25. Dean Kent - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Restricted and Unrestricted Free Agency Window
Friday October 1 – Friday October 8

Trade Period
Players: Monday October 4 – Wednesday October 13
Picks: Monday October 4 – tbc (approx. Friday November 19)

List Lodgement 1
tbc (approx. Thursday October 28)

Delisted Free Agency Window 1
tbc (approx. Friday October 29 - Monday November 8)

List Lodgement 2 (Final date for primary list delistings)
tbc (approx. Tuesday November 9)

Delisted Free Agency Window 2
tbc (approx. Wednesday November 10 - Friday November 19)

Last edited by a moderator:
ST KILDA
INDICATIVE DRAFT PICKS: 9, 46, 64, 82, 100

WHAT DID THEY DO IN THE FIRST AND SECOND ROUNDS OF THE DRAFT LAST YEAR?

The Saints had only one pick inside the top-40 last year after they did a pick swap with Richmond as part of the deal to get Jack Higgins to the club.

They selected 195cm key forward Matthew Allison at pick 26.

Their second-round pick was traded out a year earlier as part of the deal to get Brad Hill to the club.

WHO’S IN THE MIX THIS YEAR?

Adding some more midfield class looks like being on the agenda for the Saints and there should be plenty of options available when their first pick rolls around.

Locally, Sandrigham Dragons duo Josh Sinn and Campbell Chesser will both be in the mix around that mark.

Sinn is a classy outside player who was co-captain of the Dragons this season, while Chesser was vice-captain and is another predominantly outside midfielder with a good mix of speed and endurance as well as silky skills.

Eastern Ranges midfielder Tyler Sonsie is another player who could come into calculations and is a player who can win the contest but also has polish on the outside.

Another option could be West Australian Neil Erasmus, who is an exciting 188cm midfielder who can also go forward and finish off his work.

The Saints also have a couple of Next Generation Academy members who could be considered later in the order in Sandringham Dragons duo Mitch Owens and Marcus Windhager.

Windhager has a basketball background and has had a strong season after coming off an ACL injury in 2019, while Owens is a 190cm wingman or half-forward who significantly stepped up his game this year.

Jack Peris is another NGA member and is the son of former Australian hockey star and Olympic Gold Medal winner Nova Peris.

A speedy half-back or wingman, Peris hails from the Northern Territory and comes from an athletics background.

Josh Sinn in action for Vic Metro. Picture: Michael Klein

i mentioned him a couple weeks back. WCE sounded keen to keep him around. he's at the age now where moving back to victoria makes sense. it'd also make sense for him to get a season more if he can to help the relocation. he wouldn't be expecting to be first ruck, i reckon he'd be happy just to be on a list, as long as the money is right.

he'd be a perfect fit for us. we don't need someone who's going to play a full season. we need someone who can be an insurance policy on paddy and marshall. vardy can play fwd and in the ruck. yes he's injury prone, but he's capable of 5-10 games a season.

he's be absolutely a HUGE improvement on hunter.

vardy is also pretty well liked from memory. would be good for some of the younger guys. he would be a good shield for Max Heath over the next 12 months.
Well in truth thats what i was thinking to myself when i read that WCE couldn't afford him....he seems as you say a great improvement on HUNTER...i just wasn't sure enough about my judgement to really get behind him.
View attachment youtube.comwatchv=P-BWxKb4tdo.webm

i mentioned him a couple weeks back. WCE sounded keen to keep him around. he's at the age now where moving back to victoria makes sense. it'd also make sense for him to get a season more if he can to help the relocation. he wouldn't be expecting to be first ruck, i reckon he'd be happy just to be on a list, as long as the money is right.

he'd be a perfect fit for us. we don't need someone who's going to play a full season. we need someone who can be an insurance policy on paddy and marshall. vardy can play fwd and in the ruck. yes he's injury prone, but he's capable of 5-10 games a season.

he's be absolutely a HUGE improvement on hunter.

vardy is also pretty well liked from memory. would be good for some of the younger guys. he would be a good shield for Max Heath over the next 12 months.
It sounded like he already had work lined up in Vic where he would be making a lot more than he would in football, so happy to not go on for 1 more year.

Well in truth thats what i was thinking to myself when i read that WCE couldn't afford him....he seems as you say a great improvement on HUNTER...i just wasn't sure enough about my judgement to really get behind him.
View attachment 1229655
If he is too expensive for WCE then I dont see why we would want to pay him given his injury prone history and age.
At least we know Hunter is durable and cheap.
Would prefer other options that have been mentioned like McLean or Chol over Hunter but would prefer we keep him and back in Hunter to overtake him by mid-year than pay bigger dollars for someone for 1 year.
We could use those extra dollars on re-contracting and front loading Marshall/Steele/Jones/Byrnes/Butler contracts.

There is no ready made ruck that is get-table to replace Ryder , but we need the best available that is going to cost us nothing trade wise because we have nothing.
It has to be remembered Port had basically written Paddy off when they picked Lycett from the WCE and they also had Ladhams , thinking his Achilles problems made him a a risk of getting through a full season , roll on 3 yrs later and we surely can't expect him to get through a whole season when he only played 12 this year and was having problems at the end of this season, same as the season before.
Ryder is a star but every game he plays next year will be a bonus and he is one injury away from retirement , he breaks down in pre-season all we will have Marshall and we can't afford going into the first few games like we did with a witches hat as a ruck for the first few games and we were lucky Marshall came back early , but clearly under done.
If they can't find a guy that can at least contest better than Hunter or McKernan they have failed this trade period imo.

Agree Premo. But to be fair to Phunter 'the witch hat' he came in underdone himself with 3 weeks of a pre-season to his name. The guy was against it from the start, and then thrown to the wolves, having to ruck against guys like Gawn in his 2nd or 3rd game. I know he isn't a class ruck & never will be, but he showed improvement towards the end of the year when called up once more, and was quite good playing for Sandy by all accounts. I think he should stay on the rookie list myself...a full pre-season and a guy happy to make up the numbers for close to minimum (footy) wages, and is willing to get to work (I heard he was doing double time with the Sandy lads after training to gain better cohesion) isn't the worst to keep on...even if he's a big body to shield Heath for the first year or so 🤷🏼‍♂️

If he is too expensive for WCE then I dont see why we would want to pay him given his injury prone history and age.
At least we know Hunter is durable and cheap.
Would prefer other options that have been mentioned like McLean or Chol over Hunter but would prefer we keep him and back in Hunter to overtake him by mid-year than pay bigger dollars for someone for 1 year.
We could use those extra dollars on re-contracting and front loading Marshall/Steele/Jones/Byrnes/Butler contracts.
Yep absolutely ...wouldn't want to be paying him heaps but the conversation offering him a deal that suits us might be considered?

Max Lynch from Collingwood would be worth a look.

Again, it's going to be hard to attract a ruckman knowing they will be third in line, but if they are prepared to play a few games this year and then take the reigns the following year then that would be perfect.
Worth a look but from all accounts can only play ruck. Would replace Ryder quite well but need to be more of a 70:30 split with Marshall rather than the 50:50.
Would require a bit of a restructure. Not the worst thing but worth considering as I don't think he is much chop resting fwd.

Dare say GC and Geelong will look very closely at him

Agree Premo. But to be fair to Phunter 'the witch hat' he came in underdone himself with 3 weeks of a pre-season to his name. The guy was against it from the start, and then thrown to the wolves, having to ruck against guys like Gawn in his 2nd or 3rd game. I know he isn't a class ruck & never will be, but he showed improvement towards the end of the year when called up once more, and was quite good playing for Sandy by all accounts. I think he should stay on the rookie list myself...a full pre-season and a guy happy to make up the numbers for close to minimum (footy) wages, and is willing to get to work (I heard he was doing double time with the Sandy lads after training to gain better cohesion) isn't the worst to keep on...even if he's a big body to shield Heath for the first year or so 🤷🏼‍♂️

I think he could remain on the list and fall to 4th or 5th option as insurance

Worth a look but from all accounts can only play ruck. Would replace Ryder quite well but need to be more of a 70:30 split with Marshall rather than the 50:50.
Would require a bit of a restructure. Not the worst thing but worth considering as I don't think he is much chop resting fwd.

Dare say GC and Geelong will look very closely at him
Geelong just signed Stanley for 2 more years so unlikely to be interested in Lynch.

We’re looking for a number 1 ruck with at least 5 years of footy left in him. Looking at every clubs ruck stocks to see what we may shake loose. If that fails then we will sign best available to a short term contract and look again next year. The club is worried we only have one AFL standard ruck on our list who has at the most 15 games left in his career.

Massively overrated unless you got him for SC. I focus watched him a number of times and he doesn't hurt the opposition even with him 50 odd, tap out games. Nic Nat and him are polar opposites for effectiveness.
Grundy seemed to drop his bundle ever signing his massive contract 2 years ago , before that he was marking everything and picking possessions like a midfielder which is the reason he got his be contract , but currently I wouldn't even look at getting Grundy because he has become a run of the mill ruck on mega star wages on a 7yr deal with 5 more years to run.
Nic Nat is a far better tap ruck and has always been but around the field Grundy had him covered up till he dropped his bundle , however looking at Nic Nats stats this year they have been the best he has ever had which amazing because he is averaging 15.2 possessions a game the best in his 12 seasons.

I still feel Marshall is our best option as our ruck , before we had him play 2nd fiddle behind Ryder he was killing it , this year he never got going from the start - preseason hammered through injury and had other problems through out the season and only managed 13 games.
He still may develop into a good tap ruck but whats so good about Marshall he such a ball winner around the ground and his marking is what you need from a big guy - he is like a midfielder.
You are right about feeding Hunter to the wolves , they may well keep him and think they could develop him to become the ruck we want - but I don't know.

The Suns might want Marshall included in a Bing trade, if Bing ever requests a trade.
Marshall is to in the best 3 players we have and no way would I trade him for anyone , to have a big man who can take contested marks and rack up possessions like him are few and far between - he played this year but was far from right due to injuries.

It’s going to be funny watching Peter Bell.

He’ll play hard ball with Carlton trading an OOC Adam Cerra, but will argue that for compassionate reasons it’s important for Lachie Neale to be traded home.

Brisbane should demand the Cerra first rounder and Fremantle’s current first rounder. Neale is contracted, Brisbane hold the whip hand.

Freo should just say No Thanks to Brisbane, they need some Key Forwards, Local Taverner and Dick Tracy aren't ever going to be more than depth.
They can't afford to waste 2 first rounders on an ageing player who can't handle a tag.

We’re looking for a number 1 ruck with at least 5 years of footy left in him. Looking at every clubs ruck stocks to see what we may shake loose. If that fails then we will sign best available to a short term contract and look again next year. The club is worried we only have one AFL standard ruck on our list who has at the most 15 games left in his career.
Are you suggesting your man Billy Longer in a come back

Marshall is to in the best 3 players we have and no way would I trade him for anyone , to have a big man who can take contested marks and rack up possessions like him are few and far between - he played this year but was far from right due to injuries.
Bing is easily in the best 3 players they have, that trade period, whenever it is, is going to be doozy. We may get shafted by Essendope.

Don’t get sucked in by the media’s obsession with building the Dopers up.

If Bing re-signs at GC next year would we consider directing that money towards Brodie Grundy? Currently 27 and contracted until 2027. Pies maybe willing to trade him cheaply given their reported salary cap issues and the fact that they wont be contending for a few years
Would be looking at Noah Anderson or whoever Gold Coast gets top 10 in this years draft

For me
It’s Hayden McLean
Or Matt Flynn as a second ruck

swans will try to move on Reid but no one will want him