• Nathan O'Driscoll

Votes: 14 10.1%
  • Zane Trew

Votes: 3 2.2%
  • Other

Votes: 13 9.4%

Got to remember that we are drafting a player for the next 15 years here. I really dislike putting too much emphasis on current list makeup when drafting. Odds are Hamling and Pearce will probably both be long gone from the dockers by the time DGB is 23 or 24.
You could use the same argument about Logan McDonald?
Tabs, lobb, Hogan, even Fyfe for the next 4-5 years as a forward. Should we not select him either?
I'm all for taking a KPD this draft we have a pick to do it with, I just think doing it with a top 10 pick would be a silly use of resources. DGB's road into the side for the next 4 years or so would be incredibly limited, especially if Cox stays around, as health permitting, we'd be having 5 good KPDs trying to fit into 3 spots, whereas someone like O'Driscoll (just a lazy example as another WA boy) manages to fit our needs now, so unless we think DGB is the best thing since sliced bread it doesn't make sense to me.

i get your point re McDonald, but quality tall forwards are a lot harder to find than quality tall defenders. McDonald will be the 1st WA KPF taken in the top 10 since what, Gumbelton? (admittedly Hogan would have if not for the mini draft)

I would take DGB as a player any day, but we don't need him .
O'd has a similar high knee running gait to Blakeley and a scrappy kick. We need classy skills to hit targets i50 and while adequate and not as bad as Blakely, he certainly doesn't have that. I think if we are going to use a high pick on a midfielder, this time we probably should look for skills as a reasonably high priority.. Fyfe, Brayshaw and even Serong (not showing that yet) are not elite field kicks. The easiest and quickest way to lift the skill level in a team and improve transition is to recruit players with naturally high decision-making and foot skills. The difference in outcomes anytime Mundy gets the ball is obvious for all to see.
I'm just wondering if a more complete package isn't available with such a high pick. If not, then maybe he is a pretty good option for other reasons. He certainly has some good attributes.
We have had years of winning stoppages and not being able to do anything with it.

The club has certainly looked at high skill players last season, and I see your logic of class, as a defining difference feature.

For a balanced mid I am leaning towards Tanner Bruhn over O’D or Trew. I think he is likely to be available at our first pick and is a very smooth mover.

If McDonald fell through to our pick would be happy too :-) . Holland would be good as well but ACL history scares me off a bit.

Would just love someone quick who can kick goals from outside 50. Freddy seems to have the goods. Another please.

Surely if DGB is as good as everyone is saying, He will find a spot in the team somewhere? Could play HBF for a couple of years while Hayden young moves into a wing position?
Good footballers can be moulded to play anywhere.
Tanner Bruhn has had an ACL last year hasn’t he? According to Knightmare article on ESPN the other day he has.

Got to remember that we are drafting a player for the next 15 years here. I really dislike putting too much emphasis on current list makeup when drafting. Odds are Hamling and Pearce will probably both be long gone from the dockers by the time DGB is 23 or 24.
You could use the same argument about Logan McDonald?
Tabs, lobb, Hogan, even Fyfe for the next 4-5 years as a forward. Should we not select him either?

The issue is if DGB is actually worth a top 10 he’s probably ready to be a best 22 player by year two or three.

I’m constantly reading people saying talls take 5-6 years to develop etc but I’m trying to think of a guy who spent most of those first 5-6 years in the State leagues and actually became a decent player. Even Taberner off the rookie list was playing 10-15 games a year by his third year.

Right idea thinking of the future. Probably 2-3 years early though.

Being from WA won’t stop him requesting a trade if he’d get more game time elsewhere.

Surely if DGB is as good as everyone is saying, He will find a spot in the team somewhere? Could play HBF for a couple of years while Hayden young moves into a wing position?
Good footballers can be moulded to play anywhere.
Tanner Bruhn has had an ACL last year hasn’t he? According to Knightmare article on ESPN the other day he has.
The rationale is wonky. Our defence is the best performed area this season. We have three top line talls to come back into that area, plus the highest rated defender from last years draft. We also have a number of smaller defenders on the list, including Pina who projects as AFL quality, and expect to draft Walker in the coming draft.

Re playing Young on the wing, many on here yodeled enthusiastically when the coach inferred that he would play players in the position they were drafted in (since then McCarthy to the wing, Hogan to defence, Fyfe and Walters confused, Lobb not sure etc), which for Young is HBF. He will be a powerful force there, but I agree that he could play elsewhere.

I would like to see us finding difference makers in the draft. Points of difference. O’Driscoll with his size, power and booming kick could provide that, and I have liked the suggestion of him on the wing. I also like Cox in this draft and also see him playing wing early in his career, bringing a bit of Kepler nostalgia with him. Unfortunately our pick sits on the cusp of the next tier in terms of quality, so choices will be reduced.

What do you mean by that? He is not as bad a kick as Blakely IMO if that is what are referring to, and he did kick some long but relatively accurate kicks today. Also he is a really good tackler and good defensively; stopped quite a few this game and last game and took a good number of marks today as well (6).

The idea that O’Driscoll is a bad kick is a bit overstated. He’d be average by AFL standard. So if we’re ruling him out based on that, I guess we can rule out Patrick Cripps too.

Think we will be lucky if he is available now that he is in the seniors and producing.

It’s an interesting debate about picking players only in their positions. I understand the logic but there needs to be a bit of give and take. Top 10 picks are usually only ever used on KPP or midfielders in the main. Or at least players who project as mids in the future, like Rankine. The prevailing wisdom is that you shouldn’t use pick 6 to select your HFF for the next decade that cannot play anywhere else.
I forgot about Walker - yet another HBF. That does lessen DGBs compatibility with us.
It seems like if we are after a point of difference, Any of O’Driscoll, Bruhn or Holland’s if he slid, would provide that.

Perth not making WAFL finals might be a good thing from the POV of keeping the hype on O’Driscoll dampened.
I really hope we get to see some football played by the Vic kids this year before the draft. Even if it’s 2-3 games between vic metro and Victoria country. Or a few scratchies between NAB league teams. Just to get some idea what these kids are like in 2020.

Reckon DGB will be gone by our pick. One recruiter (can't remember which club) was saying a couple of days ago he'd be in the mix for top 3 (not including JUH). He and McDonald are both great prospects.

On Chris Walker, the club has invested a lot of time and resources into him. J-Lo wants outside run and speed and he has it in spades. Not as developed as his brother in a football sense, but athletically has it all. He had to ruck a lot in junior footy while his brother roved to him, which somewhat IMO stifled his development. Brandon is not that much better that he goes in the 30's-40's and Chris isn't worthy of a spot.

I'd be disappointed if we don't pick up both Walker's. Let's not do a Port on this twin.

Ive not seen that article but he hasn’t done his ACL,

He had a minor tear to the meniscus in the same knee that caused him to miss the majority of the 2019 season. The 2019 injury was an impact injury if I recall correctly and not an ACL.

For top 10 picks you should take best available irrespective of position I reckon.

It should be best available for the club not strictly best available.

For example:
- DBG would start as our fifth choice KPD. The oldest of them is 27.
- Can anyone actually name a top draft selection that’s lived up to their pick number who’s spent their first 3-4 years in the State Leagues? **** No! Good players are playing significant amounts of AFL footy within their first two years, maybe add an extra year for KPPs and rucks.
- Opportunity and money talk. If DBG is still 4th or 5th in line at 21, other clubs will come knocking and we’ll get **** all for him.

I feel the term best available is used more by clubs as an excuse for overlooking their biggest need. That does not in any way shape or form involve drafting players that will not get opportunities.

IMO he is a better kick than Cripps in that he has significant penetration - don't think I have seen Cripps doing anything more than 40m. O'Driscoll is more like Patrick Dangerfield - long kick but not the world's most accurate.

On Chris Walker, the club has invested a lot of time and resources into him. J-Lo wants outside run and speed and he has it in spades. Not as developed as his brother in a football sense, but athletically has it all. He had to ruck a lot in junior footy while his brother roved to him, which somewhat IMO stifled his development. Brandon is not that much better that he goes in the 30's-40's and Chris isn't worthy of a spot.

I'd be disappointed if we don't pick up both Walker's. Let's not do a Port on this twin.

I know what you are saying - in some sense I can see an argument to pick up both Walkers and let Western go out to the market, but I just think it is going to be a case of where we stand after the season has finished, any trades are made and we see what befalls with various positions.

I really want us to draft Western. He just looks like such a silky smooth mover with ball in hand. You can’t coach that. I love players who look comfortable and composed on the ball. Mundy/Pendlebury style traits. So valuable at the highest level.

For example:
- Can anyone actually name a top draft selection that’s lived up to their pick number who’s spent their first 3-4 years in the State Leagues? **** No! Good players are playing significant amounts of AFL footy within their first two years, maybe add an extra year for KPPs and rucks.
- Opportunity and money talk. If DBG is still 4th or 5th in line at 21, other clubs will come knocking and we’ll get **** all for him.

I feel the term best available is used more by clubs as an excuse for overlooking their biggest need. That does not in any way shape or form involve drafting players that will not get opportunities.
Fair enough but you don’t tend to get too many top 6-8 players these days that aren’t plug and play. The kids coming through now are heaps more professional earlier than even 5-6 years and the top echelon are ready to go. Young and Serong (pick 7&8) we’re ready to go and kept more established players out. Henry we had to reach on him thanks to Carltank but he was widely rated late first round.
We are in the need for more quality and I would be comfortable getting a player that is an upgrade on one of our KPD (2 of which are not 100% of playing much in at least the short term) if it was to improve our list. If the best player available at our pick is a mid from Vic I suspect that’s who we will pick and not a WA kid that WE rate. The latest incarnation of our recruiting team seems to have got it mostly right thus far and I feel pretty comfortable with who they have picked in the last 3 drafts.

For example:

I understand what your saying.

DBG or McDonald should go in the top three picks.

If one of them is available at our pick 7 most likely, you just need to pick best player available.

Remember, Grundy fell to pick 18 because everybody didn’t need a ruck.