2014 QAFL

• Thread starter Thread starter Sir G

Sherwood at the northern end of the coast :D
Just a 50 min drive, I'm sure our coaching staff will accommodate, new facility, great bunch of fellas!! And most of all a successful professional club.
Big game this week agst Grange, Season on the line, I'm sure our boys will respond to the weekends disappointment

Just a 50 min drive, I'm sure our coaching staff will accommodate, new facility, great bunch of fellas!! And most of all a successful professional club.
Big game this week agst Grange, Season on the line, I'm sure our boys will respond to the weekends disappointment
Oh I'm aware of the quality of the club, just that to claim it as the northern end of the coast was very humorous. It's probably closer to the southern end of the sunny coast!

G'day mate it just depends on what you want from your footy, you have had good experience as has your mate, if you want the top flight you would go to Southport Sharks, that's the Neafls Gold Coast based side, they play teams from the four afl teams to Canberra to Sydney to nt, so there is travel involved, normally fly Friday play sat home sat night. The Sharks have a good history with the GFL with club champion Shaun Ballans coming from the Lara Footy Club and if your mate has kicked all those goals then he will be well looked after!!!

The league below is the QAFL, with numerous clubs based on the Gold Coast and that league takes in Brisbane as well. Labrador and Broadbeach were once in the Neafl while palm beach and surfers paradise have come up a level. There is a bit to choose from and good luck

Hey Guys, thanks for all the input, I'll definitely hit a few of you guys up on the PM.

Funny you say Shaun Ballans. My Mate actually won the "Shaun Ballans Medal" (Lara Best & Fairest) last year.

Cracking new facility, shame they don't let anyone in there yet. Just a nice big shiny new rooms sitting there unfinished!

Good club though, not exactly suitable to someone living southern gold coast.

Would reccommend Broadbeach personally, unless you've come from prison down there - then go to Palmy!

How do you say if your been to prison go to palmy?
Cracking new facility, shame they don't let anyone in there yet. Just a nice big shiny new rooms sitting there unfinished!

Good club though, not exactly suitable to someone living southern gold coast.

Would reccommend Broadbeach personally, unless you've come from prison down there - then go to Palmy!

Just an opinion from an old school fan mate.

The mob from Palmy in the last 10 years haven't minded some pretty underhanded activity on the field, and their fans are pretty rough too.

I wouldn't take little kids to Salk, thats for sure!

The mob from Palmy in the last 10 years haven't minded some pretty underhanded activity on the field, and their fans are pretty rough too.

Why don't you make your own mind up instead of someone else's I take my kids down there every home game and let my kids play and kick the footy around with all the other kids they have great facilities for kids and Iv never once had a problem nor have I seen a problem in the past three years! So before you bag a club try it your self!

My kids are grown up buddy, but I've seen the Palmy side belt every player from the entire opposition before the first bounce of a game on at least 2 occasions. That sort of pre-planned thuggery is a club culture, not just a few bad eggs.

Things might have changed now, I gave up watching anything above Div 2 a few years ago.

Palmy has that reputation for a reason. The way they go about their football is not something to proud about.

I am not a Palmy person, but my cents are that a few years ago there were definitely cultural issues and on-field low acts were pretty common. But credit where credits due, I believe this has been addressed and I don't have any issue with the way they go about their footy currently.

I'm not out to cause a witch hunt but after seeing some Palmy games this year all I saw was dirty play when their chips were down to try get them back into the game. Not much to make of it, its almost expected from them now that its a non-issue.

And you guys have only just worked this out? Go watch tne Grand Final 3 years ago.

You can't honestly say that?

Palmy won their flag last year fron hard work hard work and discipline. What happened in 2012 grand final was a turning point.

Your just crapping in the face of some good genuine blokes who give their all every week

Same goes with the supporters , people put in a lot of time and effort so show some respect and stop bad mouthing clubs on the net.

You can't honestly say that?

Palmy won their flag last year fron hard work hard work and discipline. What happened in 2012 grand final was a turning point.

Your just crapping in the face of some good genuine blokes who give their all every week

Same goes with the supporters , people put in a lot of time and effort so show some respect and stop bad mouthing clubs on the net.

I'm just stating what I've seen from the Palmy games I've watched this year and in previous years: players playing outside of the rules to hurt the opposition when they start to get a roll on. It has nothing to do about the people off the field, I'm sure they're good people. But there's a reason the club has such a reputation, it's not just careless club bashing. If you think the criticism isn't warranted, then I would hope the next game I watch doesn't involve the thuggery that they're associated with and perhaps I will change my mind.

just my comment... I follow Broadbeach, but I still got to see Palmy last season against Springwood and this year some 3 weeks ago against us in the wet where they beat us easily. And in reference to this season in the QAFL comp,there has been no reported thuggery . Today is today and yesterday is gone, thus I don't see this this stuff happening now at Palmy. Yes, they are hard and get tough when they are behind in a game, but that's why they win games . A culture that coach Cresswell is installing. Cant argue against that. If there is any side to get near Morningside it will be Palmy, simply because of this hard tough contested playing style when it is required.

à

I didn't see much last year, but I imagine Palmy weren't all that dirty because they were winning...

It's when they are losing, or think they're going to lose that they start head hunting and their supporters start frothing at the mouth,

I didn't see much last year, but I imagine Palmy weren't all that dirty because they were winning...

It's when they are losing, or think they're going to lose that they start head hunting and their supporters start frothing at the mouth,

Examples this year?

Like I already said, I stopped watching QAFL or variants of it 2 years ago.

I've seen one QAFL game this year, it was between Broadbeach and the Magpies. Good standard, played in good spirits.

I like watching the lower leagues these days

L

I've seen one QAFL game this year, it was between Broadbeach and the Magpies. Good standard, played in good spirits.
Let's start talking about footy now, enough has been said, hopefully a big week coming up some great games which could sort ladder out

I like watching the lower leagues these days

Obviously basing your opinion of when you used to watch tie years ago

I think top 5 will end up being...

Morningside
Palmy
Labrador
Broady
Vultures