Analysis 2016 Draft...

• Thread starter Thread starter FAITH

Who do you realistically want @13?

So you're projecting none of those will ever play in any other role for the rest of their career I take it?
And by the way if you do some research you will find Doedee only switched to defence in his final year of School Footy /TAC/U18's....previous to that for his school team St.Joseph's in 2014 he played predominately up Forward and figured high up in the leading goalkickers in that Comp.
http://www.aflvic.com.au/blog/2015/07/29/herald-sun-senior-boys-semi-final-results/

Semi Final 2

St Patrick’s 2.1 3.1 9.2 10.3 63

St Joseph’s 1.1 1.3 3.5 5.10 40

St Patrick’s

Best: Joel Cowan, Joe Dodd, Jacob Hopper, Haskar Dawborn, Ben Lusby, Ben HUrley

Goal Kickers: Leigh Spiteri 3, Joel Cowan, Jacob Hopper 2, Hamish Coulton, Jackson Carrick, Connor Byrne 1

St Joseph’s

Best: Tom Doedee, Jack Buckley, Ben McNamara, Jack Quinn, Harry Walker, Nick Connors, Sam Simpson

Mate Im not interested in Doedee at this stage out of the top 20 or 25 draft picks last year only two havent managed to play AFL footy yet, guess what Doedee is one. He looked ok in the SANFL although he got cut up when I saw him at the Bay oval. But I hear he had some OK games on the HBF which is usually a good place to learn, probably the easisest position on the ground to play. He looks like a third rounder and may play 150 AFL games good luck to him, wasnt his fault the recruitment team over paid for him

Honestly not that keen on Taranto myself, despite his excellent recent form. He'll probably have a good career at the next level, but I'm confident both Florent and Venables will be better players long-term. Would be stoked to land either of those two, and Taranto will go top 12 anyway so it's a moot point.

I don't agree with the notion that we should take someone as "outside" as Simpkin or Bolton, Berry I don't view as a top 15 talent, and Powell-Pepper is simply no chance of being selected by us due to his poor kicking. Gallucci = yuck.

Other than Florent and Venables, the other one that I'd be a big fan of us selecting is the kid from Norwood, Alex Villis. Might be considered pretty left-field at 13 (but there's no way he's still around at 43) but I see a player with an extremely high footy IQ and some real x-factor when I watch him. The decision making is really a standout for a kid that young too. Google him if you haven't checked him out yet. I definitely think he should be added to the poll too.

Scharenberg at 43 is not out of the question. Probably more likely to be selected in the 25-40 range but you'd think we'd pounce if he did drop.

Mate he was a Forward, he will get crunched in the centre square maybe a wing but most HFF's interchange there
Sorry Marty Have spent a lot time watching Milera, he is more Midfielder than Forward, Shit he play more Defesive than he has Forward in his career.
His main weapons are not his kicking Goal Although he does do a good job, he is elusive in the packs, he set up plays, he a mid.
I was critical of his number this year and strongly believed he need a rest, But he was and has been pumping a few weights this year and is getting the body shape to play AFL midfield.

Mate Im not interested in Doedee at this stage out of the top 20 or 25 draft picks last year only two havent managed to play AFL footy yet, guess what Doedee is one. He looked ok in the SANFL although he got cut up when I saw him at the Bay oval. But I hear he had some OK games on the HBF which is usually a good place to learn, probably the easisest position on the ground to play. He looks like a third rounder and may play 150 AFL games good luck to him, wasnt his fault the recruitment team over paid for him
So Marty has spoken, the AFC over paid for Tom Doedee after less than 12 months in an AFL system, a limited pre-season rehabbng a knee and missing SANFL games with a hand injury during the season...OK.

A Lot of 1st rounders play in there first year but take up to 4 years to get 50 games. Judge Doedee on his 50 games not weather he played in his first year.
He will play in 2017 barring injury either as Back line ie Cheney, or Back/ Mid ie Smith, Seedsman could even play defensive mid on Fyfe and Bont type player. but he will play. Watching the SANFL he a cut above.

Sorry Marty Have spent a lot time watching Milera, he is more Midfielder than Forward, Shit he play more Defesive than he has Forward in his career.
His main weapons are not his kicking Goal Although he does do a good job, he is elusive in the packs, he set up plays, he a mid.
I was critical of his number this year and strongly believed he need a rest, But he was and has been pumping a few weights this year and is getting the body shape to play AFL midfield.

He will want to put on a shitload of weight to take himself into the midfield, the wing yes, but the mid is becoming a place of very strong bodies like Danger,Fyfe,Kennedy,Bonts, Priddis then you have tough nuts like Mitchell,Hodge, lewis, Viney, Libber,Handelbury, Jack, Sloane and Selwood. Cant see Milera being a tough nut and cant see him putting on the weight. Cameron you would rate as a tough nut but maybe too light, more hoping he goes into the mid as a tagger he is a fantastic tackler

Saying that Milera could destroy it on the wing like Michael Long or Peter Matera, they were freaks

A Lot of 1st rounders play in there first year but take up to 4 years to get 50 games. Judge Doedee on his 50 games not weather he played in his first year.
He will play in 2017 barring injury either as Back line ie Cheney, or Back/ Mid ie Smith, Seedsman could even play defensive mid on Fyfe and Bont type player. but he will play. Watching the SANFL he a cut above.

Im not, I said he will probably play some AFL footy, as I would expect a someone in the third round to do, it may take a few years to get going, Milera played last year and being a genuine first rounder he did quite well. Just saying Doedee in my opinion and what he has shown with the fact he couldnt break into the team when 95% of the first rounders did proves my theory somewhat.

Would Doedee have debuted yet if:

A) he was drafted by a bottom 10 team

And / Or

B) We had a "normal" season in terms of injuries?

I'd suggest the answer is yes to both. Regardless, you don't draft 18 year olds specifically to debut in their first season at the club. You draft them to hopefully be guns from age 22-32. Judgement on Doedee needs to be reserved for now. Compare him to the 10-15 blokes selected directly after him in a few years time. That's the only way to get a read on whether the pick was warranted.

Cameron you would rate as a tough nut but maybe too light, more hoping he goes into the mid as a tagger he is a fantastic tackler
A tagger. Cool it please Good lord :) :)

Would Doedee have debuted yet if:

A) he was drafted by a bottom 10 team

And / Or

B) We had a "normal" season in terms of injuries?

I'd suggest the answer is yes to both. Regardless, you don't draft 18 year olds specifically to debut in their first season at the club. You draft them to hopefully be guns from age 22-32. Judgement on Doedee needs to be reserved for now. Compare him to the 10-15 blokes selected directly after him in a few years time. That's the only way to get a read on whether the pick was warranted.

Gee imagine how good those guys were to break into teh Bulldogs, Swans, hawks, Geeloong, didnt they all finish abpve us?

He will want to put on a shitload of weight to take himself into the midfield, the wing yes, but the mid is becoming a place of very strong bodies like Danger,Fyfe,Kennedy,Bonts, Priddis then you have tough nuts like Mitchell,Hodge, lewis, Viney, Libber,Handelbury, Jack, Sloane and Selwood. Cant see Milera being a tough nut and cant see him putting on the weight. Cameron you would rate as a tough nut but maybe too light, more hoping he goes into the mid as a tagger he is a fantastic tackler

Saying that Milera could destroy it on the wing like Michael Long or Peter Matera, they were freaks
What if I told you he heaver than Macca playing weight, and pretty close to Goodwins playing weight, he getting close to if not up to 84kg and not much fat. thats heaver than Hannebery. He also getting Taller, Some 18 year old can put on weight and get taller.

[

I do like looking at the 4 strongest teams and how they drafted over the past 20 years and looking at why they were so strong every time it points to their mid

West Coast, Judd,Cousins, Kerr
Brisbane Aker, Voss , lappin
Geelong Bartell, Selwood, Ablett
Hawks Mitchell,Hodge, Lewis

As juniors do you think they have and were always Mids or showed they were mids?

I'm not sure that they refute the argument to take the best available. There's a #1, #2, #3, #7, #7, #8 all could be said to have been the best available at the time that just happened to be a mid.

3 that were not taken through the draft, and a father/son that went at 40.

Even Mitchell was the 5th pick Hawthorn had in that draft.

Chris Judd - #3 Priority pick (2001)
Ben Cousins - Not drafted (old F/S selection) (1995)
Daniel Kerr - #18 - (2000)

Jason Akermanis - Not drafted (Zone selection) (1994)
Michael Voss - Not drafted (Can't find how he got onto list) (1991?)
Nigel Lappin - #2 (1993)

Jimmy Bartel - #8 (2001)
Joel Selwood - #7 (2006)
Gary Ablett - #40 (F/S selection)

Sam Mitchell - #36 (Hawthorn's 5th pick in the draft)
Luke Hodge - #1 Priority pick (2001)
Jordan Lewis - #7 (2004)

A tagger. Cool it please Good lord :) :)

Its the way he will get a gig in the Mid

Who tackles better than him in the side?

Can go with the best on pace?

He doesnt get leather poisoning and doesnt look like he will, reckon he will play somewhat as a tagger depending on the opposition in the mid otherwise a flanker or wingman

I'm not sure that they refute the argument to take the best available. There's a #1, #2, #3, #7, #7, #8 all could be said to have been the best available at the time that just happened to be a mid.

3 that were not taken through the draft, and a father/son that went at 40.

Even Mitchell was the 5th pick Hawthorn had in that draft.

Chris Judd - #3 Priority pick (2001)
Ben Cousins - Not drafted (old F/S selection) (1995)
Daniel Kerr - #18 - (2000)

Jason Akermanis - Not drafted (Zone selection) (1994)
Michael Voss - Not drafted (Can't find how he got onto list) (1991?)
Nigel Lappin - #2 (1993)

Jimmy Bartel - #8 (2001)
Joel Selwood - #7 (2006)
Gary Ablett - #40 (F/S selection)

Sam Mitchell - #36 (Hawthorn's 5th pick in the draft)
Luke Hodge - #1 Priority pick (2001)
Jordan Lewis - #7 (2004)

The reference to those teams was their midfield and that shoudl be our concern, history has shown that the best teams have the strongest mids, we should have been drafting to fix it for the last 3 years, we havent.

Im not, I said he will probably play some AFL footy, as I would expect a someone in the third round to do, it may take a few years to get going, Milera played last year and being a genuine first rounder he did quite well. Just saying Doedee in my opinion and what he has shown with the fact he couldnt break into the team when 95% of the first rounders did proves my theory somewhat.
Does not prove any theory wait until they get 50 games, Also could prove that some team have bigger injury lists and select these players. Or they target select for a specific spot,
No wait until 50 games.

Honestly not that keen on Taranto myself, despite his excellent recent form. He'll probably have a good career at the next level, but I'm confident both Florent and Venables will be better players long-term. Would be stoked to land either of those two, and Taranto will go top 12 anyway so it's a moot point.

I don't agree with the notion that we should take someone as "outside" as Simpkin or Bolton, Berry I don't view as a top 15 talent, and Powell-Pepper is simply no chance of being selected by us due to his poor kicking. Gallucci = yuck.

Other than Florent and Venables, the other one that I'd be a big fan of us selecting is the kid from Norwood, Alex Villis. Might be considered pretty left-field at 13 (but there's no way he's still around at 43) but I see a player with an extremely high footy IQ and some real x-factor when I watch him. The decision making is really a standout for a kid that young too. Google him if you haven't checked him out yet. I definitely think he should be added to the poll too.

Scharenberg at 43 is not out of the question. Probably more likely to be selected in the 25-40 range but you'd think we'd pounce if he did drop.
I don't get what makes you think we won't take some as outside as Simpkin or Bolton with 13, then go on to suggest taking Villis at 13? The kid is outside and light-bodied as ****. No way will he be taken by us at 13.

Alex Villis is at least as outside as both Simpkin and Bolton on what I've seen, no doubt he's a good kick both feet and makes good decisions but doesn't win enough contested footy at this stage.

I don't get what makes you think we won't take some as outside as Simpkin or Bolton with 13, then go on to suggest taking Villis at 13? The kid is outside and light-bodied as ****. No way will he be taken by us at 13.
Haha beat me to it while I was typing..

Does not prove any theory wait until they get 50 games, Also could prove that some team have bigger injury lists and select these players. Or they target select for a specific spot,
No wait until 50 games.

There is no other alternative than to wait. He may get to 50 games, but saying that it doesnt prove a lot, Mackay is on 150 but is probably equivelant to a third rounder in quality. Hampton, Menzel and Seedsman all have 50 games, I wouldnt rate any of them first rounders but I think Menzel and Hampton were actually first rounders. I may over expect from first rounders, but Tahlia, Dangerfield qualify as first rounders, jury is still out on the crouch boys but if they step it up they could be match winners. Lever is honest and solid worth his pick at this stage but cant see us concerning ourselves being reliant on the chances of the team, like if Jacobs, Walker, Tahlia, betts or Sloane went down.