ADE v GEE · HAW v WB · NM v FRE · GCS v BL · WCE v PA · SYD v StK · ESS v CAR · COL v MEL ·
Weekend Wrap and "Liked, Learned, Hated" right here -- How did tipping go?
For sure and there are going to be some ridiculous gets. Someone is going to get an Oliver calibre player with pick 40. The wrong calls will be harder to tell though since there are busts every year.Knowing how self validatingly confident the list managers usually are, I expect they all will be backing themselves to know who the underrated but highly talented players are.
It's a good time for it then. If you pick a player with a late pick you'll be hailed as a legend for spotting the diamond in the bottom of the barrel that nobody else did and if you bomb your picks then covid stuffed you around like everyone else.For sure and there are going to be some ridiculous gets. Someone is going to get an Oliver calibre player with pick 40. The wrong calls will be harder to tell though since there are busts every year.
He is pretty much the same size as Baker and he goes alright. If he is good enough, he is big enough.Has anyone seen a decent highlights package for Western? I've seen the occasional snippet, but am still unsure what role he will play in AFL and whether the height thing is real or a minor distraction?
He's tiny but ultra clean, lightning fast and good footy IQ. Small forward to start with.Has anyone seen a decent highlights package for Western? I've seen the occasional snippet, but am still unsure what role he will play in AFL and whether the height thing is real or a minor distraction?
iirc going back a few more years but i think petracca was rated around pick 15 or so heading into his draft year, while Hugh Goddard was top 5ish.I think he would still have been a first round fancy but agree that 2 is unlikely. The one that sticks out for me is Oliver. Reckon he doesn't get drafted without his 18th year.
Not necessarily a club opinion but I reckon the BF draft guys had Rayner around 10 going into his draft year. There'd be heaps of that sort of story. Mitch O'Neill was first round contention and ended up as a rookie.
Been waiting for your drop Chris.So with compensation picks and matched bids, our first is looking likely to be around the 12-15 mark. We know about the WA players like O'Driscoll and Carroll, plus the Victorians who may be available like Bruhn and Perkins. But what about the SA mid who's shaping as the biggest draft bolter? If the BigFooty draft was held now, I'd take Brayden Cook for us.
He's a 188cm and 74kg mid/forward from South Adelaide. Not particularly highly regarded coming into the season having only played a handful of games last year, but within the first month of the season he had definitely worked his way into draft contention. And then with every game since, he's pushed himself higher and higher up the order to be firmly in the top 20 mix now.
Generally plays on a wing for South, he has the work rate and athleticism to impact at both ends of the ground. One week he'll push back and intercept mark, the next he'll be marking in the forward half. I'm a firm believer in overhead marking being a strong predictor of success at the top level when it comes to underdeveloped mids/flankers. If you're strong enough and smart enough when you're skinny, it's only going to improve when you fill out. And Cook is currently 3rd in the SANFL U18s for total marks and 1st in contested marks. Add to that he's leading the goal scoring with 24 from 11 games, while averaging 19 disposals. Basically if South Adelaide is trailing in the last quarter, the game plan is move Cook to the goal square and kick it to him - he kicked 4 final quarter goals in one match to get the win after trailing by 30 points in the last.
Strengths are his overhead marking, work rate, mobility and general football smarts. He also had a decent growth spurt over the last 12 months, something a lot of recruiters have always valued highly. He compares pretty favourably with Sam Sturt, and would certainly be an intriguing option on a wing - a more attacking option than we currently have. His kicking has improved over the season, but still has some more work to do particularly finishing in front of goal for one - he would have about as many behinds as goals. His preseason testing was also very average, it'll be interesting to see how he goes at the Combine. I think he plays better than his testing suggests. But his sprint time was well below average, with the rest being about in the middle.
He's the flavour of the month at the moment, but it wouldn't be a surprise to anyone who follows SA football.
I love attribute players and he certainly sounds like one.So with compensation picks and matched bids, our first is looking likely to be around the 12-15 mark. We know about the WA players like O'Driscoll and Carroll, plus the Victorians who may be available like Bruhn and Perkins. But what about the SA mid who's shaping as the biggest draft bolter? If the BigFooty draft was held now, I'd take Brayden Cook for us.
He's a 188cm and 74kg mid/forward from South Adelaide. Not particularly highly regarded coming into the season having only played a handful of games last year, but within the first month of the season he had definitely worked his way into draft contention. And then with every game since, he's pushed himself higher and higher up the order to be firmly in the top 20 mix now.
Generally plays on a wing for South, he has the work rate and athleticism to impact at both ends of the ground. One week he'll push back and intercept mark, the next he'll be marking in the forward half. I'm a firm believer in overhead marking being a strong predictor of success at the top level when it comes to underdeveloped mids/flankers. If you're strong enough and smart enough when you're skinny, it's only going to improve when you fill out. And Cook is currently 3rd in the SANFL U18s for total marks and 1st in contested marks. Add to that he's leading the goal scoring with 24 from 11 games, while averaging 19 disposals. Basically if South Adelaide is trailing in the last quarter, the game plan is move Cook to the goal square and kick it to him - he kicked 4 final quarter goals in one match to get the win after trailing by 30 points in the last.
Strengths are his overhead marking, work rate, mobility and general football smarts. He also had a decent growth spurt over the last 12 months, something a lot of recruiters have always valued highly. He compares pretty favourably with Sam Sturt, and would certainly be an intriguing option on a wing - a more attacking option than we currently have. His kicking has improved over the season, but still has some more work to do particularly finishing in front of goal for one - he would have about as many behinds as goals. His preseason testing was also very average, it'll be interesting to see how he goes at the Combine. I think he plays better than his testing suggests. But his sprint time was well below average, with the rest being about in the middle.
He's the flavour of the month at the moment, but it wouldn't be a surprise to anyone who follows SA football.
So with compensation picks and matched bids, our first is looking likely to be around the 12-15 mark. We know about the WA players like O'Driscoll and Carroll, plus the Victorians who may be available like Bruhn and Perkins. But what about the SA mid who's shaping as the biggest draft bolter? If the BigFooty draft was held now, I'd take Brayden Cook for us.
Cook has been one I’ve been hesitant to suggest, just not knowing if he will rise up that far, but he’d be very, very good for usSo with compensation picks and matched bids, our first is looking likely to be around the 12-15 mark. We know about the WA players like O'Driscoll and Carroll, plus the Victorians who may be available like Bruhn and Perkins. But what about the SA mid who's shaping as the biggest draft bolter? If the BigFooty draft was held now, I'd take Brayden Cook for us.
Chris25 do you know when the Combines are, it’s about the last missing bit of info on height speed endurance etc we are likely to get.
I love attribute players and he certainly sounds like one.
Is there anybody with outside speed anywhere near our pick (not academy obvs)? Only because JL specifically mentioned it.
I wopuld be happy if we walked away from the draft with Carroll, Walker and Western, adding midfield depth, back line pace and a mid/forward with pace and skills, the only thing we don;t get is a ruck/forward which we probably do need. I could see us trading out first pick for two second round picksThe Combines might show some, a few players didn't test at the start of the season like Carroll and Bruhn. Perkins has some speed, Zavier Maher may sneak into the first round but not at our pick. It's not a great top end for line breaking speed, Western and Walker are probably two of the better options.
So with compensation picks and matched bids, our first is looking likely to be around the 12-15 mark. We know about the WA players like O'Driscoll and Carroll, plus the Victorians who may be available like Bruhn and Perkins. But what about the SA mid who's shaping as the biggest draft bolter? If the BigFooty draft was held now, I'd take Brayden Cook for us.
I bet we don't.I could see us trading out first pick for two second round picks
odds are if we do that, at least Walker would be bidded on before one, if not both of those picks. as a scenario, pick 12 + Walker + Western > Walker + pick 28 + WesternI could see us trading out first pick for two second round picks
Was assuming he meant trade back in after the bids. Could see us doing it but won't be using our 1st rounder.odds are if we do that, at least Walker would be bidded on before one, if not both of those picks. as a scenario, pick 12 + Walker + Western > Walker + pick 28 + Western