can't we're stuffed for a few years.

Thats my worry about the forward line as well. Those guys you mentioned could all come good and we could have a very strong forward line but at the same time they may all turn out to be spud's and we may end up with a completely impotent forward line. Unfortunately we simply don't know if they will turn out to be good players and thats a worry because so far we don't have a single person in our forward line who i can say "yes he will be a very good player for us for many years to come".

KP and Pace.. No more 180 under midfielders please. (except mcbabe, oh I love you mcbabe)

Neither Rohan or Jetta are or will be crumbers of the Carlton trio mould.

Jetta is more of a wingman (one of the areas you suggested) and Rohan, aside from being very verstaile, is about 6'2' and will only get stronger. His position will not be a crumbing forward 3 years from now, that's for sure. Rohan's best position may well be on a wing as well. Or playing a Goddard role from HB. Or playing at CHF if and when his body fills out. Who knows what this kid is going to be? But it won't be a crumber.

Rohan could easily go to RR for us if he continues to grow, can keep his speed and expands his tank. Should be a great player for us.

Jetta, I'm still not sure about sticking on a wing. He seriously needs to bulk up a bit and keep his speed to be able to play midfield. Until then I'd say play him on a flank.

Anyway, after doing a few minutes of research on this years u/18's crop (excluding potential GC draftings and players already signed with GWS) I may have a short list of players we could go after.

Ben Reid (NSW/ACT)
The 181cm small forward kicked three goals and laid six tackles against Vic Country. Speed, agility and decision making all very good. Also a local product. Can't hurt his chances.

Michael Hutchinson, Queensland
Medium defender
Average DT points: 122.9
Average disposals: 14.5
Sheehan: “New to the game from a soccer background, this rangy defender has shown good overhead ability and run from defence.”

Ben Jacobs (Vic Metro)
Prolific ball-winner who shone with 47 possessions in the midfield and across half-back as Vic Metro beat SA. Boasts a penetrating left foot kick and reads the play particularly well.

Reece Conca (WA)
Midfielder averaging 21 disposals at 80 per cent efficiency and five tackles per game so far in the championships. Was impressive in the loss to Vic Country and looks a likely draftee come November.

Brodie Smith (SA)
The versatile 188cm clearance specialist from Woodville/West Torrens was prominent against Vic Metro. Averaging 23 possessions (including nine contested) per game in his three state appearances this year.

Its only 5 players, but its a start. Reid probably intrigues me the most as he's the kind of small forward we're looking for. Smith and Conca could play a JBolts role and Hutchinson could come in as a pocket or a flanker (allowing Shaw or Mattner to go bye)

Rohan can play ruck rover (i assume that is what you meant by RR) in the future, i agree with that. But his future position won't be playing a small forward's role. Playing him their would not allow him to play to his full capabilities. It's ok for him now as he is learning, developing and still very raw. He has a long way to go with his body and learning about the game.

Jetta i think can absolutely be a good wingman of the Andrew Lovett ilk. I can see many similarities between them...regarding the way they play that is.

But also using Vez as a small forward i think is ok short term, but long term he ought to be closer to the midfield. A Didak role i see as being good for him. Of course i am making all these statements based on very little senior exposure for those 3, but i think they are sensible.

Anyway, i think my point stands that none of these 3, when they are experienced and cemented in the seniors, will be a permanent crumbing forward. Thus i think we ought to go and find one.

Personally, I think we're fine in the mids with Bird and Kennedy taking over tough nut duties from Kirky and Jude....and then a bit of class with Hanners, Jack, Meredith and McVeigh has plenty to go....plus, we should be getting Tom Mitchell in a couple of years. For me it's all about key position guys, forward and back. I don't think we are as set in the backs as was suggested in the original post. Bolts might not have too many years left so really we only have LRT, Grundy and (hopefully) Reid as guys who can actually defend someone. Need more depth there.

Bolton could be finished this year. We need another big key defender to develop allowing Grundy to play the 3rd tall role because he is good on the rebound.

I nearly had a heart attack then mate. :o I hope you just mean, could be just out for the season for 2010. But, another key-defender couldn't hurt, a pacy midfielder and another key and small forward I reckon.

Rohan can play ruck rover (i assume that is what you meant by RR) in the future, i agree with that. But his future position won't be playing a small forward's role. Playing him their would not allow him to play to his full capabilities. It's ok for him now as he is learning, developing and still very raw. He has a long way to go with his body and learning about the game.

Jetta i think can absolutely be a good wingman of the Andrew Lovett ilk. I can see many similarities between them...regarding the way they play that is.

But also using Vez as a small forward i think is ok short term, but long term he ought to be closer to the midfield. A Didak role i see as being good for him. Of course i am making all these statements based on very little senior exposure for those 3, but i think they are sensible.

Anyway, i think my point stands that none of these 3, when they are experienced and cemented in the seniors, will be a permanent crumbing forward. Thus i think we ought to go and find one.

This is true. Jetta was drafted as a goalsneak though. I guess we'll have to see how and where he pans out.

We also need a really really really hot player with green eyes and a nice smile.

Was he?

You'd think goals would be pretty important for a goal sneak. I'd say he is a behind sneak. Yes, I know I'm lame.

I don't know whether the swans saw him as such, but he was defiantly rated as a goa sneak by a lot of the draft watchers

We also need a really really really hot player with green eyes and a nice smile.
happyhenry.png

I don't know whether the swans saw him as such, but he was defiantly rated as a goa sneak by a lot of the draft watchers
Jetta was playing as wingman in the WAFL with impeccable disposal and the fantastic ability to kick long running goals.

That is what i thought he was coming to us as. His quickness could be an asset as a crumbing forward BUT when he is more used to AFL footy his brilliant burst of speed and long kicking will be a huge asset when he is playing off the wing, streaming through the middle.

AG, that made me laugh very hard.

We need a bit of everything except for mid-sized, mid-paced inside midfielders. Nothing against the ones we have - hopefully Hanners, Kennedy, Bird and McNeill can form a potent core in years to come - but we probably don't need many more. I haven't seen anything of Mitchell but I get the feeling he might be more of the same. Meredith may be a little quicker than that group but he is not express quick. When fit, Vez has a good burst over a few steps, but isn't overly quick over longer distances.

I'd love a Justin Sherman type - he is inconsistent and sometimes erratic but he does bust through traffic with his speed. Maybe Rohan might emulate him but it is just too hard to know at the moment where Rohan is going to play his best footy.

A small quick defensive hard nut would be useful too. Someone to take up where Crouch left off (and to do what Bevan has tried to do). Sumner could turn into this but he's far too young and skinny to tell at the moment.

This is true. Jetta was drafted as a goalsneak though. I guess we'll have to see how and where he pans out.

Jetta was drafted because he was seen to be a similar player to Sean Burgoyne,

He is not a goal sneak and he never will be,

Rohan won't be a goal sneak if he is to be a forward, He is too fast has a very very strong grab and a huge leap, If he isn't a midfielder he will be a key position player.

And Johnston will be a great player you should all just watch probably has the best set of hands on our list and his judgement of a ball in flight is superb the only thing holding him back is he needs a few more kilo's of muscle