List Mgmt. 2022 Trade, Draft, etc thread

We’re going to need a mature ruck. If Gawn goes down once Jacko goes we are rooted.

Problem is there’s not a lot around. Lobb will go to WB it seems, Goldy might head to the Cats. But apart from that there’s a real dearth of depth rucks right now it seems. Lot of developmental guys kicking round.

Reckon we will ask for Meek as depth as part of the Jackson trade. Two firsts, a second plus Meek, then draft a development ruck.
**** me dead we ain't getting 2 firsts a second and meek lol and there's heaps of crap rucks floating around who could be depth.

I'm gonna throw out a name that is very unlikely, and highly contentious.

Chad wingard.

Won't happen, but he might be salary dump for a rubbish pick, but if he's in a team that doesn't need him to star, he's possible cream on top in a position we need. He has dropped off in output over past few years for a team trending downwards. Not sure if he could get back to his form of Port Adelaide but if he could, and not be a weirdo, wowee
Love it. Can't believe how his career has gone he was so ****ing good when he was young at Port. If you can get him in and get him focused he can still be a weapon and he's the sort of luxury the Hawks dont need.

I'm gonna throw out a name that is very unlikely, and highly contentious.

Chad wingard.

Won't happen, but he might be salary dump for a rubbish pick, but if he's in a team that doesn't need him to star, he's possible cream on top in a position we need. He has dropped off in output over past few years for a team trending downwards. Not sure if he could get back to his form of Port Adelaide but if he could, and not be a weirdo, wowee

Instant upgrade on Spargo, I love it.

Can pinch hit in the middle too, which as we've discussed earlier this week Spargo and ANB can't.
He's the exact type of player we need imo. Someone who can be damaging midfield and forward and he has the 'outside speed and class' puke.

Do you give the Hawks a decent pick so they pay some (lots) of his salary?

They're likely going to be scraping the cap floor - as they shouldn't be paying anyone great dollars - but will be looking for good picks.

Fogarty is a strong bugger, looked good tonight.

A crash and bash forward would be ideal with the way we deliver the ball, Dixon as mentioned could be a good option too.

Do you give the Hawks a decent pick so they pay some (lots) of his salary?

They're likely going to be scraping the cap floor - as they shouldn't be paying anyone great dollars - but will be looking for good picks.
Think we'd have to give over our current first and get something back maybe. I'm not sure what they'd want. 14-18 feels to much, 32-36 feels like not enough

The more I think about it, the less likely I think Port are to clean house this coming offseason now, reckon even if they sacked Hinkley they give this group one more chance with someone new in charge given they have been competitive with the better sides in this second half of the year.

Could throw in Weid as a sweetener - 100% disposal efficiency last night, every disposal a goal. Would be a win for their forward line.

Weid to Freo would make me laugh so hard, hes perfect for them given they collect pissweak talls.

Imagine a forward line of Taberner and Weid :tearsofjoy:

The more I think about it, the less likely I think Port are to clean house this coming offseason now, reckon even if they sacked Hinkley they give this group one more chance with someone new in charge given they have been competitive with the better sides in this second half of the year.
Yeah they're still top 8 material so can't see them sacking Hinkley although teams follow trends like sheep and the success of Voss and McRae feels like it'll be copied elsewhere

Ken has had more than enough opportunities I reckon, much like Daniher with us, his time is just up. Doesn't mean hes a bad coach, they just need a change to see if someone else can get more out of this group or start a mini rebuild

Yeah no argument, think another senior coach would see a top 4 potential list as well they're certainly not crap.

Love it. Can't believe how his career has gone he was so ******* good when he was young at Port. If you can get him in and get him focused he can still be a weapon and he's the sort of luxury the Hawks dont need.
Yeah there was one year there when he was younger, he looked like he was destined to be all time player his first few years. His second-fourth years he kicked around 40-50 goals each year. Hasn't come close to hitting anywhere near those heights for a long time, so maybe body isn't what it used to be.

You'd definitely ask the question, he only just turned 29. Come to us for 3 years, even if he only played 45 games rested or managed or whatever, get that elusive flag.

It's hard to tell how well his record is there. Like his legacy, have they done well, or underachieved.

Those interstate teams that get that constant home ground advantage can be the difference between winning 12 games and 15 if you're not too bad. The prelim they lost to hawks will always be their biggest heartbreak. But having a squad with so much quality and not making a gf is probably not good enough.

Wouldn't be surprised if we're heavily into Brodie Grundy

A crash and bash forward would be ideal with the way we deliver the ball, Dixon as mentioned could be a good option too.
Wouldn’t be against chasing Fogarty at all, although would have to be at the right price.

We’d sign Weid to a 5 year deal the next day if he took a mark like Fogarty did last night or kicked a goal like he did in the last.

I really like fogarty. Something about country blokes that go home and help out on the family farm in the off season mentality. Dunno why, just like that.

Wouldn't be surprised if we're heavily into Brodie Grundy

I'd absolutely hate that. Would be such a waste of resources signing him.

Wouldn’t have thought he is any chance to leave, pretty sure he is contracted for a while.
He is contracted to 2024 (Darcy).

If Jackson is happy playing the same role at Fremantle as he is now at Melbourne then all the best.

I think he could have signed another 2 years at Melbourne for the success then moved onto a West Coast team that is starting the climb up the ladder would have been a better decision. But I am not Jackson or privy to what is happening in his life at the moment.