List Mgmt. 2020 Trade Thread - Part I

When I look at our set up going forward, the one player I can't help but think would suit us more than anybody, is Cameron. We really should be throwing everything at him. He would take a quality defender off of King, doesn't make us as top heavy as a Ben Brown type would and importantly adds another reliable avenue to goal.

We have a great relationship with GWS, I would be trying to leverage that and find a way all parties could be happy.

I would love to see something along the lines of:

St Kilda Trade: Luke Dunstan, 2020 1st and 2021 2nd
St Kilda Gain: Jye Caldwell and sign Cameron as a FA

North Trade: Ben Brown (paying part of salary)
North Gain: Luke Dunstan, 2020 1st (GWS Compo Pick), 2020 2nd (GWS) and 2021 2nd (St Kilda)

GWS Trade: Jye Caldwell, Jeremy Cameron (lose to FA, pass on Compo Pick) and 2020 2nd Round Pick
GWS Gain: Ben Brown and 2020 1st (StK)

I have been in this game long enough to know that I am surely being biased, but in my rose tinted view, everybody wins.

North fast track their rebuild with a just about top 10 picks and 2 second round picks. Also get a mature bodied set of steak knives.

GWS get fairish compo for Caldwell, are able to replace Cameron with a ready made spearhead and take around a good 700k off their books.

We pay a fair price for a promising young mid, sign an elite FA and give up a depth player and a future second to facilitate it.

The key is obviously persuading Cameron. But if GWS were supportive of his decision it should be a hell of a lot easier. Geelong surely can't afford the salary needed to get GWS band 1 compensation.

Make it happen saints!

When I look at our set up going forward, the one player I can't help but think would suit us more than anybody, is Cameron. We really should be throwing everything at him. He would take a quality defender off of King, doesn't make us as top heavy as a Ben Brown type would and importantly adds another reliable avenue to goal.

We have a great relationship with GWS, I would be trying to leverage that and find a way all parties could be happy.

North Gain: Luke Dunstan, 2020 1st (GWS Compo Pick), 2020 2nd (GWS) and 2021 2nd (St Kilda)

GWS Trade: Jye Caldwell, Jeremy Cameron (lose to FA, pass on Compo Pick) and 2020 2nd Round Pick

I have been in this game long enough to know that I am surely being biased, but in my rose tinted view, everybody wins.

North fast track their rebuild with a just about top 10 picks and 2 second round picks. Also get a mature bodied set of steak knives.

GWS get fairish compo for Caldwell, are able to replace Cameron with a ready made spearhead and take around a good 700k off their books.

We pay a fair price for a promising young mid, sign an elite FA and give up a depth player and a future second to facilitate it.

The key is obviously persuading Cameron. But if GWS were supportive of his decision it should be a hell of a lot easier. Geelong surely can't afford the salary needed to get GWS band 1 compensation.

Make it happen saints!

Not a chance I would be giving up a player a first and a second for Caldwell though...

Like the enthusiasm and targets but that's a shocking deal for us.

Caldwell worth late first, early second by himself. Cameron for money only.

Make it happen saints!

On Pixel 4a using BigFooty.com mobile app

If you look at our best 22. The last 4 picked looking at age and ability are probably Kent Long Sinclair and Geary.

To recruit players that arent playing regularly you have to indicate that they would be in the best 22 otherwise why leave?

Our recruiting needs to upgrade our bottom 4 for us to go higher up the ladder. Coming back in are Gresham for say Kent and....
Potentially Caldwell for Sinclair
Like GCS Fiorini off a back flank
Leaves Geary in the side.

Bytel natural replacement for Hannas

If we get Taranto which would be massive not sure Caldwell or Bytel play much next year and that creates it's own problems with player retention.

Not a chance I would be giving up a player a first and a second for Caldwell though...
Like the enthusiasm and targets but that's a shocking deal for us.

Caldwell worth late first, early second by himself. Cameron for money only.

On Pixel 4a using BigFooty.com mobile app

Of course on paper trading a 1st, a second and Dunstan for Caldwell looks less than ideal, but we would need to look at the bigger picture. By giving up extra at this stage of the deal we are able to bring North Melbourne to the table. Having North Melbourne willing to subsidise Cameron's replacement makes it a lot easier for GWS to see him off.

By taking Cameron as a FA as opposed to including him in the trade we introduce another first round pick which can be used to balance out a win for all sides.

If we simply try and lure Cameron as a free agent we are competing against GWS and Geelong. This option could take GWS off the table. It then creates a situation where we are offering the most money, the best chance for sustained success and keeping his old club happy and having an amicable transition.

There is surely nobody on this board that wouldn't trade Dunstan, a 1st and a future second for Cameron and Caldwell. Looking at trading as a zero-sum game is not the way to get good results. This is more of a game-theory approach. It finds a way that everybody can walk away from the deal happy that they have come out a winner.

Obviously all dependent on Brown, Dunstan and Cameron agreeing to play for the destined clubs.

I think we should be in Tarantulas ear even if we can’t get him now. Will eventually come out if contract and if we’ve done the ground work we’re better placed.

It would be nice if we could tempt back the bayside boys like Geelong does with the guys from down their way.

That was the theory behind going to Seaford... only living in Barwon Heads or Torquay is more attractive than living amongst single mums in Rosebud and much cheaper than Mt Eliza or Blairgowrie.

2 firsts with a second back is right for Taranto. A second is about right for Caldy. I reckon that's a pretty neat trade if we just don't take a second back. They can have D Mac if they want.
On AFL website 2Days ago,Jackson Hately asked to be traded to Adelaide.
Jason McCartney said in that Post they would expect an early 2nd from Adelaide.
Hately went at Pick14 in the same Draft as JyePick 11,but Hately has played 2more games.

On AFL website 2Days ago,Jackson Hately asked to be traded to Adelaide.
Jason McCartney said in that Post they would expect an early 2nd from Adelaide.
Hately went at Pick14 in the same Draft as JyePick 11,but Hately has played 2more games.

Hately has the better form this year too. Caldy probably has a higher expected ceiling but anyone that wants to pay a first for him hasn't watched his 2020 season. He's not like Treloar was, he's more like Dom Tyson was at GWS, potential but nowhere near the finished article.

He is worth our late first pick

Also rumours starting to fly around on GWS thread that Jye has told mates he is out of GWS and Jeremy is on the move to cats

That's debatable.

Neither set the world on fire but Caldwell at leaat showed his ability to win contested footy at AFL level.

The fact the Giants only gave Hately 6 games and Caldwell 9 suggests he was better.

Treloar cost two firsts by the way. Both top 10 picks too

He is worth our late first pick

Also rumours starting to fly around on GWS thread that Jye has told mates he is out of GWS and Jeremy is on the move to cats

I'm pretty sure he's coming too. We should be chasing Cameron.

If you look at our best 22. The last 4 picked looking at age and ability are probably Kent Long Sinclair and Geary.

To recruit players that arent playing regularly you have to indicate that they would be in the best 22 otherwise why leave?

Our recruiting needs to upgrade our bottom 4 for us to go higher up the ladder. Coming back in are Gresham for say Kent and....
Potentially Caldwell for Sinclair
Like GCS Fiorini off a back flank
Leaves Geary in the side.

Bytel natural replacement for Hannas

If we get Taranto which would be massive not sure Caldwell or Bytel play much next year and that creates it's own problems with player retention.
I think that's a bit too simple.
You need to look at age and improvement Vs projected premiership window.

In your scenario I'd think it's Seb that would need fo find a new position, but his ball use precludes that.
The roll Ratts has him playing atm is now working well, but if we get a clearance beast in, then Steele can do the Ross roll better than Ross does and so on.

Since Seb has a good value and is on a good wicket, and we have 2 elite juniors to feed in to the midfield, you can trade him to improve another area of the list like a CHB or small forward.

I'm not bashing Seb here, l just think that's the way it would go.

I agree that Kent should be squeezed out, but l doubt it's by Gresh for positional reasons.

Essentially, if we bolster the top of our midfield with Taranto, and need to bring in Caldwell and Bytel (which we do) then the squeeze is on in both directions.
1. Taranto
2. Steele
3. Hunter
4. Jones
5. Gresh
6. ROSS (trade)
7. Sincs
8. Caldwell
9. Bytel
10. Byrnes
11. DUNNY (trade)
12. Kent (trade/delist/depth)

That's debatable.

Neither set the world on fire but Caldwell at leaat showed his ability to win contested footy at AFL level.

The fact the Giants only gave Hately 6 games and Caldwell 9 suggests he was better.

Treloar cost two firsts by the way.

Treloar was a star, he was more like Taranto, you knew what you were getting. Collingwood paid the most of any trade to that point and started the 2x firsts and a second back standard.

Lately looked more impressive to the eye.

Treloar was a star, he was more like Taranto, you knew what you were getting. Collingwood paid the most of any trade to that point and started the 2x firsts and a second back standard.

Lately looked more impressive to the eye.
Yes and no one is even suggesting Caldwell is worth close to that.

Pick 17 vs pick 7/pick 7 with a 2nd coming back.

Disagree Hately looked better. Obviously the Giants did too.

Caldwell, Tarantula and Brayshaw would be my dream scenario. Can't see it happening, but would reinvent our midfield overnight

Getting a mid for the now (Tarantula or Brayshaw) plus a mid for the future (Caldwell) would set us up perfectly. The other immediate gap we need to fill is a key back, assuming Carlisle departs.

Our trade assets include 2020 1st & 2021 1st & could include whatever we get for Carlisle, Lonie & Dunstan (if they leave). Would that be enough to get both Caldwell & Taranto?!

Yes and no one is even suggesting Caldwell is worth close to that.

Pick 17 vs pick 7/pick 7 with a 2nd coming back.

Disagree Hately looked better. Obviously the Giants did too.

Most would put Caldwell in the pick 15-25 range. Just so happens that we will have a pick closer to 15. If we finished bottom 4 then our 2nd rounder would have been suitable. Not to mention the extremely compromised draft which makes our first pick fair compensation. We can’t look at our first pick like a first rounder because it is actually closer to a second rounder that we’ve been use to over the last decade - because we’ve been a basket case finishing towards the bottom of the ladder.