Game Day 2017 National Draft

The OP for our new picks must be accurate and informative. Who should do it?

• Anyone

Votes: 39 35.5%
  • Wait for TD

Votes: 71 64.5%

Can we use the pick as currency for F&S bids even if we don't have a list spot?

A clubs draft selections on draft night are limited to the number of list spots they have available entering the draft. AFAIK we have 4 senior list spots free so can only take 6, 38, 56 and 61 to the draft.

Ok so 4 picks in the national draft. Would Cox be one or does he just get elevated again?

How many can we take in the rookie draft?

Yup...he seems to have a lot of improving to do..what really amuses me is the contrast between the love shown here for Callum last year and the almost lack of time spent pondering Tyler. I guess as someone said the sentimental vote is all tapped out this year...

Callum was getting 30 odd posies when in the midfield and kicking goals when forward as small fwd. Tyler for the 1st half of the year was struggling to get a kick and slowly improved to be draft relevant.
That might explain why the expectations have tempered. Tyler as package/athlete certainly has Callum covered, not sure about his playing ability as I haven't seen enough of him. So really the club hopefully will make the right choice for where he is bid on and not let too much sentimentality get in the way like if he is bid on at 38.

Ok my mail today is that I think the following will happen;
1 - Rayner
2 - LDU
3 - Dow
4 - Brayshaw
5 - onwards not sure but Freo likely take Cerra

Also seems likely that Fogarty and Stephenson will slide. I know 2 clubs have put a line through Stephenson. The knock on Fogarty is what role will he play. Not a great runner so midfield is out.

Chance LDU slides as there is a feeling that whilst best is v good the difference between best and worst is reasonable. If he doesn't get #2 then he could be at #4 or 5.

Liam Ryan very unlikely to not get taken by WCE. Clubs aren't 100% sure on his ability / want to stay interstate.

Lach Fogarty may go pick 11, more likely if Bonar gone.

Will update the phantom shortly as well as some other moves i might make based on some of the feedback thats changed my view on a few.

Brisbane going to take the risk on Rayner, even though they are aware he will want to come home in 2 years?

I believe this isn't the first time they have taken a player they knew was a flight risk and then they whinge when it comes to fruition..like shock ****ing horror.

Also I reckon D.Fogarty will improve his running game if he drops a couple kgs, the previous year he had better endurance before his growth spurt (up and broadness).

Ok so 4 picks in the national draft. Would Cox be one or does he just get elevated again?

How many can we take in the rookie draft?

He isn’t included. Rookie elevations are no longer done on draft night.

We currently have 36 on the senior list (inclusive of Cox and Thomas) and 1 rookie as per the club site. Which means 4 rookie picks two of which will be Oxley and Ramma, IMO.

The only curveball in all of this is if Thomas is not being elevated to the senior list, but all signs point to him being elevated.

Ok my mail today is that I think the following will happen;
1 - Rayner
2 - LDU
3 - Dow
4 - Brayshaw
5 - onwards not sure but Freo likely take Cerra

Also seems likely that Fogarty and Stephenson will slide. I know 2 clubs have put a line through Stephenson. The knock on Fogarty is what role will he play. Not a great runner so midfield is out.

Chance LDU slides as there is a feeling that whilst best is v good the difference between best and worst is reasonable. If he doesn't get #2 then he could be at #4 or 5.

Liam Ryan very unlikely to not get taken by WCE. Clubs aren't 100% sure on his ability / want to stay interstate.

Lach Fogarty may go pick 11, more likely if Bonar gone.

Will update the phantom shortly as well as some other moves i might make based on some of the feedback thats changed my view on a few.

The knock is what role he will play regarding Fogarty?

If that's the reason he slides then recruiters need to be sacked.

I'd love to know what Jarryd Roughead ran in his time trial and whether anyone envisaged he could have stints on ball.

If he's sliding because "he's not a great runner" that's the most ridiculous thing I've heard.

He isn’t included. Rookie elevations are no longer done on draft night.

We currently have 36 on the senior list (inclusive of Cox and Thomas) and 1 rookie as per the club site. Which means 4 rookie picks two of which will be Oxley and Ramma, IMO.
I'm getting 2 rookies (one of which will be Oxley if he isn't picked up by a QLD team)

Sen
Maynard Dunn Scharenberg
Langdon Howe Goldsack

Grundy Pendlebury Adams
Hoskin Sidebottom Treloar

Wells Reid De Goey
Elliott Moore Fasolo

Res
Smith McLarty Crisp
Varcoe Crocker Aish

Wills Broomhead Phillips
Sier Greenwood Thomas*

Blair Mayne Brown
Kirby Cox* Daicos

Lynch*

On: Murray 6 38 56 Brown Rookie* Rookie*

It looks to me like they are going with a 40/4 list

Upgrade Cox, leave JT on rookie list with Lynch and add 2 rookies from the draft

Can we use the pick as currency for F&S bids even if we don't have a list spot?

As I understand it they changed the rules so that only live picks and their respective points value are usable on matching F/S and academy player bids. Done to stop teams loading up on late picks which enabled them to match bids by cobbling non-live late pick points together to match and retain their earlier picks for use in the draft. Now clubs need to decide a F/S's worth relative to who else they may consider at that pick.

Pick 70 isn't currently live but it could be depending upon what they opt to do with Thomas (senior [4 senior list spots] or rookie list [5 senior list spots, pick 70 live]) or if they decide to delist another player like Blair or Smith.

Boy oh boy... this thread is gonna look really lame if Tyler turns into a better player than Callum in a couple of years... after the hysteria last year over Callum the almost total disdain for Tyler is curious... why is this ?

Disdain for Tyler? fair dinkum bit of over compensation there.

People just want the club to take him where they deem him worth compared to X players in that range of pick, not be pressured into overspending on really an Unknown quality. Think with the head not the heart is the call, if they take him at 38 then I guess they rate him around the mark even though us mugs probably will raise an eyebrow or 2.

If his name was Joe Bloggs instead of the son of Brown how keen would you be to take him at 38?

As I understand it they changed the rules so that only live picks and their respective points value are usable on matching F/S and academy player bids. Done to stop teams loading up on late picks which enabled them to match bids by cobbling non-live late pick points together to match and retain their earlier picks for use in the draft. Now clubs need to decide a F/S's worth relative to who else they may consider at that pick.

Pick 70 isn't currently live but it could be depending upon what they opt to do with Thomas (senior [4 senior list spots] or rookie list [5 senior list spots, pick 70 live]) or if they decide to delist another player like Blair or Smith.

Oh did they? didn't see that rule change, makes sense.

Does anyone know if the draft will be broadcast on the AFL Live App or is this exclusively Foxtel?

Foxtel and SEN be the best way to follow it. Also AFL.com.au normally have Tracker

Hadn't updated this for a while. Can't say I'll be able to take it much further unless one of these people have an updated power rankings (not phantom) that I haven't noticed.

View attachment 438861

I'd have to say if I had to rate the top 20 it would go very close to that order. Even though I know clubs will have different top 20. Naughton for mine is around the 12-15th type selection but he will likely go to us or freo @ 5 or 6.

The knock is what role he will play regarding Fogarty?

If that's the reason he slides then recruiters need to be sacked.

I'd love to know what Jarryd Roughead ran in his time trial and whether anyone envisaged he could have stints on ball.

If he's sliding because "he's not a great runner" that's the most ridiculous thing I've heard.

Yep a quality development team will have him strip some muscle back and that alone will improve his tank when he isn't carrying around such a heavy body before he is ready, slowly build him back up over 3-5 years while maintaining his endurance.

Last year the tracker made a mistake...had a player coming to us...who actually went to Freo I think.

That was during the Rookie Draft. Stuffed up our Pick of Lynch

I actually loved Daicos Highlights and the full games i saw of him pre draft. You could see the way he moved, used the footy and decision making that he had all the attributes to transfer into a classy player, hence my pre draft Alan Didak like comments.

Brown jnr mk2 looks much more average joe in comparison.

It probably comes down to which attributes most impress the individual. In the highlights I saw, I loved Brown's ability to hit a contest, take it cleanly whilst spinning to get in the clear. It's a move he did a fair few times and reeks of poise, awareness and skill.

Disdain for Tyler? fair dinkum bit of over compensation there.

People just want the club to take him where they deem him worth compared to X players in that range of pick, not be pressured into overspending on really an Unknown quality. Think with the head not the heart is the call, if they take him at 38 then I guess they rate him around the mark even though us mugs probably will raise an eyebrow or 2.

If his name was Joe Bloggs instead of the son of Brown how keen would you be to take him at 38?
If someone values him before pick 38 that’s his worth, only worth what someone is willing to give up. We may not be prepared to offer that, so not worth that to us.

I'm getting 2 rookies (one of which will be Oxley if he isn't picked up by a QLD team)

Sen
Maynard Dunn Goldsack
Langdon Howe Crisp

Grundy Pendlebury Adams
Hoskin Sidebottom Treloar

Wells Reid De Goey
Elliott Moore Fasolo

Res
Smith McLarty Scharenberg
Varcoe Crocker Aish

Wills Broomhead Phillips
Sier Greenwood Thomas*

Blair Mayne Brown
Kirby Cox* Daicos

Lynch*

On: Murray 6 38 56 Brown Rookie* Rookie*

It looks to me like they are going with a 40/4 list

Upgrade Cox, leave JT on rookie list with Lynch and add 2 rookies from the draft

I'm assuming that most teams will go with 40/4. With changes to the rookie list. No need to leave senior list spots open. The only reason to go 39/5 - is if your rookie list is if your rookie list is full and there is a guy you want to add but don't want to give him a 2 year contract.

Or for Salary Cap reasons. Could be wrong but I'm pretty sure running 38/6 would be cheaper.

I've spent too long thinking about pick 6 that I don't have much of an idea about the players available from 25 onwards. Then again I'm not sure how much time I want to put in researching those players given the last two drafts Hine went for players I didn't have a clue about in that region (Sier and McLarty).