BallerO

Here is our fixture: http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/150430/default.aspx

1. Hawthorn (Win)
2. North Melbourne (Win)
3. Carlton (Win)
4. Sydney Swans (Loss)
5. Western Bulldogs (Win)
6. Richmond (Win)
7. Essendon (Win)
8. Collingwood (Win)
9. Port Adelaide (Win)
10. Gold Coast (Win)
11. GWS (Win)
12. Bye.
13. Brisbane (Win)
14. Fremantle (Win)
15. Hawthorn (Win)
16. Melbourne (Win)
17. Adelaide (Loss)
18. St Kilda (Win)
19. North Melbourne (Win)
20. Port Adelaide (Win)
21. West Coast (Loss)
22. Sydney (Win)
23. Brisbane (Win)

Final result: 20-3
Place: 2nd

Not guaranteed wins: Collingwood Round 8, Hawthorn Round 15.

Post your predictions.

1. Hawthorn (Win)
2. North Melbourne (Win)
3. Carlton (Win)
4. Sydney Swans (Win)
6. Richmond (Win)
7. Essendon (Win)
8. Collingwood (Win)
9. Port Adelaide (Win)
10. Gold Coast (Win)
11. GWS (Win)
12. Bye.
13. Brisbane (Win)
14. Fremantle (Win)
15. Hawthorn (Win)
16. Melbourne (Win)
17. Adelaide (Win)
18. St Kilda (Win)
20. Port Adelaide (Win)
21. West Coast (Win)
22. Sydney (Win)
23. Brisbane (Win)

i got us at 16-7, but even with that, i have hawthorn beating us twice, and losing to adelaide in aami, and collingwood, the only certain loss i see is west coast, if win one of the hawks games, and one of adelaide in adelaide or collingwood, i would have us at 18-5 and top 4. our draw looks really good, but games like North coming off a 6 day break the week after hawthorn could be a loss, freo could be etc, cant counter in the variables when you do these types of predictions.

I'm about the same (Ive posted it elsewhere, when I get home I'll do it here again), I have us finishing on 16-18 wins and a top 4 finish.

Of course this all relies on the kids coming through to continue to improve, the younger core senior guys taking the next step and our veterans not to decline too much, is that too much to ask? Really history says we wont get anywhere near that result, with a more likely finish of 8-10 wins a good result.

History can go and get stuffed as far as I'm concerned, this Geelong team is about SETTING history not abiding by it. Geelong will win the 2013 Premiership.

1. Hawthorn (Loss)
2. North Melbourne (Loss)
3. Carlton (Win)
4. Sydney Swans (Loss)
6. Richmond (Win)
7. Essendon (Win)
8. Collingwood (Loss)
9. Port Adelaide (Win)
10. Gold Coast (Win)
11. GWS (Win)
12. Bye.
13. Brisbane (Win)
14. Fremantle (Loss)
15. Hawthorn (Loss)
16. Melbourne (Win)
17. Adelaide (Loss)
18. St Kilda (Win)
20. Port Adelaide (Win)
21. West Coast (Loss)
22. Sydney (Loss)
23. Brisbane (Loss)

Final result: 12-10
Place: 10th

Much easier to live with low expectations in November, and then be thrilled if and when proven wrong.

But our proven champs are another year older, and the kids need another two-three years playing together to develop and bond to the blinding instinct of classic Geelong footy. Our defense will be a major worry now that Matty is no longer playing, and when injury hits our depth will be challenged. Our ruck situation is also fraught with risk - we've rolled the dice on a suspect import. Could be disastrous. Varcoe and Menzel may take some time to return to their sublime best, considering how much footy they've missed.

Opposition teams will be also be improving - I sense Brisbane, Carlton, North and Fremantle giving it a real shake, with Hawthorn, Adelaide and West Coast consolidating on last year. Similar to 2012, there will be a clog-jam from positions 4-12. Sadly, the bottom six teams will have horrid years (Dogs and Dees especially will be non-competitive, Saints not that much better). Swans were very lucky last year - right time, right place. We'll need a bit of that luck ourselves in 2013 to give it a shot.

1. Hawthorn (Loss)
2. North Melbourne (Loss)
3. Carlton (Win)
4. Sydney Swans (Loss)
6. Richmond (Win)
7. Essendon (Win)
8. Collingwood (Loss)
9. Port Adelaide (Win)
10. Gold Coast (Win)
11. GWS (Win)
12. Bye.
13. Brisbane (Win)
14. Fremantle (Loss)
15. Hawthorn (Loss)
16. Melbourne (Win)
17. Adelaide (Loss)
18. St Kilda (Win)
20. Port Adelaide (Win)
21. West Coast (Loss)
22. Sydney (Loss)
23. Brisbane (Loss)

Final result: 12-10
Place: 10th

Much easier to live with low expectations in November, and then be thrilled if and when proven wrong.

But our proven champs are another year older, and the kids need another two-three years playing together to develop and bond to the blinding instinct of classic Geelong footy. Our defense will be a major worry now that Matty is no longer playing, and when injury hits our depth will be challenged. Our ruck situation is also fraught with risk - we've rolled the dice on a suspect import. Could be disastrous. Varcoe and Menzel may take some time to return to their sublime best, considering how much footy they've missed.

Opposition teams will be also be improving - I sense Brisbane, Carlton, North and Fremantle giving it a real shake, with Hawthorn, Adelaide and West Coast consolidating on last year. Similar to 2012, there will be a clog-jam from positions 4-12. Sadly, the bottom six teams will have horrid years (Dogs and Dees especially will be non-competitive, Saints not that much better). Swans were very lucky last year - right time, right place. We'll need a bit of that luck ourselves in 2013 to give it a shot.
Please be taking the piss.

1. Hawthorn (Win)
2. North Melbourne (Win)
3. Carlton (Win)
4. Sydney Swans (Win)
6. Richmond (Win)
7. Essendon (Loss)
8. Collingwood (Win)
9. Port Adelaide (Win)
10. Gold Coast (Win)
11. GWS (Win)
12. Bye.
13. Brisbane (Win)
14. Fremantle (Win)
15. Hawthorn (Loss)
16. Melbourne (Win)
17. Adelaide (Win)
18. St Kilda (Win)
20. Port Adelaide (Win)
21. West Coast (Loss)
22. Sydney (Win)
23. Brisbane (Win)

Final result: 19-3
Place: 3rd

Posted this in another thread
R1. Hawthorn v Geelong (Geelong by 5)
R2. Geelong v North (Geelong by 13)
R3. Geelong v Carlton (Geelong by 10)
R4. Sydney v Geelong (Sydney by 2)
R5. WB v Geelong (Geelong by 67)
R6. Richmond v Geelong (Geelong by 28)
R7. Geelong v Essendon (Geelong by 24)
R8. Collingwood v Geelong (Collingwood by 18)
R9. Port v Geelong (Geelong by 54)
R10. Geelong v GC (Geelong by 85)
R11. GWS v Geelong (Geelong by 93)
R12. BYE
R13. Brisbane v Geelong (Geelong by 12)
R14. Geelong v Fremantle (Geelong by 38)
R15. Geelong v Hawthorn (Geelong by 7)
R16. Geelong v Melbourne (Geelong by 112)
R17. Adelaide v Geelong (Adelaide by 15)
R18. Geelong v St Kilda (Geelong by 44)
R19. North v Geelong (Geelong by 68) - we tend to do some extraordinary shit in R19 and R20
R20. Geelong v Port (Geelong by 139)
R21. WC v Geelong (WC by 5)
R22. Geelong v Sydney (Geelong by 32)
R23. Geelong v Brisbane (Geelong by 45)

1. Hawthorn (Win)
2. North Melbourne (Win)
3. Carlton (Loss)
4. Sydney Swans (Win)
6. Richmond (Win)
7. Essendon (Loss)
8. Collingwood (Win)
9. Port Adelaide (Win)
10. Gold Coast (Win)
11. GWS (Win)
12. Bye.
13. Brisbane (Win)
14. Fremantle (Win)
15. Hawthorn (Loss)
16. Melbourne (Win)
17. Adelaide (Win)
18. St Kilda (Win)
20. Port Adelaide (Win)
21. West Coast (Loss)
22. Sydney (Win)
23. Brisbane (Win)

Final result: 19-4
Place: 3rd
Out.

:D sorry mutt but I think it's best we lose to them during the home & away season and once finals begins, we steam roll all contenders as we did 2011.

Mate.
Mate.
We don't lose to the hawks all right.
I did a full 22 games plus finals in AFL live against only hawthorn.
We went through undefeated including the flag with a percentage of 104.7.
We don't lose to them.

the only issue I have is the loss of Scarlett and although you could argue he had very little impact this season, it's more to do with his on-field tacticianing and setting up of others around him when the game is close.
Rivers will be as good as Scarlo in his final year but he won't be ordering others around and against a high scoring side, communication could break down at crucial times in these kind of matches but 4 losses only for the year ain't bad and I reckon we will win the flag if there are no major injuries.

Okay, I'll post a more honest thought now: West Coast and Sydney are going to be our biggest stumbling blocks all year and I will list those as a 50/50 chance of scoring a win in those rounds. We've had the Dawks measure for a while, despite the last time we played, we won by less than a goal, so yeah... a slight chance they'd still be in their shells from the deserved GF loss too. Not all teams can bounce back with only positive thoughts in mind - that would be naive at best to think that the Dawks would come into the season rearing to bolt out the gates and on towards a flag for the one that got away in what was one of the most fun GF's to ever watch, IMO.

I like to be quite upbeat about it all, unlike some on here :) Yes, we're not invincible, but we're m***********g Geelong! :) Whatever happened to that seemingly undying spirit and courage eh? (speaking teamwise of course)

1. Hawthorn (Win)
2. North Melbourne (Win)
3. Carlton (Loss)
4. Sydney Swans (Loss)
6. Richmond (Loss)
7. Essendon (Win)
8. Collingwood (Loss)
9. Port Adelaide (Win)
10. Gold Coast (Win)
11. GWS (Win)
12. Bye.
13. Brisbane (Win)
14. Fremantle (Win)
15. Hawthorn (Probably make me unpopular - Loss)
16. Melbourne (Win)
17. Adelaide (Loss)
18. St Kilda (Win)
20. Port Adelaide (Win)
21. West Coast (Loss)
22. Sydney (Win)
23. Brisbane (Win)

15-7 Carlton and Richmond are definitely winnable but I figure we are going to drop a couple of unexpected games, like the North one last year.

1. Hawthorn (Loss) Has to happen some time
2. North Melbourne (Win)
3. Carlton (Loss)
4. Sydney Swans (Loss)
6. Richmond (Win)
7. Essendon (Loss)
8. Collingwood (Loss)
9. Port Adelaide (Win)
10. Gold Coast (Win)
11. GWS (Win)
12. Bye.
13. Brisbane (Win)
14. Fremantle (Win)
15. Hawthorn (Win)
16. Melbourne (Win)
17. Adelaide (Loss)
18. St Kilda (Win)
20. Port Adelaide (Win)
21. West Coast (Loss)
22. Sydney (Win)
23. Brisbane (Win)

15 wins 7 losses

1. Hawthorn (Win) A
2. North Melbourne (Win)H
3. Carlton (Loss) H
4. Sydney Swans (Win) A
5. Western Bulldogs (Win) A
6. Richmond (Win) A
7. Essendon (Win) H
8. Collingwood (Win) A
9. Port Adelaide (Win) A
10. Gold Coast (Win) H
11. GWS (Win) A
12. Bye.
13. Brisbane (Loss) A
14. Fremantle (Win) H
15. Hawthorn (Win) H
16. Melbourne (Win) H
17. Adelaide (Loss) A
18. St Kilda (Win) H
19. North Melbourne (Win) H
20. Port Adelaide (Win) H
21. West Coast (Loss) A
22. Sydney (Win) H
23. Brisbane (Win) H

18-4

Everyone seems to think we'll lose to WC over there, just as we wind up for the finals. I'm not sure why; they may improve slightly from last season, but surely not as much as us.
Most seem to think we'll lose to Sydney up there; I can only assume that this is because the game comes at the end of our brutal opening, because they weren't that good last season, and (unlike us) haven't improved.

Everyone seems to think we'll lose to WC over there, just as we wind up for the finals. I'm not sure why; they may improve slightly from last season, but surely not as much as us.
Most seem to think we'll lose to Sydney up there; I can only assume that this is because the game comes at the end of our brutal opening, because they weren't that good last season, and (unlike us) haven't improved.

I had us losing those 2 because;
Swans I figured we would go hard the first 3 rounds and will have quite a few tired/injured players by the time we play the Swans, who have a DREAM first 3 weeks and will be fresh. I think a 4th quarter fade out would be on the cards.
WCE I just see it being a game away in that period of the year where we have a higher rotation/heavy training load month and will go over there and not be 100%.