25. Dean Kent - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Restricted and Unrestricted Free Agency Window
Friday October 1 – Friday October 8

Trade Period
Players: Monday October 4 – Wednesday October 13
Picks: Monday October 4 – tbc (approx. Friday November 19)

List Lodgement 1
tbc (approx. Thursday October 28)

Delisted Free Agency Window 1
tbc (approx. Friday October 29 - Monday November 8)

List Lodgement 2 (Final date for primary list delistings)
tbc (approx. Tuesday November 9)

Delisted Free Agency Window 2
tbc (approx. Wednesday November 10 - Friday November 19)

Last edited by a moderator:
Lot of drinking on the job here

WTF is he on? Leek Aleer in the top 10, Mitch Owen....he's tripping. If we took either of those two before pick 20 I'd cry. Sometimes these guys write weird shit for attention I think.

It will be good when we get to the day that we can start to use the draft picks assigned to us.
Why? Just say we trade Battle to Richmond and 9 and get two mid frdp's for that? haven't we given us more of a chance to pick up more than one gun midfielder?

Or what happens we give 9 and a player for a top 5? Don't understand your yearning to keep a certain pick.

So the ‘experts’ believe Dawson for pick 17 is about right, but Cerra is pick 6 & extra

On what ****ing planet do these guys live on!? If that’s what Dawson is worth then give me 10 Dawsons please

At the trade table, both these blokes should be worth the same IMHO. Both absolute guns in the making

So the real question is who are our untouchables and who would you part with for the best price?
I'll give it a go

Untouchable

Steele
King
Marshall

Touchable but with plenty of caveats
Coff
Clark
Gres

Look at

Anyone else

Worth remembering that Billings would have been coming top 2 in our B&F until he ruptured his plantar fascia this year, and he was still coming 4th 3 weeks after he did it.

Maybe he wouldn’t have gone on with it had he not gotten injured, but it’s also entirely possible that he was going to have that breakout year that we’ve all been waiting for. Robbo had his at that age and Karl Amon was born one day apart from Jack and he had his this year.

His numbers were seriously elite prior to his injury.

24 disposals (elite)
1.5 goals (elite)
7.3 score involvements (elite)
7.3 marks (elite)
1.8 marks inside-50 (elite)
379m gained (elite)
100.3 AFL fantasy points (elite)
106 SuperCoach points (elite)

Looking forward to seeing how he goes next year if he’s back to full fitness.

I agree with everything you've posted here except that I have to just slip a clause in....every year he comes out looking like he's going to win our B & F and then by about 3/4 of the way through the season we are questioning his masculinity and effort again. Hopefully this is his year that everything falls into place and he ends up having a star season. Glad he stayed though.

I'dd Howard just due to lack of anyone else who can play his role. And how difficult it would be to find a replacement.
I’d add Membrey because I feel if we traded him, it would rip the soul out of the playing group.

I'll give it a go

Untouchable

Steele
King
Marshall

Coff
Clark
Gres

Look at

Anyone else

That's pretty close to mine. I'd probably have Doogs in as untouchable purely from our lack of tall key backs.
Gresh is an interesting one. Few years back GWS were chasing him. With a couple of years out due to injury where does he fit in our best 22?

So the real question is who are our untouchables and who would you part with for the best price?
King & Steele untouchable.
The rest are all available at the right price IMO.
Marshall would be untouchable if he was a better ruckman, but if someone came with an outrageous offer I’d entertain it

I'll give it a go

Untouchable

Steele
King
Marshall

Coff
Clark
Gres

Look at

Anyone else

Remembering that if we don't end up with something better than Coff, Clark , and Gres, we are simply using trade week to get our rocks off.

What has the club done that's unprofessional? He wasn't selected initially, got a lot of touches in the VFL, got selected in the AFL, had a very solid month but still couldn't kick over a jam tin. Are we meant to just keep re-signing all the players that have seen us through a decade of rubbish? I don't get this sentiment, mate. What's unprofessional? How else should we say we're offering him a year but he can look elsewhere?

I think he was held to a different standard. The jam tin thing does make any sense, his disposal was good once he got back in. He is historically a very poor kick but he was a much better player and his thing this year was pumping the ball long inside 50 after getting to the outside after contesting the ball. It's unprofessional that we have managed to get a guy who was rated externally as our second best mid despite playing 12 games so off side that he not only wants to leave but gone out rubbishing the club that he used to love. That's messy and looks trash. Some people suggested that he'd been told he was never playing again at the start of the year. Dunny seems to have had a very strong reaction to Ratts regardless.

Did everyone see Melbourne in the GF get out through the front of the stoppage?

That's why Gresham.
This is the closest thing to ‘Mamba Mentality’ I’ve ever seen in AFL footy

DF747C92-7B33-4CC1-938D-955B6BAA0C90.jpeg

3 goals in the final 51 seconds of the quarter

C'mon you feral Alberton, INXS butchering pricks... sign Dunstan to a long term deal now... your midfield is cooked!

I honestly can't see why they wouldn't even if he doesn't play every game surely he's depth.

Seb is 29 next year, and looks to be on the decline. 2 years is absolutely fair. There are very few players who warrant multi year deals heading into their 30s

Yep. I think Seb and Billings were offered contracts about four months ago, and they've only just accepted them!

This seems like the club is doing a good job with contracts, the fact that it's making players (who have probably been overpaid in the past) look elsewhere but still can't find anything worthwhile shifting clubs for. Although Billings received four years, the salary should be significantly less to make that length worthwhile for the club, that's my thought anyway. Maybe the club was happy to accept FA picks for them too.

He had a good month or so of footy. Apart from that period he had a poor year. I find it difficult to believe anyone would actually think he was in our best 5 players for the year. I guess the club did so must be fact!
I think it's a
The fact is he was 5th in the B&F, if he deserved it is open to opinion. To be frank I was surprised.
Same very surprised, but then again our whole team was pretty poor or injured for large parts of the season asides from Steele and Sincs

given the issues there their midfield might not be the only thing cooked...

sounds like some players there have been up to no good

big huge fu** off "buyer beware" sign going up on any contracted port players who are reportedly getting shopped.

Yeah Lads seems to have some rumours about a party lifestyle hanging around him.

I'm in the play Gresh mainly forward camp.

Him, Higgins and Butler could be formidable together.

If it worked, that’s the best small forward trio in the comp. Throw in Sharman, Membrey, Ming, Marshall that’s a “DANGER DANGER DANGER” forward line.

2023 move Membrey/Sharman out for Bing. Then we are talking legendary.

Oh, cool. Don't care who was available, just do it. Sounds reasonable. Should have popped old Jam Tins Dunstan on a wing & watched him waddle after his opponent.

You could make an equal argument that a coach should stand by a player and see him through a tough spot. Hill's back half of the season showed that Ratts' tactics were correct.

Who was scapegoated? Lonie? Not the people's champion and leader of wayward kicking Dunstan? Perish the thought of marking a bloke's papers who has let us down with the same rubbish for 7 years!

The Dees? They've barely made a change all year! Who was dropped on form? And just to make the point; Melb could afford to drop blokes on form thanks to being kissed on the d1ck by the injury gods... virtually a full list available all year.

We didn't. Otherwise quite a few could have found their way to Beach Rd Oval.
Yup just do it - he was that bad & squibbed more than several contests. There are non negotiable in footy. At least Dunstan gives his all. As much as I admit Dunstan isn’t up to it in a finals side he bled for the club.

Not quite sure Ratts sticking fat with Hill was justified. Do you know the impact it had on the other players, teams values & culture? Perhaps there were compromises at the expense of keeping Hill in the side.

The Dees made tough calls on a number of senior players throughout the year. Even their full forward couldn’t get into the side. They had to earn their spots. One things for sure, Hill didn’t earn his spot. He was given a free ride.

Have a look at any player who was dropped during the first half of the year at the expense of Hill. There’s your scapegoats.

True but it looks really messy and isn't a good thing no matter how people try to spin it. We've done a lot to build a more professional image and test things are a step backwards. Playing out a bust up in the media is not ideal.
Really messy? I doubt anyone in the greater footy community thinks this is anything remotely significant, and given how most who follow footy agree with Ratts that Luke is bog-average, and now it appears he might not even get a gig on a senior list, I reckon they’d be siding much more with how we’ve handled this than how Luke has.

This sort of thing would be happening all day long at footy clubs (they’re not for delicate little sunflowers) but Luke has always been one to wear his heart on his sleeve, so this is why we’re hearing what we’ve heard from him.

Most others would just keep it to themselves.

This makes storms in teacups look like cyclones.