24. James Frawley - Link
25. Dean Kent - Link
38. Oscar Clavarino - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link
42. Max Heath - Link
45. Sam Alabakis - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Kelly is closer to Billings than Bont though, Bont has that killer instinct where he picks the side up with his actions. I wouldn't be paying Kelly more than $650 to $700k. Kelly has had better games but he's slightly less even than Billings but also lacks a bit of hurt factor like JB. Both good users and both can have better stats than the eye shows. Billings best is a 25 disposal a week clean user link man. He is more soldier than general and doesn't seem to have killer instinct but he's nowhere near as awful as people are making out since he's been injured. Kelly is more true mid so his stats look better but they aren't miles apart in quality even if it's hard to compare players that don't play the same role.
I don't watch a lot of footy outside of our games but in my view Kelly is a jet. Run and carry. I look at his games and see he had 25 kicks and am surprised that it wasn't more due to his large influence. I look at JB's games, see he had 25 kicks and am amazed because I hardly noticed him.

I just don't see how you can compare kelly and Billings. I know you said you'd take kelly over JB but that's like saying you'd take Bont over Seb Ross.
Billings is so meek and mild that we now have to hide him. He's too slow for midfield, too mentally weak to shoot for goal and seems to be only capable of executing safe sideways kicks behind centre. Occasionally he'll kick up the line. Almost never run and carry. Rarely centres the ball. The season is too long for him. Starts well and limps to the end. If we can get something half ok for him then I hope we move him on. Would rather keep Dunny than Billings but would happily lose both.
Imo it’s an easy comparison although Kelly spends more time in the middle.

As to the rest of it I can’t believe we’re watching the same games. I can if I wanted show you any number of instances of billings doing exactly what I said. Have you given any thought as to how the resurrection of our most outside player has impacted the team and other players. Also billings has played injured for the majority of the season, he has a fair body of work to back up what I’m saying. He’s also kicked 14 - 14 this year not bad for a bloke on one leg putting him behind king, membrey, Higgins and two behind our gun small forward butler.

Anyway you can look at klm’s, speed anything you like and it will all back up what I’m seeing and even more so when he’s fit.

Wood has played ok...kicked a goal here and there when we needed it. History shows that he has never really played exceptional football and has missed quite a few games with injury and form loss. The club must have known that when they signed him on.
Exactly this. He has been the best of the recycled players but is very injury prone.

Has been his whole career.

Imo it’s an easy comparison although Kelly spends more time in the middle.

As to the rest of it I can’t believe we’re watching the same games. I can if I wanted show you any number of instances of billings doing exactly what I said. Have you given any though as to how the resurrection of our most outside player has impacted the team and other players. Also billings has played injured for the majority of the season, he has a fair body of work to back up what I’m saying. He’s also kicked 14 - 14 this year not bad for a bloke on one leg putting him behind king, membrey, Higgins and two behind our gun small forward butler.

Anyway you can look at klm’s, speed anything you like and it will all back up what I’m seeing and even more so when he’s fit.
I guess we'll see how highly rated externally he is by how hard the opposition clubs come for him. Hopefully they agree with you and come hard.

I’m not sure dunstan needs to stay

has very very iffy disposal
losing him may let another step up. I think Bytel or Byrnes can be just as good.

mid dunstan goes just get Matt crouch in less money…good economics
Matt crouch is a ball pig but not playing a game this year is a worry.

Wood has played ok...kicked a goal here and there when we needed it. History shows that he has never really played exceptional football and has missed quite a few games with injury and form loss. The club must have known that when they signed him on.

He's back-up because he's so adaptable. He can play wing, back and forward and at multiple heights. He's perfect for emergency depth and if he's in good form holds out a Dean Kent type. Maybe one-day he'll even become a consistent player but at 27 or what ever he is now it might not happen. I think it was the Carlton preseason game he kicked a huge bag playing as a tall wing man/ HHF hybrid. Was left out of round one. He seemed to do that every now and then at North. Looked like a superstar Riewoldt type then turned into a witches-hat the next week.

Wood was in good form prior to the injury.

He could probably have developed or still develop into a very good player but it seems like his body will never allow that to happen.

I don't watch a lot of footy outside of our games but in my view Kelly is a jet. Run and carry. I look at his games and see he had 25 kicks and am surprised that it wasn't more due to his large influence. I look at JB's games, see he had 25 kicks and am amazed because I hardly noticed him.

I've watched a bit of GWS and he definitely has some smooth moving through the midfield but you also think he's had a quiet game and have a look at stats and can't believe he had so much ball. Even against us I have been surprised by his stats. His best games are better than JBs but JB does a huge amount of work being a link man who covers the entire ground. He'll be the marking option for the kick out, mark and hand-pass it off to the runners going past. He'll then pop up to be the link outside 50 too. He's lacking flash but he's still more than handy. Hard to compare players that aren't playing the same role though.

That’s josh Kelly, I watch the game and think yeah he’s a good player then look at the stats and think that was very a good game. The bont is another level he imposes himself on games like only the great players can, he’s what we need and will only ever get through the draft.

It just depresses me thinking of our recruiting although in fairness it has improved lately.

Good that puts the decision firmly in the hands of the club.
As a forward, Sharman has show enough that we don't need to keep Wood as well.
But if Ratten likes him as a link up player ( where he has been better than Battle ) then they may keep him.
He's still only 27 so perhaps they'll keep Wood and Sharman and look to trade Battle. Get a 2nd rounder for him and then use that to get Owens and Wingdhager.

Josh Kelly is a superstar apparently and despite being a year older just signed an unbelievable contract but billings is absolute rubbish and we just want him gone even for a lousy pick.

Now I would take Kelly over billings but I watch every game and have for way too long and what I see in billings is a very good player who turns up most weeks. I see him lay tackles, put his head over the ball and go back with the flight, he’s no jib and he has very good skills.

Just have a quick look at the stats and compare billings with Kelly. It looks to me that the stats back up what I’m watching and that we’ve actually been getting value for money. Anyway billings for me is red flag for the direction the club is taking. Giving away a contracted josh bruce really annoyed me but if this off-season turns into another of paying overs taking unders and just spinning garbage I think a lot of people will be looking for heads to roll.

You‘re also right on dunstan imo, at present on form he’s our second best mid. So yeah push out billings, dunstan and Ross bring in some kids and load up for bing. Apparently that should excite me but it looks more like a cunning plan off black adder than a recipe for finals next year to me.

Here‘s a thought, how about we trade out battle and long both of whom aren’t best 22 and wont be missed but should get us a second and a third round pick and keep billings, Ross and dunstan.
Battle should be the player we are shopping around. He doesnt have a spot in our best 22 or have a clear role that he suits moving forward but given his age and perceived ability, we might be able to get a mid-late 2nd round pick for him - which is very similar value to what we would be getting for Billings who is a far superior player than him.

I've watched a bit of GWS and he definitely has some smooth moving through the midfield but you also think he's had a quiet game and have a look at stats and can't believe he had so much ball. Even against us I have been surprised by his stats. His best games are better than JBs but JB does a huge amount of work being a link man who covers the entire ground. He'll be the marking option for the kick out, mark and hand-pass it off to the runners going past. He'll then pop up to be the link outside 50 too. He's lacking flash but he's still more than handy. Hard to compare players that aren't playing the same role though.
I dont think you get an appreciation of how hard the wings work unless you are at the ground seeing all the work they do off the ball.

RD 1 this year, watching at the ground I thought Hill and DMac - the 2 who spent the majority of the game on the wing - were 2 of our best players yet watching on the TV they didnt look as impressive as they did live because you couldn't see all the defensive work DMac was doing to allow our better players to get space or you didnt see the distance Hill had run to just get a small handball.

The same happens with Billings when he plays wing. He racks up the ball because of how hard he works and does a lot of the link work that gets forgotten because it isnt flashy. Also a very good mark for his size which goes under appreciated as well.

St Kilda's Mason Wood has a games trigger to clinch a deal for 2022 that he is yet to reach and is set to miss the remainder of the season with a back injury leaving his future unclear.

-AFL
gotta resign him. He's been handy depth and genuine best 22 at points of the season. Fits the same role that Sharman, Battle, Kent play

I like Matt Crouch, we could recreate the Adelaide 2017 triumph.

We also need some company for Mason Wood and Hanners in the rehab group.

What a bargain.

The thing is, offering a reduced contract does NOT mean they are trying to push him out, though i could see a player manager selling it that way.
To me its more an adjustment of expectations, its not the public service where you get a pay rise each year of experience , you need to perform. Right now his late pick mate Sinclair is worth more to the club than him.
i wish that would occur . it is unfortunate that , that was discussed around 30 or more years ago.

Matt Crouch is a no from me

SAINTS DUO TIPPED TO DEPART

Out-of-contract Saints duo Jack Billings and Luke Dunstan are unlikely to be at the club next season, according to senior foxfooty.com.au reporter Tom Morris.

I am ok with that, we have young replacements already in the system, if we got a couple of decent draft picks we can pick up the 2 NGAs a 1st rounder and a couple of others. not bad . it would refresh the list but still keep us high up enough.

Hence they have the triggers in place , which he didn't reach.

To me the big issue is that we've seen next to nothing from Allison.
We have Membrey, Wood, Battle, Sharman, Allison in a year where we need to reduce the list and keep the cap down.

I don't necessarily want to dump Wood, and If someone poached Battle, i'd probably say keep him for sure.
Just seems we have too many similar players and list management might push him out.

Dunstan's career reminds me of Brock McLean to an extent. Only difference , Melbourne got a first rounder for Brock.

SAINTS DUO TIPPED TO DEPART

Out-of-contract Saints duo Jack Billings and Luke Dunstan are unlikely to be at the club next season, according to senior foxfooty.com.au reporter Tom Morris.

I dont care if Billings won the Brownlow at his next club, the fact is he will NEVER be more than what he is at St Kilda which is an average ball user and a squib

Good decision

If Billings and Dunstan were to leave, it's going to be interesting to see how we fill up list spots, if we keep roughly the same amount of list spots. Including Roberton, that would be three confirmed gone. Carlisle and Lonie you'd have to think are pretty certain to be gone. Hunter, Frawley and McKernan should be gone too. That's eight out. I don't see much value in keeping Wood or Kent around but they'll probably get one year deals if things do play out like this. Alabakis needs to either be upgraded or delisted too doesn't he?

Then we'd have to hit the draft pretty hard. Ideally, we'd use our pick 10 (as things stand), grab Owens and Windhager and probably two more picks. Maybe a recruit or two and a rookie pick or two.

Alabakis needs to either be upgraded or delisted too doesn't he?

The rest I have many opinions on, but part of the rules for lists this year (and only this year) is that both Cat A and Cat B rookies in their 3rd year, can have their contracts extended but remain on the rookie list without being delisted. Big Sal might have 1 more "free" year left.

Wood will get another year. And would they really delist both Kent and Lonie?

Should we kick the tyres on Daniel Talia, considering Carlisle and Frawley are walking out the door?

Was thinking just the thing about Talia. Perfect addition to the backline to target Hawkins type forwards. Not sure what the injury issue is though but definitely worth a look.

I feel like they'll give Kent another year and delist Lonie. If they saw any future here for Lonie, he would have played in the last two months. Talia at age 30 by next year and not getting on the park all year doesn't seem great to me. We've gone down the path this year of bringing in short term stop gap depth options and it hasn't come off. I'd prefer we draft a young KPD and develop them.