Hot Topic 2016 DRAFT

• Thread starter Thread starter HARKER

really don't think we will pick kerr at 25. too many good mids available at that pick. we need mids and I would rate them higher than kerr.

I reckon Kerr has 'slider' all over him. Too many question marks and too little production value to consider with a Top 40 Pick.

He has AFL traits, but he'll need to work pretty hard on his deficiencies.

Except if Sam Landsberger is right, and we don't rate it as a list priority (because of Cripps). In which case, it'd be highly unlikely that we take an inside mid in the first 2 picks.

Not saying he is right. But if he is ... I'd expect to see speed and skill as the priority in rounds 1 and 2.
I dont think that's what Landsberger has said at all. They are clearly refering the the first pick only, you are extrapolating it to the second pick arbitrarily.

I don't know anything about any of these boys other than what I read here...
By the way, great insights by a lot of you, how you know so much is beyond me.

So my pick is determined by one criteria, and I'm hoping one of you will tell me who fits...

Which of these boys will be ready to play, and impact, round 1 2017?

That's who I want.
Of our pick #5 potential.

Brodie, Setterfield, Ainsworth should be ready to play Rnd 1, Taranto and SPS would both be a chance but not certain, someone like Scrimshaw probably not

I don't know anything about any of these boys other than what I read here...
By the way, great insights by a lot of you, how you know so much is beyond me.

So my pick is determined by one criteria, and I'm hoping one of you will tell me who fits...

Which of these boys will be ready to play, and impact, round 1 2017?

That's who I want.

Why would this be important?

We're drafting at 5 with the hope the player will be on our list for 14 years, surely the priority would be "who is going to play the best footy over a 10 year period" than "who will play the best against Richmond in round 1"

We've still got 44 games left in this rebuild.

Quite possibly. But if picks come relatively early (on any other than Setterfield and Perryman), they're highly unlikely to match them (on the assumption that they are penalised their original 1st and 2nd round pick). They've got early talent in the academy lined up again for next year, and they can't afford to go into too great a deficit.
I know Spargo and Bender are well regarded, who else is there? According to GWS' page for the academy, the other names are: Connor Byrne, Mitch Maguire, Connor Owen-Auburn and Brandon Clark.

Macreadie is arguably a better KPD than Logue and has elite disposal, they have to know a top 20 bid is coming. And just as I post this, I notice this Herald Sun article:

https://t.co/WlPFmLfcja (open in private browsing)

The AFL has again bowed to pressure from Victorian clubs and is set to remove Albury and the Murray River region from the GWS Giants academy zone from next year.
I'll check who gets culled from the above list as a result. We all knew this was coming after this year's batch.

Spargo, Maguire, Brander and possibly Byrne and others are now off that list.

It's not all of the Riverina, but it's a huge chunk of the population, and it decimates the top end talent they had lined up. This is their last dance with such a huge pool of AFL-entrenched talent to pick from.

He has Luke Mitchell like traits.

I don't know whether that's a good or a bad omen.

Why would this be important?

Agree. I'll give up Round 1 2017 debut for a late 2017 debut and three zero possession games in a row before what turns out to be a brilliant 200 game captain worthy champion.

I was on the Brodie wagon but recently I've been swayed to Taranto.

I dont think that's what Landsberger has said at all. They are clearly refering the the first pick only, you are extrapolating it to the second pick arbitrarily.

"The Blues are Brodie fans, but would be unlikely to pair him with superstar Patrick Cripps."

The context is our first round pick. But the logic suggests something broader in regard to our midfield balance. If we don't want to pair Cripps with Brodie. Why would we want to pair him with a slightly inferior version of Brodie?

I know Spargo and Bender are well regarded, who else is there? According to GWS' page for the academy, the other names are: Connor Byrne, Mitch Maguire, Connor Owen-Auburn and Brandon Clark.

"GWS can then steal another three discounted junior stars next year, with Jarrod Brander, Charlie Spargo and Jack Powell tied to their talent program. Key forward Brander could go No. 1 while Powell has drawn comparisons to Isaac Heeney."

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...t/news-story/e74e7860753b478c921e622b975f8bb6

Spargo, Maguire, Brander and possibly Byrne and others are now off that list. It's not all of the Riverina, but it's a huge chunk of the population, and it decimates the top end talent they had lined up. This is their last dance with such a huge pool of AFL-entrenched talent to pick from.

Removing this zone from GWS Academy has been long overdue. Yet another Sydney-bolstering rort from the AFL. But just because the zone has been taken from them, I wouldn't automatically assume that already Academy-listed players will be removed from them. Here's hoping ...

Except if Sam Landsberger is right, and we don't rate it as a list priority (because of Cripps). In which case, it'd be highly unlikely that we take an inside mid in the first 2 picks.

Not saying he is right. But if he is ... I'd expect to see speed and skill as the priority in rounds 1 and 2.

All valid arguments, especially if the likes of Landsberger have inside information. Stated many times, take the best available with each pick, especially where our list is at

"The Blues are Brodie fans, but would be unlikely to pair him with superstar Patrick Cripps."

The context is our first round pick. But the logic suggests something broader in regard to our midfield balance. If we don't want to pair Cripps with Brodie. Why would we want to pair him with a slightly inferior version of Brodie?

Inferior? Clarke averaging 29 disposals and the number 1 contested player this year, would you call that inferior?

I have made it clear in the past that I don't rate Brodie as high as many here do, enough said. But to suggest that many of the inside midfielders in this draft being inferior when compared to Brodie is bewildering.

Removing this zone from GWS Academy has been long overdue. Yet another Sydney-bolstering rort from the AFL. But just because the zone has been taken from them, I wouldn't automatically assume that already Academy-listed players will be removed from them. Here's hoping ...
Sounds like it's going to be enacted for the 2017 draft.

Because, as I suggested, having two elite inside specialists may be less effective if it means our outside mids are weaker.

Cripps will lead the contest for clearances for the rest of his career. He doesn't need another Cripps with him, he needs a quick, classy user of the ball that he can feed the ball to. We do need inside support for Cripps, but the key word there is support.

Cripps, SPS, Clarke > Cripps, Brodie, Gallucci

Elite inside, Elite outside, Supporting inside > Elite inside, Elite inside, Supporting outside

Now, we do of course continue to draft each year, so we're not restricted to only the players we draft in 2016. But saying we don't see Brodie as an ideal partner for Cripps doesn't mean we don't want another inside mid full-stop. We need to spread our talent out so that the players work in with eachother, not against.

All that being said, my preferences are (Taranto + Mutch) OR (SPS + Fisher).

Because, as I suggested, having two elite inside specialists may be less effective if it means our outside mids are weaker.

Cripps will lead the contest for clearances for the rest of his career. He doesn't need another Cripps with him, he needs a quick, classy user of the ball that he can feed the ball to. We do need inside support for Cripps, but the key word there is support.

Elite inside, Elite outside, Supporting inside > Elite inside, Elite inside, Supporting outside

Now, we do of course continue to draft each year, so we're not restricted to only the players we draft in 2016. But saying we don't see Brodie as an ideal partner for Cripps doesn't mean we don't want another inside mid full-stop. We need to spread our talent out so that the players work in with eachother, not against.

Perhaps we can learn a lot from the sydney midfield. lots of crossover there and they seem to go ok.

You don't pick on need at first round typically

Usually go best player

Other rounds maybe pick on need

In saying that this year is even

Think Fisher could be the Lachie Neale of the 2016 crop and think should be in the top few ranked for pick 25. If Kerr is there at 48, pull the trigger.

Something like:
5. SPS or Taranto
25. Fisher or Drew
48. Kerr/Bunker/Hisham
63. Bunker/Hisham

Think Fisher could be the Lachie Neale of the 2016 crop and think should be in the top few ranked for pick 25. If Kerr is there at 48, pull the trigger.

Something like:
5. SPS or Taranto
25. Fisher or Drew
48. Kerr/Bunker/Hisham
63. Bunker/Hisham
Dream bigger!

Usually go best player

Other rounds maybe pick on need

In saying that this year is even
'Best' is so subjective though in evenness. I'm not too fussed by who we pick. I would hope that ultimately we pick from a selection of kids whom none of turn out to be busts.

Pick Ziebell. Heck even Sidebottom at this point is looking better than Yarran or Rich!
Rioli over Cotchin and Masten. But be careful before you pass on Dangerfield!

Kerr getting a sub 3 second 20m sprint is pretty impressive, good height, elite speed and smarts = v handy forward.

So torn on wanting him at 25 or hoping he slips to our next pick...

With the sub 3 20m, I can't see him lasting past the early 30s at the latest.
I want to know what it was like over the first five or don't they test that, anymore?

'Best' is so subjective though in evenness. I'm not too fussed by who we pick. I would hope that ultimately we pick from a selection of kids whom none of turn out to be busts.
Agree. I like the idea of taking the best available - if I knew what it meant. The difficulty is that we all use a different lens when we look at an 18 year old's playing strengths/weakness, and then try to extrapolate and project what that player might become, as well as work out how they'll complement our existing players, and whether there's a go home factor.

I also find comparisons to past players amusing but not really helpful - just because a player reminds someone of Bartel, or Fyfe, or Rioli doesn't mean they're going to be as good as them.

So if we see things differently and use different criteria, what matters is that hopefully SoS knows what he's doing and uses the right set of criteria to assess best available for our club.

PS SoS: I'd be happy with either Taranto or SPS.

Something like:
5. SPS or Taranto
25. Fisher or Drew
48. Kerr/Bunker/Hisham
63. Bunker/Hisham

At his size, he is not quick or overly creative, and showed pretty average endurance at the Combine.

To my mind, he will be ineffective at AFL level and wouldn't draft him with our first 3 picks.