Preview 2020 AFL National Draft thread

I keep hearing that next year's draft is going to be strong and that this year's isn't that good. How can anyone possibly know how strong next years draft is? None of those player have been able to show their talent as bottom agers just like those who are eligible in this year's draft haven't.

If we are going of form as 16yr olds that's way more guess work than this year's draft.
Every year next year’s draft is awesome.

Looks a good player too hey GR
Yes, I think he'll go around mid first - second round.

He is the son of Fitzroy/Dees/Bears player Darryl Cox. Lanky, slight frame, moves well, kicks well on both sides. Not afraid to go in hard either. Played just about every role for the Northern Knights last year, Lots of potential from Nik.

From ADC:

#9 Nikolas Cox
Northern Knights/Vic Metro | Key Position Defender/Utility
15/01/2002 | 199cm | 82kg

A 199cm player who can run, kick on both sides, and play just about anywhere? It sounds too good to be true, but that is exactly what Cox brings to the table as his region’s most outstanding draft candidate. Cox cut his teeth as a tall wingman and key position swingman in 2019, juggling his time between school football, 10 NAB League outings, and a berth in the Under 18 Vic Metro squad as a bottom-ager. In 2020, the Northern Knights co-captain is set to develop as a centre-half back, with his athleticism and versatility in the role lending to the fact he has an enormous ceiling. He is also set to be a prime candidate to lead Vic Metro should the Vics get on the park, lauded for his professionalism and the example he sets via training standards.

He is the son of Fitzroy/Dees/Bears player Darryl Cox. Lanky, slight frame, moves well, kicks well on both sides. Not afraid to go in hard either. Played just about every role for the Northern Knights last year, Lots of potential from Nik.

From ADC:

#9 Nikolas Cox

A 199cm player who can run, kick on both sides, and play just about anywhere? It sounds too good to be true, but that is exactly what Cox brings to the table as his region’s most outstanding draft candidate. Cox cut his teeth as a tall wingman and key position swingman in 2019, juggling his time between school football, 10 NAB League outings, and a berth in the Under 18 Vic Metro squad as a bottom-ager. In 2020, the Northern Knights co-captain is set to develop as a centre-half back, with his athleticism and versatility in the role lending to the fact he has an enormous ceiling. He is also set to be a prime candidate to lead Vic Metro should the Vics get on the park, lauded for his professionalism and the example he sets via training standards.

There's a lot of boxes ticked there GR. :thumbsu:

From ADC:

#9 Nikolas Cox

Sounds like Doug Smith from the 1970's!

Davo-27's breakdown of the prospects

Colour code should be obvious but if not:

Yellow - WA prospects
Red - SA prospects
Blue - Allies (Tasmania, NT, QLD, NSW)

Screenshot_20200919-231957_Chrome.jpg

l see us next year as being higher up than most think. Put us back at Marvel, with a full list of players and let Shaw coach the way he wants to coach without all the restrictions he has had to deal with in his first full season as coach and we will surprise a lot of people...l dont mind the idea of offering up our 2021 first pick for Gold Coasts 2020 first pick #5 if we could get it done. Then we have #2, #5, #9, and #25 as our first 4 picks this year.

I'm with you too but how high all depends first on if we can snag a few of these FAs ie corr Williams would be a great start and base then couple of trades and agree with getting one more top ten and we should be good to go

I don’t reckon they’ll take the Perth kid. Too risky. Hollands has Adelaide ties, so I feel like they’ll take him.
There hasn’t been a pick one coming back from a knee ever though has there?
Interesting times ahead

By Perth kid I assume you mean Lmac? He was born in Port Augusta I thought... ie SA

l see us next year as being higher up than most think. Put us back at Marvel, with a full list of players and let Shaw coach the way he wants to coach without all the restrictions he has had to deal with in his first full season as coach and we will surprise a lot of people...l dont mind the idea of offering up our 2021 first pick for Gold Coasts 2020 first pick #5 if we could get it done. Then we have #2, #5, #9, and #25 as our first 4 picks this year.
Gold Coast will probably pass * on the ladder today so their pick will become 6. I assume this is hoping we can pick up Phillips but you'd think * would be pretty tempted to take him at 5.

They should take best available, as should we.

I mean if Hollands turns out like Dusty Martin, are you going to look back and say well we had Zurhaar so it was the right call to take the key forward who ended up like Paddy McCartin?

People saying well you can't know and there's all this doubt so you may as well go for needs - I would argue that is just devaluing our recruiters and honestly if we don't have excellent recruiters in place who can pick out the best or second best player in the draft with pick 2 then we are wasting our time and should pack the whole rebuild up and forget about it.

Get the right recruiting team in place with the right environment and back it in. Their careers will live or die by the results.

They have a glut of midfielders. They need to replace Walker.

Choosing Hollands would be a stupid decision.

Oh really? yeah I did mean LMAc. Didn’t know that.
Then where is Hollands from? He’s got SA ties too yeah?
And had LMAc moved to WA to play footy?
Hollands dad played for West Adelaide after a few games with Richmond. Elijah may have been born in Adelaide before the dad moved to play and coach in Wodonga

Lived in Adelaide til he was 8

Or maybe that was Hollands as someone said he left ade at 8.... anyway interested that the HS have called thilthorpe Adelaides Silver lining.... happy with that then the choice is ours

Yeah Hollands left Adelaide young. I knew that. Barracks for Crows too I beilieve. You might have him and LMac mixed up mate.

No lmac is def from port Augusta just not sure when he left there

Ah righto. Interesting. Throw in Thilthorpe and they’ve got 3 blokes to choose from without worrying who might bolt later you’d think. No wonder they are desperately pushing the band 1 compo garbage truck.