Game Day 2019 AFL Draft Day- RD1, RD2 + beyond

If we really had something against WA kids we wouldn't have drafted Clark last year and wouldn't have been so closely linked to Georgiades. We either don't rate Robertson for his kicking, or he's literally told clubs that he's going back to Perth at his first opportunity. Personally I think it's the former, but who knows really.

I'm going the latter,there would be clubs that believe they could amend his disposal over time being that young,but no looks so far indicates a deeper problem to me.

Wonder whats going through Robertson's mind he would of thought i am going inside the top 15 and now he could drift out to 25-30

Would even have to be doubt in his mind that he is getting drafted at all

Really feel for all those young boys having to not only go through it once but twice (stupid money grubbing AFL)
It's a pretty ordinary way to treat young people, particularly with it being played out in public.

Not saying anything but if we use the media 'sliders' and 'reachers' rule over our picks say under 40 odd. Probably better group in the sliders

So called Sliders Drafted
Joel Selwood, Charlie Constable, Nathan Vardy, Jake Kolo, Jansen, Kane Tenace

So called Reachers
Mackie, Taylor, Parfitt, Thurlow, Mitch Brown, Cocky, Lang, Krueger, Cam Guthrie, Djurkerra, Owen, Thurley

Around Media Consensus
Clark, Fogerty, Menzel, Smedts, Tom Stewert, Tim Kelly, West, D Simpson, Prismall

Wonder whats going through Robertson's mind he would of thought i am going inside the top 15 and now he could drift out to 25-30

Would even have to be doubt in his mind that he is getting drafted at all

Really feel for all those young boys having to not only go through it once but twice (stupid money grubbing AFL)
Unless as others have suggested he really emphasised the point to clubs that he's real interest was playing for WCE and that he would request a trade a first opportunity - and thus he believes he's sitting pretty until WCE get to their first selection and they call out his name

Wasn't Wingard rumoured to have said something similar to GWS - you can draft me but I'll be returning to SA at first opportunity? Or something along those lines

Not saying anything but if we use the media 'sliders' and 'reachers' rule over our picks say under 40 odd. Probably better group in the sliders

So called Sliders Drafted
Joel Selwood, Charlie Constable, Nathan Vardy, Jake Kolo, Jansen, Kane Tenace

So called Reachers
Mackie, Taylor, Parfitt, Thurlow, Mitch Brown, Cocky, Lang, Krueger, Cam Guthrie, Djurkerra, Owen, Thurley

Around Media Consensus
Clark, Fogerty, Menzel, Smedts, Tom Stewert, Tim Kelly, West, D Simpson, Prismall
Could put Kersten in the sliders

What I'm getting from this is we may as well pull them out of a hat

Unless as others have suggested he really emphasised the point to clubs that he's real interest was playing for WCE and that he would request a trade a first opportunity - and thus he believes he's sitting pretty until WCE get to their first selection and they call out his name

Wasn't Wingard rumoured to have said something similar to GWS - you can draft me but I'll be returning to SA at first opportunity? Or something along those lines
Like i said in another post if he said that he should be done for draft tampering and banned for 2 years. I doubt he did but it wouldn't surprise me if some draftees do that

I don't know why Brisbane would take Robertson considering Neale, Lyons and openly talking about Rayner and McCarthy spending more time in the midfield - still reckon Robertson is on the board at our pick (if no one moves up the order).

Matt Balmer has them taking Gould and Dev sliding to us so fingers crossed!

Berry is very good & there’s McCluggage as well, hasn’t really thought of Bris as a destination for Gould but geez thinking about it now it seems an amazing fit.

Will Day is a huge gamble for them at p12. Boom or bust.

Whoa I really disagree, Will Day will be a very good player I think his basement is a Suckling type if he can’t put the weight on & ceiling is anything if he can.

Like i said in another post if he said that he should be done for draft tampering and banned for 2 years. I doubt he did but it wouldn't surprise me if some draftees do that

Not sure any would be stupid enough to say things that bluntly, but they could maybe over play the potential home sickness, other crap and maybe even present as not the right character to clubs they aren't interested in going to

Saying He think he might have problems with leaving home being away from family is not draft tampering 😂, in fact clubs would probably enjoy his honestly because most players would lie to make sure they get drafted.

Could put Kersten in the sliders

What I'm getting from this is we may as well pull them out of a hat
and we very rarely go any sliders ever in the 8-25 category. We nearly always reach. This year the two boys would be around media consensus. Maybe a slight reach for Cooper based on pre draft hype.

That does not bode well for Robertson or Worrell.

If he told clubs he is going home asap should be done for draft tampering(unlikely he seems to responsible)

Im pretty sure that is a question they ask during interviews, they would have asked Kelly if he was ok to come and play at Geelong too. Has nothing to do with tampering, if he was honest and said no then thats perfectly fine.

Saying He think he might have problems with leaving home being away from family is not draft tampering 😂, in fact clubs would probably enjoy his honestly because most players would lie to make sure they get drafted.
Difference between saying I may struggle to adapt inter-sate to what i said which was flat out say i am going home asap

I agree honesty should be applauded as long as its not i want to play for say (WC don't draft me cause that is where ill be in two years)

If a draftee tells the club they may struggle the club can outline how they can make it easier for them.

I'd now leave the talls alone - at least until the rookie draft. I think if Robertson is there at 26 then we have to take him. Our young group of mids as you say would look very healthy - Narkle, Constable, Parfitt, Fogarty, Cockatoo, Stephens and Robertson. Not a bad group.

Personally I'd be going Robertson and Sharp/Williams if available for our last two picks. Have a feeling though we may take Sharp next.
Sharp for me, we need some quality outside players that have hurt factor. Sharp can mark overhead, has a long kick and is fast with endurance.
Don't think we should pick another inside-midfielder unless Robertson is the clear best available. Obviously Wells rates C Stephens ahead of Robertson as a midfielder, so we have to stick with it for now.
Address other areas of the ground, all these players we are looking at arguably Top 30 players, and we haven't had a draft haul of 4 players that are all Top 30 talent in a long while.
Not sure if it's already been posted, but Fox Footy has us getting Robertson with our next pick:

PICK 22: PORT ADELAIDE – JOSH WORRELL
PICK 23: BRISBANE LIONS – WILL GOULD
PICK 24: ADELAIDE CROWS – HARRISON JONES
PICK 25: ADELAIDE CROWS – HARRY SCHOENBERG
PICK 26: HAWTHORN – FINN MAGINNESS (MATCHING BID)
PICK 27: GEELONG – DEVEN ROBERTSON
PICK 28: SYDNEY SWANS – ELIJAH TAYLOR
PICK 29: PORT ADELAIDE – JACKSON MEAD (MATCHING BID)
PICK 30: NORTH MELBOURNE – TRENT BIANCO
PICK 31: NORTH MELBOURNE – JEREMY SHARP
PICK 32: MELBOURNE – HUGO RALPHSMITH
PICK 33: BRISBANE LIONS – JAY RANTALL
PICK 34: NORTH MELBOURNE – TRENT RIVERS
PICK 35: ESSENDON – CHARLIE COMBEN
PICK 36: SYDNEY SWANS – FLYNN PEREZ
PICK 37: ESSENDON – FRASER PHILLIPS
PICK 38: BRISBANE LIONS – BROCK SMITH
PICK 39: COLLINGWOOD – JAKE RICCARDI
PICK 40: GEELONG – DARCY CASSAR
PICK 41: ADELAIDE CROWS – JACK MAHONY
PICK 42: RICHMOND – CAMERON TAHENY
PICK 43: RICHMOND – DYLAN WILLIAMS
PICK 44: RICHMOND – RILEY GARCIA
PICK 45: CARLTON – NED CAHILL
PICK 46: SYDNEY SWANS – BEN JOHNSON
PICK 47: ADELAIDE CROWS – MITCH O’NEILL
PICK 48: WEST COAST EAGLES – SAM RAMSAY
PICK 49: NORTH MELBOURNE – DYSON HILDER
PICK 50: COLLINGWOOD – COOPER SHARMAN
Bidding on Maginness, I am not sure that will happen after taking C Stephens.
That Shoenberg is a good little player, if you watch him he can pick up the ball at full pace and dart around players. He has a good range on his kick, and did very well at the Champs too.
For me with Pick 26 it could be any one of: Sharp, Gould, Worrell, Shoenberg, Robertson, D Williams.
Pick 40: D Williams, C Taheny, J Riccardi, or a slider.

and we very rarely go any sliders ever in the 8-25 category. We nearly always reach. This year the two boys would be around media consensus. Maybe a slight reach for Cooper based on pre draft hype.

That does not bode well for Robertson or Worrell.

Had a coffee with a mate who plays for Port Power today, he seems to think they’ll take Worrell or another key defender with their first pick tonight.

Matt Bulmer said that he thinks it's unlikely Robertson gets to us now. He thinks a club will trade with Port for the first pick. Saying he thinks Rivers or Rantell for Bris and Adel will be Jones then one of Robertson, Schoenberg or a trade for a 1st round pick giving another club a chance to nab Robertson. He did say he thought Haw (Rantall), Rich (who chose Dow over Robbo) and Coll are the clubs that may be floating a first round pick. Not Ess who would take Robertson for sure.

I just hope we take one of Gould, Worrell or Robertson.We don't have any real immediate areas of need. Just good players. I just really hope it's Robertson. I watched that game again and his kicking was absolutely fine. Yeah not elite but no where near terrible. He just plays to his strengths. Kicks long or handballs. He is so smart. You don't see him turn it over Guthrie style with some sizzling dart across the midfield.

Incidentally thinks Sharpe will make it to 40!!

Sharp for me, we need some quality outside players that have hurt factor. Sharp can mark overhead, has a long kick and is fast with endurance.
Don't think we should pick another inside-midfielder unless Robertson is the clear best available. Obviously Wells rates C Stephens ahead of Robertson as a midfielder, so we have to stick with it for now.
Address other areas of the ground, all these players we are looking at arguably Top 30 players, and we haven't had a draft haul of 4 players that are all Top 30 talent in a long while.

Bidding on Maginness, I am not sure that will happen after taking C Stephens.
That Shoenberg is a good little player, if you watch him he can pick up the ball at full pace and dart around players. He has a good range on his kick, and did very well at the Champs too.
For me with Pick 26 it could be any one of: Sharp, Gould, Worrell, Shoenberg, Robertson, D Williams.
Pick 40: D Williams, C Taheny, J Riccardi, or a slider.

Yes, I'm pretty much in agreement. I'd be shocked now to see us take Robertson, even if available, after overlooking him with our first two picks. If I was to predict I'd say outside run and a medium forward will be on tonight's menu. Sharp, Williams (sounds like he'll go early), Taheny, maybe Elijah Taylor, Perez are names I think we may look at.

Not sure any would be stupid enough to say things that bluntly, but they could maybe over play the potential home sickness, other crap and maybe even present as not the right character to clubs they aren't interested in going to

Maybe they run into their bedroom and upend a couple of drawers and then, during the inspection, say casually that it's always like that ... conversely, George Hyphen was drafted (surely in part) on the basis of the astonishing level of organisation of his sock drawer ... :babyangel:

Matt Bulmer said that he thinks it's unlikely Robertson gets to us now. He thinks a club will trade with Port for the first pick. Saying he thinks Rivers or Rantell for Bris and Adel will be Jones then one of Robertson, Schoenberg or a trade for a 1st round pick giving another club a chance to nab Robertson. He did say he thought Haw (Rantall), Rich (who chose Dow over Robbo) and Coll are the clubs that may be floating a first round pick. Not Ess who would take Robertson for sure.

I just hope we take one of Gould, Worrell or Robertson.We don't have any real immediate areas of need. Just good players. I just really hope it's Robertson. I watched that game again and his kicking was absolutely fine. Yeah not elite but no where near terrible. He just plays to his strengths. Kicks long or handballs. He is so smart. You don't see him turn it over Guthrie style with some sizzling dart across the midfield.

Incidentally thinks Sharpe will make it to 40!!

I don’t really get the Worrell love especially for us with Henry, Stewart, Kolo & even O’Connor.