List Mgmt. 2016 Trade Thread

Not sure I like the idea of Salem out the door.
Essendon must think we're right into Hurley if they are even entertaining talking to Salem as he most certainly won't be involved in the Hibberd deal.
Exactly. Are people forgetting he was a top 10 pick? He has also shown plenty. I'd take Salem over Hibberd every day of the week.

Exactly, shown plenty even whilst dealing with the thyroid issues. He'll be part of a team potentially going places, Hibberd will be retired in a few years when we'll hopefully be peaking as a team.

Yep, think it will be our 1st pick (2nd rounder) for Hibberd this trade period. Maybe some other movement with players outside our best 22. Really need more football smarts/leadership with our back 6. Love a H Shaw/Hodge/Laird quarterback role type player there. Hurley maybe. Expect our current crop of players will be competive (7 to 12 position on ladder). Have to back in our developtment/improvement from our current younger players to be a top 4 team.

Salem wont be going anywhere, 2nd rounder will get Hibberd and I really dont think we will be getting Hurley unless we are sure that T.McDonald is on his was to Sydney.

Correct
Exactly, shown plenty even whilst dealing with the thyroid issues. He'll be part of a team potentially going places, Hibberd will be retired in a few years when we'll hopefully be peaking as a team.
Correct

Is Tom McDonald likely to leave at seasons end?

I like the idea of giving Methendon nothing. Let him walk as a delisted free agent and if the Arse Clowns at whiny hill behave that can have my left over kebab from last weeks bender. They better hurry thou, the bin gets collected soon. Because once the garbo comes the deal is off the table. Tick tock Adrian Diadororodororodo!

Hibberd's old man said he'd stay on FB today apparently

Is anyone else concerned by the length of contracts we're offering players?

I'm a bit skeptical about the length of the contract to Hibberd. 4 years is a lot. Remember we gave Lumumba a 3(+1) year deal and he's barely going to make it to 2 at the rate he's going.

Furthermore Garland is contracted until 2018 despite not being first team, while we still have 3 more years of Melkshakes and for what reason I don't know.

At the end of 2014 Terlich signed a 2 year deal and hasn't played a single game under that new contract, and Jay Kennedy-Harris who looks light years off the first team is signed for another year.

I want Prestia more than any other player to be honest. Hurley would be great but I can't see it happening. Prestia is a hard-ready inside mid (yes we have lots of) but he's also a great leader and clubman, a heart and soul player.

Hibberd's old man said he'd stay on FB today apparently
Saw it yesterday (unless he's said more). Is interesting though. I don't buy either saying he's gone or staying until something happens

The more I think about it, the more we should chase Rory Lobb from the Giants. 205cm contested marking machine who plays that perfect mix of 75% forward and 25% ruck.

Still only 23, and out of contract in 2017. Giants will obviously be keen to keep him, but they've got to shed some players with their list size reducing and their salary cap issues.

I'd be willing to throw some fairly sizeable coin at him to get him to the Dees.

EDIT - got his contract status wrong. Not OOC until end of 17. Damn.

The more I think about it, the more we should chase Rory Lobb from the Giants. 205cm contested marking machine who plays that perfect mix of 75% forward and 25% ruck.

Still only 23, and out of contract. Giants will obviously be keen to keep him, but they've got to shed some players with their list size reducing and their salary cap issues.

I'd be willing to throw some fairly sizeable coin at him to get him to the Dees.
I didn't know who he was when he nearly won the game for them in Round 1.
He's a ripper.
WA boy also I think??

Still only 23, and out of contract. Giants will obviously be keen to keep him, but they've got to shed some players with their list size reducing and their salary cap issues.

Yeah would love him!

We'd need to throw him some serious coin, and it'd likely take our 1st next year to get him ... I think it'd be worth it tho.

Yeah would love him!

We'd need to throw him some serious coin, and it'd likely take our 1st next year to get him ... I think it'd be worth it tho.

The beauty with the Giants is, they need points for their academy kids - so we could possibly make it happen with two second rounders as opposed to a first (if they add up to more value than the first).

Plus we have a good trading relationship with them.

Make it happen Roosy/Goody!

He's out of contract?

Stuff Hurley and Hibberd, GET HIM

The beauty with the Giants is, they need points for their academy kids - so we could possibly make it happen with two second rounders as opposed to a first (if they add up to more value than the first).

Plus we have a good trading relationship with them.

Make it happen Roosy/Goody!

They don't need points - I think they have two or three first rounders already plus additional seconds and thirds.
Also, we'd be looking at Top 5 pick value for Lobb.
What I think we could look at, is trading next years first for one of their top 10 picks this year. GWS will always be looking to offload extra points in the current year for banked points the following. I think our reasoning will always be a kid now is better than a kid in 12 months.

GC is the same this year (they have more than enough points already, plus whatever they get for Prestia).

Since we traded up with them last year, we'd have to be candidates again this year.

Rory would be a key 'keep' player for the Giants. Cam McCarthy is gone and I reckon they'd be more willing to get rid of Patton before Lobb.

Is anyone else concerned by the length of contracts we're offering players?

I'm a bit skeptical about the length of the contract to Hibberd. 4 years is a lot. Remember we gave Lumumba a 3(+1) year deal and he's barely going to make it to 2 at the rate he's going.

Furthermore Garland is contracted until 2018 despite not being first team, while we still have 3 more years of Melkshakes and for what reason I don't know.

At the end of 2014 Terlich signed a 2 year deal and hasn't played a single game under that new contract, and Jay Kennedy-Harris who looks light years off the first team is signed for another year.

I want Prestia more than any other player to be honest. Hurley would be great but I can't see it happening. Prestia is a hard-ready inside mid (yes we have lots of) but he's also a great leader and clubman, a heart and soul player.
with free agency and player movement being more common you really need to offer these types of deals to players to get them and/or keep them.