Apex36
Hall of Famer
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Collingwood
What can I say, I’m an arse man.What?

LIVE: Geelong v Gold Coast - Rd 14 - 7:40PM Fri
Squiggle tips Cats at 78% chance -- What's your tip? -- Injury Lists » -- All Rd 14 Games
What can I say, I’m an arse man.What?
Make sure you actually edit the OP instead of just making another post and there will be no problem.I am happy to do that. There be a Proper OP by end of the Night![]()
Fogarty
Balta
Butts
Brown
That’s my wet dream draft right there.
LolAbsolutely freakin awesome!
Throughout the years of watching Ball play for us, every time he did something good, myself and mate I go to games with would scream out “Thanks Ross” after the shenanigans that year. From memory after giving up pick 14 for Mr Block we offered both pick 29 and either Goldsack or Wellinngham and Ross decided to make a statement which ended up backfiring in the most amazing way
If the rumours are true that balta is the slider and there at 38, l reckon he is worth the risk on talent alone
At 38 i'd be happy with any of Harry Petty, Sam Taylor, Butts, Toby Wooller and Noah Balta. You think they'll all be gone by 38? Personally i'd risk it. Best available at 6.
Do you see much difference between Fogarty and Bonar
Absolutely freakin awesome!
Throughout the years of watching Ball play for us, every time he did something good, myself and mate I go to games with would scream out “Thanks Ross” after the shenanigans that year. From memory after giving up pick 14 for Mr Block we offered both pick 29 and either Goldsack or Wellinngham and Ross decided to make a statement which ended up backfiring in the most amazing way
Punt on Balta myself.Yeah you wouldn't blink......but what would you do if a bid came for Brown around the same time (say 3 picks earlier). Would you match or punt that Balta gets to you?
Quicky
Saintly Viewed
Pie 4 Life
Is Keitel a realistic chance to get picked up?I think Petty and taylor will. Mail is pretty loud they go in the 20's and with Cats, Swans, Richmond, Suns, North and Saints all looking for one then you would think thats the case.
I would think Balta slides but its interesting had a chat with some a few weeks ago who would have a good view and he was of the view he would slide bc the gap between best and worst to great. Same issue as LDU.... Having said that would be staggered if he got there.
Wooller could bc for all the talk about him (and I am a big fan so probably helped fan it) some of his speed testing worries. His work rate is great but he cant get separation then you worry. I think he will be there. McCartin and Ross will probably impact his draft range to.
Butts I think will go higher than where I had him but i think he is there at 38.
Dont rule out Clavarino, Miller, Mclean, Keitel either at some stage.

Yeah you wouldn't blink......but what would you do if a bid came for Brown around the same time (say 3 picks earlier). Would you match or punt that Balta gets to you?
Quicky
Saintly Viewed
Pie 4 Life
Dave, we will be live tweeting each pick on the night and linking a profile of that player to the pick. So if you keep track on twitter you can click on the link and copy and paste the profile in the OP if you like.
Assuming he wins the voteThanks Mate. That be a Good Idea

Dave, I think most people will be happy if you write "More to come" and then instantly edit your thread to include links like the one Pie 4 Life mentioned above.Thanks Mate. That be a Good Idea
That’s a interesting one, but l would go with the one with more talent and upside. That’s from what l have read is balta, though the younger brown is starting to look promising.Yeah you wouldn't blink......but what would you do if a bid came for Brown around the same time (say 3 picks earlier). Would you match or punt that Balta gets to you?
Quicky
Saintly Viewed
Pie 4 Life
Hine rates what you can do on the big stage and Bonar did that.Yeah massive.
One will end up a mid and play a bit like Bonempelli and the other I think will end up like Stringer.
Fogarty has rag dolled players to date and clubs question him on going to the next level. they also worry about his running capacity. Whilst he played great junior footy at inside mid i have my doubts on taking that to AFL level ala Stringer. That's not a bad thing it just means thats what you are recruiting is a third tall who can play either end....and different people have a view on which end. Hence North looking at him. I think there interest has been as a defender and I suspect that is Collingwood's to.
Bonar is a high end mid in the making.....just got to punt that the knees are ok. For all the Selwood stories there are plenty of busts. But he has explosiveness that just makes you go wow. As good as that GF day performance was though his best and worst late in year was massive.
Dave, I think most people will be happy if you write "More to come" and then instantly edit your thread to include links like the one Pie 4 Life mentioned above.
The thing that annoys most people is that you write more to come and then 3 years later it still says the same thing.
Top 10 picks 2001-2016
Team - Ave Gms per pick
Geelong 184.40
St Kilda 146.60
Sydney 146.30
West Coast 146.00
Hawthorn 144.37
Richmond 128.11
Port Adelaide 115.87
Collingwood 115.66
Kangaroos 110.00
Carlton 108.81
Bulldogs 107.63
Essendon 79.50
Brisbane 62.36
Melbourne 60.61
Fremantle 54.71
Gold Coast 45.38
Adelaide 42.50
GWS Giants 36.52
*Saints dead unlucky by that, only club without a flag in the top 8
Freeman and Schaz would have murdered our average, probably up with the elite clubs without that
Can't be that meaningless, all the premiership winners are at the top, in fact switch Aints and Dogs and it's spot onThis is pretty meaningless. If you have had a fair few top 10 picks in the last few years, it's going to considerably lower your average, regardless of how good the selection, because the players involved won't have had enough years in the system to play many games. Eg. Geelong are at the top, because they haven't had a top 10 pick for eons. Thus for Geelong, you're measuring games played over a full career, whereas with other teams there averages have to be lower because many top ten picks have been in the system for less than 5 years.