Unofficial Preview 2013 Draft Watch

Like the sound of this bloke at our 2nd round.

20. Melbourne – Nathan Freeman (VIC – Mid)
Sandringham Dragons
181 cm 85 kg
Player comparison: Patrick Dangerfield
Freeman is incredibly quick and powerful and compares himself to Dangerfield and Luke Shuey. Freeman can find the ball and he uses it really well. He’s an under rated kick and a real force as an outside player. He seems to have an AFL ready body. I’d like to see him try get the inside ball a little more, but other than that; there are no outstanding flaws to his game. He’s one of the best mid-range picks in my eyes. His ability to drift forward and impact on the scoreboard is important.

In agreeance with the ziebull, 2nd pick should be a quick small forward. Can never get enough speed.

3 of the WA U18 boys are from Kalgoorlie - Ritchie Bourne, Hayden Kennedy and Dom Sheed.

I know all their dads very well. Richie's dad (Ritchie Snr) was a great footballer and basketballer who could dunk a basketball at 5'8 (think Spud Webb) he was SUPER, SUPER electrifying quick and hit as hard as Byron Pickett. Apparently he towelled up Jeff Farmer at an indigenous exhibition game when Jeff was at his peak too.

Ritchie Snr was originally courted by Freo when they first joined the league but he stayed in Kal with his young family. He took the what many people reckon was the Goldfields Footy League's mark of the century, the story goes he hit a pack in the forward line from about 3 people deep and soared onto the middle of the pack and ended up standing on the full backs head (think Ashley Sampi's MOTY but on top of a pack). He kicked 10 that day from the pocket. If his son can be half as good as his old man I would love him at the Roos.

Currently at 60kgs so he would need to eat Musashi products and Big Macs for breakfast, lunch and tea for a couple of years but I reckon we wouldn't be disappointed!

3 of the WA U18 boys are from Kalgoorlie - Ritchie Bourne, Hayden Kennedy and Dom Sheed.

I know all their dads very well. Richie's dad (Ritchie Snr) was a great footballer and basketballer who could dunk a basketball at 5'8 (think Spud Webb) he was SUPER, SUPER electrifying quick and hit as hard as Byron Pickett. Apparently he towelled up Jeff Farmer at an indigenous exhibition game when Jeff was at his peak too.

Ritchie Snr was originally courted by Freo when they first joined the league but he stayed in Kal with his young family. He took the what many people reckon was the Goldfields Footy League's mark of the century, the story goes he hit a pack in the forward line from about 3 people deep and soared onto the middle of the pack and ended up standing on the full backs head (think Ashley Sampi's MOTY but on top of a pack). He kicked 10 that day from the pocket. If his son can be half as good as his old man I would love him at the Roos.

Currently at 60kgs so he would need to eat Musashi products and Big Macs for breakfast, lunch and tea for a couple of years but I reckon we wouldn't be disappointed!

Bugger junior lets go for Ritchie Snr.

our first pick will obviously be the Duke
2nd pick i'd love a fast, classy small forward such as Lewis Taylor, Jarman Impey or Jay Kennedy-Harris
3rd pick Dayle garlett, too much talent to pass up if available. Adds more speed and class to our team.

Would be that happy with of those mentioned!

323597-boyd.jpg
322612-boyd.jpg

was told to keep an eye out for christian salem, think he plays for sandy dragons, interested to see how some of our experts rate him, i checked knightmares write up and he sounds like a fine prospect

Much like his brothers, they're all big units - more strength than their years suggest. I went to school with his senior brother Andre and he was big.

McDonald would be more valuable to us than Boyd.

Boyd looks like an incredible pick, Patton like. But we don't need forwards we need accountable mids who can tear games apart.

Boyd looks a ripper, but I would much rather take the best midfielder after Luke at this stage.

McDonald would be more valuable to us than Boyd.

Boyd looks like an incredible pick, Patton like. But we don't need forwards we need accountable mids who can tear games apart.

I didn't mean NOT get LMac RF, I meant trying to trade ourselves into pick one as well.
Apparently it's on the table.
Boyd will play ones pretty quickly IMO. Was just interested if anyone else thought worth a crack.
Kid looks ridiculous.

I didn't mean NOT get LMac RF, I meant trying to trade ourselves into pick one as well.
Apparently it's on the table.
Boyd will play ones pretty quickly IMO. Was just interested if anyone else thought worth a crack.
Kid looks ridiculous.

If we were to send one of our a-graders to GWS I would want Cameron or Patton! Both of em will be better than Boyd I reckon.

Don't get me wrong I really rate Boyd but we don't really need key forwards

I would love to pick up Ben Ross, Mitch Banner and Scott Sherlock in the draft.

All been very impressive in the VFL/WAFL. Those three would be a significant upgrade on Speight/Richo (bit harsh due to his injuries)

If we were to send one of our a-graders to GWS I would want Cameron or Patton! Both of em will be better than Boyd I reckon.

Don't get me wrong I really rate Boyd but we don't really need key forwards
Interested why you don't rate Boyd as high as Patton or Cameron? I've only seen snippets of Boyd, so I'm no U18 watcher by any stretch, but he looks a special to me. Whilst we've got good KP stocks, I don't think any of them, even Black, look to be that dominant big forward of a Cameron or Patton.
I'm not of the opinion that we should trade one of our A graders, more just interested in what others think.
I remember Pykie saying he'd "sell the farm" to get his hands on Hogan.
North's successful periods have been generally from us doing something clever or outside the box. Just interested in the discussion. Appreciated your reply.

Question. How did melbourne get viney by not using their first pick?
How do you think they did OMAN? I'd say your first thought may just be correct.
But hey let's fine them for tanking, then pay their fine, then give them a heap more money and the possibility of another priority pick.
Sham of a competition is the good ol' AFL.
Borders on bloody white collar crime. If the afl was a listed company Dimwit would be in serious shit!

How do you think they did OMAN? I'd say your first thought may just be correct.
But hey let's fine them for tanking, then pay their fine, then give them a heap more money and the possibility of another priority pick.
Sham of a competition is the good ol' AFL.
Borders on bloody white collar crime. If the afl was a listed company Dimwit would be in serious shit!
That is sooo wrong, what a joke of a comp.

Yeah but don't investigate the draft tampering last year!!!! Know why? Because the club owned BY the Afl, GWS, was heavily involved. I reckon Suns were too. Pretty sure the jack Martin deal involved suns not bidding on Viney. Something stunk at the time IMO.

Interested why you don't rate Boyd as high as Patton or Cameron? I've only seen snippets of Boyd, so I'm no U18 watcher by any stretch, but he looks a special to me. Whilst we've got good KP stocks, I don't think any of them, even Black, look to be that dominant big forward of a Cameron or Patton.
I'm not of the opinion that we should trade one of our A graders, more just interested in what others think.
I remember Pykie saying he'd "sell the farm" to get his hands on Hogan.
North's successful periods have been generally from us doing something clever or outside the box. Just interested in the discussion. Appreciated your reply.

Boyd reminds me of Hampson. The comparison is probably not deserved, but for some reason he just reminds me of him. His contested marking is very solid, but a lot of his bags have been on undersize kids, its really hard to judge him because of that fact. There aren't not a lot of big bodied key defenders in this years crop compared to previous years. Everything about Boyd is solid, but he doesn't have the real freak style qualities that Hogan, Patton and Cameron have. Just a little rung below those guys. I'd rate him similar to Joe Daniher, again I think he will be an a-grader, but wont quite make the level of the other three mentioned.

Hogan is a freak contested mark, has the frame to be a huge physical specimen and his goal kicking is first class on both feet, Also has incredible leadership qualities.

Patton is the closest phyical specimen I've seen to Carey at the same age. The kid is a beast and he really plays like one. His contested marking is the best i've seen in a junior. Is incredible quick off the mark. Also has incredible leadership qualities.

Cameron is the most agile Key forward I think I've seen in a long time, he plays like a midfielder at times. Beautiful kick, smart. elite contested mark and an elite kick for goal.