2016 Draft discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

Okay my rankings are up on the Drafting and Trading board for anyone with a couple of hours to kill.

I note the conversations on Battle and Scrimshaw. Anyone interested in why they might not make it should have a look at my write ups. I am in the doubtful category and have them at 46 and 31 from memory.

Good on you Quigs, your knowledge and effort you put in is really appreciated by the enthusiastic water cooler experts like myself.

Tomorrow I will seem smarter to my friends. Thanks.

Okay my rankings are up on the Drafting and Trading board for anyone with a couple of hours to kill.

I note the conversations on Battle and Scrimshaw. Anyone interested in why they might not make it should have a look at my write ups. I am in the doubtful category and have them at 46 and 31 from memory.
Your views on the two highly related Gold Coast lads align with mine. I've seen both play in the same game three or four times and my eye is drawn to Scheer more. I get that Bowes game might translate to senior footy better but I'm just not seeing 20+ places difference in their draft position. Bowes looks to me like a mid-late first round talent and Scheer around the 16-22 mark.

Hawks during Fagan's time did pretty well with Indigenous talent.. Also think the agility, creativity and natural fast twitch athletes that Indigenous boys tend to be, is exactly what we need. I would be more than happy to use 21/22 on Cedric Cox and Shai Bolton.

Exactly had shai @ 21 and cox @ 22. And agree whole heartedly with your comments.remember my dad introducing me to a new Fitzroy lions recruit ,Chrissy Johnson for the 1st time.what a great player he turned out to be and one of my all time favourites ,next to Roos ,pert ,Osborne Micky the tank Conlon If shai turns out to be half as good as Chrissy j ,how good would that be.

Phantom Draft from AFL Draft Central they have us taking McCluggage Simpkin Ryan and Brennan Cox.

They have McGrath going out pick one they reckon McCluggage is out of the picture for pick one but than on the AFL site it says Bombers are meeting with him next weeek.

https://afl*******************/2016/11/17/matt-balmers-early-november-2016-phantom-draft/

Mc Lug too good to pass up at Pick 1.

The Bummers love playing silly buggers with their trading and drafting but I think when push comes to shove, common sense will prevail and the natural order of things will occur

1. Essendon .......McL

2. GWS....McG

3. BL ....Ainsworth

The Bummers love playing silly buggers with their trading and drafting but I think when push comes to shove, common sense will prevail and the natural order of things will occur

1. Essendon .......McL

2. GWS....McG

3. BL ....Ainsworth
I'm not so sure. Word out that Bombers have been 50/50 on McCl and McG for a while now but in the past few days McGrath is starting to firm as their preferred choice.

1. Essendon .......McL

2. GWS....McG

3. BL ....Ainsworth
I really don't see a whole lot of point in Essnedon putting conflicting info out there as whatever they do won't have any effect on their next pick.

Dodoro is a nutter though,he thinks he needs to look like he's crafty when there is no point.

One reason why I am putting a bit of less store in these guys this year is that they do not have nearly as good information for non-Victorian teams and the Victorian teams have very few first round picks. There will be more guessing than usual as seen by their obsession with Bowes getting bid on at 2 or 3 nws it was never happening.
Hi Quigley. Really love reading your posts. Just wondering your thoughts on Jack Graham and us taking him at 21 or 22?

Your views on the two highly related Gold Coast lads align with mine. I've seen both play in the same game three or four times and my eye is drawn to Scheer more. I get that Bowes game might translate to senior footy better but I'm just not seeing 20+ places difference in their draft position. Bowes looks to me like a mid-late first round talent and Scheer around the 16-22 mark.
I'm a bit higher on Bowes than you two. My only hesitation with Scheer is I think he's had a mature body vs kids his own age..which makes me question how much development he has.
What'd you think of Williams in those games? I keep hearing it's likely he'll be the next Qlder picked after those two boys.

One reason why I am putting a bit of less store in these guys this year is that they do not have nearly as good information for non-Victorian teams and the Victorian teams have very few first round picks. There will be more guessing than usual as seen by their obsession with Bowes getting bid on at 2 or 3 nws it was never happening.
Really love your work Quigley - thanks!

Have you got a view on Josh Williams - GC Academy boy...any likelihood we might go for him, especially given that he is a Queenslander?

I'm a bit higher on Bowes than you two. My only hesitation with Scheer is I think he's had a mature body vs kids his own age..which makes me question how much development he has.
What'd you think of Williams in those games? I keep hearing it's likely he'll be the next Qlder picked after those two boys.
I definitely think there's something there. It looked to me like he plays a bit in fits and spurts at the moment which is probably something to do with his physical maturity and fitness. I worry about skinny outside guys with only ok engines - where do they end up playing at senior level? Maybe that side of his game improves with a professional environment but I don't think you can ignore the risk that you might be drafting a wingman who can't cover the ground as senior footy demands.

I'm nowhere near informed enough to make a call in terms of a draft position but he strikes me as the kind of guy that a side like ours probably can't afford to take a risk with too early. If I was a side with most of the component parts in place, I reckon I'd consider him around a pick 35 because the risk/reward stacks up. For a side like ours though, I reckon you probably would take him as a speculative pick a bit later once you've taken a few surer things with your early picks.

That's purely an assessment from a very limited knowledge base though. It is a bit like my viewing of Bowes - I'm hardly qualified to counter the prevailing view that he's close to a top 5 talent.

Hi Quigley. Really love reading your posts. Just wondering your thoughts on Jack Graham and us taking him at 21 or 22?

He would be a bit of a reach at that position I think and I think he would compound some of our deficiencies in the middle of the ground. He is a strong bodied inside mid who can pick up a team and carry it with his ball winning ability but he is slow and his skills are below average at best. Leaving aside the current group Mathieson and Keays are pretty much in exactly the same category and I am not sure we want to be have three or more guys (see Jansen as well) who can't run or hit a target.

I don't mind reaching for someone and I probably would be okay with Graham if he didn't build on an already developing weakness.

Really love your work Quigley - thanks!

Have you got a view on Josh Williams - GC Academy boy...any likelihood we might go for him, especially given that he is a Queenslander?

I did include him in my rankings and in theory I wouldn't have an issue having a crack at him but I struggle to see us bidding 22 for him.

He would be a bit of a reach at that position I think and I think he would compound some of our deficiencies in the middle of the ground. He is a strong bodied inside mid who can pick up a team and carry it with his ball winning ability but he is slow and his skills are below average at best. Leaving aside the current group Mathieson and Keays are pretty much in exactly the same category and I am not sure we want to be have three or more guys (see Jansen as well) who can't run or hit a target.

I don't mind reaching for someone and I probably would be okay with Graham if he didn't build on an already developing weakness.

What about Kobe Mutch? I'm a huge fan of the kid and I think we have the picks to potentially outbid GWS for him. I think he can bring true ball winning to our midfield an despite him being view as having no hurt factor (which I think is over played a bit) as long as he is hitting up the beams & richs regularly I am fine with that. I also think he will suit fagans kicking game style very well and wont turn the ball over a lot which is a huge tick for me