List Mgmt. 2020 Trade Thread - Part I

If we bring Caldwell in my hope is that he would take a lot of Gresh's mifield minutes. I feel like Gresh and Billings have been transformed from dangerous, x-factor types to accumulators with their moves to the midfield. Gresh needs to sort out his set shot kicking, but if he can get that to an acceptable standard I would rather see him have a 70/30 split between forward and midfield.

I know on paper he is one of our best clearance players, but I feel the fact that he take the quick advantage in the centre square a fair bit. I think for genuine, in play clearances he is a bit overrated and for how skillful we know he can be, he isn't too far off Ross in terms of how haphazard the clearance kicks are.

I rather see Billings and Gresham back on the forward flanks, solving our rotating 6th forward problem and then look at having Caldwell play the 2019-2020 Gresham role, and if we really want that hard running accumulator on the opposite wing to Hill, I reckon we could get Tom Phillips from the pies pretty cheaply and he would offer every bit as much as Billings does in that role.

The thing is that gresh CREATES clearances we wouldn't have otherwise got by the way he anticipates and positions himself.

It doesn't matter if he just slams it on his boot if it's a clearance we wouldn't have got without him

The thing is that gresh CREATES clearances we wouldn't have otherwise got by the way he anticipates and positions himself.

It doesn't matter if he just slams it on his boot if it's a clearance we wouldn't have got without him
Elite in traffic our boy - needs to play full time mid resting fwd at all times

Well until we know who maybe coming you cant say that Seb is safe ,

I was all over getting rid of Seb but now I'm not sure it makes sense. He's playing really good footy & has reinvented himself... there's always going to be a spot for a tall, strong, experienced mid who can do shutdown roles while still finding the ball.

Even if we pull a rabbit from our hat & Taranto is in RWB, we'll still need someone to fill that role.

When I look at our set up going forward, the one player I can't help but think would suit us more than anybody, is Cameron. We really should be throwing everything at him. He would take a quality defender off of King, doesn't make us as top heavy as a Ben Brown type would and importantly adds another reliable avenue to goal.

We have a great relationship with GWS, I would be trying to leverage that and find a way all parties could be happy.

I would love to see something along the lines of:

St Kilda Trade: Luke Dunstan, 2020 1st and 2021 2nd
St Kilda Gain: Jye Caldwell and sign Cameron as a FA

North Trade: Ben Brown (paying part of salary)
North Gain: Luke Dunstan, 2020 1st (GWS Compo Pick), 2020 2nd (GWS) and 2021 2nd (St Kilda)

GWS Trade: Jye Caldwell, Jeremy Cameron (lose to FA, pass on Compo Pick) and 2020 2nd Round Pick
GWS Gain: Ben Brown and 2020 1st (StK)

I have been in this game long enough to know that I am surely being biased, but in my rose tinted view, everybody wins.

North fast track their rebuild with a just about top 10 picks and 2 second round picks. Also get a mature bodied set of steak knives.

GWS get fairish compo for Caldwell, are able to replace Cameron with a ready made spearhead and take around a good 700k off their books.

We pay a fair price for a promising young mid, sign an elite FA and give up a depth player and a future second to facilitate it.

The key is obviously persuading Cameron. But if GWS were supportive of his decision it should be a hell of a lot easier. Geelong surely can't afford the salary needed to get GWS band 1 compensation.

Make it happen saints!

Wow that’s a lot. No Compo to North.

Giants would not be keen, Hill isn’t steak knives in a trade either, showed lots this year. Taranto alone is worth 2 1st rounders and they’re not going to want to let Taranto and Caldwell go if Hately is leaving as well, that’s an exodus when you take into account Corr, Williams and possibly Cameron as well. They’re going to to fight tooth and nail for they’re players this off season you’d think hoping they bounce back next year and convince a lot of players to stay.
Agreed.
Hill is also very contracted, but I've accounted for a fair price.

Taranto = 2x 1sts and a 2nd back (2nd stays with GWS)
Calders + Hill = 2x 2nds + GWS 2nd (effectively 3 x 2nd round picks belonging to Ess, WB, GWS)

GWS' draft hand, including their own picks:

+ 2020 1st Compo for Williams
+ 2020 2nd/3rd Compo for Corr
+ Crows future 2nd for Hately

2020: 2x 1st, 4x 2nd
2021: 2x 1st, 2x 2nd

Elite in traffic our boy - needs to play full time mid resting fwd at all times

Gresh and ryder legit took the piss at times this year- playing harlem globetrotters style.
I'd love to see a highlights package of ryders hitouts to advantage this year.

It would be like watching his his tap to robbie gray on a loop for 5 minutes- but enjoying every second of it

Gresh and ryder legit took the piss at times this year- playing harlem globetrotters style.
I'd love to see a highlights package of ryders hitouts to advantage this year.

It would be like watching his his tap to robbie gray on a loop for 5 minutes- but enjoying every second of it

why did you have to bring that up? Still gives me nightmares. :’(

We wanted Caldwell and actively tried to trade back in to grab him, I imagine we inquired again in the last trade period.

People including players and coaches rate him as something special, so here is our best and if he lives up to potential probably only chance to get him to st Kilda.

Occasionally you have to be all in gringo, you just don’t get A grade mids very often let alone at bargain prices. Depending on how we rate this years draft we could just roll the dice but otherwise it’s put up or walk away.

That's what Melbourne thought with Tyson. I'd shake the tree with Taranto then if we want an A grader mid or look at a player like Rory Laird, Merret or Jye Simpkin were you are picking the corpse of some dysfunctional clubs. We aren't getting an A grade mid we are getting a potential A grader in Caldy.

Lots underrating Caldwell it seems...
Looking forward to the pleasant surprise he’ll bring, much like a lot of our recruits this year :)

Did you watch him play?

Steele should be No.1 on this list. He is a much better player than Taranto right now.

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

Taranto was ordinary this year but had a shoulder rebuilt after round one. He would have missed the year in a regular season. Last year he looked elite. Probably similar quality years if you compare last season to Steele's 2020.

I think that's a bit too simple.
You need to look at age and improvement Vs projected premiership window.

In your scenario I'd think it's Seb that would need fo find a new position, but his ball use precludes that.
The roll Ratts has him playing atm is now working well, but if we get a clearance beast in, then Steele can do the Ross roll better than Ross does and so on.

Since Seb has a good value and is on a good wicket, and we have 2 elite juniors to feed in to the midfield, you can trade him to improve another area of the list like a CHB or small forward.

I'm not bashing Seb here, l just think that's the way it would go.

I agree that Kent should be squeezed out, but l doubt it's by Gresh for positional reasons.

Essentially, if we bolster the top of our midfield with Taranto, and need to bring in Caldwell and Bytel (which we do) then the squeeze is on in both directions.
1.Taranto
2.Steele
3.Jones
4.Gresh
5.ROSS (trade)
6.Sincs
7.Caldwell
8.Bytel
9.Byrnes
10.DUNNY (trade)
11.Kent (trade/delist/depth)
Surely we are looking for Hunter to be in the top 5 on this list next year?

Unless Caldwell takes a ginormous step up over the off season, he wouldnt be close to being a starting midfielder next year. At least not if we want to continuing being up the top of the ladder.

He is a mid for a few years time. Not one we should be putting our hopes on to help us improve next year.
Yeah agreed, that’s why I was hopeful for Taranto, he’s an inside player who has the size and would make an immediate impact. Caldwell I see as an development player like Bytel and Byrnes. Caldwell needs to put on size as well.

I was all over getting rid of Seb but now I'm not sure it makes sense. He's playing really good footy & has reinvented himself... there's always going to be a spot for a tall, strong, experienced mid who can do shutdown roles while still finding the ball.

Even if we pull a rabbit from our hat & Taranto is in RWB, we'll still need someone to fill that role.
Completely agree, but in the event we pull that rabbit out of the hat he may want a trade. He'd be about 7th in line for midfield minutes.

Since he has come back from injury, he would be 2nd behind Steele for midfield time and starting in the centre square.

Which mids are jumping him over the off season to make him fall to 7th so quickly?

Too old for us. Would need to find someone else the year after anyway.

Lets just keep Carlisle.
Yeah there's not a single option raised to far that I'd prefer to Carlisle. Just re-sign Carlisle and Lonie. Paton sounds like it's been done. Trade in a couple of mids and on we go.

Since he has come back from injury, he would be 2nd behind Steele for midfield time and starting in the centre square.

Which mids are jumping him over the off season to make him fall to 7th so quickly?
Steele, Gresh, Hunter, Jones, Hanners (a bit of a ? i know) and in the scenario I was replying to Taranto.

Purple mentioned the possibility of Robbie Tarrant looking at his options. Another potential KPD option. Is pretty old though. 32 early next season.

He was still playing great footy last year. I didn't watch much north this year how'd he play?

Yeah there's not a single option raised to far that I'd prefer to Carlisle. Just re-sign Carlisle and Lonie. Paton sounds like it's been done. Trade in a couple of mids and on we go.
Jack Payne from Brisbane is the only named mentioned that I would be remotely interested in. But he is also very speculative considering he's played 4 games and also contracted so might not even be gettable.

I still cant see why we would let Carlisle go. It just makes no sense at all. Hopefully we come to our senses and keep him/