In a couple years Gibbs will probably leave and his value will be less then. So maybe we should trade him now, assuming we get a first rounder. Are we keeping him just because we need his midfield experience during a rebuild phase?

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
The Freo/GWS trade reflects that GWS were set to delist McCarthy.Before you rule out any potential trade best you look at some of the craziness that took place last year re OMeara and Taranto.
Saints and Freo were laughing - at their own good luck!!!
He will generate band 1 comp when he leaves, so why would we accept anything less?In a couple years Gibbs will probably leave and his value will be less then. So maybe we should trade him now, assuming we get a first rounder. Are we keeping him just because we need his midfield experience during a rebuild phase?
There's always one that will stick their neck out.
Stringer is a top 10 talent without question and there will be some romantic who will take the chance on getting him back to his best...........just not us.
I reckon Gibbs will only get band 2, which would mean we are trading 2 years of Gibbs for end of second round pick (Could be pick 40). No DealHe will generate band 1 comp when he leaves, so why would we accept anything less?
I reckon Gibbs will only get band 2, which would mean we are trading 2 years of Gibbs for end of second round pick (Could be pick 40). No Deal
We were in a worse position end of 2015The only decent players I can think of that look to be in their next period of dominance are Brown, McDonald and Atley. Maybe Cunnington and Ziebell but they don't strike me as threatening players when you compare them to other teams and their stars.
Not a chance any club will give up a top 10 pick. These days too valuable. Only happens for top end talent who are driven and are quality individuals. Way too risky
Stringer is talented but apparently lazy and doesn't do things anywhere near afl standard.. Combined with Hamstring injuries it's way too risky especially for a medium forward who Beveridge has had enough of
Club may risk a pick 15-20 but no way will a top 10 happen.
No chance? Can't see one of the bottom clubs chasing him and that may take away the opportunity for a top ten pick, but someone will reach for one reason or another.
Maybe it could be North who are desperate to do something.
We were in a worse position end of 2015
No he wont. We will get the too old line we got for Waite and get nothing.The Freo/GWS trade reflects that GWS were set to delist McCarthy.
The Hawthorn/Saints trade was definitely nuts, and you can guarantee Hawthorn will block, stymie and compete for every move the Saints make for a while out of spite.
He will generate band 1 comp when he leaves, so why would we accept anything less?
Why aren't we chasing rookie-listed Sam Murray?Couple of players for the swans that we might look at.James Rose and Daniel Robinson.Both play that mid-forward type role.
He will generate band 1 comp when he leaves, so why would we accept anything less?
I'm probably wrong, but isn't band 2 a pick directly after your second round pick?I reckon Gibbs will only get band 2, which would mean we are trading 2 years of Gibbs for end of second round pick (Could be pick 40). No Deal
I'm probably wrong, but isn't band 2 a pick directly after your second round pick?
I had a long chat with my Blues supporting mate down in Tassie yesterday and I made the suggestion that after this first week of finals, I'm expecting most clubs to trade harder this year than they ever have.
The rationale behind that belief is that the losing finals teams got really belted and therefore will be looking to adjust their list accordingly. Even though Port lost narrowly, they still have some areas that need improving, their midfield would certainly benefit from a Gibbs type of player.
I'm certain this won't necessarily affect the overall value of any of our players (ie. radically increase) who will be leaving but it does make me think that SOS will be pushing hard to find homes for few of the fringe players instead of purely delisting them. I can see a club or two prepared to give Buckley, Graham & Boekhorst a second chance in the belief that they can get more out of them than we did.
The mooted limitation on this upcoming draft pool may also have a direct influence on this line of thinking.
Band 2 is end of first round.I reckon Gibbs will only get band 2, which would mean we are trading 2 years of Gibbs for end of second round pick (Could be pick 40). No Deal
No he wont. We will get the too old line we got for Waite and get nothing.
On SM-N920I using BigFooty.com mobile app
Don't agree guys, and on a 4+ year deal at $700+k, he's a band 1 probability, and a band 2 certainty. He'll also be 30, not 32.Sorry Jimster, ZERO chance Gibbs generates band 1 compo at end of 2019.
#1) I'm not even sure his contract ($ AND length) will be in the top 5% league wide
#2) Even if it is, his age will rule him out. Will have played 12 years of AFL football by that point.; 4 years beyond RFA min, 2 years past UFA. Will rule against him, like the Waite contract. Will still generate compo (assuming compo is still in place) but it will be diluted.
Lol, zero chance of band 1.Don't agree guys, and on a 4+ year deal at $700+k, he's a band 1 probability, and a band 2 certainty. He'll also be 30, not 32.
Nothing Adelaide has proposed to this point has trumped that, so why would we take that value early, and in a draft that doesn't offer quality talent for the 10-25 range?
I think the contract will have more of a say than his age.Lol, zero chance of band 1.
No one is giving a Top 10 pick for Stringer
thanks so much for reminding me. 10 years of therapy up in smoke.
I think the contract will have more of a say than his age.