• Nathan O'Driscoll

Votes: 14 10.1%
  • Zane Trew

Votes: 3 2.2%
  • Other

Votes: 13 9.4%

Walls manages the list and I am sure he has decent contacts. But without football being played in Victoria there is little to report on. For example, one of the possible talls we could look at is Nik Cox, but the information on the development of KPFs changes rapidly. Just take a look at McDonald.

Difficult to make an educated guess without information.
If we did take a Vic kid I highly doubt it would be a tall/Cox at 10 he is rated early 2nd rounder AND didn't play any footy if we still had our 2nd rounder and he was on the board we'd probably go for it. Also think there will be plenty of good players from states that did play in the 10-20 range so not necessarily "unknown".

The last 4 drafts we've picked Darcy, Ryan, Duman, Brayshaw, Cerra, North, Switta, Sturt, Schultz, Bewley, Young and Serong out of Victoria.

I'm feeling fairly confident our recruiters have a pretty good understanding of prospects from that side of the country.

The last 4 drafts we've picked Darcy, Ryan, Duman, Brayshaw, Cerra, North, Switta, Sturt, Schultz, Bewley, Young and Serong out of Victoria.

I'm feeling fairly confident our recruiters have a pretty good understanding of prospects from that side of the country.
Love to get a comparison of where they were rated the year before they were draft eligible. That's the point. Players like SHill and McDonald happen every year. Others pretty much disappear.

Club needs to know how Pearce and Hamling are tracking. If they are well and expected to play most of the year then I would draft someone like Heath Chapman and shift Cox forward. Pearce, Hamling, Logue and Ryan are as good as it gets. Where is Chapman expected to end up in draft order?. I would also like to top up our WA boys in defence as Pearce, Ryan and Cox may be flight risks. Pearce also injury prone.

If we did take a Vic kid I highly doubt it would be a tall/Cox at 10 he is rated early 2nd rounder AND didn't play any footy if we still had our 2nd rounder and he was on the board we'd probably go for it. Also think there will be plenty of good players from states that did play in the 10-20 range so not necessarily "unknown".
The best work regarding draft range is the consensus one which has him at 15 with his range from pick 8 and up. Our pick most likely drifts to 12. But I use him for discussion purposes highlighting the need for scouting in the draft year.

1603948517850.png

Club needs to know how Pearce and Hamling are tracking. If they are well and expected to play most of the year then I would draft someone like Heath Chapman and shift Cox forward. Pearce, Hamling, Logue and Ryan are as good as it gets. Where is Chapman expected to end up in draft order?. I would also like to top up our WA boys in defence as Pearce, Ryan and Cox may be flight risks. Pearce also injury prone.
Chapman will be in our first pick zone.

we need another Pearce, we've only had 1 for 2 years now

Any other players of note on your fancy Worst subscription, Mister?
My "fancy" Worst subscription just dropped profiles (including videos) of all the WA prospects today. It's actually pretty good. Luckily McArdle and Robinson aren't in the useless footy journo camp at The West.

I always find reading what player comparisons people make interesting. So here is their list (these are the players with profiles btw)...

Joel Western => Shai Bolton (um yeah no prizes for that one)
Brandon Walker => Adam Saad (don't agree fully but also can't think of a better current player comparison)
Chris Walker => Jamie Cripps (I'm thinking we will definitely take him with Cat B, not because of the comparison btw)

Logan McDonald => Nick Riewoldt
Denver Grainger-Barass => Jeremy McGovern (but with a very different body shape)
Nathan O'Driscoll => Liam Duggan (reckon they could do better on that one)
Heath Chapman => Sam Taylor
Jack Carroll => Scott Pendlebury (not bad, meanwhile O'Driscoll gets Duggan :D)
Zane Trew => Trent Cotchin (well we've already got one of those)
Shannon Neale => Rory Lobb (ha ha - half the people on here now hate the idea of drafting him whilst the other half are excited)
Isiah Winder => Michael Walters (not so sure about that?!? doesn't have the skills to make that comparison)
Tyler Brockman => Christian Petracca (really like him but reckon that is a bit ott)
Logan Guelfi => Zak Butters
Kalin Lane => Brody Grundy
Jack Avery => Nick Haynes
Finn Gorringe => Jack Redden
Logan Young => Patrick Cripps (he wishes)
Lachlan Vanirsen => Stephen Coniglio
Nick Martin => Brody Mihocek
Sandon Page => Tom Lynch
Jack Hindle => Ethan Hughes (he wishes!)
Blake Morris => Brad Sheppard
Jaiden Hunter => Mark Blicavs
Will Collins => Noah Balta
Kellen Johnson => Jack Lukosius (um yeah nah)

So low expectations on most of the WA boys :oops: Sumich expects about 12 to get drafted - I'd agree with that estimate.

My "fancy" Worst subscription just dropped profiles (including videos) of all the WA prospects today. It's actually pretty good. Luckily McArdle and Robinson aren't in the useless footy journo camp at The West.

I always find reading what player comparisons people make interesting. So here is their list (these are the players with profiles btw)...

Brandon Walker => Adam Saad (don't agree fully but also can't think of a better current player comparison)
Chris Walker => Jamie Cripps (I'm thinking we will definitely take him with Cat B, not because of the comparison btw)

Denver Grainger-Barass => Jeremy McGovern (but with a very different body shape)
Shannon Neale => Rory Lobb (ha ha - half the people on here now hate the idea of drafting him whilst the other half are excited)
Isiah Winder => Michael Walters (not so sure about that?!? doesn't have the skills to make that comparison)
Tyler Brockman => Christian Petracca (really like him but reckon that is a bit ott)
Sandon Page => Tom Lynch

So low expectations on most of the WA boys :oops: Sumich expects about 12 to get drafted - I'd agree with that estimate.

Sounds like a good draft!

Brandon Walker

Club:
East Fremantle
Date of birth: 17/10/2002 (age 18)
Height: 183cm
Weight: 75kg
Position: Half-back
AFL player comparison: Adam Saad (Essendon)
Strengths: Ready-made AFL body, classy ball user, running ability and pace
Question mark: Can the Dockers afford to match a high bid? [ ****, yes - can we afford not to? ]
2020 averages: 18.5 disposals, 4.9 marks, 2.1 tackles per game (WAFL colts)

Brandon says...

I feel like half-back is more natural for me, I’ve been playing there ever since Year 6 and that’s the spot for me

Jordan McArdle says...

A switch to half-back in round two by East Fremantle colts coach Adrian Ricciardello was the catalyst for Walker’s stunning form spike.

The Fremantle Next Generation Academy jet is such a classy ball user and almost glides around the ground.

Walker rarely makes a mistake by foot, provides great rebound and is already strongly built.

He sustained a foot injury late in the year which prevented him from testing at the national draft combine and also ruled him out of both Under-18s All-Stars matches.

Adam Jones (State Talent Manager) says...

Brandon plays his best footy across half-back and is one of the quickest kids in this group.

He’s got really good skills, can kick the ball at pace and reads the play really well.

He’s part of Fremantle’s Next Generation Academy and has a really strong year for East Fremantle colts.

He unfortunately had a stress fracture in his foot to finish the season - it’s not a navicular bone injury at least which can be quite tricky.

He’ll most likely get a rival bid from about the second round onwards, which the Dockers have the choice of matching.

Joel Western

Club: Claremont
Date of birth: 12/10/2002 (age 18)
Height: 174cm
Weight: 76kg
Position: Midfielder / forward
AFL player comparison: Shai Bolton (Richmond)
Strengths: Pace, penetrating kick, improving as a forward
Question mark: A bit on the smaller side at 174cm
2020 averages: 22.4 disposals, 4.3 inside-50s, 4 marks per game (WAFL colts)

Western says...

I feel like there’s nothing to doubt if guys like that are having such successful career
(on the success of shorter AFL players like Shai Bolton and Caleb Daniel)

Jordan McArdle says...

Brandon Walker is expected to draw the highest rival bid out of Fremantle’s Next Generation Academy talent, but Joel Western shouldn’t be far behind.

The Claremont speedster is one of the most exciting players in the WAFL colts competition when he’s up and running, with pace to burn and a long, penetrating kick.

He has drawn comparisons with Richmond premiership star and fellow West Aussie Shai Bolton.

At 174cm, Western is a touch on the smaller side, but that shouldn’t deter AFL clubs.

He won the match ball in the Under-18s All-Stars opener for best-afield but finished game two early because of a finger injury.

Matt Angus (Claremont Colts Coach) says...

If not for a couple of minor injury setbacks, Joel would’ve played senior football at Claremont, no doubt.

Former coach Darren Harris was a huge fan, as was the football manager Kepler Bradley.

He improved his game through the contest, he accelerates, he can create spaces and brings other people into the game.

He’s a top-end talent. If he’s a centimetre smaller than Shai Bolton at the same age then you’d say he’s got a bright future.

Chris Walker

Club:
East Fremantle
Weight: 74kg
Position: Half-forward
AFL player comparison: Jamie Cripps (West Coast)
Strengths: Tackling pressure, hardness at the contest
Question mark: Has he missed too much footy?
2020 averages: 12.9 disposals, 4.1 tackles, 2.9 inside-50s, 0.9 goals per game (WAFL colts)

Tendai says...

We’re looking to tap into untouched areas where kids aren’t playing football and hopefully unearth a few talents. You get some who are very new to the game and they’re the ones over the next two or three years we hope can develop into elite talent

Jordan McArdle says...

Chris is a far different type of player to his twin brother Brandon.

He's more of a pressure forward who likes to get his hands dirty, in the mould of a Jamie Cripps, instead of a classy outside runner.

Both brothers are part of Fremantle’s Next Generation Academy, but likely list cuts will hurt Chris' chances of getting on an AFL list.

He missed a few weeks of the colts season due to a neck issue but finished strongly, earning a State combine invite and an All-Stars berth.

He sustained a jaw injury in the opening All-Stars clash that ended his year.

Brandon Walker

Club:
East Fremantle
Question mark: Can the Dockers afford to match a high bid? [ fu**, yes - can we afford not to? ]

Brandon says...

I feel like half-back is more natural for me, I’ve been playing there ever since Year 6 and that’s the spot for me

Jordan McArdle says...

A switch to half-back in round two by East Fremantle colts coach Adrian Ricciardello was the catalyst for Walker’s stunning form spike.

The Fremantle Next Generation Academy jet is such a classy ball user and almost glides around the ground.

Walker rarely makes a mistake by foot, provides great rebound and is already strongly built.

He sustained a foot injury late in the year which prevented him from testing at the national draft combine and also ruled him out of both Under-18s All-Stars matches.

Brandon plays his best footy across half-back and is one of the quickest kids in this group.

He’s got really good skills, can kick the ball at pace and reads the play really well.

He’s part of Fremantle’s Next Generation Academy and has a really strong year for East Fremantle colts.

He unfortunately had a stress fracture in his foot to finish the season - it’s not a navicular bone injury at least which can be quite tricky.

He’ll most likely get a rival bid from about the second round onwards, which the Dockers have the choice of matching.

Walker is smaller than I thought. We have quite the backlog in defence already. Might be tough for him to crack a game there.

Sandon Page => Tom Lynch

Without ever seeing any of them play (except our NGA) I would almost guarantee those comparisons are terrible.

How come none of them are being compared with Paul Ahern or Alex Neal-Bullen?

Walker is smaller than I thought. We have quite the backlog in defence already. Might be tough for him to crack a game there.

Wilson is 28 in January. Would think he will be groomed for that role.

Brandon Walker

Club:
East Fremantle
Question mark: Can the Dockers afford to match a high bid? [ fu**, yes - can we afford not to? ]

Brandon says...

Jordan McArdle says...

Cheers for posting these. Anyone know if Brandon Walker played reserves last season?

Chris Walker will not get Drafted
Maybe we have some super athlete (eg American) up our sleeve for that spare Cat B spot that nobody has even heard of?

I can still seeing us taking a punt on Chris as a Cat B. There is a fair bit to work with and I think he is better than what he showed this season in amongst various injuries.

Chris Walker

Club:
East Fremantle
Weight: 74kg
Position: Half-forward
AFL player comparison: Jamie Cripps (West Coast)
Strengths: Tackling pressure, hardness at the contest
Question mark: Has he missed too much footy?
2020 averages: 12.9 disposals, 4.1 tackles, 2.9 inside-50s, 0.9 goals per game (WAFL colts)

Tendai says...

We’re looking to tap into untouched areas where kids aren’t playing football and hopefully unearth a few talents. You get some who are very new to the game and they’re the ones over the next two or three years we hope can develop into elite talent

Jordan McArdle says...

Chris is a far different type of player to his twin brother Brandon.

He's more of a pressure forward who likes to get his hands dirty, in the mould of a Jamie Cripps, instead of a classy outside runner.

Both brothers are part of Fremantle’s Next Generation Academy, but likely list cuts will hurt Chris' chances of getting on an AFL list.

He missed a few weeks of the colts season due to a neck issue but finished strongly, earning a State combine invite and an All-Stars berth.

He sustained a jaw injury in the opening All-Stars clash that ended his year.

I don’t think he will get looked at in the main draft, but Freo may look at him as a Cat B.....

Why?

Been well hidden (through misc injuries) and it would be horrible if he ended up being like Fredricks and matured slightly later than his twin brother and ended up being better but not picked up through the NGA.