25. Dean Kent - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Restricted and Unrestricted Free Agency Window
Friday October 1 – Friday October 8

Trade Period
Players: Monday October 4 – Wednesday October 13
Picks: Monday October 4 – tbc (approx. Friday November 19)

List Lodgement 1
tbc (approx. Thursday October 28)

Delisted Free Agency Window 1
tbc (approx. Friday October 29 - Monday November 8)

List Lodgement 2 (Final date for primary list delistings)
tbc (approx. Tuesday November 9)

Delisted Free Agency Window 2
tbc (approx. Wednesday November 10 - Friday November 19)

Last edited by a moderator:
Well he's not yet. He could be but he's getting let off because he showed some promise. It's the same as we always do. Bank a guy who's done fu** all. He's lazy and one way, he won't or can't chase and he doesn't defend when he doesn't have the ball. I love Hunter but he's not working hard enough. He's in the top 5 player at the club on talent but he cruises. He looks really slow but that could be fitness. I have watched him closely live and players can get away from him so easily he looks noticeably slow. There is a reason that despite getting good numbers he's not a first picked mid every week. It's up to him now, step up or get pushed out to depth.
This is just my opinion but Hunter's build, that of skinny legs and a keg chest say to me that he's never gonna be the fast or burst athlete that you're looking for.
His long gate allows his high cruising speed but with that he loses on top speed and acceleration.

If you're gonna assess him on athletic performances l think you're gonna be perennially disappointed.
And whist l agree he needs to be fitter and stronger l also think it's about using him properly which didn't happen this year largely because of injuries.

One thing I'm sure about is that our midfield is extremely dysfunctional when compared against the GF teams. No real surprise if you look at the number of games played together. But to me the lack of cohesion is costing us at least %20 in effectiveness and that will only be solved with time.

Just cant see the point of your 2 posts frankly- making something out of nothing ( it never happened) and implying they had it easy to justify how average the dees would be if their football system had broken down. Get over it it. They won the flag by 12 goals. We never made the 8.
I'm just highlighting that it is easy to say they have this amazing system where the next player can just step in and play a role. But they barely had an injury this year to a best 22 player, so they didnt really have this type of set up. They just had their best 22 play most weeks.

I'm not quite sure what I am meant to get over by pointing out that Melbourne had an incredible injury run and that type of luck does contribute to winning the premiership. Every premiership won has an element of luck involved.

The kid is an Alpha midfielder but may end up more like Cunnington than Fyfe.
One thing is for certain, and that's that our list team are backing him in preference of Dunny so we all may as well get on board.

Personally l just don't think running with the likes of Mundy is an easy task on the best of days, and we'll see better when he's let off the chain.
Ratts says it's for his development and fair enough, it worked ok for Steele, though only 2 seasons ago he was copping criticisms for being limited, C-B grade, etc.
Kids take time. Trac took 6 years after all.
Steele was pretty good 3 yrs ago- he has just had a break out year this year. I think he hung his hat on a tackling game 3-4 yrs ago and slowly worked his way into getting more possessions via experience, improved fitness and being entrusted as the number 1.
I think most of the top payers do it this way. But it is very hard to gain top AFL fitness in one year to be able to match it with the big boys.

This is just my opinion but Hunter's build, that of skinny legs and a keg chest say to me that he's never gonna be the fast or burst athlete that you're looking for.
His long gate allows his high cruising speed but with that he loses on top speed and acceleration.

If you're gonna assess him on athletic performances l think you're gonna be perennially disappointed.
And whist l agree he needs to be fitter and stronger l also think it's about using him properly which didn't happen this year largely because of injuries.

One thing I'm sure about is that our midfield is extremely dysfunctional when compared against the GF teams. No real surprise if you look at the number of games played together. But to me the lack of cohesion is costing us at least %20 in effectiveness and that will only be solved with time.
Pretty spot on with that. He screams out hff to me, he has got good skills and would be hard to match up on.

We need Hunts delivering the ball into the f50. Not Jones, not Gresh, not Ross.
An outside/inside mid for mine.
I was hungover as **** yesterday so I decided to lay on the couch and watch our round one game.

There was on instance where Clark was at the back of a stoppage and ended up with the footy about 70 out. He just effortessy turned onto his left foot and put a neat little pass into the only space inside 50 for Membrey to run onto.

Not sure we have anyone else in our midfield that can do that.

He also showed his ability to win the contest footy (12) and clearances (7)

That was the last full game he played as a mid. He didn't even get the opportunity to go into half the amount of centre bounces in any other game as he did against the Giants.

He may well have to get fitter and work harder, but to me he seems the most likely to make a difference in our midfield that anyone on our list.

Petracca was a fat lazy player 2 years ago.

I’ve said it a bit on this board, but if we want a big bodied mid who is good below his knees and can break away from the stoppage then Coffield needs to be getting a serious look in.
We need to start exposing the likes of Clark, Bytel, Coffield & whoever we draft through the midfield. Crouch and Jones are great players for us, but are limited and probably don’t start in a premiership midfield right now.
Jones I can live with, his pace is like no one else we have except for Gresh. Crouch is the next to get replaced in my eyes. Good solid citizen but if there's a spot there for the taking for one of our draft picks its his. He's the next Ross/Dunstan who's just there to rack up a certain amount of disposals so Steele's not that tired

I think we tend to forget how good Clark and Coff have looked. Really bullish on both of them and think they can be top 20 players in the comp.

Coff had a really poor season but by season's end he looked very solid again. Clark's was ruined by injury but he did things again that just screamed elite to me.

2021 was a train wreck, but I can see considerable lift coming from most of these guys next year…

Gresham, Clark, Paton, Coffield, Marshall, Billings, King

And a potential lift from some of these guys:

Bytel, Connolly, Byrnes, Highmore, Sharman, Battle, 1st round mid* 2021

Which doesn't necessarily bring us up to the level of the best few sides but really should see us push into the 8.

*edit - haha I don’t even know what year it is anymore with this Groundhog Day 😂

Jones I can live with, his pace is like no one else we have except for Gresh. Crouch is the next to get replaced in my eyes. Good solid citizen but if there's a spot there for the taking for one of our draft picks its his. He's the next Ross/Dunstan who's just there to rack up a certain amount of disposals so Steele's not that tired
Crouch is handy.

He's a similar type to Viney or Prestia that can play a very handy support role.

The issue is, we have 4 or 5 types that could quite easily play that support role in a quality side but we don't currently have the top end mids (other than Steele) to support.

I was hungover as fu** yesterday so I decided to lay on the couch and watch our round one game.

There was on instance where Clark was at the back of a stoppage and ended up with the footy about 70 out. He just effortessy turned onto his left foot and put a neat little pass into the only space inside 50 for Membrey to run onto.

Not sure we have anyone else in our midfield that can do that.

He also showed his ability to win the contest footy (12) and clearances (7)

That was the last full game he played as a mid. He didn't even get the opportunity to go into half the amount of centre bounces in any other game as he did against the Giants.

He may well have to get fitter and work harder, but to me he seems the most likely to make a difference in our midfield that anyone on our list.

Petracca was a fat lady player 2 years ago.

That kick was months ago yet I still remember it like it was yesterday. He pulled that off in the wet just quietly. Pretty sure I filled up the autopsy thread announcing him as the next Dal after that game.

I'm just highlighting that it is easy to say they have this amazing system where the next player can just step in and play a role. But they barely had an injury this year to a best 22 player, so they didnt really have this type of set up. They just had their best 22 player most weeks.

I'm not quite sure what I am meant to get over by pointing out that Melbourne had an incredible injury run and that type of luck does contribute to winning the premiership. Every premiership won has an element of luck involved.
Spot on.

2020 was a train wreck, but I can see considerable lift coming from most of these guys next year…

Gresham, Clark, Paton, Coffield, Marshall, Billings, King

And a potential lift from some of these guys:

Bytel, Connolly, Byrnes, Highmore, Sharman, Battle, 1st round mid* 2021

Which doesn't necessarily bring us up to the level of the best few sides but really should see us push into the 8.

I’d like to see some improvement from Jones as well. His athletic profile is fantastic, he is combative, bursts out of congestion, but just lacks with his ball use and team play.

With a pinch of consistency and a large helping of disposal efficiency he could easily become the highest impacting mid in our team.

I’m hoping Rath and Carrol spend just as much time on him as they do the 1-3 year players.

Looking at the so called Big Three match winners in the AFL, was interested in their size & noticed all over 90kg of muscle, compared to our midfielders.
Will note Jack Steele is there at 187cm 91kg

Match Winners

Petracca 186cm 97 kg
Bontempelli 193cm 93kg
Martin 187cm. 91 kg

Who we are pinning our hopes on.

Clark. 186cm. 83kg
Bytel 189cm. 84kg
Gresham. 177cm. 80kg
Byrnes. 181 cm. 83kg

Players that possibly could step up & size is there.

Coffield. 191cm. 88kg
Battle. 193cm. 92kg

Do the coaches get in Coffs & Battles ear & entice them to be the next match winner of the comp, or do we draft someone & wait another couple of years for them to develop? I hope it’s the former as time goes by so slowly.
Have to look at the skill level there as well. The top 3 have great skills and know how to kick a goal or 2. They were high draft picks. If we can get just one that would make a big differnce to the side but looking at that list you supplied , it will be tough.

I'm just highlighting that it is easy to say they have this amazing system where the next player can just step in and play a role. But they barely had an injury this year to a best 22 player, so they didnt really have this type of set up. They just had their best 22 play most weeks.

Was similar for the Saints in 2009.
Our depth was garbage back then, luckily we didn't need it.

DAL speaks out:

Brendon Goddard and Nick Dal Santo have named three clubs that could suit Peter Ladhams, with the Port Adelaide tall understood to be exploring his trade options.

Ladhams, 23, is rumoured to want to play as a ruckman but has been stuck behind Scott Lycett as the Power’s first preference.

He pinch-hit in the ruck during his 17 games under Ken Hinkley in 2021, however, he has predominantly been used as a forward.

He’s believed to have been given Port Adelaide’s blessing to explore a trade with one year remaining on his contract, and Nick Dal Santo believes St Kilda would be a good fit.

From Mitch Cleary, Essendon and other clubs asking about Ben Long.

Trade Radio just discussing clubs, including Essendon, making calls to the Saints about Ben Long.

Oh please be true!

Edit* BrutThough beat me to it.

Ben Long is an interesting one.

He's been disappointing this year but at the same time I wouldn't be happy about losing him for a token pick.

I can't see us getting heaps for him, even though he is under contract.

Ben Long is an interesting one.

He's been disappointing this year but at the same time I wouldn't be happy about losing him for a token pick.

I can't see us getting heaps for him, even though he is under contract.

I'd take anything in the second round and run. Even high 30's/low 40's.

CONTRACTED St Kilda hard-nut Ben Long has become the subject of early trade talks with rival clubs making inquiries as to whether he'd be open to a move away from Moorabbin.

The 24-year-old has one year remaining on a contract with the Saints but was limited to 15 matches this season, including four as the starting sub.

AFL.com.au understands several clubs, including Essendon, have asked the question on exactly where he sits in the Saints' pecking order heading into 2022.

Normally I enjoy doing millions of trade hypotheticals and complicated three way swaps, but not this year, I think it's pretty simple.

We should be miles into Ladhams; he is the perfect 'life after Paddy' pickup and could be a great combo with RoMa. The problem is that he'd be third banana next year before being a lock in the 22 the year after and he won't want to move over here to play 10 - 12 games of VFL next year.

Aside from Ladhams, it's just cheap KPD cover and that's it (I think we should give Battle a(another) full year at CHB to see if he can own that role, so I'm talking injury cover rather than a best 22 player).