List Mgmt. 2020 Trade Thread - Part II

Didn’t we try and move Dunstan last year but had not suitable offers? Seems the few in this board that rate him are a part of the absolute minority.
yeah gotta ask how long you wait for a player to show hes got more to give,clark coff and paton all drafted later and have reached another level,doubt dunstan will be more than a trier & great clubman,gotta let it go at some point

I think your both correct.

the interesting thing is thatRiccuito said the crows would start having trade talks with us now.

maybe there is something in those hypothetical sweetener discussions.

given the press statement it feels like it hasn't been a respectable split. which makes me think Crouch just completely turned his back on Adelaide a while back or Adelaide are disgruntled in how he acted when he was there?

either way it's not about cycling him to support a rebuild then which might help them come to terms with a 2nd rounder rather than risking getting nothing if the relationship has soured.

St Kilda is open to trading defenders Dylan Roberton and Jimmy Webster as the club makes room for incoming Adelaide star midfielder Brad Crouch.
Crouch, 26, has chosen the Saints to continue his career next season after the Herald Sun on Tuesday revealed Geelong had dropped out of the race for the star onballer.

The Crows’ best-and-fairest winner could be the finishing piece in St Kilda’s engine room upgrade and will use his strong contested ball and clearance game to help bring speedy wingman Brad Hill into the play more next season.

As a free agent, Crouch will cost the Saints nothing in a trade, unless Adelaide tried to match the offer. St Kilda’s first pick in this year’s draft is No. 14.

But St Kilda is also open to making hard calls on Roberton, who played only one game for the season, and Webster, who managed eight, in this year’s trade period. Both are contracted at St Kilda for next season.

While Webster, 27, is believed to have attracted some interest, Roberton’s situation is more complicated by his heart issues which kept the rebounding backman sidelined for almost two seasons.

Roberton, 29, is confident he has got on top of the issues with some expert medical advice. He collapsed on the field in Round 4 2018 against Geelong and then had another scare in a preseason game in Ballarat last year.

Roberton’s time out of the game significantly impacted his fitness levels which saw the Saints overlook him for selection in every game this year aside from the season-opener when he had eight possessions against North Melbourne.

Roberton has played only five games in the past three years since he finished second in the club’s best and fairest in a career-best 2017 season.

The Saints are undeterred by Crouch’s end-of-season indiscretion when the star onballer and teammate Tyson Stengle were found with an illicit substance in Adelaide.

St Kilda has spoken with Crouch and are in the advanced stages of talks with his management, W Sports and Media, about a long-term deal.

If the Saints pay Crouch less than $650,000 a year, as expected, the Crows would receive an end-of-first-round compensation selection.

That compensation is a downgrade on Adelaide’s initial hopes that it could receive an early first-round compensation which would slot in at pick No. 2.

But the Saints are unlikely to offer Crouch the blockbuster contract offer required to trigger pick No. 2 which would give Adelaide the first two selections in this year’s draft.

Adelaide football director Mark Ricciuto said the Crows would begin talks with the Saints about the transfer.

“St Kilda could get him for nothing (depending) on whatever wage they offer him (under free agency rules),” Ricciuto said on Triple M.

“Whereas if they offer him low-end (money). If they think they’re going to get him cheap, then Adelaide can match and you have to trade.

“Both clubs get together and work out what happens.”

Ricciuto said the unknown elements of the AFL’s free agency model was frustrating for clubs.

“There is no set formula, there is no document you can get from the AFL to say if he gets this and this you will get that,” he said.

“There is a lot at stake here for Adelaide fans.”

Surely if they force a trade we walk, theres no chance they would risk holding onto a player for 5 years that has zero interest in playing for the club, it would utterly destroy what culture they have left -Saints absolutely have them over a barrel

There's only so many starting midfielder spots though. Ross in that tagging role takes up a spot at centre bounces for 75% plus each game. Crouch will be starting at most centre bounces, as will Steele. I don't know if we'll persist with a tagging role.
From watching our earlier games this year and listening to Ratts talk after we had a few injuries in the midfield this year, He was saying he’d actually like to start Steele forward a bit more often, in that Dangerfield/Martin role. He has the versatility to play more forward unlike Ross/crouch. Also believe Steele played a lot of junior footy as a forward.

If that’s the case then I guess he and Gresh will rotate forward at times. Gives the opportunity for crouch to play midfield. Ross plays inside and wing, same as Hanners. And Jones plays inside/wing/Half back.

gives the opportunity for our other mids to be more versatile and play other positions as well, instead of having a 1 dimensional midfield that sets up the same at every single centre bounce. Too predictable that way.

I love the notion from some crows fans that if they don't get pick 2 as compensation, they'll just turn around and keep Crouch.

oh dear!

they didn't read their clubs farewell statement on Crouch? something tells they've burnt that bridge entirely!

oh dear!

they didn't read their clubs farewell statement on Crouch? something tells they've burnt that bridge entirely!
They are absolutely delusional on that Crouch thread.

Some believe he's only leaving so he can get them pick 2 but he'd much prefer to stay and will if it doesn't get them band one.

Kyle Hartigan, a 28 yer old 194cm key defender, going to Hawthorn probably squashes our friends from the UKs info that Carlisle is joining the hawks.

They are absolutely delusional on that Crouch thread.

Some believe he's only leaving so he can get them pick 2 but he'd much prefer to stay and will if it doesn't get them band one.
I'm waiting for a crows fan to say that he's going to kick the ball to their players next year when we play Adelaide.

Ricciuto is correct. Both team will get together. We will pay Crouch enough for a band 1 and you take DMAC and his 350k contract for a mid second rounder. Something like that.
Why can’t we pay him the $650k and Adelaide pay $100k of his wage.

they get pick 2, we don’t overpay on his contract. Or would that be considered collusion and “Cheating” even tho Cats got Steven for nothing and we’re still paying his contract.

Why can’t we pay him the $650k and Adelaide pay $100k of his wage.

they get pick 2, we don’t overpay on his contract. Or would that be considered collusion and “Cheating” even tho Cats got Steven for nothing and we’re still paying his contract.
Crouch is out of contract. Clubs never play a portion of a player's wage when they leave, when uncontracted. Steven still had a contract with us, which is why we paid a portion.

Why do people have to have a negative reaction? Is that part of being a Saints supporter. I encourage you to look on the bright side mate, life is much better there.
If you were a supporter through the 80s and had to wait 18 years to see a final and lived through 7 spoons you would understand.
Emotional hedge where everything is upside.

It would irritate me slightly, but it's not a significant thing to me. Certainly not as significant as I would see North taking on a 27 year old bloke with an injury history at 5 x $700K plus.

If the Crows get picks 1 & 2, then I reckon the pressure is on them. IMO, they are dead certs to take McDonald with pick 1, who I don't see as a pressing issue for North, so I suspect they would add one of Phillips, Holland, DGB or even Tilthorpe, and I am happy to cop any of those boys.

I'm more concerned with our pick 9 ending up in the mid teens due to all this NGA/compo farce.
Your club is cooked mate, will be in Tassie within five years, take that to the bank. By the way, Polecs contract is horrific and he’s a seagull, at least Crouch finds the hard pill.

Think this will end well for all parties, no need for angst.

Please be so kind as to inform Mark Riccuito... he's currently at "goth teenager" levels of angst, railing against how unfair his parents (the AFL) are being for not giving him what he (and nobody else) thinks he deserves (pick 2 for crouch).

Adelaide football director Mark Ricciuto Mark Ricciuto said the Crows would begin talks with the Saints about the transfer.

“St Kilda could get him for nothing (depending) on whatever wage they offer him (under free agency rules),” Ricciuto said on Triple M.

“Whereas if they offer him low-end (money). If they think they’re going to get him cheap, then Adelaide can match and you have to trade.

“Both clubs get together and work out what happens.”

Ricciuto said the unknown elements of the AFL’s free agency model was frustrating for clubs.

“There is no set formula, there is no document you can get from the AFL to say if he gets this and this you will get that,” he said.

“There is a lot at stake here for Adelaide fans

Your club is cooked mate, will be in Tassie within five years, take that to the bank. By the way, Polecs contract is horrific and he’s a seagull, at least Crouch finds the hard pill.

Mate that’s a top shelf roasting but snake is not the poster deserving of it. By all means reuse it, it’s quality, but better directed at a legit nuffie.