2018 Rate My Team (Post JLT)

People often don't pick players they don't like and Oliver's pretty unlikable. He's already quickly gaining a reputation as a diver.

That dive when Schofield brushed his shoulder and he fell like he'd been shot was just disgraceful.

Yep flog move. Gotta cut that shit out if you wanna be remembered for your footy and not being a flog.

I reckon he will get the message. Goody was no soft ****.

Yeah really hurt his SC points for the rest of the year. Worries me heaps.

I don't think that way. I don't care about having players in my SC team I don't like. I can't stand Tom Mitchell but he was one of my first choices this year. It is how some people think though. My Dad has never picked Dustin Martin for SC just because he doesn't like him.

That is why you do not see many Collingwood players in successful SC teams.

Thanks for your thoughts.

Ya, knew def/fwd a but light on and saw the Grundy/Cox Buckley comments, sigh......so in light of that and Maynard mid and JDG playing mid then fwd in "secret" intra club match today, have made following changes:
Grundy to Lycett (meh), O'Shea to Maynard and JDG to Bilings. 230k in kitty for my mid pricers l'm watching.
View attachment 456231
Not bad. Witherden is very tempting for me. However is a touch to much risk at that price, same as Maynard.

Latest version...tear it apart!

View attachment 456255
Defense looks one premo or midpricer short. Omeara too much of a risk for me, need to have consistently fit players, same as why I won't have Sandi. If I recall correctly Greene is injured as well. Looking like a good team to work with though

Def have him as well. I mean the Melbourne one. He's a listed as a defender which is tempting me
One I have in at the moment is Morrison from Hawthorn. Defender status but training with mids and evidently playing midfield in drills. 266k but worth the punt.

That is why you do not see many Collingwood players in successful SC teams.

Confused-Jacksonville-Jaguars-fan-in-stands.gif

What does that have to do with what we were talking about?

One I have in at the moment is Morrison from Hawthorn. Defender status but training with mids and evidently playing midfield in drills. 266k but worth the punt.

There is a spot on the wing up for grabs and Clarko has been most impressed by Harry, $266k seems a little over priced only played a few games

A cheap rookie to keep an eye out on is Dylan Moore from Hawthorn, he kicked 4 goals against Richmond in AFLX practice match. Natural footballer albeit small.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

Lot of teams with Jaeger. Don't think I can go there even if he looks good during preseason.
Big Scotty2Hotty great at that price if he gets games and TOG early.
Pendles might need a sausage necklace tied around his neck so at least the dog plays with him. Touch of the forgotten man about him.

Screen Shot 2018-02-03 at 10.17.22 PM.png
Don't mind sitting on this for a while until JLT I think. 3 guys down back I think you can be pretty confident will be top 10 come seasons end. I've probably gone a bit far with the mids, pretty much have chosen the 5 guys I think will average the most for the season. Byes might be an issue so I'll look into that later. JOM is a risk and a half, but he's cheap and potentially such an awesome player, so i'll be watching him closely. Forward line is pretty strong imo, Heeney and Billings are already near the top of the tree and will only get better, Barlow is fit again and with Gaz leaving will be the leader of their midfield. As a forward who we know has the potential to average 100+, he's a decent shout. Petracca will be a SC beast, the question is what year will he arrive. Based on reports so far, it could be this one, but another to watch closely in the coming months.

I just don't get the JOM love. Same price as last year and he proved last season he's cooked. I'd rather LDU or Rayner or Brayshaw all near 200k and will play games and pocket the cash. Will they score much less?

Omeara can rack up the possessions

I'm not keen on O'Meara either and won't be starting him regardless of his preseason performance (two big scores in Rd1 and 2, then a trade in becomes a possibility) but can definitely understand the logic behind selecting him. If (and based on recent history, is a big if) he stays fit, he should at worst make 150-200k and can provide a structural advantage by starting a keeper in another position while getting a reasonable output from O'Meara. IMO selecting O'Meara won't make or break teams, unless he can pull off an Oliver/Kelly season of last year.