Analysis 2016 AFL Trade Week Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter raptalia

7 trades so far and Hawthorn have been involved in 4 of them.
The side that has won a handful of games in September?

On the back of quality trades in the past?

Looks at Boyd at the Dogs too...

Hmmm seems like that's a reason to be active I think.

Fun fact: Jake 'Mr Defensive Pressure' Neade was equal 157th for tackles per game this year with 3.7 per game. Jared Polec, who was dropped twice this season for his lack of defensive pressure, had 3.6 per game.

It's the one part of Neade's game that he's supposedly good at, and he's not even that good at it.

Fun fact: Jake 'Mr Defensive Pressure' Neade averaged a whole 0.1 more tackles per game than Jared 'dropped twice for lack of defensive pressure' Polec.

It's the one part of his game that he's supposedly good at, and he's not even that good at it.

IT'S THE INTANGIBLE THINGS SCHULZENFEST I WILL NOT HAVE YOU SAY A BAD THING ABOUT JACOB NEADE

Fun fact: Jake 'Mr Defensive Pressure' Neade averaged a whole 0.1 more tackles per game than Jared 'dropped twice for lack of defensive pressure' Polec.

It's the one part of his game that he's supposedly good at, and he's not even that good at it.
Because tackles measure only a fraction of defensive pressure

More positioning than outright tackles, shame there isn't a stat for "ran to the right spots".

It is a shame, because if such a stat did exist it would reveal that he spends most of the game running around like a headless chook and his apologists would lose the one intangible thing that they're desperately clinging on to.

Like his implied pressure arm waving to umpires effort vs GWS at Manuka

RIGHT IN FRONT OF ME

It is a shame, because if such a stat did exist it would reveal that he spends most of the game running around like a headless chook and his apologists would lose the one intangible thing that they're desperately clinging on to.

It's an interesting point. The club would have the GPS data and would have made a determination around whether Neade's running has been effective. It must have been effective enough to warrant a new deal (let alone 2 years) because his raw stats alone wouldn't do it.

I know I'm in the minority here. With a full strength list, Neade would be outside of our 22 but I reckon there's still development in him and he's talented enough to persist with a little while longer as depth.
Im in the minority with ya.

It's an interesting point. The club would have the GPS data and would have made a determination around whether Neade's running has been effective. It must have been effective enough to warrant a new deal (let alone 2 years) because his raw stats alone wouldn't do it.

Or, just as likely, Ken probably just thinks he's a good bloke.

Mitchell to West Coast is possibly one of the most unusual trade transactions that I can remember happening. Leaving his native state of Victoria, a Box Hill recruit, Hawthorn royalty, all on the curtains close of his career. It would be like us having traded Tredrea to another state at the end of 2009 for a fourth round draft pick, just inconceivable really.

It speaks volumes of where our club's at compared to Hawthorn at the moment. Clarkson is prepared to be ruthless with his playing list, but he'd no doubt command utmost respect amongst everybody at the club, with everyone fully aware that success comes at a cost. You dig in deep, sacrifice pleasure, uphold the standards of the club, and eventually you have the rest of your post-career life to relish in the success of what you accomplished. A joint, unspoken sacrifice must almost exist between him and the playing group, Clarko seems to view his players as co-workers first and foremost, with friendship as an added bonus. It would almost be a case of if you fail to uphold the standards of the club, then you'll be getting the arse very, very quickly, and not rewarding it like we've done.

It's like Hawthorn counteract mediocrity as soon as it even starts to show up and set in. Post-2014 we have embraced complacency, wrote it down on a piece of paper, and nailed it to the front entrance at Alberton Oval and put it in every locker for every player to see.

It's sad, because hearing stories from our ex-greats like Fiacchi, Ginivear and Ebert, our club used to be a pillar of sustained success, everybody had high expectations of each other, demanded success from each other, and the reward was unparalled success and premierships. I get goosebumps thinking about the 1994 GF or Gav's goal in the 2004 PF, but it seems these on-field moments will become rarer and rarer in my lifetime.

We are in a George Costanza like rut at the moment, we look at the Sydney/Geelong/Hawthorn's and do the exact opposite to them year-in, year-out.

Our team had a massive problem with forward pressure in 2016, probably due to a gameplan heavily dependant on defensive pressure. So its not hard to see why Hinkley rated Neade highly early in the year.

Also small forwards have far less opportunity to tackle than midfielders do, so the comparison to Polec doesn’t really work.

Mitchell to West Coast is possibly one of the most unusual trade transactions that I can remember happening. Leaving his native state of Victoria, a Box Hill recruit, Hawthorn royalty, all on the curtains close of his career. It would be like us having traded Tredrea to another state at the end of 2009 for a fourth round draft pick, just inconceivable really.
Its probably close to what Essendon thought they were doing when they offloaded Damien Hardwick to us.

But yes, agree on the rest.

Fun fact: Jake 'Mr Defensive Pressure' Neade was equal 157th for tackles per game this year with 3.7 per game. Jared Polec, who was dropped twice this season for his lack of defensive pressure, had 3.6 per game.

It's the one part of Neade's game that he's supposedly good at, and he's not even that good at it.

Fun fact: Polec runs through the midfield where the ball spend the majority of its time during a match. Hence his opportunity to lay a tackle would be greater.

The equivalent ratio to match Neade's output defensively would be around 7-8 tackles a match for Polec.

It speaks volumes of where our club's at compared to Hawthorn at the moment. Clarkson is prepared to be ruthless with his playing list, but he'd no doubt command utmost respect amongst everybody at the club, with everyone fully aware that success comes at a cost. You dig in deep, sacrifice pleasure, uphold the standards of the club, and eventually you have the rest of your post-career life to relish in the success of what you accomplished. A joint, unspoken sacrifice must almost exist between him and the playing group, Clarko seems to view his players as co-workers first and foremost, with friendship as an added bonus. It would almost be a case of if you fail to uphold the standards of the club, then you'll be getting the arse very, very quickly, and not rewarding it like we've done.

It's like Hawthorn counteract mediocrity as soon as it even starts to show up and set in. Post-2014 we have embraced complacency, wrote it down on a piece of paper, and nailed it to the front entrance at Alberton Oval and put it in every locker for every player to see.

It's sad, because hearing stories from our ex-greats like Fiacchi, Ginivear and Ebert, our club used to be a pillar of sustained success, everybody had high expectations of each other, demanded success from each other, and the reward was unparalled success and premierships. I get goosebumps thinking about the 1994 GF or Gav's goal in the 2004 PF, but it seems these on-field moments will become rarer and rarer in my lifetime.

We are in a George Costanza like rut at the moment, we look at the Sydney/Geelong/Hawthorn's and do the exact opposite to them year-in, year-out.
Let's see if his changes actually work first mate. It's easy to say he's a genius, but if you think about what he has lost compared to what he's gained, are they even ahead?

Mitchell, Hill and Lewis and replaces them with Mitchell, O'Meara and Vickery (LOL), plus whoever ever else they lose to get O'Meara, plus two first rounders and twosecond rounders. Do you actually think he is ahead?

O'Meara is a gun, but hasn't been fit for a long time. Mitchell is good, but don't forget his was the 5th string midfielder at Sydney, he will now be getting a lot more attention and I think will be caught out for his lack of pace and skills.

My opinion is they are a lot worse than what the were before and have really hampered their growth for the next few years. Hey, but at least they're making a lot of moves!!

All small forwards are coached to play defensive roles these days. To apply defensive pressure in the forward line and to help out the defence. Don't think it's a big point of difference between small forwards in the comp. It's more about the goal kicking, and that's where Neade falls short (pun intended). Doesn't kick enough goals for my liking.

A shame that Aidyn Johnson spent so much time injured last season. He showed some promise. I'm keen to see what he can deliver with a good pre-season under his belt.

Fun fact: Polec runs through the midfield where the ball spend the majority of its time during a match. Hence his opportunity to lay a tackle would be greater.

The equivalent ratio to match Neade's output defensively would be around 7-8 tackles a match for Polec.

His tackle stats don't even rank that well to other small forwards who don't rotate through the midfield let alone somehow equating to 8 tackles a match.

By comparison Paul Puolpolo had 4.6 tackles per match (34 goals). Ben McGlynn 4.4 (24 goals). Even Jamie Cripps had 4.1 tackles (28 goals).

Jake Neade 3.7 tackles per match (15 goals).

I don't mind Jake Neade but to me he's the 30th player on our list and needs to do far more than arm waving pressure acts to be best 22.