List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part II

Mate, I like you as a poster.

But you are pissing me off peddling bullshit.

If we were pushing Hill out, why did he secretly meet with Clarko?

If we were pushing Hill out why did he then arrange a meeting with Simpkin?

If we were pushing Hill out, why is he now not telling us what he wants to do?
Hasn’t the narrative on here changed about 3 times already. I can’t be bothered going back and checking posts but the we‘re totally in the dark and aren’t pushing him out insinuating we want him to stay is a new development?

How the game has changed. In the 80s the salaries were so low and yet we still couldn't afford to pay our players, but they stayed with the club for peanuts. Didn't some even donate prizes to the club to auction off?

It was basically a suburban club, the guys had a 5 minute drive to get to training (except the ones coming from Ballarat of course) and couldn't be bothered to leave just for a bit more success.

Shattered about Longy.
He was my favourite player.
Under no illusions that he was in our top 10 or even probably 20 players, because he just never managed to find the pill enough (until his last game), that and giving away 50s.
But I just enjoyed his attack on the ball and man.

Worries me letting him go when we are already a soft side and then we are chasing like Bobby hill.

Butler was always a statistically better tackler than Long but I wonder if Long had less tackles when playing forward because the oppo would just get rid of it like a hot potato if he was within 10 metres. Where they just fend off butler half the time.
Where did you read about us chasing Bobby Hill

That's it, I love the bloke as a person and player. But there is no way saints are offering him 4 years.
The BigFooty mob would lynch the club if they did that...

On SM-F711B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Yep. If other clubs are silly enough to offer long contracts and huge dollars, you can only laugh at them. Like how Freo and Sydney laughed about Hill and Hanners 🤣
🤔😭

Hasn’t the narrative on here changed about 3 times already. I can’t be bothered going back and checking posts but the we‘re totally in the dark and aren’t pushing him out insinuating we want him to stay is a new development?
No mate. Myself and BrutThough have already mentioned that Ratten and the club see him as a required player.

Hill leaving is on him and Clarko poaching him.

Ratten has egg on his face going by what you say. He was the one who orchestrated getting him here. Sack worthy in itself.

No mate. Myself and BrutThough have already mentioned that Ratten and the club see him as a required player.

Hill leaving is on him and Clarko poaching him.
Played some good games and used properly could be even better, I’m happy to keep him unless we’re getting overs. A few games where hill and Sinclair had big metres gained we looked a finals team.

Club saying that to max his value but it sounds like they are also planning what pick would be acceptable at the same time. There is ruling it out and ruling it out. Are you saying that Hill is 100% untouchable? Stav is happily imagining the trade so he's either inconsistent or trying to push his value.
Not saying you're right, but I tend to agree. Makes sense. Look how North butchered Brown's departure. Club would be derelict in their duty not saying all the right things. Lies are absolutely common place at this time of the year.

The thing is, our club's premiership team will be centered around Max King.
If they don't ace it this off season then we stand the strong chance that our senior core will be nudging or into retirement by the time we execute a rebuild and start contending again. IMHO resigning Ratts has pointed us in that direction and it's already obvious that the top end players have no interest in moving to the Saints. As the rebuild option was already floated by the Pres and they are hitting the draft again this year, I wonder if it's already been determined.

Club saying that to max his value but it sounds like they are also planning what pick would be acceptable at the same time.

Big Footy is not the club.

Ratten didn't make the trade though. That's on the list management for overpaying. Ratten has a say in who comes in and out, not what exactly gets traded for every player

Like i said, he orchestrated getting him here. We massively overpaid. Ratten like he has the entire time Hill has been here keeps doubling down continuing to play him excusing poor form, blaming the rest of the team and THEN still saying he still wants his services. It was a last resort to play him at half back this year, the easist spot to rack up disposals and still he went missing in the second half to this year. He was drafted to play on the wing!

Call it for what it is. He wanted him at all costs and he got his man accordingly. Howard was also a massive overpay. Hell i reckon Lienert could do his job just as well and he cost nothing.

Embarrassing.

You said pushing him out not me. You were pretty happy with the idea of swapping him for a pick not long ago so it's not like they've knocked it on the head. Sounds like they'd be happy to have him off the books. You're spruiking his cap space savings and all the other great benefits of the trade. I'd say that you're being disingenuous in your wording of the situation to protect the value of the trade rather than saying that the club has told North to go **** themselves.

So a player who decides wants to leave after being accommodated by the coach to unlock his best form - deserves the sack?
Hill DGAF about any of that. He's a winner weather you or anyone else likes it or not.
Got his 3 premierships at the Hawks and moved to Freo when they looked likely. Bailed when they entered a rebuild and came to StKilda coz they sold him the dream and paid him a bucket load of cash. He doesn't smell a premiership at StKilda so he's off again coz that's what "winners" do.

Caught a couple of minutes of sen someone mentioned we had interest in Fiorini and we’re looking for outside run.

If he was cheap enough he can get the ball. He was meant to be a mate of Gresham too. Perhaps he'll be the Sinclair to Billings situation.

You said pushing him out not me. You were pretty happy with the idea of swapping him for a pick not long ago so it's not like they've knocked it on the head. Sounds like they'd be happy to have him off the books. You're spruiking his cap space savings and all the other great benefits of the trade. I'd say that you're being disingenuous in your wording of the situation to protect the value of the trade rather than saying that the club has told North to go * themselves.
When did I spruik his cap space saving when I’ve said from the beginning he won’t be hurting our cap considering we saved space for Bing?

Yeah, I’d be happy with a top 20 pick for Hill. It hasn’t worked here. Move on, it happens. He isn’t a shit player nor is he a salary dump