Game Day 2019 AFL Draft Day- RD1, RD2 + beyond

Basing my opinion on all available public info. He lacks star power, poor overhead, no damage or hurt factor. A pure extractor just like Constable. Hardly kicks it inside 50 or many goals. That’s ok for a 4th string mid you could pull out of the vfl but I expect more for a R1 pick. A pick we got for Kelly who has all those things which I called out when Kelly was drafted.

Cooper looks ok, but for a first round ..meh.

I think kemp has the tools to be a A+. His movement in traffic, lifting in the big moments abd at 192cm who is elite overhead, sub 3 sec 20m that has elite skills and can play anywhere. I know who I’d choose

So if you’ve gleamed that Stephens will only be at best a decent player, why have we drafted him? Surely Wells and co are smarter than that right? I know they’ve made mistakes like any recruiting group but come on If Kemp Or whomever is so obviously much better then surely we draft them instead? So that must mean that the club know something/s we don’t.

No6tTOr.jpg

wLQX6pc.jpg
Would love 2 of these...
Think D Williams has a bit of Stevie J about him.

Josh Worrell would be a good pick up with 26 though. We could have a spine for the future like this:
FF: SavRat,
CHF: Kreuger,
CHB: Worrell
FB: DeKoning

So if you’ve gleamed that Stephens will only be at best a decent player, why have we drafted him? Surely Wells and co are smarter than that right? I know they’ve made mistakes like any recruiting group but come on If Kemp Or whomever is so obviously much better then surely we draft them instead? So that must mean that the club know something/s we don’t.
No... How else could you explain the Lang decision.. they **** up as well. Although a few on here seem to think they know everything lol.. passing on worpel... Lol

That may be true, but how many examples do we need to come up with where Wells has been proven wrong?

Granted, it's the same for most recruiters, but he's far from the recruiting mastermind he's made out to be. The whole reason we've been trading in our team the last few years is because of the lack of talent from the 2008-2014 drafts. It's only recently that Wells has gotten back on the right track.

Name one thing that's special about him then, prove us wrong. Every A-Grade superstar has at least one (Preferably multiple) category(s) where they're absolutely elite. Whether that be Dangerfield's pace and Overhead marking and his acceleration from a contest, or Fyfe's overhead marking and giant leap. Even a guy like Joel, who's not the most blessed athletically, just has a burning desire to get to the footy first which is almost unrivalled by his peers. I don't see Stephens stand out attribute, hence why I'd put him in the B-Grade category. As stated above, that's all well and good for your 3rd or 4th string midfielder, but we're trying to replace all time greats of the game here in Joel and Danger, not 4th string midfielders. We need special and lots of it.

I am not saying he will or wont make it as an A grader or even B grader but why not wait till he has been in the system for more than 5 mins before declaring him someone who we shouldn't have drafted. Look at Stewart did anyone see him being the A grade talent he is on draft night.

Fair enough. I don't see anything special apart from his rig, clearly Wells see's something other than that. Then again, Wells seeing something isn't much to go by for the last decade.

That may be true, but how many examples do we need to come up with where Wells has been proven wrong?

Granted, it's the same for most recruiters, but he's far from the recruiting mastermind he's made out to be. The whole reason we've been trading in our team the last few years is because of the lack of talent from the 2008-2014 drafts. It's only recently that Wells has gotten back on the right track.

Here’s the thing I’m not saying you’ll be wrong but you’ve admitted to basing everything on available info which is a 2min highlight video & a few other people opinions, where’as surely there isn’t any list management group that would know more about Cooper Stephens than Geelongs, so I ask again why have we drafted him if it’s so obvious that Kemp or Robinson or whoever is so much better?

Just finished work only to get on here and read what amounts to a nuffies page LOL.
Full of.... Draft Guru's, Masters in list management, eye spotting talent scouts and just down right know it alls.
FookMeDead I've never heard so much dribble from some blokes on here that usually have great stuff to read about.
But making assumptions and in some cases outlandish claims on nothing but their own self proclaimed knighting of themselves as Lords of the AFL Draft & The Baron of all Talent Scouts. Quite frankly making themselves looking like just a Prince of Fools.

We have just acquired TWO young men. Cooper STEPHENS & Sam De KONING.
Who are Geelong Players and will be for a long time if all goes well.
Get around them instead trying to stroke your own ego's and push ya own barrow of bull crap.

Cheers & GO CATTERS

I like Cooper Stephens and am very glad we have got him.
I just think Kemp, Danger, Duncan, Cockatoo, Parfitt, Narkle looks a more impressive midfield for the next few years
Would have been happier had we chosen Kemp and then Stephens to avoid him going to Richmond
Carlton traded back to have a crack at Cooper.
Kemp won't play next year and he'll come through the VFL the year after.
Pass

Would love 2 of these...
Think D Williams has a bit of Stevie J about him.

Josh Worrell would be a good pick up with 26 though. We could have a spine for the future like this:
FF: SavRat,
CHF: Kreuger,
CHB: Worrell
FB: DeKoning

Yep Worrell expected to go just outside top 10 is still there as is Harrison who DeKoning said he was the most difficult forward he played on all year.
Wells may surprise and go another quality key player.

Just finished work only to get on here and read what amounts to a nuffies page LOL.
Full of.... Draft Guru's, Masters in list management, eye spotting talent scouts and just down right know it alls.
FookMeDead I've never heard so much dribble from some blokes on here that usually have great stuff to read about.
But making assumptions and in some cases outlandish claims on nothing but their own self proclaimed knighting of themselves as Lords of the AFL Draft & The Baron of all Talent Scouts. Quite frankly making themselves looking like just a Prince of Fools.

Get around them instead trying to stroke your own ego's and push ya own barrow of bull crap.

Cheers & GO CATTERS
I like the two selections but having watched the bloody draft and having both Kemp and Robertson available for our first and leaving them was startling.
Be funny if Robertson falls to us tomorrow though

Port most likely one of Worrell, Gould or Jones with 22. I'm actually thinking they will take Worrell.
Lions will take one of Rantall, Schoenberg or Robertson with their pick 23. They might bid on Maginness first though here. They got rid a lot of midfield depth this year, and will be looking to top up. I'm thinking Rantall here.
Crows will be looking to top up a defender first - perhaps Gould first, then best available with next selection.
Cats at 26, could still have Sharp, Robertson, Schoenberg, Taheny, D Williams.

I really think we need Sharp though on the list. He could play next season too, much like Clark did.

If we selected Cooper Stephens, and we have Constable on the list. Forget about Chirgwin, unless he's available at rookie, then maybe.

Or Rantall type selection

Don't know if it's the name but l love this kid, l think he's potentially better than Stephens, but who can read Wells?
People are saying outside run but he might not be thinking that at all.
There's talent aplenty still there that's for sure, if we nail the next two it's been a pretty good draft.
I think the DeKoning selection about right and a real need.

Im surprised that Robertson has made it this far, could be his kicking or could the go home factor, will be interesting to see how far he falls.

I like the two selections but having watched the bloody draft and having both Kemp and Robertson available for our first and leaving them was startling.
Be funny if Robertson falls to us tomorrow though

Seriously cant see the attraction in Robbo. The guy is a butcher at kicking the ball. We have had enough spuds by foot for my lifetime.
With FOG Chook and now Cooper as inside mids I can't see them targeting him.

Here’s the thing I’m not saying you’ll be wrong but you’ve admitted to basing everything on available info which is a 2min highlight video & a few other people opinions, where’as surely there isn’t any list management group that would know more about Cooper Stephens than Geelongs, so I ask again why have we drafted him if it’s so obvious that Kemp or Robinson or whoever is so much better?

I can't answer that, all I can give you is examples. Why did Wells pick Lang? What standout attribute did he have? Why Thurlow over Grundy? Why Smedts? Etc etc

We as fans have no idea why Wells does what he does, I assume he sees something in Stephens that clearly none of us can.

Seriously cant see the attraction in Robbo. The guy is a butcher at kicking the ball. We have had enough spuds by foot for my lifetime.
With FOG Chook and now Cooper as inside mids I can't see them targeting him.

I was all in for him earlier but obviously there is some deficiency that clubs are put off by, he will get drafted and be a good player though, kicking is something that can be worked on and even the worst kicks (Danger) can still be guns. Good luck to him though wherever he ends up, seems like a good lad.

Cheers & GO CATTERS

It's posts like this that crack me up. You say that a certain amount of posters are "Nuffies" or pretending to be list managers all because they post thought out opinions with facts to back said opinions up.

Here you are calling a large majority of the posters nuffies all because they don't agree with Wells' pick(s)? Just because they have a differing opinion, and not an outlandish one at that. Last time I checked this is a message board where you're allowed to state your opinion In a respectful manner, so are these posters not allowed to have differing views to Wells' in your opinion? Do we all have to bow down to the great Stephen Wells? As clearly he never gets it wrong, and clearly us armchair experts never get it right.

No one has hated on the picks from what I've seen. They've only (Including myself) disagreed and provided an informed opinion about why they would have preferred someone else, in this case Robertson and Kemp, which is a perfectly reasonable case to make.

You also say that a large majority of us are "The Prince of fools" but you fail to acknowledge the times where we're actually right, and Wells wrong or at least on par. How many here wanted Grundy over Thurlow? Or Matt Crouch over Lang? Jake Lever over Cockatoo? How about just not selecting Mitch Brown or Smedts at all? Etc etc.

If anything, the nuffie is the one who decides to just follow whatever Wells does assuming he's got it right, which clearly over the last decade he hasn't. Because if he had, we wouldn't have to top up every year and have an imbalance in our list.

The bloke gets it right, and he gets it wrong, much like the rest of us. But to blindly follow and accuse posters of being idiots just for having a differing opinion to Wells is just plain ridiculous Imo.

I would be happy with a smaller mid replacement such as Bianco and a fast outside mid as the other 2 picks. There will be a bridge with jack Steven and Joel Selwood having a few more years each. There is also the SA boys from last year. With De Koning and Krueger we have our developing talls. With Chook and Stephens we have our developing bigger bodies in the middle. So two out of Bianco, Rivers, Sharp, Williams, Schoenberg etc would really make it a solid draft with a few chances at A Grade players developing

It's posts like this that crack me up. You say that a certain amount of posters are "Nuffies" or pretending to be list managers all because they post thought out opinions with facts to back said opinions up.

Here you are calling a large majority of the posters nuffies all because they don't agree with Wells' pick(s)? Just because they have a differing opinion, and not an outlandish one at that. Last time I checked this is a message board where you're allowed to state your opinion In a respectful manner, so are these posters not allowed to have differing views to Wells' in your opinion? Do we all have to bow down to the great Stephen Wells? As clearly he never gets it wrong, and clearly us armchair experts never get it right.

No one has hated on the picks from what I've seen. They've only (Including myself) disagreed
and provided an informed opinion about why they would have preferred someone else, in this case Robertson and Kemp, which is a perfectly reasonable case to make.

You also say that a large majority of us are "The Prince of fools" but you fail to acknowledge the times where we're actually right, and Wells wrong or at least on par. How many here wanted Grundy over Thurlow? Or Matt Crouch over Lang? Jake Lever over Cockatoo? How about just not selecting Mitch Brown or Smedts at all? Etc etc.

If anything, the nuffie is the one who decides to just follow whatever Wells does assuming he's got it right, which clearly over the last decade he hasn't. Because if he had, we wouldn't have to top up every year and have an imbalance in our list.

The bloke gets it right, and he gets it wrong, much like the rest of us. But to blindly follow and accuse posters of being idiots just for having a differing opinion to Wells is just plain ridiculous Imo.

Crack me up too. Like this one.
Thought out opinions even with facts doesn't get you a job as a list manager in AFL i'm afraid.
No. Not a large majority. But plenty of entertaining reading.
Yes as i did.
Who's bowing??
Who said he does or doesn't??
Am glad u address yourself as an armchair expert, so hope u don't get offended when the term is thrown around.
hate or disagreed??? tomato tamato
Hilarious comparisons without one draft miss. Harry Hindsight congratulations.
Yep Wells and his drafting, trading & list management skills are deplorable. How we have even got ourselves in the Top 8 let alone the Top 4 over the past decade or even the last 3 years is beyond me. O wowwee that one is a doozey. Yep. A ripper!
NO. I only blindly follow the GFC.
Yep and IMO i do not.
Great to address your concerns of my post.
Don't take it personally as it's only my opinion.
So you take care and keep up the good work.
Cheers & GO CATTERS! #inwellswetrust