2022 Membership Updates

Update

West Coast = 90,000 (announced on February 22)
Richmond = 87,795
Collingwood = 72,518
Carlton = 70,653
Essendon = 63,057
Hawthorn = 60,100 (as of February 19)
Port Adelaide = 53,202
Geelong = 52,106
Melbourne = 44,903
St Kilda = 43,500 (as of February 19)
Fremantle = 42,265
Western Bulldogs = 40,318
Adelaide = 40,000 + (as of February 19)
North Melbourne = 39,722
Sydney = 35,722 (as of February 19)
Brisbane Lions = 30,121
GWS = 25,094 (as of February 19)
Gold Coast = 8,721 (as of February 19)

Why does the average punter give a fu** about membership numbers anyway?
You’ll find that those who do t care about the off field competition of footy clubs, tend to follow the smaller teams that don’t compare to either memberships and attendances, both of which keep the clubs alive. Revenue, sponsorships and advertising.

Yeah it’s an add on…. Not counted towards our tally. Plus you didn’t mention the 2 for 1 deal that I also posted about..

Can 100% guarantee you every single membership goes towards the tally.

When GWS first came in they gave all kids under 12 who participated in Auskick in Western Sydney a free membership with their Auskick rego. They all counted towards their tally.

Every single membership counts. There is no $ amount that must be reached.

You’ll find that those who do t care about the off field competition of footy clubs, tend to follow the smaller teams that don’t compare to either memberships and attendances, both of which keep the clubs alive. Revenue, sponsorships and advertising.
No club has gone extinct for 25+ years so that is utter tripe. And if you are a succesful team on the field you get constant media exposure which leads to better sponsorship and advertising

But I guess I'll have to console myself in not having to line up for 15 minutes for the toilets or bars while my team wins. While supporters of some of the big clubs can bask in their teams losing onfield performances but bigger membership numbers lol

No club has gone extinct for 25+ years so that is utter tripe. And if you are a succesful team on the field you get constant media exposure which leads to better sponsorship and advertising

But I guess I'll have to console myself in not having to line up for 15 minutes for the toilets or bars while my team wins. While supporters of some of the big clubs can bask in their teams losing onfield performances but bigger membership numbers lol
No club has gone extinct for 25 years, that’s true. However, in that time how many have and are receiving AFL assistance? There’s one guarantee, as more clubs get introduced, ie, Darwin and Tassie, certain Vic clubs will relocate to these destinations. Unfortunately, that’s just how it’s going to be.

I don't agree at all

more teams = more games = more money

Was interesting listening to SEN today when they were running the Western Bulldogs promotion

Buy a 3 game membership and get a 9 game membership upgrade

The handouts clubs received from the AFL over the last 10 years contradicts some vic clubs bustling membership tallies.
Tigers had hundreds of thousands more members and 3 flags but received $10 million more in handouts then the flagless minnow from the west.
Handouts you say ?

Never seen that , do you have a link or can show us what type of handouts you are talking about ?

We have done this SEN promotional day every year for the past few years.
No issues with that. However Carlton are selling ordinary seats to its round 1 Mach Vs Richmond, adding another free game with each purchase and calling it a ‘membership’. This is going to another level. They certainly aren’t the only club doing it.

Not the case at all dave.
I wouldn't call a reserved seat in M10 Level 1 'ordinary'.

It's a 2 game Membership with a reserved seat in Rnd 1 & GA to any other home game of choice.

CFC.jpg

Not the case at all dave.
I wouldn't call a reserved seat in M10 Level 1 'ordinary'.

It's a 2 game Membership with a reserved seat in Rnd 1 & GA to any other home game of choice.

View attachment 1341421

Splitting hairs. Point being the lengths clubs are going to secure membership ‘numbers’ is diluting the traditional meaning of what being a member used to be. All clubs are taking advantage of the watering down of what’s required to be a member nowadays and this is a prime example of effectively getting those that attend a match secured as a member….. Nothing wrong with it, good luck to them👍

Nothing wrong with it whatsoever.
But I'd like to see actual numbers for all 11 home game members.

2022 Membership Updates