Road to the draft mock draft based on club needs has

Pick 1 Tillthorpe

Pick 2 North Failed bid on JUH, McDonald

Pick 4 Swans Hollands

Pick 5 Hawks DGB

Pick 6 GC Perkins

Pick 7,8,9,10,11 Scum Phillips, Henry, Failed bids on Campbell and Jones, Cox

DGB to Sydney is about as locked in as it gets.

Yeah swans losing aliir aliir probably locks in DGB. They’ve always needed a young KPD, never really replaced grundy and Rampe is getting up there in age. Can’t see them taking Holland’s if no one bids on Campbell. They’d rather DGB and Campbell then Holland’s and Campbell I’d imagine.

Pick 1 Tillthorpe

Pick 4 Swans Hollands

Pick 5 Hawks DGB

Pick 6 GC Perkins

'Based on needs'

Crows already have a FWD/RUC developing in Himmelberg (who was excellent in the 2nd half of the season), what they 'need' is either a replacement for Tex in McDonald, or some class through the midfield in Hollands...

Swans definitely need an KPD above anything else, so you would think DGB ticks that 'need' box.

Looks more to that they've done a mock draft in general, based on who they think the club selections, but it's certainly not based on need.

Cox, Downie and moneyball the rest of the best mids with our pics in 2020. Maybe a mature small fwd this year if one presents.

If we blow 2020s mid pics grab Merrett and mids in 2021s 'known' draft. Big reach grabbing an unknown with an ACL this year. Huge risk.

Keep developing Finn and Cousins in the interim.

Cox, Downie and moneyball the rest of the best mids with our pics in 2020. Maybe a mature small fwd this year if one presents.

If we blow 2020s mid pics grab Merrett and mids in 2021s 'known' draft. Big reach grabbing an unknown with an ACL this year. Huge risk.

Cox at 4 huge call...

Cox isn't going at 4 and the club will definetly want to pick before a downie bid so that would be a terrible outcome for us . Also when you say 2021 is a known draft what does that mean ? There is every chance next year could be a compromised season again, on top of all the Vic kids not getting a chance to play this year as a bottom ages they could potentially be going into the draft playing the same amount of footy as this year's crop.

Honestly still think Adelaide goes McDonald, close to the lowest risk key forward you can get in the Draft. He has shown he is not just a big body bullying kids, he can match it with men.

Cox isn't going at 4 and the club will definetly want to pick before a downie bid so that would be a terrible outcome for us . Also when you say 2021 is a known draft what does that mean ? There is every chance next year could be a compromised season again, on top of all the Vic kids not getting a chance to play this year as a bottom ages they could potentially be going into the draft playing the same amount of footy as this year's crop.
I am not certain putting all our hope in pick 4 is the right way forward is what I am getting at. Imo Cox will be this year's Clayton Oliver.

The time to be ready for Dodo is on draft night if / when McDonald falls into our lap. Its not in his best interests to offer anything until pick 4 is a full blown commodity (ie McDonald).

You'd like to think if we're not interested in McDonald then we'd offer up 4 & 24 for 6, 7 & 8. If he doesn't want to do that then the best I would go after that is 4 straight up 6 & 7 or no deal.
What about 6 and a future first?

Honestly still think Adelaide goes McDonald, close to the lowest risk key forward you can get in the Draft. He has shown he is not just a big body bullying kids, he can match it with men.
Yeah it isn’t a josh schache situation where it was a Big key fwd Dominating smaller defenders. McDonald has proven it in a good state league of footy.

If our aversion to Hollands (if correct) is based on expert opinion on his knee / running style and the club is not willing to take that risk, so be it. He is a riskier prospect than others.

But I would be disappointed if it was based on a perceived lack of dedication based on a couple extra KGs during lockdown. When we drafted them, Hodge was a fat kid from Colac who knew his way around a beer, and Buddy could not do a single chin up. Conditioning can be taught in an elite environment. Easily. Latent talent cannot be. Hollands has talent others don’t - and that cannot be taught. There’s more than a bit of Hodgey in him.

I now think it will be moot anyway and he will go to North at 2. Id be nervous if he made it to Essendon

Agree with this. I wish we knew the full context of the reservations, but we will likely never know.

In the end I just hope that Adelaide, North or Sydney take him so that it was out of our hands in the end.

Pick 1 Tillthorpe

Pick 4 Swans Hollands

Pick 5 Hawks DGB

Pick 6 GC Perkins

Nup.

1. Crows. Tilthorpe
2. Roos: Hollands
3. Swans: DGB
4..........drum roll....

I actually don’t know whether we will go Macas or Phillips

I want a tall forward so ....

DGB to Sydney is about as locked in as it gets.
If Crows take Thilthorpe these statements won’t age well ;)

Also while I’m here I had the hawks when I joined the Lystics team on their podcast doing a mock draft. This was my haul

Pick 4 - Riley Thilthorpe
Pick 24 - Sam Berry
Pick 45 - Luke Pedlar
Pick 46 - Liam McMahon
Pick 49 - Connor Stone

I didn’t match a Downie bid with one of the podcasters using a cheeky bid before pick 24 which I don’t think comes that early in the real thing.

Here is a link to it, if you have a spare few hours give it a listen!

Sensing a lot of anxiety from some in this thread over how this all shakes out.

Feels so good to be happy with selecting any of McDonald, Hollands, DGB, Thilthorpe, Campbell, Perkins or Phillps.

If Crows take Thilthorpe these statements won’t age well ;)

Also while I’m here I had the hawks when I joined the Lystics team on their podcast doing a mock draft. This was my haul

Pick 4 - Riley Thilthor
Pick 24 - Sam Berry
Pick 45 - Luke Pedlar
Pick 46 - Liam McMahon
Pick 49 - Connor Stone

I didn’t match a Downie bid with one of the podcasters using a cheeky bid before pick 24 which I don’t think comes that early in the real thing.

Here is a link to it, if you have a spare few hours give it a listen!

Hey mate
You reckon Swans may pass on DGB?

What about 6 and a future first?

If it went:

Bulldogs - JUH
Crows - Hollands
North - McDonald
Sydney - DGB

Do you think Hawks would go Thilthorpe or look at Phillips?

I'm wondering whether Hawks would trade down with Bombers or Crows if they're looking at Archie Perkins or someone of that ilk who is probably rated in that 5-12 range

Hey mate
You reckon Swans may pass on DGB?
Yep, position wise he makes sense but Swans don’t go on needs with their early picks and they go on best available on their list. If one of Hollands or McDonald become available they will take them.

I wouldn’t have thought this the place to self promote your activity.

Why, he's a respected poster, who comprehensively covers the draft, continues to offer some insight and is someone who doesn't get involved in the moronic BigFooty knob swinging contests.