2013 Fixture Discussion

Things you would like to see in the fixture next year.

For me I'd love to have;
- More Saturday Twilight/Sunday Afternoon home games and less Saturday Night ones.
- For us to play Gold Coast Round 1 away at Carrara (so I can go to the beach and footy on the same day, too cold to do that tomorrow).
- To play GWS twice.
- To have more away games at twilight/night.
- For our Saturday Night home games to either be early or late in the season.
- To have a Friday Night game on a weekend that the Broncos have a bye.
- Only have to go to Adelaide and Perth once, with no trip to Tasmania or Geelong.

Edit: Also want to play Port Adelaide twice as well.

Wouldn't mind to get the Hawks at home next year. Plus the Bombers at home.
Agree with the Hawks one, Bombers only if they wear their clash jumper against us.

Two games in Sydney. :D

Realistically the requests are going to be along the lines of:
  • As many Saturday night games as possible.
  • Games against high-drawing Vic clubs at home.
  • At most one away game in each state.
A good one would be games against crappy clubs early in the year to make it look like a rebound to up the membership take-up early in the year, but I'm not sure that's something you can request. :)

They are repeatedly the most attended games at the Gabba, year after year, so the Lions keep requesting it.
I hate the Saturday Night home games (except early and late in the season) but like Saturday Night away games.

For me I prefer to be outdoors during the day and indoors during the night.

I hate the Saturday Night home games (except early and late in the season) but like Saturday Night away games.

For me I prefer to be outdoors during the day and indoors during the night.

Then you just need to convince 10,000 of your closest friends to come along on Sunday arvos as well. :D

The Lions v Dees (Sun arvo) game got 22k people, Lions v Saints (Sat night) got 19k...

Nice cherry picking.

This year:

Sat:

GC: 22k
Geelong: 15.5k
Collingwood: 28k
StK: 19k

Sun:

GWS, 16k
West Coast: 15.5k
Melb: 22k

I can't explain Melboure, that's bizarre. Collingwood obviously draws huge crowds and Geelong had horrible weather. It's about 20k on Saturday night versus 15k-16k on a Sunday.

Last year:

Sat:

Freo: 23.5k
Ess: 25k
NM: 18.5k
Syd: 22k
Rich: 21.5k
GC: 23.5k
West Coast: 13.5k

Sun:
Port: 17k
Geel: 20k
Adel: 18k

Not sure what's up with the West Coast result. 18.5k-23.5k is a decent range, as opposed to 17k-20k for a Sunday.

So not 10,000... maybe only 5,000 of your closest friends.

Not sure what's up with the West Coast result. 18.5k-23.5k is a decent range, as opposed to 17k-20k for a Sunday.

So not 10,000... maybe only 5,000 of your closest friends.

Torrential rain + final game of season + possibly rugby also on that night + Power's retirement being announced post-game, not before it.

The Melbourne game they gave away a plethora of free tickets here the inflated attendance.

Cheers guys, that explains both anomalies. We lose about 5k when there's heavy rain by the looks of it. Probably could've also dampened the Saints game given it was predicted for heavy rain, even if it didn't eventuate, but that's drawing a long bow.

Yeah they actually did give out freebies for the Dees game. I managed to get four of them.

Also I love away games within driving distance. Singing the Lions song and waving the flag in front of all them Suns fans :D

Things you would like to see in the fixture next year.

- To play GWS twice.
Kind of glad we didn't play then twice this year, no point in inflating our wins if we don't make the finals. Would rather say have 8 wins for the year than 9 (if two were GWS). Having said that, playing them twice next year may just edge us into the finals, so I would like to see it in next year's draw.

Saturday twilight games at the Gabba would be perfect IMO. It is such a late night when the game starts at 7.40.
Seconded.

Hate 7.40pm starts. 7.10pm was pushing it. 6.10pm was a nice starting time though.

I reckon early/late season Satdy twilight games could be a winner. Start late enough for the sting to have gone out of the sun, but finish before the evening dew sets in.
I'd personally prefer them at the middle of the season.

At the start of the season we should have our home games against Essendon, Richmond and co. in the afternoon and let 'em melt :thumbsu:

Uncomfortable for spectators, too.
The home ground advantage should more than make up for that. Also there is the option of Sunscreen (or sitting in the Western end).

Can we request some decent weather for our home games?

I would be happy with a mix of Saturday night and Sunday afternoon home games with one or two others (Easter Thursday etc).

I am surprised we only got the swans once this year and suggests that now we have a genuinely local rivalry the swans rivalry will be less emphasised. No bad thing this year!

I like getting the collingwood game at home if there is only one game in the season, mainly because it means they have to get on a plane for a couple of hours - an all too rare event!

I am surprised we only got the swans once this year and suggests that now we have a genuinely local rivalry the swans rivalry will be less emphasised. No bad thing this year!
Don't really see the Swans as rivals.

Oh another fixture request: to play Port Adelaide twice. I personally still see them as rivals.

More games in Melbourne, time and venue irrelevant...yes, very aware it won't happen but it is a wish list after all!

2013 Fixture Discussion