List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part III

What did he say?
Hunter Clark: “we view Hunter as an absolute talent who would fit very well at our club. He’s a contracted player, whether the door is shut or not we will still have some conversations with St Kilda over the next two days”
Brad Hill “never say never, trade period can throw up some scenarios but it appears unlikely now”

Hunter Clark: “we view Hunter as an absolute talent who would fit very well at our club. He’s a contracted player, whether the door is shut or not we will still have some conversations with St Kilda over the next two days”
Brad Hill “never say never, trade period can throw up some scenarios but it appears unlikely now”

North obviously keen on both, having more of a crack at Hunter. If he goes we need a good deal.

Let’s see the size of our balls here.

I’m potentially coming around to 3 for Clark and 9 if we somehow end up with another mid teens pick

That's like turning a pick 6 and pick 9 into a potential Jack Billings. If Toce ****s that pick up we would be screwed for another decade. To me the top 3 aren't massively more exciting than the players between 4 and 10 part from Ashcroft. Cadman is probably the one you'd jump up to take because he looks like something pretty rare but he's going to GWS realistically.

Out: Clark, P9
In: P3, NM F2RP (range 19-22).
Definitely do this.
If we were talking of swapping Clark & P9 for P3, we would want something coming back.

And Pick 14/15 is about where I'd value Clark - former Pick 8 who hasn't set the world on fire.

Can't see any club giving up pick 14/15 in straight trade for Clark. Straight trade value is about mid 20s pick I reckon. You have to value 23 year old players on their output. Not on fantasies about how good they might be. He's had one 30 plus game in 70 games. Not a single Brownlow vote (I know but you gotta use some metric). He's shown a few glimpses but given he was a top 10 pick, career rating to date is a C.

I really don't think so. Like us it's better to get off Broadway and quietly go about building a team and a culture withput the temptation of hype.
They'll have 3 & 4 this year and a couple of late second rounders which is ideal in many ways. They should also split their No1 next year.
With the couple of seniors they traded in they'll be better off too.
JHF was a mistake for them but they now get an opportunity to reset after only 1 year.
It took us 5 years to fully realize the mistake of drafting McCartin and it set us back at least that much.

Yeah, pick 1 is rarely the best player and comes with massive pressure on the club and player. They will still be in the good picks and might even be better off. We tried the same thing with late picks in compromised drafts. The media pressured them to take JHF and they were limited in choice. This way they aren't under scrutiny to take the favourite. GWS are more taking a huge risk in putting all their eggs in one basket.

That interview was this afternoon. Don’t be that person that can’t accept that Clark wants to go.

Lol.
Rawlings describing clark as 'keen to come' yesterday says nothing about when he's referring to.

Don't pursue a career in sales or politics stav if you are taking statements at face value with no contemplation of the motivations of vested interests speaking them.

If hunter was truly 'keen to come' to north, he would have requested a trade by now.

Can't be all that keen if he's not trying to actually make it happen

That's like turning a pick 6 and pick 9 into a potential Jack Billings. If Toce *s that pick up we would be screwed for another decade. To me the top 3 aren't massively more exciting than the players between 4 and 10 part from Ashcroft. Cadman is probably the one you'd jump up to take because he looks like something pretty rare but he's going to GWS realistically.
Giving up basically two top ten picks (Hunter #7, current #9) for a shot at one underdeveloped player at 3.
As you say could be a Billings. Not worth the risk.
Would be the worst trade of the TP.

Also we have to remember dp's can be traded all the way up to and including draft night.1

I'd rather we traded Brad Hill but I'd like an extra first round pick either way, we need more quality young players

That's the thing, I'd gladly trade for a guy like Hunter Clark because he is pre developed and ready to step up. Getting back into the draft is good but not if you are selling your car to buy lottery tickets. We are paying for poor management in the past and you can't poor manage you way out or you get in a cycle like you are waiting for your big win on the pokies to pay your rent.

It looks like we might be stepping out of trading in players and happy to step back a bit or hold ladder position and go to a couple of drafts.

Lol.
Rawlings describing clark as 'keen to come' yesterday says nothing about when he's referring to.

Don't pursue a career in sales or politics stav if you are taking statements at face value with no contemplation of the motivations of vested interests speaking them.

If hunter was truly 'keen to come' to north, he would have requested a trade by now.

Can't be all that keen if he's not trying to actually make it happen
Clubs don’t pursue players like this without them wanting to come mate. The examples are everywhere.

Don’t be naive to think that because it isn’t in bolded letters on social media that he doesn’t want to come and join north.

Giving up basically two top ten picks (Hunter #7, current #9) for a shot at one underdeveloped player at 3.
As you say could be a Billings. Not worth the risk.
Would be the worst trade of the TP.

Also we have to remember dp's can be traded all the way up to and including draft night.1
Or could be Angus Brayshaw depends on which way you present it.

That's the thing, I'd gladly trade for a guy like Hunter Clark because he is pre developed and ready to step up. Getting back into the draft is good but not if you are selling your car to buy lottery tickets. We are paying for poor management in the past and you can't poor manage you way out or you get in a cycle like you are waiting for your big win on the pokies to pay your rent.

It looks like we might be stepping out of trading in players and happy to step back a bit or hold ladder position and go to a couple of drafts.
Two things on this.
1) Clark has yet to reach his potential. He gets a good run at it and he will be excellent. He is exactly what opposition clubs trade for and we should expect overs if a trade is done.
2) Bing saved us from ourselves by signing with GC. We kept SC and picks this and next year.
What we don't do is trade to top 10 frdp's for one top 10 frdp.
9 and Clark for 3 is ludicrous.
We do SFA and we have two top ten picks one we know can be excellent and one that as an 18 y.o can be a star or bust that we won't know for years.

I wouldn’t trade him but if pick 9 is involved the club needs a board spill and a broom put through the halfwits running the place. Walsh, we need more high end talent, noble, I wouldn’t trade him, but that little turd from SA Gallagher will end up gone but not before 1 final act of stupidity.

Ratts has got to take some responsibility too. He's done an exit interview where a player wants out. Dunstan would rather throw in his career than come back. Once could be on the player. Twice is starting to look like a pattern. Coaches talk about managing their language when dealing with millennial players. Perhaps he needs some communication training. His tough love doesn't seem to work for performance or relationships.

Bailey Humphrey looks a good player but cannot kick! We don’t want another ‘ball butcherer’
Yep all these people obsessed with Humphrey, are gonna be really dissapointed when he dribble kicks it to Max king or over his head. He could either be really good or be a bust. With Mitch Owens the thought of two guys other sub par kicking is really concerning imo.

Ratts has got to take some responsibility too. He's done an exit interview where a player wants out. Dunstan would rather throw in his career than come back. Once could be on the player. Twice is starting to look like a pattern. Coaches talk about managing their language when dealing with millennial players. Perhaps he needs some communication training. His tough love doesn't seem to work for performance or relationships.
This is a stretch.

Wardlaw is a lock you would think at North.

Sheezel isn’t what we need.

Tsatas would be the pick 😍

Tsatas looks a gun but he's not very X factor. More a good at everything type to me. Best case he's a Walsh type of high accumulation consistent type. Sheezel looks the X factor but probably don't need him and Snags. Wardlaw has the could be anything factor.

Yep all these people obsessed with Humphrey, are gonna be really dissapointed when he dribble kicks it to Max king or over his head. He could either be really good or be a bust. With Mitch Owens the thought of two guys other sub par kicking is really concerning imo.

With a few bad kicks we probably have to change the game plan to something more like Richmond any way. If he's a Danger type bad kick you take it every day of the week.

List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part III