2016 Non Crows AFL Discussion thread Part 2

The worst part for Port is they're going to play against the team wearing China's national colours, who represent a much more saleable location in Australia.

I reckon in 3 years no one in China will remember who the Gold Coast played.
Supposedly Kochie has asked that GC wear their white away guernsey at their home game to avoid this.

If our leaders, who massively under performed last year, I agree, step up I believe we have as much chance as you.
From what I understand Boak ''stood up'' last year. He went in hard I heard.

Rightly Tony Cochrane has so far refused.

Kochie will just run crying to the AFL like a little brother who wants to play with your toys. "MUUUUUUMMMM!!!!!!!!... I MEAN GILLION!!!!, GOLD COAST WON'T WEAR THEIR AWAY GUERNSEY! YOU SAID IT COULD BE OUR HOME GAME IF I GOT GOOD GRADES, BUT ALL THE CHINESE PEOPLE ARE GOING TO THINK IT'S THEIR HOME GAME AND THEY ARE GOING TO CHEER FOR THEM AND NOT KOCHIE, I MEAN PORT"

Bogan One Club: A Port Adelaide story
Want a laugh. I couldn't believe it. Someone is surely taking the pi.. From SEEK

Finance Manager

14 Dec 2016
  • Salary:
    $100,000 - $119,999
Established in 1870, the Port Adelaide Football Club is one of Australia's leading sporting organisations with a proud, successful history in both the AFL and SANFL competitions.

Reporting to the Chief Financial Officer, this role is a unique and exciting opportunity for a self-motivated and hands on professional with strong systems and accounting skills. The Finance Manager is responsible for the preparation and analysis of key financial and commercial information for the business. Responsible for managing the accounts payable, receivable and Senior Accountant roles and business partnering with key stakeholders throughout the organisation to manage the annual budgeting process, monthly management reports, month end reporting and forecasting process for Port Adelaide Football Club and associated entities.

I compare what the Power are doing in China, with what the Hawks did in Tasmania. I can't find too many positives on the teal side ... anyone?

You'd think poor little Tassie wouldn't hold a candle to the great nation of China in terms of wins in a business deal ... but it shows how confused people can get by the big headline.

This could end really really badly for the Power, at best it might just end. I'm not saying it won't have positives - it surely will - but I can't see why Power supporters would be pleased with it, beyond the chance to take the family on a footy trip overseas? I cannot see it helping the Power win games, or be a better team for 2017 (and beyond).

I compare what the Power are doing in China, with what the Hawks did in Tasmania. I can't find too many positives on the teal side ... anyone?

You'd think poor little Tassie wouldn't hold a candle to the great nation of China in terms of wins in a business deal ... but it shows how confused people can get by the big headline.

This could end really really badly for the Power, at best it might just end. I'm not saying it won't have positives - it surely will - but I can't see why Power supporters would be pleased with it, beyond the chance to take the family on a footy trip overseas? I cannot see it helping the Power win games, or be a better team for 2017 (and beyond).

Port are trying to snare a long term sponsorship out of this deal. Thats really what its about. When it comes to Asian businessman you really have to be seen to be doing things a certain way and there way.

From what I understand Boak ''stood up'' last year. He went in hard I heard.
I don't have too much an issue with Boak as captain.

My only problem with that is venereal disease, which is disabilitating right, especially for a footballer.

And it’s irresponsible to the rest of your squad as well. Alright, you’ve been under attack all game, there’s a player down, he’s wounded, gangrene’s setting in, ‘who’s used all the penicillin?’ ‘Oh, Travis Boak sir, he’s got knobrot off some tart.’"

Kochie will just run crying to the AFL like a little brother who wants to play with your toys. "MUUUUUUMMMM!!!!!!!!... I MEAN GILLION!!!!, GOLD COAST WON'T WEAR THEIR AWAY GUERNSEY! YOU SAID IT COULD BE OUR HOME GAME IF I GOT GOOD GRADES, BUT ALL THE CHINESE PEOPLE ARE GOING TO THINK IT'S THEIR HOME GAME AND THEY ARE GOING TO CHEER FOR THEM AND NOT KOCHIE, I MEAN PORT"
For some reason while reading this post I could hear it in my head in Eric Cartmans voice. Sounds straight out of Southpark.

Port are trying to snare a long term sponsorship out of this deal. Thats really what its about. When it comes to Asian businessman you really have to be seen to be doing things a certain way and there way.
Absolutely, I lived in Malaysia for 12 months managing part of a country club owned by a Chinese run company ... I understand the plan. I just don't see the risk /reward coming out in the Powers favour.

This is Jiangwan Stadium, where AFL minnows powerhouses Port Adelaide and Gold Coast will play out the much-hyped first AFL game outside of the southern hemisphere. Dinky-dye 1930s Art Deco architecture. Capacity 25,000 (what's the bet that they'll still need tarps?)
shanghai_jiangwan2.jpg

The good news for most of us is that many of them would only be able to afford a one way ticket.

This is Jiangwan Stadium, where AFL minnows powerhouses Port Adelaide and Gold Coast will play out the much-hyped first AFL game outside of the southern hemisphere. Dinky-dye 1930s Art Deco architecture. Capacity 25,000 (what's the bet that they'll still need tarps?)
shanghai_jiangwan2.jpg

anigif_enhanced-20596-1390938661-11.gif

I think it's a pretty nice stadium, history wise - but seems so illsuited to an AFL match I'd be surprised if Port supporters would be stoked about having their team play there.

I would think the stadium would be the last thing on their minds. Destination China, Tribal affiliation and an opportunity to march on the world stage would be front and centre.

While I disagree with the commentary about financial juggernaut and money for nothing, I would love to be a Crows supporter in a destination like that.

shanghai_jiangwan2.jpg
Looks like the zeppelin field in Nuremberg. Heil kochie.