24. James Frawley - Link
25. Dean Kent - Link
38. Oscar Clavarino - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link
42. Max Heath - Link
45. Sam Alabakis - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Have been told the club is going to invest massively in the draft at the end of 2021. Probably around 5-6 picks and all 18-19 year olds are the targets. 3-4 picks in top 30. Will be done.

Besides Ryder, all those players we picked up the last 2 years at trade time are going to be around for many years still. We still have a very good core in the 20 something bracket. Got good players in Maxy King, Ronnie Byrnes and Bytel coming through too.

All is not lost.
We have pick 6 and 41 I think, not getting much with that

Im a Freo supporter and I come in peace. Adam Cerra is yet to sign with us and I don't want to trade him but if we did then he would fit your needs perfectly. Obviously Brad Hill would not be enjoying his football with such a large contract and so much pressure to perform. If he was prepared to take a significant pay cut then I think he would come back to freo. So my hypothetical trade is Brad Hill and your first pick provided its not top 3 for Adam Cerra. To make the deal work I think you would have to pay part of Hills contract, say 150,000ish and he would have to be prepared to take a $200,000 pay cut. The deal only happens if Brad Hill is truly desperate to get out of the Melbourne football bubble where he must be copping a heap of abuse when out in public.
You will be lucky to get a first as a straight swap for him. Maybe if it’s a late first. Certainly looks a good type but you are certainly over valuing him.

Have been told the club is going to invest massively in the draft at the end of 2021. Probably around 5-6 picks and all 18-19 year olds are the targets. 3-4 picks in top 30. Will be done.

Besides Ryder, all those players we picked up the last 2 years at trade time are going to be around for many years still. We still have a very good core in the 20 something bracket. Got good players in Maxy King, Ronnie Byrnes and Bytel coming through too.

All is not lost.
1621859456703.gif

Fancy picking Coffield before Naughton. In the Under 18’s game vs Vic Metro , it was Naughton who tore it apart. Projecting how they would develop , Naughton had oodles of self confidence , and was top dog , whilst Coffields lack of confidence in himself hasn’t changed. As for Bont v Billings , Bont had a brilliant finish to his season in his draft year , and the bolter talk is regurgitated hyperbole. Blind Freddie would have picked him. Billings lack of size and strength , coupled with him projected to be a half forward / wing , should have had us select the taller , and on fire midfield option. Both Billings and Coffield are good footballers , but this just is to highlight how we seem to blow our recruiting choices , over and over. Someone has said we should make a move on the Bulldogs top recruiter , well what we pay Libba and Gubby should make for a nice sized offer. That is our way back

Dunno about that. Coff was captain of the knights and co captain of metro. Clearly had confidence. We just smashed it out of him.
If we had naughton he'd be playing alongside Clav in the VFL.

All is not lost.
And where do we find 1-2 more picks in the top 30?

If we get one max for Billings

Paton Howard Wilkie
Hill Battle Coffield
Billings Crouch Jones
Gresham Marshall Byrnes
Butler King Higgins

Ryder Steele Clark

Bytel Webster Sinclair Membrey 2021 drafted mid

If the coaches can’t get that side winning most weeks there’s a problem with motivation and/or the Game plan.

still lacking depth, but it’s a pretty decent core of players well under 27 YO

Only one A grader on the list still holding us back.

Superstars- nil
A graders -Steele
B graders- Marshall, Wilkie, Hill, Billings, Paton, Butler, Membrey, Crouch, Higgins, Sinclair, Battle, Clark, Coffield, Gresham, Howard, Jones.
C graders- Webster, Coffield.
Kids developing- Bytel, Byrnes, King

Until a few of our players jump up a category and stay there we will be an ordinary side.

Butler, Coffield, Long all took a massive step backwards. Hill was ordinary last year but took another step backwards. Lonie has had a below average year, Membrey has been down for 2 years, King hasn't stepped up. Paton injured, Marshall and Ryder missed footy. Jones was shit then good then injured again. Higgins looks around the level of the other poorly performing small forwards but at least occasionally scores. None of our off season recruits look any good apart from Highmore and he's the one type of player we don't need. Ross is better by a fair bit but still a bit average, Dmac is better but injured,Webster is back but still injury prone and Hanners hasn't even made it onto the field. Bytel has shown glimpses and Byrnes the best of the kids missed a fair bit through injury. We have no quality depth and have not much in the older brigade or the younger brigade. And that's why we are not performing.

Just delist all the mature recycled players and draft kids..we already have a good core and if there are injuries then just play the kids. Atleast that will ensure the kids are getting taste of AFL sooner and hopefully will speed up their development plus we will also find out of they are any good or not.
Getting slaughtered by 20 goals each week playing at Sandy will not help their development.

All is not lost.

If correct, the club is either trading players out, gaining a pick or two as compensation for losing free agents, or bringing forward future picks.

All is not lost.

We must be trading out a heap of players then and going full rebuild. We have one pick before 30 and if we let Billings go we have two. To get three or four more we need to trade out some of our better players. Probably only Ross and Membrey types would get a pick under 30 unless we start to dig into the untouchables.

I'm not sure many of those ring ins will make it long term. Hill, Butler, Snags are all question marks at the moment. Howard is the only one we absolutely nailed. Jones could be still but he looks like a guy who will always be vulnerable to injury.

Is Ross a free agent?
Yeah I think he is. So Let’s say Ross and Billings go. 1st round compo for JB. Second rounder for Ross (hypothetically call it pick 22)

Now we are getting into the waters of a mini rebuild.

Yeah I think he is. So Let’s say Ross and Billings go. 1st round compo for JB. Second rounder for Ross (hypothetically call it pick 22)

It would be a quick re-set, similar to what Port did at the end of 2019. It’s risky, but if we nail the picks then it could be high reward.

Just on another matter, Footy Classified said Gold Coast’s reserves side, with 14 listed AFL players, were smashed by Southport by 83 points. All is not well up there. Not a happy camp. Could be bargains to look at.

If we do one, we may as well do the other.
We may also get lucky and find a new home for Dunny at the same time..
Big big culture shock, but it's worth a try..

If we do one, we may as well do the other.
We may also get lucky and find a new home for Dunny at the same time..
Big big culture shock, but it's worth a try..
Not sure we can draft much with the bottle cap and empty match box we get for Dunstan.

It would be a quick re-set, similar to what Port did at the end of 2019. It’s risky, but if we nail the picks then it could be high reward.

Just on another matter, Footy Classified said Gold Coast’s reserves side, with 14 listed AFL players, were smashed by Southport by 83 points. All is not well up there. Not a happy camp. Could be bargains to look at.

You have to admit our history of "nailing the picks" is poor. V2 of Dunstan and Acres doesnt help us at all and its part of the reason we had to trade in so heavily 2 years ago

Not sure we can draft much with the bottle cap and empty match box we get for Dunstan.

yep, I reckon we delist him and he goes on to be a VFL legend. Gun of a guy who will make a dint on the culture of the club but just doesn't look like we want him due to his disposal.

What do we think about Gresham and Paton entering their peak and coming back better than ever?
Or do we think they won't even get back to where they were?
From what I've heard they are two of the worst injuries to return from to get back to high level performance.
And Gresham wasn't the best kick going around before this.
It's a tough reality to think about, but I hope we're at least planning for the worst. Paton really hurts, he's a player you want next to you in the trenches.

You have to admit our history of "nailing the picks" is poor. V2 of Dunstan and Acres doesnt help us at all and its part of the reason we had to trade in so heavily 2 years ago

So far Libba hasn't had many picks and even his one big pick was taken over by Lethlean who chose King over Rozee. He looks like he should be shit though having been Trout's sidekick for years. Picking Alison over Poulter is his first strike and already has me off side.

Got to be positive and think that we will get it right. If it happened I’d back us in to get it right. We’ve had a dearth of top 10 picks at the draft table in recent years.