Preview 2013 AFL fixture released

Gee what is it with those Hawthorn flogs? i go over to their board and every single poster is sooking in every possible way, "AFL hate us" "they want us to fail" "its us Vs the AFL" just such immaturity they brag about how good they are, then they should cop it on the chin that they deservedly get a hard draw for it.

Nothing immature about any of that, it's all true, the AFL is just supporting all right-minded football followers.

When you've got Hawks people in the media having a cry about Hawthorn's 'eight interstate trips' (see: Harford, Daniel), what can be expected from the sheep on here?

Brisbane's a good bet to be the 2013 Adelaide though (well, in terms of top eight): seven games against last year's bottom four.

When you've got Hawks people in the media having a cry about Hawthorn's 'eight interstate trips' (see: Harford, Daniel), what can be expected from the sheep on here?
OMFG are you serious? I am assuming the 8 is made up from 4 home games in Tas and just 4 actual interstate away trips?

They can move back to Melbourne if they don't like it. Then maybe we won't have to make up for the home games they sell to Tas by being forced to play our freaking home games at Etihad.

Is a reasonable draw but never again do I want to see us play 3 'home' games at freaking Etihad stadium. Is not unreasonable for us to have 2 or 3 at the G against big drawing opponents (not ####en Nth Melb) and the rest in Geelong.

Fair call, but with the issues that the development of KP has caused to the fixture, I guess we're obliged to play those home games in the first two and a half months at whichever venue the AFL sees fit. With a negligible difference between our usual home crowds at Etihad and the new capacity at Simonds, I'd love it if we didn't play any home games there from 2014 onwards, but it really comes down to the agreement the AFL has with Etihad, which we can't do much about.

We just need to navigate our way in the first 6 or so games of the season.

We have some hard games and really who is up and about amongst our young guys is unknown - except Walker who cannot play in the senior side as a Rookie.

So it is hard to know how well we will go early in the season. But it is crucial - as Geelong lost too many early to mid- season games for us to get a second chance in the finals. We should aiming at a top 4 position in 2013.

How much have the older guys slown, will Bartel come back over the foot issue and play more midfield and have a good season overall ? Will Varcoe return and have a good season ? Will Menzel be able to get back to where he was before he got injured ? How much will HMac and Rivers play in our fortunes next season. Then there is Caddy in the mix.

Seems like we have something to look forward to re all the players coming back and / or players new to the side. It just might take a while for it all to work its way thru. Who are those that the MC are going to concentrate on having seen them play for 1-3 years now ?

My best guess is Smedts and Guthrie first up. I hink they believe both will be 200 game players for us - but they do need AFL exposure as much as possible now to get them up to speed. By season's end 2013 will they be good enough to help win us a flag ?

Then there is Vardy - still really unproven but him being slected late last season and in the final suggests that the MC like him as well. Again he will have few AFL games up come finals 2013.

However this is somewhat off set by two big bodied and experienced campaigners - HMac and Rivers. These guys should enjoy a finals run.

It is not automatic however that HMac and Rivers are always seen as best 22 - so as theseason progresses we will see how well we have done with those trades. I suspect we probably have done well with these two players.

Then the gun recruit - Caddy. How long will it take him to settle in at Catland - and start breaking into our best 22. By seasons end ? We know that Wells and the club wanted Caddy years back and they seem to really rate the kid. Maybe he will get plenty of game time - in the same way as Smedts and Guthire will be.

But if you take all tese players into consideration - we will be resting quite a few players who have been considered best 22 - Corey, Stokes, Motlop, Chapman, Enright and West - unless we have injuries. These guys will need be rested otherwise the above players cannot get sufficient game time.

Of course other main players like Taylor, Lonergan, Mackie and Bartel will also get a game off - but are too required these days other than a short break and a bye to keep then fresh.

But this possibility could lead to some inconsistent performances early in the season if we are not on top of game from round 1

I have no idea where Murdoch and Horlin Smith - who would seem be the next two that GFC have identified as being good senior players if given some opportunities.

How do you manage the team so we get away to a good start next season ? I think they wil start with much of the same as we ended this season - except Varcoe, Rivers and Hmac in the team.

We have lost Scarlett - so we need find 3 positions in the first 22. So Murdoch makes way - and Simpkin is gone. Three out and three in. Nice ins for us I think.

Backline looks solid, the forward line good and the mids a bit stronger with HMac and a fitter Bartel and Bundy. However there is Caddy to consider and I cannot see who goes out for him unless Corey has poor form for 4-5 weeks.

Stokes improved his game for mine last season - but is still under a major threat from Smedts. Maybe even Motlop is a bit under the pump from Billie.

So as long as we get away with a 4 win 1 loss start - we will be in for a very good season. Just win early games, win the close games and come home with the good winds of Kardinia. We have to beat either the Hawks at the G or Sydney away. Carlton hurts us with leg speed - so we have the players to pick a quicker side - Varcoe, Murdoch, Smedts, Motlop and THunt. Sure inexperienced somewhat (except Varcoe) but all showing good signs presently. Against Carlton, Melbourne, GC and Giants they should get games. I would watch with interest what we can do with some real pace across the side. (And if McCarthy were to make by 2014 - we could be one of the quickest teams around).

We have got to be up and about a lot more than the beginning of this season IMO. Have lots of intensity and and lots of run in the first few games. The fixture released makes this even more important as we play quite a few potential top 8 sides early on.

Go Cats.

I'm happy with the fixture. Four games under lights at Kardinia was a bit of a surprise. Three six day breaks after the first month doesn't seem too rough and we haven't been given too bad a run with the teams we play twice (Haw/Syd/PA/NM/BL) or our interstate trips (Both Syd/GWS/PA/Ade/BL/WC). But the first month is as critical as we always suspected. 3-1 and we're laughing for the rest of the year.

Can see no reason at all - provided they approach each game with the right amount of preparation - why we can't be 4-0. The talent is there.

Gee what is it with those Hawthorn flogs? i go over to their board and every single poster is sooking in every possible way, "AFL hate us" "they want us to fail" "its us Vs the AFL" just such immaturity they brag about how good they are, then they should cop it on the chin that they deservedly get a hard draw for it.

I'm sure plenty of Hawthorn supporters enjoy copping it on the chin.

Can see no reason at all - provided they approach each game with the right amount of preparation - why we can't be 4-0. The talent is there.

That's always the aim and I agree: I've rarely gone into matches in recent times thinking that we were less than a 50-50 chance (probably thought we were something like 30-70 in the West Coast and Hawthorn games last year and maybe about the same with the first Collingwood game in 2011). But I'd definitely be content with 3-1.

My best guess is Smedts and Guthrie first up. I think they believe both will be 200 game players for us - but they do need AFL exposure as much as possible now to get them up to speed. By season's end 2013 will they be good enough to help win us a flag ?

I've got very little doubt Guthrie has what it takes to be a 200 game player. I was stunned when I saw he'd played 18 games - being a sub frequently made me think he'd played less than I thought. He's unquestionably best 22 to me now, and will get better and better. Equally certain is that no one outside of Geelong will rate him for 5 years. Smedts looked so much better up forward. Another pre-season, can't see why he won't be further improved.

I have no idea where Murdoch and Horlin Smith - who would seem be the next two that GFC have identified as being good senior players if given some opportunities.

I like Murdoch, but to me he's still a bit raw and needs further VFL time. I'd happily slot Horlin-Smith straight into Round 1 right now. Was particularly impressed by his Grand Final performance, moreso of his improvement since the last time I'd seen him. Just as I think Guthrie is being groomed to take over from Enright, I think HS is being groomed to succeed Corey.

Stokes improved his game for mine last season - but is still under a major threat from Smedts. Maybe even Motlop is a bit under the pump from Billie.

Sorry but can't agree. Stokes was terrible for at least the first half of the season. Picked up noticeably (like the team) from the Essendon game onwards, but a return of 15 goals for a small forward in 20 games isn't good enough. Especially an experienced player.

Stokes last year averaged less possessions per match than he has since 2006, and the lowest amount of goals since that year too. They aren't encouraging signs with strong competition for spots.

Not arguing, but I was just wondering why you think this about GHS, given he's only had 3 games?

More from what I saw in the seconds, and especially the Grand Final. Firstly he was doing the hard work - getting the ball from the middle of packs - but more the way he moved. Raised the arms very well to avoid tackles and give the ball off, and seemed to run all day. Very reminiscent of what Corey does at his best.

It could also explain why he only played 3 senior games last year too. If the club see him as the natural successor, he'll get a game when Corey isn't available, or when he surpasses him.

Of course, this is just speculation. He may not make it at all. But what I've seen so far I really like and think he's been a little unlucky to have not received more opportunities. At least by being best on ground in a winning Grand Final team he's made sure Scott and company haven't forgotten him. Hopefully he has a big pre-season.

I think I draw last year was tougher to be honest. So I am happy with what we got even though the first 6 games will be tough but we already knew that.

We play Hawthorn, Norf, Brisbane, Port, & the Swans twice.

On the downside:

Given the round 1 & elimination final against Fremantle were such controversial games in 2012 I would have thought we might have scored Freo twice this year in the H&A season. At least in 2013 we play them at Simonds I suppose.

We didn't get a home game against the Pies which does effect the coffers a bit.

three straight six-day breaks between the first four rounds

On the plus side:

Norf, Brisbane, & Port twice are all winnable for us.

First games under lights at Simonds Stadium.

we only have 6 games interstate which is good.

A nice run to the finals with some games at home

I've just had a look at the fixture. I'm extremely surprised and relatively happy about the outcome.

Apart from the tough start, the rest of the draw is surprisingly better than expected.

I am assuming the 8 is made up from 4 home games in Tas and just 4 actual interstate away trips?

They can move back to Melbourne if they don't like it. Then maybe we won't have to make up for the home games they sell to Tas by being forced to play our freaking home games at Etihad.

So are we and other Melbourne clubs pretty much playing at a venue against our will so that Hawthorn make themselves rich and fulfill their Tassie agreement?

I've just had a look at the fixture. I'm extremely surprised and relatively happy about the outcome.

Apart from the tough start, the rest of the draw is surprisingly better than expected.

the only downside could be the rise of the teams we believe will be average, teams who could appear easy on paper may be the ones pushing all the top sides like Richmond and North Melbourne did this season while the 'so called' top teams begin to drift back to the pack ever so slightly.

Sorry but can't agree. Stokes was terrible for at least the first half of the season. Picked up noticeably (like the team) from the Essendon game onwards, but a return of 15 goals for a small forward in 20 games isn't good enough. Especially an experienced player.

Stokes last year averaged less possessions per match than he has since 2006, and the lowest amount of goals since that year too. They aren't encouraging signs with strong competition for spots.

Quality post as always Partridge. (your entire post) I agree, although I think Stokes played his best football last season when given a opportunity in the midfield. I think he's stagnated to a point, and doesn't look as interested as he once was unless he's playing further up the ground. He looks as though the passion has subsided to a degree.

I can see him playing limited senior football next year and being pushed out by the likes of Smedts, and those type of players, with a new found hunger and passion to play at the elite level.

So are we and other Melbourne clubs pretty much playing at a venue against our will so that Hawthorn make themselves rich and fulfill their Tassie agreement?
Pretty much. The AFL strikes deals with the MCG and Docklands to play X amount of games there each year. Then home tenants of those grounds go sell their home games interstate for $ like Hawks, Roos, Demons, Dogs and Tigers til this year. Someone has to make those games up. The AFL garbage on about it being to maximise attendance like they do when it suits them but we know this is the real reason.

Sorry for this but I'm just over to say we deserved a hard draw, we all know that. We were minor premiers. I think the Hawk 'flogs' are just upset that in comparison to the Swans, Pies, Adelaide etc draw it's very, very hard.

But if you take all tese players into consideration - we will be resting quite a few players who have been considered best 22 - Corey, Stokes, Motlop, Chapman, Enright and West - unless we have injuries. These guys will need be rested otherwise the above players cannot get sufficient game time.

Throughout the course of the season, I see the age of the players starting off old then getting really young in the middle before getting old again come finals. Our draw allows us this luxury.
72-ObserRealBellCurve-SKETCH.jpg

Also I feel the match committee see Caddy as a lock from round 1.

Personally quite happy with the draw. Copping Hawthorn and Sydney twice may sound daunting, but we have always have pretty honest games against these sides so not much to worry about.

On another note, i'm sick to death of fans sooking about the draw. If you are a good enough it shouldn't be an issue. I think it was 2009, and 2011 that we had tough draws coming in, yet we won our first 13...

I'm in Wellington at the moment (surprisingly the AFL fixture isn't a hot topic over here) and only just the chance to have a proper look over our draw.

I'm very, very happy with it. It's the easiest draw we've had (on paper) since 2007. So pleasing we only have to go to WA once and the night games v Freo and St Kilda will be fantastic. Even the most pessimistic run through I can do has us winning 15-16 games. Top 4 is a definite chance.

:D
deal with it!
Gotta learn to don't we!

I mean we can't control it, so we have to ride it basically.

Will be tough but, now I am over the initially shock, if you want to be the best you have to beat the best, so I hope the Hawks can do that.

But will we see how the Hawks can go. Will be interesting!

BTW, Good luck for 2013 :thumbsu:

Preview 2013 AFL fixture released