2011 Draft Discussion #2

Glad to see the colour of your glasses- perhaps balances to some extent the views of some others here.

Although to be honest, can I say as a result of my very regular trips home to Tassie, I often think that a strong motivation for many young people there, including footballers, is to get the hell out of the place [thanks to the sucess of Bob Brown etc in killing any enterprise that moves].

Roll on the first Tassie-based AFL team.

Tassie, that's probably balanced a bit by the feeling of a lot of people I meet (heading towards the end of their working lives) who say they would love to retire there. Most visitors love it.

However, I keep telling my wife she will have to spend a winter there before I take her seriously about relocating!

Tassie, that's probably balanced a bit by the feeling of a lot of people I meet (heading towards the end of their working lives) who say they would love to retire there. Most visitors love it.

However, I keep telling my wife she will have to spend a winter there before I take her seriously about relocating!

No, John Batman was not born in NSW, although Allan Border and Jeff Thompson were. And Greg Chappell was born in SA. As was his brother Ian.

As to Tassie's winters, vastly, vastly overstated. Put it this way, having once gone from Hobart to live in Canberra, I near froze my whatsits off.

As no part of Tassie is more than 100k's or so from the ocean, temperatures are pretty well moderated. Although I will say that while minimum winter temps are often about the same as Ipswich's, maximums frequently don't improve all that much over min's.

My son-in-law still talks about the ABC weather report that contained a fisher's alert for 7m seas with a 3m swell. And he can't figure out why they have a sheep weather alert- I mean, do all Tassie sheep have an LCD TV in their fields? I think not.

I actually prefer to go to Tassie in winter, mainly for the weather difference. After all, if you're trapped inside what else is there to do but eat and drink and watch footy?

No, John Batman was not born in NSW

John Batman (1801-1839), pioneer of Melbourne, was born on 21 January 1801 in New South Wales.

In December 1821 John Batman and the third son, Henry, moved to Van Diemen's Land

http://adb.anu.edu.au/biography/batman-john-1752

Anyway I have no problems with the club drafting from Tasmania, especially with the lack of go home factor. We already have a good nucleus of Tasmanian players are the club, so they'll be able to fit right in.

On another side note, few of my friends went down there for a month during winter this year and absolutely loved it down there, and are planning to go back next year. I personally have nothing against whatever state people come from, don't know why it matters personally.

You probably need to qualify where you mean in Brisbane and where you mean up north.

Fairley is from up north and is obviously a complete bogan whereas I am as well and am the height of sophistication ;)

You probably need to qualify where you mean in Brisbane and where you mean up north.

Fairley is from up north and is obviously a complete bogan whereas I am as well and am the height of sophistication ;)

I think BB is referring to North QLD, like the top end and not northern Brisbane.

It's true it is more redneck up the top but not really any different to the country in other States.

Wow what? Did i miss something?

For what it's worth i'm now in my third year of commerce at UQ - can my place of origin be forgiven?

COWBOYS!

For what it's worth i'm now in my third year of commerce at UQ - can my place of origin be forgiven?

COWBOYS!

If you have to ask for forgiveness, you're obviously not from far enough north. Speaking as a displaced secessionist North Queenslander.

COWBOYS!

Me too!!! (mind you wish I went to QUT now) UQ is cool though.

Also no to the other part:D Cowboys are almost as scum as Gold Coast. Never forgive them for making Gordon Tallis retire a week early in 04:mad:

Back on topic......

Big Footy Phantom Draft

Three Picks to go before Quigley steps back up to the plate (Pick 47).

Any suggestions for him ???

Quig's Brisbane Picks so far:

8. Liam Sumner.............o/s Mid
12. Shane Kersten........KPF
30. Henry Schade.........KPD

I'm thinking maybe a ruckman of some description.

Yeah, I'd say so....very good needs based picks so far, but somehow I don't think it will actually pan out like this....

I'm thinking maybe a ruckman of some description.

I think we need to go best available (whilst keeping needs in mind), and favour those who could possibly challenge for a spot sometime during 2012.

For that reason, I think Ruckmen are best left to the RD.
Of all that are available, I don't see any getting game time in 2012, even if we are hit with injuries (McKeever & Maguire would be used as the back up for Luey & The Beard). And if no choice otherwise, they could be "elevated" if necessary.
(I seem to recall Quigs liking Ben Brown last year......so could be his pick here in 2011)

There are a no. of reasonable picks still available.
Any of Ben Darrou, Tom Curran, Nick Haynes, Brett O'Hanlon or Jye Bolton I would consider.

But I would like to get some more speed into the Senior list, and suggest Aaron Hall as potentially someone who could develop into a Sm Fwd option and vie with Zorko for that role, especially if Banfield is to move further down the ground into the midfield/wing.

Here's some vision of Hall (could win me the "Challwell Award" for 2012).

[youtube]DMi3V_VCQBY[/youtube]

I don't mind the look of tom downie for pick 47. Shades of Goldstein at the same time. Similar background.

Really like quigs picks so far, great mix and balance, very good trade off between best available and needs. Would be more than happy with this outcome come draft day.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fabulousphil
http://www.townsvillebulletin.com.au...011_sport.html

Brisbane had a look at this guy, ..... rookie ?. ( i posted this last July).

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wouldn't be anything more. 21 years old playing in the Townsville comp doesn't scream national draft to me. (posted by Quigley)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

This guy has popped up again.

http://www.townsvillebulletin.com.au/article/2011/11/04/280151_sport.html

COWBOYS!

I remember when you were just an innocent young whippersnapper at school in Townsville with your whole life ahead of you. It was like having a little puppy on the forum. :p

Yeah,he's grown up quickly - now if we could get Polec to follow a similar path..

But I would like to get some more speed into the Senior list, and suggest Aaron Hall as potentially someone who could develop into a Sm Fwd option and vie with Zorko for that role, especially if Banfield is to move further down the ground into the midfield/wing.

Here's some vision of Hall (could win me the "Challwell Award" for 2012).

[youtube]DMi3V_VCQBY[/youtube]

Worked at McDonalds with Aaron a few years ago, good bloke, would be wrapped if we picked him up!

For those hoping for a ruck the guy I rate as the number 2 ruck prospect is still on the board. Did not expect that and given a few teams could really use a development ruck I would be surprised if he was here during the real thing.

Quigs, while you are waiting for the mock to get out of reverse, any chance you could give a comparative between your 12 Kersten & Fraser McInnes?

From my perspective & others from what I have read here, the concern that some Lion fans have is that Kersten may have little flexibility (almost exclusive inside 50 forward) where as someone like a McInnes can go forward, back & pinch hit in the ruck (therefore ideal Clark replacement?).

Is there best that far apart to give up greater flexibility?

Yes their best is a long way apart. McInnes looks really moving around the ground but he has little actual impact. He played a fair bit of forward at different levels of the WAFL this year and only managed 4 goals. He got quite a lot of possessions playing as a ruck but he is only a 196cm player and I don't see him as a ruck at AFL level. Down back I don't think he has the defensive instincts to play as a defender. So McInnes looks nice but his impact on the game is not that high.