2020 Non-Crows AFL Discussion

International Event, and nobody wanted to be the one responsible for calling it off because of all the financial interests involved.

In the end the Vic Govt banned the spectators, but didn't call off the race itself. The FIA put out a nothing statement via tweet, which literally said nothing. Eventually the teams rebelled and forced the FIA to cancel it. The drivers were all wondering WTF they were even doing in Melbourne... and then one of the McLaren team members tested positive. That was the final straw.

What's going on in Australia now is a failure of leadership (hardly surprising with Scotty from Marketing in charge). Scotty from Marketing doesn't want to be the one to take ownership of the decision to shutdown large events, so he's waiting for the event organisers to do it themselves. They, in turn, are waiting on instructions/leadership from the Govt, which isn't forthcoming because Scotty is a marketer who knows nothing about leadership. As a result, nobody knows if the AFL or NRL games will be played, whether they'll be played in empty stadia, until panicked organisers are forced to make their own decisions at the very last minute.
So if the Government closes events they in turn have to financially compensate.
I myself believe to be poor economic management.
On the other hand is it for the greater good of the public, you dont know the repercussions without hindsight.
It r really is a rock and hard place scenario.

The NHL didn't wait and it was not Andrews that made the call to cancel the F! race - it was F1 themselves

A statement was issued at 10:15am (AEDT) by the Australian Grand Prix Corporation.
The Victorian Govt announced overnight that they would not be allowing spectators to attend the F1 GP. However, they were happy for the F1 GP to continue running in front of the television cameras.

The FIA made the final decision to cancel the F1 GP completely several hours later.
Now I detest the guy , but the mayor of New York De Blasio has taken the bit between his teeth and prohibited mass gatherings and that has closed broadway and other events - he showed leadership while the feds were formulating their plans...State premiers are in charge of state GOVERNMENTS and should show their own leadership regardless of the feds if the feds have not finalised their own procedures
Andrews should have acted earlier, using his own initiative without waiting for the Feds to act. I don't really debate that.

The lack of leadership from the Feds remains a major sore point.

So if the Government closes events they in turn have to financially compensate.
I myself believe to be poor economic management.
On the other hand is it for the greater good of the public, you dont know the repercussions without hindsight.
It r really is a rock and hard place scenario.
Precisely. It's an economic decision as much as it is a health decision. That's why the Vic Govt decided not to cancel the race (which the FIA subsequently did for them), but only to ban spectators from attending.

Well, Mrs Arrowman did the supermarket shop on the weekend - Woolies was out of TP, the Drake's nearby had plenty of stock, business as usual.

Moral? Drakes customers are smarter than Woolies customers :)
Spoke to my mother in law this morning who said she went to woollies yesterday as she was short on toilet paper.. she was talking to the lady at the checkout about it and asked about the run they had on the toilet paper.. the checkout lady said dozens of people had been coming back in with trolley loads of toilet paper they bought in the rush and now were trying to get their money back and wollies are turning them away.. the supermarkets don’t have the storage space out the back to take all the stock back. Apparently one bloke was complaining that he had his entire van loaded up with it, and he couldn’t store it anywhere, as he was begging for a refund.

suck shit to all the flogs that now have a house clogged up with more toilet paper than they’ll probably ever use in an entire year. Dumb ****s!..

the checkout lady said dozens of people had been coming back in with trolley loads of toilet paper they bought in the rush and now were trying to get their money back and wollies are turning them away..
Hahaha, LOL.

Spoke to my mother in law this morning who said she went to woollies yesterday as she was short on toilet paper..
We usually buy a large pack, every few weeks. Mrs Arrowman said there was someone at the Woolies who bought their TP every week, just enough for a week, and so this week they were - um, s*** out of luck.

Hahaha, LOL.

We usually buy a large pack, every few weeks. Mrs Arrowman said there was someone at the Woolies who bought their TP every week, just enough for a week, and so this week they were - um, s*** out of luck.
Yeah.. we normally get a 36 pack from BigW once every few weeks... the weekend before the run on the dunny wrap started the missus asked me if we needed a new pack.. I looked in the cupboard and there were 5 rolls left in the packet.. I said “nah, we’ll make it to next weekend”... the run on the dunny wrap stuffed that idea up.. the missus wasn’t happy with me!.

we managed to get a 12 pack at woollies the other day though and thus haven’t run out.

Wait a week or two.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
We developed the world's first drive through clinic and our positive rate is extremely low. Testing here is almost at internationally high levels per capita.

And i bet you were silly enough to believe China actually built a hospital that quick.....

We've done this better than most, but hey lets whack the government

For all their human rights issues, China has handled this outbreak extraordinarily well. Jesus - how quick was their hospital built?

The only reason they acted on China was for political expedience. It suited Trump in his ongoing trade war.

Actually, this is interesting.

Yeah that wasnt the case, bit of creative license by the Chinese there.

Spoke to my mother in law this morning who said she went to woollies yesterday as she was short on toilet paper.. she was talking to the lady at the checkout about it and asked about the run they had on the toilet paper.. the checkout lady said dozens of people had been coming back in with trolley loads of toilet paper they bought in the rush and now were trying to get their money back and wollies are turning them away.. the supermarkets don’t have the storage space out the back to take all the stock back. Apparently one bloke was complaining that he had his entire van loaded up with it, and he couldn’t store it anywhere, as he was begging for a refund.

suck shit to all the flogs that now have a house clogged up with more toilet paper than they’ll probably ever use in an entire year. Dumb fu**s!..
Sensational

We developed the world's first drive through clinic and our positive rate is extremely low. Testing here is almost at internationally high levels per capita.

And i bet you were silly enough to believe China actually built a hospital that quick.....

And yet we are still free to travel and gather as we please.

Reminds me of the Y2K bug. Everyone said it was a fizzer.

It was a fizzer due to the background work done to fix the issue before it was one.

There should be stricter controls in place for movement now. Not in two weeks.

The tests are a good start. But they are after the fact.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Only Australian first.
South Korea started it.

My favourite cruise ship of all time. I last sailed on her in 2011. Unfortunately, her popularity has meant that her cruises have usually been too expensive for my liking, so I've ended up on Rhapsody or Voyager/Explorer.

I agree, she's a great little ship. Not too big, not too small. I love the stabilised pool tables, the hotdog stand, and the Brazilian steak house restaurant.

A few years ago I was on the Oosterdam (Holland America Line), when we passed Radiance going through the Wooden Canal (at the bottom of New Caledonia). Oosterdam is the worst ship I've ever been on, and I had massive pangs of jealousy for the passengers enjoying themselves on the Radiance.
I had a few games on the pool table... A surreal experience when you have had a couple to drink. I am jealous, I was hoping to go again this year... maybe next year. Have a great time and enjoy yourself! :thumbsu:

I thought there were already cases of re-infection. Was about a week or so ago I think.
There were reported cases in China, a couple of weeks ago. People had been cleared as "recovered", who subsequently tested positive again. It was unknown at the time (and hasn't been reported since) whether they were not actually recovered, or whether they had caught it for a second time.

My favourite cruise ship of all time. I last sailed on her in 2011. Unfortunately, her popularity has meant that her cruises have usually been too expensive for my liking, so I've ended up on Rhapsody or Voyager/Explorer.

I agree, she's a great little ship. Not too big, not too small. I love the stabilised pool tables, the hotdog stand, and the Brazilian steak house restaurant.

A few years ago I was on the Oosterdam (Holland America Line), when we passed Radiance going through the Wooden Canal (at the bottom of New Caledonia). Oosterdam is the worst ship I've ever been on, and I had massive pangs of jealousy for the passengers enjoying themselves on the Radiance.

Your mum spoils you.

There were reported cases in China, a couple of weeks ago. People had been cleared as "recovered", who subsequently tested positive again. It was unknown at the time (and hasn't been reported since) whether they were not actually recovered, or whether they had caught it for a second time.
Because the test is based on PCR, there is a substantial chance that not enough virus is swabbed, or just doesn't get amplified. Have to catch some virus RNA.

Its bound to happen in cases of self taken swabs, people naturally dont know what to do

I won't derail this thread further but take a look at China's threat to withhold pharmaceuticals from America. This is the problem in allowing China to purchase entire industries - critical industries as it can leave us wide open should they choose to play hardball

Here's a great idea.

Why don't we tap into that massive China economy and play some AFL games over there? They're so fabulous to deal with.

suck shit to all the flogs that now have a house clogged up with more toilet paper than they’ll probably ever use in an entire year. Dumb fu**s!..

Best news I have heard all day. To stockpile toilet paper they deserve what they get. Fortunately for them its not a perishable item. Nevertheless they probably bought maybe a few years supply in the space of a month.

I'm getting on a cruise ship tomorrow, going to NZ for 2 weeks. Princess & Viking have both cancelled all new cruises (i.e. not already in progress) for the next 2 months. I'm sailing with Royal Caribbean, who haven't announced any plans for cancelling cruises... yet. Safe to say that I'm watching my email closely, and monitoring announcements from the Govt re: closing the borders.

Never been a fan of cruises... & absolutely no chance i would go on one now & get stuck... thought if you have internet access & plenty of booze...
Internet is either super slow or super expensive ..

TBF, I’ve spent a lot of time off shore, never on a cruise though