2011 Draft Discussion #2

Ellis just went.

I'm predicting Schade.

Pick 29 Fremantle - Cameron Ellis-Yolmen

Brandon Ellis still there.......but there have been enough hints that it will be a tall Tasmanian

Ooops, Too late.....................again.

On the issues that I see it:

Tomlinson - height in his game and mental application
Talia - makes Merrett look skilled
Frost - not disciplined and shys away from contact
Paine - has the tools to be a defender but just has no idea how to do it
Schade - from Tasmania ;)
Mihocek - ran 3.38 in the 20m
Blee - mature but only 191
Bussey - inconsistent and not very experienced
Lockyer - I've always seen him as a third tall type but might need to revisit.
Bosley - inconsistent defensively and not particularly skillful

Fraser McInnes - Quigs/Offsider?

I went with Henry Schade who I think could well sneak up draft boards. He is a legit 196 and has a good all around game without the holes that many others have.

Look for a ruck/KP at 47 to round out the draft.

Henry Schade
DOB 8/10/93 Ht 196 Wt 80

AFL recruiters regularly overlook the Tasmanians for some reason often allowing teams who actually pay attention to benefit. This year there are quite a few draftable prospects coming out of the Apple Isle so it might be a bit harder to hide them under a bushel especially the likes of Schade who is a quality defender who could easily be considered the best of a crop full of guys with major deficiencies. This guy made the All Australian team for a reason. He will undoubtedly go below lesser prospects from Victoria and WA and so a team could well get a bargain waiting on Henry.

He has a classic Dustin Fletcher style build being a bit on the thin side but with very good height at a legitimate 196 and long telescopic arms. As well as having great height he also tested in the top 10% in the running jump and this allows him to take even ruck sized forwards. Despite being a little underweight (although he has put on 10kgs this year) he has shown some really nice strength and he more than held his own in the wrestling contests at the Champs. He has been playing against men in the TSL this year and has acquitted himself well from what I have been able to ascertain. He is one of the younger key position prospects this year and has grown a couple of centimetres this year and is reportedly still growing. He already has more height than most of the other KPD prospects and when you combine that with good closing speed and excellent agility for a KP you can understand why some like me might like him over some more highly regarded guys who are measuring in at 191ish and might struggle to deal with some of the monster forwards coming into the AFL atm.

He is a left footer with no right foot that I have been able to see. Still with the left foot he is very proficient. He most often punches out nice little three quarter distance kicks which travel fairly flat with nice weight and feel on them. He has good penetration when he wants to get it there but he does tend to lose a little accuracy on the longer kicks. When he is rushed he can get a little under the ball but when he has time to balance he is a very nice kick coming out of defense. He can handball with either hand but again can get a little flustered under pressure.

He is a balanced mover who evaluates his downfield options nicely coming out of defense. I would like to see him work to link up more going out of defense but I suppose when he gets his endurance up in a full time environment it should come. At the moment his endurance is probably his biggest Achilles heel with him testing in the bottom 20% at Combine. This is not unusual for KPD and I am sure that that in a full time environment he will be brought up to speed over the next couple of years without too many dramas.

He certainly has the skills so that you would want the ball in his hands. Below the knees he is very clean and he watches the ball into his hands nicely. He judges the ball well in the air but is probably not a great mark (despite taking mark of the round in round 3 of the TSL). He is very disciplined however and will usually spoil if he is any doubt. He gets very good height on his spoils and is very difficult to outmark for forwards. Personally I like discipline already installed in my young defenders.

Overall I like his attitude at the back a lot. He is aggressive in his spoiling and tackling and he does the team things. He looks out for his teammates and is a team player. He can play some forward but is most comfortable down back and this is where I think he will end up playing his AFL football. His father is a former TSL premiership player.

Love the Schade selection. Really isn't getting much hype on bigfooty but imo he's definitely had a better year than Talia.

Despite being a little underweight (although he has put on 10kgs this year) he has shown some really nice strength and he more than held his own in the wrestling contests at the Champs.

10 kg down, 10 more to go.

I should warn you that I am renowned for my rose coloured glasses with the Tasmanians and usually they go well below where I have them. See Green, Harwood, Cornelius, Collier and Robinson. Still we have had a tendency to end up with my Tasmanian special a lot and I hope we do again.

Good article on Kersten.

Kersten is a forward in the mould of West Coast's Jack Darling. He's an aggressive, strong-marking player who is a long and accurate kick for goal. He carries an on-field arrogance about him - he's a chest-out, pack-breaking, take-no-rubbish spearhead - but it's complemented with a finesse in his skill level and decision-making.

In his draft form last year, filled out before he attended the 2010 NAB AFL Under-18s Championships, he said he played like former Carlton and Brisbane Lions full-forward Brendan Fevola. Fevola's career ended months later when he was delisted by the Lions for yet another off-field incident.

"I don't know why I chose that one at the time," Kersten says with a smile. "He might not be the best one to be likened to, so I'd probably say Jack Riewoldt now."

I should warn you that I am renowned for my rose coloured glasses with the Tasmanians and usually they go well below where I have them. See Green, Harwood, Cornelius, Collier and Robinson. Still we have had a tendency to end up with my Tasmanian special a lot and I hope we do again.

Glad to see the colour of your glasses- perhaps balances to some extent the views of some others here.

Although to be honest, can I say as a result of my very regular trips home to Tassie, I often think that a strong motivation for many young people there, including footballers, is to get the hell out of the place [thanks to the sucess of Bob Brown etc in killing any enterprise that moves].

Roll on the first Tassie-based AFL team.

Glad to see the colour of your glasses- perhaps balances to some extent the views of some others here.

I may just be a confused Kerweenslander but does anyone here actually have a genuine anti-Tassie bias beyond utilising it to get a reaction from certain posters? ;)

Yeah think you maybe right.

As a proud Qlder living in VIC I do occasionally get pissed with some comments you get from Victorians about QLDers bring stupid or redneck or whatever. It can get on your nerves.

Funny thing is in my experience there is a higher ratio of bogans in VIC than QLD. And WA is the most redneck state in Australia IMO.

Happy for Lions to draft Tassie boys as there is no go home factor (might get homesick but no Tassie AFL team) and Brissie is probably a good step up as a big city coming from Tas - not the same culture shock as Melbourne or Sydney.

QED.

FWIW, in my admittedly sheltered experience I haven't often found a specific anti-Tassie bias among Queenslanders. More against "Mexicans" in general. Much like North Queenslanders v "the South".

Then again, we are in the same boat in that I've found it common among Victorians to have a poor regard for both Queenslanders and Tasmanians, for different reasons.

At least until I point out to Victorians that is was actually a born and bred Tasmanian who founded Melbourne. So really Victoria is a Tasmanian colony. This usually goes over quite well.