2016 Non Crows AFL Discussion thread Part 2

Just imagine if he has hidden the medal away ?

He can do what he wants, he was forced to hand it back in disgrace. If he wants to bring it out and remember that fact, it's his problem. Fact is that no future medalist wants that one draped around their neck and it's hardly going on display in an AFL museum. Who gives a shit, keeping it can only bring misery and regret.

Not AFL, but what's with this idea of Christmas Day Big Bash? GAGF - who's going to attend? And how about the players and staff? In my opinion, no one should be working on Christmas or Easter unless it's a reasonably necessary activity. Typical example of commercialism being put ahead of Australian families. Kornes saying that 'someone will grab it, make it their own, and the Strikers will regret turning it down.'

"commercialism being put ahead of Australian families."

That sounds a bit █████ like

He can do what he wants, he was forced to hand it back in disgrace. If he wants to bring it out and remember that fact, it's his problem. Fact is that no future medalist wants that one draped around their neck and it's hardly going on display in an AFL museum. Who gives a shit, keeping it can only bring misery and regret.
In 10 years he'll probably flog it off on eBay for heaps....****er

Not AFL, but what's with this idea of Christmas Day Big Bash? GAGF - who's going to attend? And how about the players and staff? In my opinion, no one should be working on Christmas or Easter unless it's a reasonably necessary activity. Typical example of commercialism being put ahead of Australian families. Kornes saying that 'someone will grab it, make it their own, and the Strikers will regret turning it down.'
I'm not overtly religious but 2 days of the year set aside for reflection and family is not a lot to ask. Both days are family days for me -that said, it will probably happen and it is very much a first world problem.

Electricity going up $150 pa for households - this is something to really worry about now.

Spot price at 6am today $400 mega watt hour here - $60 interstate

The fantastic thing about Christmas is that for a fair majority of the population, Christmas means coming together with family and eating and drinking yourselves silly. But its all about being together. Its my favourite time of year simply for that reason. I understand some of the arguments that not everyone celebrates Christmas and some people have minimal family or are alone on Christmas and an event like the BBL give them something to go to. The funny thing is, a lot of people who would be celebrating Christmas with family also like cricket (so I heard) and hence some are likely to choose to take their kids to games as a present which would put a bigger strain on families to get together. This obsession of allowing people to work if they want to is also a flawed concept because well.....bosses! We also as a society have started to really over cater with events to appease the 'weekend boredom' of the monday to friday worker all at the expense of families of the hospitality and retail sectors not to mention all the extra support from police and public transport on these days. 1 or 2 days a year is not a big ask to shut up shop and have some quality time with loved ones.

The only thing that could possibly keep me engaged with family come the end of Xmas day is a mutually acceptable television show. It's an early start and a long day, by 3pm I've eaten 3 times plus grazed all day. I'm not sure how everyone else approaches Xmas day, but I'm well done by the time a big bash game is going to start. I don't watch cricket these days, so wouldn't watch anyway, but by the time it's on, it's definitely personal reflection time in front of the TV for me.

I'm not overtly religious but 2 days of the year set aside for reflection and family is not a lot to ask.
Tuesday and Wednesday are clear for me ;)

:D

Where would I get the ice for me esky if the Servo was not open?

Not sure I would want to go. But the idea of a game on TV during the evening is appealing. Although it would mean I may have to sacrifice my annual viewing of the greatest Christmas movie ever, Die Hard

Sent from my HTC_0P6B6 using Tapatalk

if only hey, it deserves to be on record forever.

on a lighter note, a couple of Port fans bumped this on my newsfeed this morning

M4uOn0i.jpg

I said the same thing a month ago. Ring his manager and put the offer on the table. It gives Heeney and his manager an idea of his market, which he can now take to Sydney to match or walk away.

North doing exactly what I would do, but reading between the lines they must have been knocked back, otherwise it would still be hush hush.

I said the same thing a month ago. Ring his manager and put the offer on the table. It gives Heeney and his manager an idea of his market, which he can now take to Sydney to match or walk away.

North doing exactly what I would do, but reading between the lines they must have been knocked back, otherwise it would still be hush hush.

It's not that simple, you then have to be able to do the trade.

You still make the phone call first, see if there is interest.

Then worry about the trade. You don't not make a phone call because you are worried about the trade.

You still make the phone call first, see if there is interest.

Then worry about the trade. You don't not make a phone call because you are worried about the trade.

You have to give up a lot for a contracted teenager you are offering $1mil per season, I think you do work out if you could even get the deal done before you start contract talks. You don't want to spend a year with $1mil/year of your cap reserved in case the deal goes ahead if it's not going to go through.

If you've made a $1mil offer to Heeney, you can't use that money on anyone else while you wait for him to make up his mind and he could spend the entire season stringing you on.

You have to give up a lot for a contracted teenager you are offering $1mil per season, I think you do work out if you could even get the deal done before you start contract talks. You don't want to spend a year with $1mil/year of your cap reserved in case the deal goes ahead if it's not going to go through.

If you've made a $1mil offer to Heeney, you can't use that money on anyone else while you wait for him to make up his mind and he could spend the entire season stringing you on.

I would have thought that you'd get loose agreement from the player on moving to our club and contract value before you go enquiring with his current club as to what they'd expect at the trade table.

You wouldn't need to go to the club, you would know Sydney are not going to let go of someone like Heeney for less than 2 top 10 picks, so you would first look to see if you would even be able to find 2 top 10 picks before you made any offers to Heeney. Top 10 picks aren't easy to get, let alone two.

Why bother if you don't even know if the player has the faintest desire to leave their current club or preparedness to move to Adelaide. You reckon Sydney came to us to confirm 23 and White was enough before coming to agreement with clan Tippett?

You weren't paying attention to the Tippett saga were you?

Tippett's manager was very good mates with Andrew Ireland, they worked together at the Lions. Tippett's manager went to Ireland and told him there was a secret clause in his contract that meant we would have to trade him for a second rounder.

So yes, they knew exactly the likely cost before they proceeded to make offers.

You weren't paying attention to the Tippett saga were you?

Tippett's manager was very good mates with Andrew Ireland, they worked together at the Lions. Tippett's manager went to Ireland and told him there was a secret clause in his contract that meant we would have to trade him for a second rounder.

So yes, they knew exactly the likely cost before they proceeded to make offers.
did this happen before or after Tippett decided he wanted to move to Sydney?